Image of Rising Star Apartments

Rising Star Apartments

2 of 49 hotels in Protaras

5 out of 5 from 124 reviews
3 stars
Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
For families and couples looking for a value for money, self catering apartments in a central location.

124 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    86
  • Very Good
    35
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
6 years 1 month ago
Just returned from a week at the rising star, and i so want to go back. We had a side sea view which we had payed extra for. I was disappointed at first because we were overlooking some clubhouse, the monastery to the left and the sea to the right, whereas i was expecting the pool and sea view, but on the plus side we had the afternoon sun and it was more peaceful too.

Our entertainers James and Andy were absolutely brilliant, they just about work 24/7 and have boundless energy in 90 degree heat. The games were really good fun, and my two sons who used to suffer from stage fright were two pros at the end of the week as Andy encouraged them to join in and sing!

Also their was an elvis tribute with a difference, brill lookalike and singer with comedy thrown in. The magic show was fab and also the rock chicks deserve a mention, they stepped in for the Beatles at last mo and we were impressed with their queen renditions! The bar staff work hard and are very polite, especially serge, and the maids did a fab job cleaning our sandy room. All in all a fab holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carol
6 years 2 months ago
My three friends and Istayed at the rising star from 2-9 June.The apartment was lovely and very clean.The balcony had a great view over the pool and the beach.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had maid service every day and clean towels.We would definetly use this hotel again and look forward to returning in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carol
6 years 2 months ago
My three friends and Istayed at the rising star from 2-9 June.The apartment was lovely and very clean.The balcony had a great view over the pool and the beach.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had maid service every day and clean towels.We would definetly use this hotel again and look forward to returning in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Forsyth Family
7 years ago
We stayed in a self catering apartment in the Rising Star for our 2 week holiday in August 09. The apartment itself was cleaned regularly, bed linen was changed twice a week and was resonably spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids. It did however lack storage space and a set of drawers would be a huge help, otherwise you just have one small wardrobe. We brought a set of canvas shelving that you attach to the hanging rail in the wardrobe, this made a huge difference and we'd recommend doing this. We ate lunch in the hotel most days and it was fine, however be careful when ordering seafood salad, as the menu says crab, prawn & tuna. Their idea of crab is crab sticks with one prawn and mostly tuna. Also, music around the pool during the daytime can be very loud. When we asked why it was so loud at reception, we were told "the young people like it"?? The hotel is in a good location, approx 5mins walk to the main strip and direcly opposite the beach. There are a few very dodgy restaurants on the strip and a few excellent ones. We ate in Zucchini's and Molti's several times and both were excellent (No preheated food here). There's also a superb Japanese restaurant (Kamakura) along the main strip, it's housed in a small square called "Eden Square". The food here is delicious but a little pricey. We didn't hang around the hotel in the evening much but noticed that the evening entertainment didn't pull a huge crowd, this might be due to the hotel being so close to the main strip.
The hotel has a fantastic kids club which I couldn't fault. The two girls, Kerry & Lisa (i think) do a brilliant job at entertaining the kids - indoors in a very safe environment. You can sign the kids in from 10-12 or 12-2 (free) most days and they run special entertainment most evenings from 4-7 (this costs
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 1 month ago
We have just got back from the Rising Star apartments. They are located right on the coast with stunning views. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. The maids do an excellent job each day. Balconies a bit small but the view makes up for that. Location of hotel is good for walking into main resort where there is a good choice of bars and restaurants.

Travelling with children aged 11 - 17 and entertainment was not great for that age apart from waterpolo which younger ones enjoyed. Teenagers found morning entertainment a bit noisy! Evening entertainment a bit tacky so went out and did not really use hotel facilities that much in evening. Very good in day as loungers are overlooking pool area or sea and its very relaxing. Problem with people putting towels on loungers but they got better during our week's stay and we managed to get a lounger.

I would recommend the hotel for families or couples mainly for the location and local beach which was very clean thought a bit crowded.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Liz O'connor
7 years 2 months ago
Excellent Accomodation extremely spacious rooms, living area and kitchen. The whole complex is immaculate. The food that we had was really nice and well presented, friendly staff from Reception to waiters Bar staff cleaners, could not do enough for you. The location is great right beside the beach, only 5 mins walk to the main strip. The entertainment was great for children upto about 10, the adult entertainment was not very professional, but the reps have said that they are going to be having professional singers, comedians very shortly. i would highly recommend this Hotel and will certainly visit again in the future
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sara
7 years 2 months ago
the Hotel was wonderful, you couldn't ask for more. Rooms very spacious with an excellent Air Conditioner. Very clean and well equiped.Dissapointed with the food style. I am used to a buffet type meal. You ordered from a set menu, quality was very good, however some staff did not quite understand English, and when you're there seven days it got a bit boring.
The hotel was fantastic and we were lucky that we had a corner balcony that was huge and overlooked both the pool and sea.
I would never return to Protaras due to the magnitude of loud youths in cars and on loud motor bikes. This compromoses safety for family's with young children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jimmy Lennox
7 years 2 months ago
First time to cyprus and the rising star hotel has made sure that we will go back again.excellant facilities in the room,maids were in every day,great location right on the beach with a view from balcony over pool and beach that was stunning.The staff and reps were very helpful and always there making sure that your stay was as easy as it could be.entertainment was quiet good,we were salf catering but did eat a couple of times in the hotel where we found the food to be good and reasonably priced

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
CazzMicknTom
7 years 3 months ago
This is the second visit to the Rising Star. This year we opted for self catering. facilities were very adequate, toaster, oven, microwave, kettle, use of iron from reception, free of charge, however as I said last year, I feel a set of drawers for your clothes would not go amiss. We had a one bedroom apt with a huge balcony overlooking fig tree bay and the sea (room 402) I did e-mail and ask for this room and was astounded to be given it.
Staff are all more friendly compared to last year, even the night receptionist and a few are still there from last year.
Hotel was very quiet compared to last year and at the busiest was only half full, so no battles for the sun loungers and no need to reserve any!!
The pool was always spotless ans cleaned regularly.
Lynne and Leanne the entertainers were spot on. Once you told them your name they never forgot it and always greeted you with a smile. Daily quizzes, killer pool, giant jenga, boules, table boules, killer darts, connect four, towel twister (great) and the water polo kept everyone amused through the day. You wern't hastled into joining in neither. Evenings was the usual kiddie disco, bingo and certificate presentations, we didn't stay as Thomas is way to old for mini disco now (-:
The hotel has two themed evenings, a BBQ and a Carvery. If you are self catering you can upgrade to half board for three days, 16E per adult and 8E per child, for this you get a full english breakfast and an evening meal.The snack bar had a large variety of food on offer through the day.
We have heard from a reliable staff member that this hotel could possibly go All Inclusive next year which I think would be fantastic but they would have to put more entertainment on during the evening.
You won't be dissapointed with this hotel.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Cheryl &gareth Davies
8 years ago
what is better than fantastic its the rising star what a place it is wonderful the place is lovely and clean,didn,t need reception staff because there was nothing to complain about my room a studio it was a good size plenty of space, not enough storage but that doesn,t matter the pool was fab but a bit tight on the electric though you had to ask to put the jaccuzzi on and the kids had to ask to put the umbrella fountain on but they wouldn,t leave them on or both on at the same time nice not to be ripped off for the air con because it was free, the entertainers were great The location was great as well right by the beach sun beds were ok but alot of people were placing their towels at 5.30am no need i am defo going back 2009
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: