124 independent reviews of the Rising Star Apartments
Address: Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Rising Star Apartments
Rising Star Apartments Location
Ranked #2 of 50 hotels in Protaras


5/5
Rising Star Apartments Rising Star Apartments is rated 4.67 out of 5 from 124 Reviews
98% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (124 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Rising Star Apartments Reviews

5/5
5

jackie15 had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments Hotel in August 2010
Just returned from a week at the rising star, and i so want to go back. We had a side sea view which we had payed extra for. I was disappointed at first because we were overlooking some clubhouse, the monastery to the left and the sea to the right, whereas i was expecting the pool and sea view, but on the plus side we had the afternoon sun and it was more peaceful too.

Our entertainers James and Andy were absolutely brilliant, they just about work 24/7 and have boundless energy in 90 degree heat. The games were really good fun, and my two sons who used to suffer from stage fright were two pros at the end of the week as Andy encouraged them to join in and sing!

Also their was an elvis tribute with a ...
difference, brill lookalike and singer with comedy thrown in. The magic show was fab and also the rock chicks deserve a mention, they stepped in for the Beatles at last mo and we were impressed with their queen renditions! The bar staff work hard and are very polite, especially serge, and the maids did a fab job cleaning our sandy room. All in all a fab holiday.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Carol visited the Rising Star Apartments in June 2010
My three friends and Istayed at the rising star from 2-9 June.The apartment was lovely and very clean.The balcony had a great view over the pool and the beach.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had maid service every day and clean towels.We would definetly use this hotel again and look forward to returning in the future.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Carol visited the Rising Star Apartments Hotel in June 2010
My three friends and Istayed at the rising star from 2-9 June.The apartment was lovely and very clean.The balcony had a great view over the pool and the beach.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had maid service every day and clean towels.We would definetly use this hotel again and look forward to returning in the future.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Forsyth Family visited the Rising Star Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2009
We stayed in a self catering apartment in the Rising Star for our 2 week holiday in August 09. The apartment itself was cleaned regularly, bed linen was changed twice a week and was resonably spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids. It did however lack storage space and a set of drawers would be a huge help, otherwise you just have one small wardrobe. We brought a set of canvas shelving that you attach to the hanging rail in the wardrobe, this made a huge difference and we\'d recommend doing this. We ate lunch in the hotel most days and it was fine, however be careful when ordering seafood salad, as the menu says crab, prawn & tuna. Their idea of crab is crab sticks with one prawn and mostly tuna. Also, music ...
around the pool during the daytime can be very loud. When we asked why it was so loud at reception, we were told \"the young people like it\"?? The hotel is in a good location, approx 5mins walk to the main strip and direcly opposite the beach. There are a few very dodgy restaurants on the strip and a few excellent ones. We ate in Zucchini\'s and Molti\'s several times and both were excellent (No preheated food here). There\'s also a superb Japanese restaurant (Kamakura) along the main strip, it\'s housed in a small square called \"Eden Square\". The food here is delicious but a little pricey. We didn\'t hang around the hotel in the evening much but noticed that the evening entertainment didn\'t pull a huge crowd, this might be due to the hotel being so close to the main strip.
The hotel has a fantastic kids club which I couldn\'t fault. The two girls, Kerry & Lisa (i think) do a brilliant job at entertaining the kids - indoors in a very safe environment. You can sign the kids in from 10-12 or 12-2 (free) most days and they run special entertainment most evenings from 4-7 (this costs

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Brogan stayed at Rising Star Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2009
We have just got back from the Rising Star apartments. They are located right on the coast with stunning views. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. The maids do an excellent job each day. Balconies a bit small but the view makes up for that. Location of hotel is good for walking into main resort where there is a good choice of bars and restaurants.

Travelling with children aged 11 - 17 and entertainment was not great for that age apart from waterpolo which younger ones enjoyed. Teenagers found morning entertainment a bit noisy! Evening entertainment a bit tacky so went out and did not really use hotel facilities that much in evening. Very good in day as loungers are overlooking pool area or sea and its very relaxing. Problem with people putting ...
towels on loungers but they got better during our week\'s stay and we managed to get a lounger.

I would recommend the hotel for families or couples mainly for the location and local beach which was very clean thought a bit crowded.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Liz O'connor had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2009
Excellent Accomodation extremely spacious rooms, living area and kitchen. The whole complex is immaculate. The food that we had was really nice and well presented, friendly staff from Reception to waiters Bar staff cleaners, could not do enough for you. The location is great right beside the beach, only 5 mins walk to the main strip. The entertainment was great for children upto about 10, the adult entertainment was not very professional, but the reps have said that they are going to be having professional singers, comedians very shortly. i would highly recommend this Hotel and will certainly visit again in the future

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

sara visited the Rising Star Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2009
the Hotel was wonderful, you couldn\'t ask for more. Rooms very spacious with an excellent Air Conditioner. Very clean and well equiped.Dissapointed with the food style. I am used to a buffet type meal. You ordered from a set menu, quality was very good, however some staff did not quite understand English, and when you\'re there seven days it got a bit boring.
The hotel was fantastic and we were lucky that we had a corner balcony that was huge and overlooked both the pool and sea.
I would never return to Protaras due to the magnitude of loud youths in cars and on loud motor bikes. This compromoses safety for family\'s with young children.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

jimmy lennox stayed at Rising Star Apartments Hotel in June 2009
First time to cyprus and the rising star hotel has made sure that we will go back again.excellant facilities in the room,maids were in every day,great location right on the beach with a view from balcony over pool and beach that was stunning.The staff and reps were very helpful and always there making sure that your stay was as easy as it could be.entertainment was quiet good,we were salf catering but did eat a couple of times in the hotel where we found the food to be good and reasonably priced



Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

CazzMicknTom stayed at Rising Star Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2009
This is the second visit to the Rising Star. This year we opted for self catering. facilities were very adequate, toaster, oven, microwave, kettle, use of iron from reception, free of charge, however as I said last year, I feel a set of drawers for your clothes would not go amiss. We had a one bedroom apt with a huge balcony overlooking fig tree bay and the sea (room 402) I did e-mail and ask for this room and was astounded to be given it.
Staff are all more friendly compared to last year, even the night receptionist and a few are still there from last year.
Hotel was very quiet compared to last year and at the busiest was only half full, so no battles for the sun loungers and no need to reserve any!!
The pool was always spotless ans cleaned ...
regularly.
Lynne and Leanne the entertainers were spot on. Once you told them your name they never forgot it and always greeted you with a smile. Daily quizzes, killer pool, giant jenga, boules, table boules, killer darts, connect four, towel twister (great) and the water polo kept everyone amused through the day. You wern\'t hastled into joining in neither. Evenings was the usual kiddie disco, bingo and certificate presentations, we didn\'t stay as Thomas is way to old for mini disco now (-:
The hotel has two themed evenings, a BBQ and a Carvery. If you are self catering you can upgrade to half board for three days, 16E per adult and 8E per child, for this you get a full english breakfast and an evening meal.The snack bar had a large variety of food on offer through the day.
We have heard from a reliable staff member that this hotel could possibly go All Inclusive next year which I think would be fantastic but they would have to put more entertainment on during the evening.
You won\'t be dissapointed with this hotel.


Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

cheryl &gareth davies stayed at Rising Star Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2008
what is better than fantastic its the rising star what a place it is wonderful the place is lovely and clean,didn,t need reception staff because there was nothing to complain about my room a studio it was a good size plenty of space, not enough storage but that doesn,t matter the pool was fab but a bit tight on the electric though you had to ask to put the jaccuzzi on and the kids had to ask to put the umbrella fountain on but they wouldn,t leave them on or both on at the same time nice not to be ripped off for the air con because it was free, the entertainers were great The location was great as well right by the beach sun beds were ok but alot of people were placing their towels at 5.30am no need i am defo going back 2009

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Julie-Ann & David McCormick and Kids stayed at Rising Star Apartments Hotel in July 2008
We stayed at the Rising Star Apartments end July/start August. It was fab. Got very hot towards the end but we loved it. Rooms not massive but they serve a purpose. Not enough wardrobe space and the lighting in the bedroom isn\'t great. Thats about as bad as it gets. We were on the fourth floor - room 410. Magic views over the beach and pool. Didn\'t eat at the hotel very much just the odd lunch - but what we had was lovely. The entertainment - well what can I say - Andy is a legend in his own lunchtime!! The man is brilliant at what he does and is wasted. Hope Thomas Cook appreciate what they have. Sarah is magic too and she is learning from ...
the master! They remember everyone\'s name, always have a word with you and always smile! They really made our holiday. There were always enough beds round the pool - even at 10am but it did start to get very busy on our last day - 3/8/08.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Hayes family stayed at Rising Star Apartments in July 2008
Just returned from Protaras after the 3rd time,stayed at the Rising Star for the second time.Hotel is very clean and rooms are very spacious.The one down side on rooms is that they could do with a set of drawers but you can get by.Air conditioning is now included free of charge and most of staff are very pleasant day and night.Entertainment was good but i didn\'t think it was as good as before as there are not so many activities for the under 10\'s,having said that they have just started doing a few more party tunes during the day.Overall it\'s hard to fault much about the hotel or location of it but it\'s not so cheap no more so you do expect a good stardard for the money you are paying.Had friends staying in the Vrissiana and i think the ...
actual rooms are more spacious in the Rising Star and cheaper.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

june elvisa terry wayne jayne mark curtis shelby cameron tyler and jake had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments in June 2008
2nd time we have been here fantastic views great staff beautiful views. Very hot so please use high factor. We still got a lovely tan.

Andy the entertainer was fab.

If you have booked this hotel you will have a great time. I highly recommend it. Adults and kids struck up friendships immediately. All the holiday makers were friendly around the pool. Special mention to Danny the waiter and our fab cleaner

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

andrew bynon visited the Rising Star Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2008
Hotel is new clean and location is good just dont stay in roomm 532 as it is noisey because there is a water pump for the whole block just above which pumps when needed i.e first thing in morning and last thing at night but when it starts there is rumble sound and just as it stops all the pipes vibrate avoid this room if you want to get to sleep in peace.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

jacat08 had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2008
the rising star is a great family hotel.
there is plenty of stuff for the children to do andy and michelle the reps worked really hard and long hours to keep people entertained.
room service was great linen changed twice in a week and cleaned every other day but bins emptied every day.
on one occasion we were putting the baby down for a nap so asked that the room be left the maid was great and tapped lightly on the door to give us our fresh towels.
we had a side sea view and to our left had a gorgeous church on the hillside to look at.we would ask for a sea view room next time we go though.
can\'t really comment on night time entertainment as we were out every night but we did have a couple of drinks in the bar and ...
the staff were friendly.the location was great for us as it was near enough to walk to the bars and restaurants but far enough away so that there was no noise.
pool was clean and there was plenty of sun lougers to go round even though people were reserving them.
we sunbathed on the grassy area as you could see the sea and the pool which
meant we could keep an eye on our daughter.i will say people wise this was the most friendliest hotel we have stayed in everyone we spoke to had been before and we would also book again but maybe for two weeks next time.

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

CazzMicknTom had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2008
Returned on Sunday from a fantastic holiday at this hotel.
1.Hotel cleanliness/staff. Hotel was kept really clean.We had our room cleaned everyother day and towels were changed twice each week and we had three changes of bed linen. Service staff could be observed through out the 2weeks going about there duties, ie, windows, balconies, floors,cleaning lifts, pool area. Waiters/ress\'s were always pleasant and greeted you with a smile, in particular Alex ( head waiter)others I remember are Yana and Alexis. Hotel manager is a bit of a grump though, he always complained when the staff switched on the water features in the pool, so they got switched off, which was a shame as the kids loved them.The night receptionist was also miserable.

2, Hotel food. Our first week we had a choice of meals for breakfast and dinner a there wan\'t many ...
people at the hotel. This was really good but the following week it was buffet service. Breakfast was the usual full english along with cold meats and fruit. Evening meals were not that good,soup, two choices of meat, one fish, then potato or chips and pasta with fruit for afters. Nothing for children.Afew people were complaining but nothing was done for the adults but the kids could pick off the childrens menu. Twice a week there was a barbecue and a carvery evening which was really good and you could eat as much as you wanted.

3, Hotel location. Right by the beach, although it was rather rocky, you didn\'t have to walk very far to find a sandy point. I invested in some crocs for this. It\'s away from all the bars in the main resort so you don\'t hear any thing on an evening. Rising Sun Pub is within easy reach and has some good acts on ie, Elvis, Robbie, Beatles, Kylie, Blues Bros, Freddie Mercury, Motown etc. The bloke who does the Kareoke (Lance) is a nice bloke but tends to hog the mike!!!! and he reminds me on Dennis Pennis.Had some fantastic evenings there.

4, Entertainment. Andy and Michelle were the reps in charge of keeping everyone amused. They were really friendly and helpful.They don\'t badger you into joining, if you say no that\'s okay with them. Activities started at 10am and finished around 4ish which included pool boogie, quizzes, polo, boules etc. Can\'t comment on the evening as we never stayed but they did games, quizzes and mini discos.

5, Rooms. We had a studio for three and found it big enough for us but it lacked storage space ie no drawers so we had clothes lying around all,over the place. I don\'t think the bigger rooms are much better.We had a fridge, mini oven/grill, toaster, fridge and a kettle. There is a safe in the wardrobe which you cann hire for 20 euros plus 5 deposit. Are conditioning is free but you must ring reception to ask to have it switched on. Dial \"0\" The corridors are carpeted so you don\'t hear people walking up and down which is a godsend in the early hours. Hate high hells on marble!

6, Pool. Lovelly area however by the end of our two weeks it was looking rather cloudy!!!!When we arrived there didn\'t seem to be many sunbeds but still managed to get two everyday. By the end of our first week they brought out quite a few more as it was approaching half term, then the reservation by 8am started!! I was up early one morning taking some sunrise photo\'s and observed quite a few people putting towels on at 5.30 and these same people didn\'t come down to the pool till 2ish. It shouldn\'t be allowed. The best place to sunbathe is looking out to see on the grassy area as there is always plenty beds there and it gets the sun all day, unlike the pool which is completely in the shade by 6pm. The pool gently shelves and at it\'s deepest point is abouyt 5ft, there is also a small pool for the toddlers and a jaccuzi but the hotel manager doesn\'t like the water features switched on for some reason.

I have booked up to go back here next year but have opted to go self catering into a 1 bedded apt.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

tim had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments, Protaras in May 2008

We had two lovely week in May, large clean room, fantastic sea view, no charge for air con, plenty of sun beds, dusk to dawn sun, etc etc.

We read a number of reviews on this and other sites and were impressed, having been I can see why people enthuse about this place so much. Its everything a 3 star hotel should be and more.

Cyprus itself is lovely, the people are friendly although the dreaded Euro has ensured its nowhere near as good value as it used to be but don\'t let that put you off.

Would recommend the Indian restaurant upstairs - two doors down from the downstairs one (which is mediocre to say the least) Red Indian Diner (very good) and the Love Boat bar - you\'ll see it.

Without doubt we\'ll go back to this place and I\'ve already recommended it to friends.

Enjoy.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Thomas had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments in October 2007
Arrived Wednesday 6 people found the desk staff Very grumpy especially the old boy everything was a bother asked him did our rooms have a pool view as we had requested this as one of our couples was celebration a special occasion he grunted all rooms have a sea view (when we got to the rooms the sea view was there if you leaned out and looked to the right.

The 3 rooms had a view of a ploughed field we asked to be change at least one room but there was always an excuse after this sour start we did not use the hotels facilities much the location was good near the beach and close to supermarkets ect the cleaners were very nice as were SOME of the bar staff.


(By the way we were told that the management ...
take 80% of tips so if you are tipping give it to the waiter not old grumpy at the front desk.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Hinton had a holiday at Rising Star Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2007
Our time at this hotel was excellent the weather at this time of year was superb,the apartments were clean and tidy the only day maids didn\'t come was Sunday. The food for lunch time was adequate but glad we did not go half board-not much choice portions were decent though. There were plenty of local eating places Erato being one of them and the italian near to mcdonalds excellent. Hotel staff were pleasant, we were not around for eve entertainment as went out, throughout the day the entertainment boys were good. We would certainly visit this hotel again.

Tour Operator: Direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

samantha stayed at Rising Star Apartments, Protaras in September 2007
Brilliant hotel on beach. Clean and friendly. Pool area lovely and clean pleasent to look at. Food round pool really good.

Can't wait to go back its a must for all ages.

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars
Share