10 independent reviews of the Tropical Dreams Apartments
Address: Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Tropical Dreams Apartments
Tropical Dreams Apartments Location
Ranked #33 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Tropical Dreams Apartments Tropical Dreams Apartments is rated 3.7 out of 5 from 10 Reviews
80% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (10 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Tropical Dreams Apartments Reviews

5/5
5

s granger had a holiday at Tropical Dreams Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2009
My part consisted of 6 family member, 4 adults and 2 small children staying in two separate suites on the ground floor. Ours faced the road but we suffered no noise, and my daughters room was at the rear, which was even quieter for small children to sleep.

Many have spoken about Costos and his wife in the adjacent and separate restaurant, but we found they had moved on and the bar was shut and the place served basic food cooked in the Beach Hotel oposite and ferried across. We did not eat there. The place has spacious rooms and the air conditioning, which is expensive as an extra, is good at keeping the temperatures to a livable level. The accomodation is basic but we had no complaints, and our cleaner was efficient at her work and made our beds daily. ...
One critisism is the colour of the woodwork. Maroon on white undercoat is a grafiti experts dream, and scratches show badly. Unfortunately, some little \'experts\' had done this to the doors in the corridor, and it needs repainting in something different.

The room furniture in a 4 people suit is excellent and more than enough to live in. Only expect 4 utensils of everything, cups, saucers etc, and the cooker comprises of a 2 ring electric plate only. A microwave, kettle and toaster is also provided. The fridge was more than adequate and excellent at producing ice cubes. A good point is the TV in all rooms with the BBC World Service, so you can keep up with news from home. No need to buy English papers. The bathroom was decent and a full sized bath served our needs, but we could have done with a longer shower curtain. We didn\'t bother with the hot tap, which can be scalding, as the cold was anything but, and we followed American practice of taking cool showers, which is perfect for the temperatures in August.

Some have also criticised the unfriendly woman on the desk, but our reception staff were helpful and very friendly. Paul was very nice and friendly, with a smile and cheery word.

All in all, we were happy, the pool was clean and water managed, and there were plenty of loungers for the folk there. Some of the Tsokkos Hotel chain workers also use the facilities as they live in the Protaras Hotel oposite, but this caused no problems whatsoever. (Look on the ground floor of that hotel, and where there should be a reception is a laundry \'sweatshop\' serving the whole company hotel needs. We heard no noises or disturbance from this, even though we were on the ground floor.

Would I recommend this Apartment Hotel? Yes I would, it is well placed for everything. if you want luxury and 5* living, find somewhere else. We were happy enough

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Margaret and David stayed at Tropical Dreams Apartments Hotel in June 2008
I visited Tropical Dreams with my husband my sister who his 79. My niece and her partner had the room next to us rooms 312 and 310. I didn't like the first room 311 not a good view. Helen changed it straight away no problem. The rooms we had looked over the main Street it was great.

The apartment had a spacious bedroom very clean beds really comfy. Sheets changed regular, bed made every day but 2.

Didn't like the idea of not putting toilet roll down toilet, however bought some bags and we was able to make sure the soiled paper was concealed before placing in the toilet bin (my thoughts went out to the maid who emptied the bin). I would take nappy sacks next time.

The apartment was 5mins from the lovely beach. We got the ...
remote for the air conditioning, however at 8 euros a night we took it back first day. We had a safe behind reception and we had to pay for it. We left small items of money and other items lying about in our room, nothing went missing. Our maid was polite and friendly and cleaned well. We thought Helen behind reception was wonderful very helpful staff friendly. The lift was rickety but we was OK in it.

We could not fault these apartments and we would go again. The pool was lovely not too deep for a non swimmer like me. Costa from the restaurant brought us free drinks and fruit round the pool. We ate in his place. Nadia the waitress let me have her brown bread because I don't like white bread. Nadia and Nickie were very nice waitresses.

There were loads of empty sun beds and English radio playing round the pool. There were a choice of 2 supermarkets 50 yards each way. We hired a car for 4 days and went to a market on the Sunday very good. We went to see a show at Talk of the Town. Being pensioners we only paid 8 euros each. It was drag queens and we really enjoyed the show and got some good photographs.

What really made our holiday was a swallows' nest in the corner of the canopy on our balcony. A sparrow had laid it's eggs and they hatched. The baby birds entertained us every time their mum came to feed them. My husband climbed on the balcony 3 times to put babies back when they had fallen out. The day before we left they all flew the nest and we felt sad to lose them. We found the local teenagers to be very noisy they seem to be up all hours but there was no trouble we were told the crime rate was only 1 percent. Never saw any Mossies but did get bit on 4 occasions when I went out even though I was wearing repellent. We will be back.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Courtney stayed at Tropical Dreams Apartments Hotel in August 2007
We have stayed in Tropical dreams twice. We went August 2006 & August 2007. I would just like to say this hotel is very nice!

Starting With The Rooms:
My dad is friends with the owner and managed to get us what the owner calls \" the best room \" which was number 414 which had looking down to the pool veiw look straight out to the beach looking left to the tennis courts right to the main strip/nightlife. The rooms thereself was basic double bed sofa bed with pullout bed underneath bright & airy throughout the bedroom / hallway and kitching/living area. As i said rooms were basic but who needs a \"great\" room if your only there to get changed & sleep? The air conditioning was lovely never heard no sound but it was very powerfull. The maid !! she ...
was excellent one day we left 4 cups in the sink gone down to the beach come back & they were washed up! not expecting this but overall she was excellent!

Pool Area:
The pool area in 2006 was good very clean the pool was a bit dirty could do with a touch of paint but thats nothing Costas & Nicki in the bar couldnt do much more for you! every day around 1pm they would bring round free trays of drinks for you and sometimes peices of fruit. 2007, same thing happend but they had a new pool put in which is lovely but not as deep they had a bench type thing in the corner of the pool lovely to just sit on and watch everyone swimming! SunBeds was quite hard to get by 9am they were gone. Could be lucky to get one or two at 3pm. They have music playing throughout the day around the pool it wasnt loud but it was loud enough to hear it which wasnt bad seeing as they had a english radio on! overall the pool area is very clean , quiet & a nice place to be to sit & relax.

Other areas:
The reception was kept very clean 24/7 service. We had a safe given to us free & the safes were kept behind reception so no-one could try & get in them ( as if this would happen in Cyprus anyway! ) they had a pool table & 3 games in the reception & a few sofa\'s / furniture to sit on. The lifts could be a bit cleaner not very nice at 12 at night when the lights flicker in the lift on your own either!

A few extra\'s:
When we got dropped to the hotel in 2007 we took our suitcases in gave in our passports They gave us our key & we went up to the room. & on the table was a bottle of wine & a bowl of fruit! Then once we were settled in at around 3pm we get a knock at the door ( Thinking its my parents because they live there ) & its one of the staff giving us our free air con! On the night time when we walked past to go out we get stopped on the way out & got given a key for our free safe s well!

Would deffinatly return to this hotel again without a doubt & I would reccomend it to anyone! Eleventh time in Cyprus from the past ten years & we wish we stayed here a bit more often!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

barry/lisa,(ball) visited the Tropical Dreams Apartments, Protaras in August 2006
The hotel wasn't very good,paint was peeling of the doors on the stairways.

Pool very basic,food and drink not cheap. I payed

Tour Operator: sunset
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Claire visited the Tropical Dreams Apartments, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2006
This the 2nd time I have been to Tropical Dreams, and I would stay here again.

The location is excellent just mins from the beach and the main street of the resort.

I found the staff very helpful, I had two minor problems with my room and they were sorted out straight away.

The apartments were very clean and spacious. When we went last year we had an apartment overlooking the pool, this year we were on one of the side apartments and this was more spacious then the ones overlooking the pool.

The restaurant at the pool area is very handy during the day, thought it was a little bit exspensive for drinks, the bottles of water from the restaurant were twice the price of those from the supermarket which is just next door.



Tour Operator: Sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

steve & lisa had a holiday at Tropical Dreams Apartments, Protaras in August 2006
Stayed at Tropical Dreams in August 2006. Can honestly say it was great.

Basic rooms, but cleaned all the time & I don\'t think you go on holiday to spend all day in your hotel room.

We didn\'t go to the pool, but it looked fine.

We went to the restaurant once for tea & got a bill of

Tour Operator: travelcare

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Emma had a holiday at Tropical Dreams Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2006
This was a very good situated apartment that is only a few minutes walk from the main strip yet far away from the noise, if you wanted peace and quiet.
On the road the apartments are on is the beach, 2 mins walk away, also very close are supermarkets shops which sell majority of items.

The rooms are very spacious but basic and have all the nescessary things, like, kettle, toster, fridge and also have a tv which has a english channel that plays fils during the day. Air Con is extra and is

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Matt Brad And Meesh visited the Tropical Dreams Apartments in May 2006
This hotel is in a very good location, close to beach, Mcdonalds, bars, restaurants and shops.

The room was clean and well maintained. However for some reason ours was full of furniture, we had to stack chairs on tables, just to move around.

Air con worked well.

The pool was clean, with plenty of sun beds. As soon as your settled in, go for a drink in the bar by the pool.

Costas will ask you your name and not forget it the whole holiday. He was friendly but not overbearing.

Top tips:if you have a minor problem,speak to costas,he seems to know how to get things sorted.

Be patient with reception, everything gets done \"laaaterr\".

Tour Operator: Sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Gareth stayed at Tropical Dreams Apartments Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2004
We had a great time at Tropical Dreams, the location was perfect, right at the end of the strip and just 2 mins away from flamingo beach, there is a really tasty restaurant opposite called the Corfu Taverna. The pool was kept clean and rooms were cleaned every other day, views from the balcony were good from our room, overlooking the magic waters show. There were no problems with staff, and we would definitely book to stay here again.

Tour Operator: Sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

loran had a holiday at Tropical Dreams Apartments in August 2004
These apartments are in a superb location in Protaras - just down the road to the beach and up the road to the main street!

We had a lovely view of the pool area from our apartment but there arent many that face the pool (about 10) so other views were onto the street or onto the grassy land at the back of the hotel.

The apartments were clean and comfortable with towels changed regular and bed linen changed twice a week.

As we were self catering we ate out most of the time but the cooking facilities were good with a decent sized fridge to put your essentials in.

The pool area is well kept with enough sunloungers for all, but be aware that you cannot drink your own drinks here, they want you to buy them from the restaurant instead! ...


The Tropical Dreams restaurant looks over the pool area and is reasonably priced, it is open to the public as well as hotel guests. The staff are very friendly here. They remember your names and give you free pieces of fresh fruit...very refreshing after a full english!
Moving on to the reception staff...didnt find these helpful at all...not very smiley and speak little English.

All in all these apartments were fine for what we wanted and the price we paid...great if you just want somewhere to stay thats clean and in a good location.

The only problem we encountered was on the last day - just before we left we noticed

Read More

Tour Operator: sunset
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars
Share