29 independent reviews of the Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Address: Protaras Bowland, Protara, Paralimni, Cyprus
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
Kapetanios Bay Hotel Location
Ranked #27 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Kapetanios Bay Hotel Kapetanios Bay Hotel is rated 3.9 out of 5 from 29 Reviews
83% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (29 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Kapetanios Bay Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

kate had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2010
just arrived back, and have to say we had a brilliant time, the hotel was clean but a bit dated, bedding changed once a week,and clean towels every day, beds i found to be comfy, and big enough for a tall person hubby 6ft 2 and still no feet hanging out the bottom lol, balcony and bathrooms very small, you cannot use the toilet or get into the bath without closing the door first, which made it like a steam room, free air conditioning, but will only work once the patio doors are closed to, so no good if you are sat on balcony and your other half is having a sleep, as you cannot get back in as doors lock and can only be opend from the inside, (tip the air con works on door by a ...
magnet conection, take a very small magnet with you, this solves the getting locked on balcony dilema while hubby sleeps with air con on in room lol, wink wink , then door open with air con working. we stayed B&B which i thought food was good, when people say basic breakfast same choise every day what do they ecxpect a three course steak meal for breakfast, there was a full englich brakfast ie bacon, sausuage fried, boiled, scrambeld, eggs. tomatoes, mushroom,beans cerials, toast jams, marmalades, cold meats cheese yogurts, salad, and more, we had one evening meal in hoterl which was ok, but we prefared to eat in other places, so cannot really comment on the main meals, our firm fav was the red indian resaurent just round the corner from hotel, it is american indian themed , and very clean and pleasant staff, and the potions are huge much better value for money then any others we tried, a three course meal with a choise of 6 starters, main meals, and deserts for 10 euros, do check out were you eat some offer 3 course meals and they are terrible with very little food, the pool at hotel is large and spotless and clean and depth starts at 3m then rises to 8m with walk down steps with a hand rail which is great if you are bad walking like myself, and cannot get into pool via those steep metal steps stuck in a corner, staff are pleasant and always ready to help, the man on night reception he comes on round 5 and stays on all night long, is english speaking and we found him very helpfull and a lovely man, very patiant even though he must be tired the hours he puts in, take enough toiletries and sunscreens to last your holidays, as three times the price over there, i would say prices are same as home for drinks, but better value food at home, we stayed at the front of hotel near to macdonald, but that never botherd us as we had a lovely veiw of the street and see all that was going on, the magic water starts at 9 till 10 every night,so unless you are out at this time can be a pain, gets quiet noisy with the same themed music every night, the square bar oppasite is the same, elvis and tom jones screaming out every night, with some bad singers lol, and that goes on untill about 2 in the morning, but close doors and dims the sounds, though not completley, i would go back to this hotel. but overall we found cyprus the most exspensive place we have been too, and you mush do the open top bus tour ,great 3 hours and good value.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Brian & Jean stayed at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2009
What a surprise only 3 star?

Our room..
Larger than average in an excellent decorative condition furnished with wardrobe, twin beds, casual table with 2 chairs, dressing table, bedside cabinet and case shelf [with draws] carpeted T/V [local channels and a Lebanese Chanel showing films in English 24 hr a day] AND FREE air-conditioning

Bathroom of adequate size with toilet,Vanity basin,full-size bath with overhead shower, tiled floor

bedding changed mid week towels a couple of times a week

Communal areas... in good order, of ample size for the hotel pool with more than enough sun beds [makes a change]

Cleanliness... the house keeping staff do a first rate job rooms and public areas as clean as we have seen anywhere

Food... Breakfast take your pick cereals,fruit, continental or fully cooked [and alternate days English style port bangers]
...
Dinner not traditional [except on Cypriot night] is of the international style with soup, salads and a multi choice of cooked dishes and cold puddings or fruit

Staff... those we met were very friendly and helpful and well turned out speaking between them many languages

Entertainment... although advertised the only entertainment was on the Cypriot night, the reception bar had a large screen t/v showing mainly sports

the down side to this hotel is three fold, the big mac in front of it, [ugly but as others have said not smelly] the dancing fountain show at the back, brilliant to watch but Loud [but with the double glazed windows shut it was an annoyance not an aggravation. And the bar over the road which was determined to be herd all over Protaras,with second or even third rate acts blasting out till 2 am

If we were to visit Protaras again would we use this hotel? well it would be highly considered


Read More

Tour Operator: Fleetway/med hotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

mrs visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras in July 2008
we were in protaras for a wedding and stayed in the kapetanios. we found the room clean & fresh. we were on b&b and it is buffet style and have no complaints about the food whatsoever,you could eat what you want and how much you want.the location is excellent except for \"the dancing waters show\" which is beside the hotel, its a good show but is on every night and by the end of the week we were fed up listening to it.there was no entertainment at the hotel even though it is advertised in the Olympic brochure. we found the staff friendly and very helpful, and yes i would visit this hotel again it is just the 5hr flight that would put me off.

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Caroline had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras in May 2008
We stayed in this hotel in May at the beginning of the season. I had read reviews about a large Mcdonalds sign outside the hotel and I was a bit weary of this, when we got there it was\'nt a problem at all. Although Mcdonalds is below we had no smells or noise bothering us. The rooms have 2 sets of double glazing and noise from the strip wasnt a problem. The pool was quite large and clean and the beach was around 5 mins walk. The staff were friendly and helpfull which is more than I can say for our rep as I never even seen her (not the hotels fault)Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of cereals, fruit or a full english. I think this hotel is good value for money and I would stay again. The ...
bar area was quite basic and boring at night but there is a lot of entertainment on your doorstep.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Emma Robinson stayed at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2007
Just got back from a week at Kapetanios Bay, wasn\'t too impressed. Stayed at several hotels in Protaras before and this was my least favourite. Location was good, only a short stroll to the beach. Pool area was nice and big, very clean with plenty of sun beds, this was probably the best thing about the hotel! We initially had a room over looking McDonalds which would have been fine but turned out to be very noisy due to the bar opposite the hotel, this went on until the early hours so no good if you have kids. Complained to staff and luckily got moved straight away to other side of hotel, this was much better. We were on bed and breakfast basis which i was quite relieved about as the food was poor. Breakfast was boring with little choice ...
so usually just ate toast. There are some lovely restaurants in the resort which we dined in at night. Staff were ok, most were friendly. This hotel is in need of renovation as it feels quite dated inside. The rooms were clean but tired and would benefit from a lick of paint, the bathrooms are tiny. Overall i probably wouldn\'t recommend this hotel but we didn\'t pay massive amounts for it so i guess we got what we paid for.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

colin had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2007
Hi just come back from a week away 09/07/06

Hotel was very clean & tidy, furniture looks abit on the old side (grannyish) but rooms very big and has everything you need you get alot more with this hotel for a 3 star rating than you do with most others!!

Staff are great & will go out of there way to help you (couldnt ask for better staff) our rep was rubbish but not the hotels fault.

Pool - very big & lots of loungers.

Drinks and poolside bar very good.

We didn't eat in this hotel as lots of restaurants down the strip.

This hotel perfect location your at the start of the main strip - everything you want and need down it.

Entertainment - didn't here of any! Or for kids in hotel.

But every bar has night entertainment n the square pub ...
very very very good! Loved the boy George act so so funny!

This hotel cheap and for the price you get more for your money than other hotel I've stayed in.

Beware of taxi\'s !! Most expensive things out there! We learnt at the end of our hols cheap to rent a 2 seater buggy car.

Beach OK bit stony and rocks in the sea walk 8 min down you get nicer beaches.

Read More

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Lyn visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras in July 2007
very good value for money. We booked a superior room which had a fridge,kettle and cups and a larger TV (No English language chanels at all). The bathrooms in the superior rooms are a lot bigger than the normal rooms.
I emailed the hotel 2 weeks before we went to ask for a pool/sea view and that is exactly what we had.
The hotel is clean staff are helpful and friendly.
Great location. Never had a problem getting a sunbed round the pool. Would use this hotel again next time we visit the resort.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mr & Mrs Murphy had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel in July 2007
We booked a superior room with a pool view, the superior rooms have a larger bathroom a large fridge / freezer tea and coffee making facilities, and a large tv.

Reception staff very friendly, safety deposit boxes at reception very cheap.

We where half board, breakfast was the same as what you get everywhere, evening meal was on a themed night food was good.

Hotel pool was big and cleaned every night, pool bar was quiet reasonable priced, and staff very heplful.

The hotel was right outside of mcdonald and right on the strip, we didn\'t hear any noisy as we where on the poolside view.

I would use this hotel again.



Tour Operator: Booked Separately

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

michelle and lee visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2006
We have just come back from a fab 2 weeks holiday in this hotel. Have no complaints what so ever!!

Staff was great, hotel was kept clean,rooms cleaned everyday,saw regular pool checks happening daily. Must admit after reading some of the posts on here I was a bit worried but I had no reason to be.

Very central location so great if you want loads of bars and restaurants right on your doorstep can recommend the chinese just across the way and the mexcian bit further down called chi chi\'s.

Not as nosy as I thought it may be but thats down to cyprus having a law against noise at a certain level at certain times so usually all over by midnight!!

The B&B part of it was the typical breakfast with lots of choice from the full works to ...
cereal etc. The hotel has no entertainment on a night but I think it is mainly due to the fact that they is so much to do outside the hotel.

Would stay at this hotel again ourselves and I would recommend to others.

Read More

Tour Operator: cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Raj visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel in June 2006
The hotel is located at one end of the Protaras strip near the dancing magic waters show. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was kept clean and smelling fresh daily although the bed linen could do with replacing. The view from the balcony was great as you could see the hotel pool, the sea & the magic waters show. The room ia air conditioned but extras like fridge and safety boxes are available at a price.

The breakfast was adequate. There was a choice of english, continental, fresh fruits & salad. Drinks were plenty to choose from. The hotel bar was good too although a bit pricy. The pool side bar serves a wide variety of food and drinks. The service at the pool side was excellent. The pool itself is very clean and checked daily. There are ...
plenty of loungers in the pool area.

The hotel has themed nights in the weekend and buffet style dinner. The entertrainment is not too much too look forward to.

All in all a very good family hotel for the three star rating that it is given.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Kathryn visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel in September 2005
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get to sleep before 2.30am. The noise from one of the nearby bars went on till at least 2am. Complaints to hotel staff fell on deaf ears. Got the impression they didn't want to get involved.

Think this hotel is past its best and in much need of a total revamp, room was dirty and bathroom in very poor condition. Asked to change rooms but were told none available till a couple of days before we went home, decided it was not worth it.

Had breakfast once, that was enough.

Never went by the pool as the beach is much nicer.

Having said all this we had a brillant holiday and can\'t wait to go back to Cyprus, but definitely not to this hotel.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

1/5
1

Marc stokes had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2005
The hotel was a dump, damp rooms (caught bug), bathroom as big as a matchbox, and the view from the balcony was one of a big McDonald's sign.

The food was as edible as eating a rubber duck.

The resort consisted of a street full of bars and gift shops (tat), beach was OK nothing special.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Sarah Riley had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras in September 2005
The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly.

The rooms were quite basic but for all the time you spent in them it was fine. Ask for a room over the pool as it can get quite noisy after 9pm till 1am at the front of the hotel as there is a magic light water show on every night at 9pm with loud music. We went to see it which was good. The pub opposite called the Square bar gets loud till 1am.

There aren't any fridges in the rooms which is a bit of a disadvantage for drinks you can hire a fridge for cyp

Tour Operator: Broadway travel / thomsonfly

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Marian Gillespie had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2005
Visited this hotel for 6th time and still love it, already booked for return visit next year. Although love the hotel I do think it needs up-dating as so many lovely hotels springing up in the area.

Have read some reviews where people have complained of noise from nearby bars but hey you\'re on holiday and it never kept us awake.

Did not stay for entertainment as it seemed bit dated.

Although bed and breakfast we did have occasional evening meal but prefer to eat out and breakfast could be improved.

Staff very friendly and greet me with kisses as soon as we return, they never forget a face and welcome your return.

Made many friends who return same time and we all meet up by pool.

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lisa Douglas visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2005
We have just returend from the Kapetanios Bay Hotel and stayed bed and brekfast. We tried the brekfast once and have to say it was not very nice! saying that we regulary had lunch at the hotel and this was lovely! very big portions, you get your moneys worth! The staff at the hotel were always extra friendly and helpful. The downside to the hotel is that the room we had was very small it was more for one person than two! it can get very busy and nosiy around the pool and we would often struggle for a sunbed.

Tour Operator: olympic holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

marcia cummings stayed at Kapetanios Bay Hotel in August 2005
Please do not go here, we stayed for a second time as last year was so good but things have gone down hill.

Our rooms were damp and musty and the showers were horrible.

Our clothes had to be put in the suit case as we couln\'t hang them up as they would get damp.

The pool gets packed and the tables are hardley cleaned...flies every where. We did complain but this fell on deaf ears.

The area is well too noisey espesially if you have little ones. We couldn't get to sleep and the kids got really scared.

I also ate breakfast once, which was once too many...my hubby had to visit the hospital as he got severe food poisioning.

I really can\'t say much more a lovely hotel gone bad..never again.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

Andrea visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras in July 2005
This hotel is brilliant. I have stayed there many times, but unfortunately as I have bought an apartment I won\'t be staying there again. But I still continue to visit.

The staff are very friendly, I have made so many friends. Mavrikos the Manager is just fantastic.

The food is lovely and you must go to the Cypriot night on Saturday and try the Greek Dancing!!!!!.

The hotel is very clean and the cleaners are lovely.

The location is superb with a wide selection of bars and restaurants on your doorstep.

A wonderful hotel that makes each holiday unforgettable.

Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Mark, emma summers visited the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2005
We visited in july, we have visited may places in Cyprus but this was very disapointing indeed. The location is the main area of complaint...ok if your single I suppose but we have 3 kids 14 8 and 6 and it didn\'t suit us.

we did have a good time visiting other places and tried to stay way from the hotel as much as possible.

pools nice, but gets rammed and very load...lots of young couples out to get as drunk as possible

foods okay...if tou like fatty bacon anf runng eggs

very disapointing

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Vikki Smith stayed at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras in June 2005
This hotel is in a fantastic location as you are within easy reach of all of the resorts amenities. I was a little concerned about being next door to McDonald's but there was no need to be as it wasn\'t a problem at all.

The Hotel was lovely and clean and the maid service was daily, blankets on the bed were a little bit rough but other than that no problems.

We were staying on a bed and Breakfast basis and the breakfasts were great, quite a lot of variety and specifically targeted at the English pallet!! Even though we were bed and breakfast you can choose on the day if you would like to have the evening meal and it only costs 7cyp per person to do this, we had the Sunday carvery and it was really nice.

Hotel ...
staff are lovely and very helpful.

Entertainment was provided in the hotel bar 3 nights a week but with Protaras strip on your door step the temptation was too great to be sitting in the hotel bar!!

I would definitely go back to this resort and this hotel, brilliant value for money.

Read More

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

marian gillespie had a holiday at Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2004
Stayed at Kapetanios bay 5 times and am going in 3 weeks time for 6th visit. Never been in May before but looking forward to it and will also be returning in September for further 2 weeks.

Have stayed half board and bed/breakfast so we can enjoy the fabulous food in a good choice of restaurants. Favourite bar is nearby ripples where we are now great friends with owners and keep in contact throughout the year.

Worth hiring jeep/car to explore fantastic area and get off beaten track to find secluded fishing coves and villages. Friendliest people ever met. Not keen on sausages for breakfast as they do not always seem fully cooked and desserts could be better but that is only criticism I have of this fabulous hotel.

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share