28 independent reviews of the Odessa Hotel
Address: Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Odessa Hotel
Odessa Hotel Location
Ranked #17 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Odessa Hotel Odessa Hotel is rated 4.04 out of 5 from 28 Reviews
89% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (28 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Odessa Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

padget stayed at Odessa Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2009
When we arrived the hotel had only just opened for the season and alot of drilling work erecting of new sun shades and pool tiles were been replaced. However once this all stopped we had nothing but praise for the hotel and have booked to go back again in 3 months. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the staff were very friendly.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

paul stocken visited the Odessa Hotel, Protaras in September 2008
The hotel cleaners are the best i have had at any hotel i have visited.clean towels every day,bed sheets clean once a week,toilet rolls a plenty.

Evening food was good, but the breakfast got very boring and it was cold. Sausage cold, eggs cold, bacon cold. Now as for the hotel location it was fantastic, right on the beach front.

The cypriot staff are great , the real problem is the slovaks who are very ignorant. tssokos has sacked is own people for cheap over seas labour.

Entertainment( here it is) elvis 2 nights(could not sing. a female singer(could not sing) a magician( was not bad). and the bar prices are shocking(3 euro 60 a pint thats equal to

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Mr&Mrs Haughton had a holiday at Odessa Hotel in August 2008
we stayed in the odessa beach hotel the reception staff did\'nt know how to smile the rooms were dirty in need of a very deep clean, the toilet seat was broken and cracked,the draws were on the floor wallpaper torn the radio did\'nt work the air con unit was thick with dust the food poor plenty of pork if you like it.The price of drinks were double to what you would pay out of the hotel,we spent 2 weeks at this hotel and we managed to get a sunbed twice people were putting towels out in the middle of the night and the managment did nothing about this.

Tour Operator: Thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Tony had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in July 2008
Even though I have marked some areas low, please read on and I will explain reasons why. I had a fantastic holiday.

Cleanliness 3, the maids visit every day and clean rooms and re-provide towels which is excellant, unfortunately the rooms are in poor condition and are in need of modernisation. Laminate floors which are slippery when wet and cupboards that fall apart. I take the few though that I only sleep and clean myself in the room on holiday so this didnt really bother me, however its not 4 star as quoted in some brochures. All other parts of the hotel are really nice, modern and spotlessly clean.

Hotel Food 5, we went all inclusive and there was an excellant variety of foods and drinks at all times. Waiter service always which is nice and good length of times for servings. ...
i.e. dinner was 6.30 to 9.30 and they dont rush you out.

Hotel Location 5, right on the main strip (not noisy though). 100 metres from a beautiful sandy beech. need i say more.

Hotel Staff 2, The waiting staff are good, however they dont leave you alone to finish meals. I have 2 small kids who dont always eat fast. The waiting staff were actually taking food from the table before they finished their meals and I had to ask for dishes to be returned. The reception staff I found to be rude and abrupt which is ashame as I have always found the cypriot people to be very friendly.

Entertainment 5, but if I could give a 10 I would. I have 2 small children who regularily attended the kids club with Bobbi, Jessy and Franki, (all girls). They were fantastic, so much energy, really friendly however thoroughly proffesional. They also contributed to the entertainment in the evenings also and were really good dancers/singers. If youve got kids, COME HERE.



Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Karen & Rob stayed at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in June 2008
We stayed in the Odessa in June half board was worried about food as we have heard some negative reviews but we were very pleased when we arrived being a VERY fussy eater (veggie) I found things I could eat at breakfast/dinner which I have found hard in the past as I dont eat fry ups so was pleased to see they had cereal & toast which is also great for the kids, we took our children aged 6 & just turned 1 year old so was pleased they catered for all people including the little ones!! Our Hotel room was kept clean & bed linen changed every other day, towels everyday aslong as you place them on the floor in bathroom, the rooms have hair dryer,kettel & fridge. Hotel location was superb couldnt of asked for a better ...
location! Hotel staff were very helpful & friendly did have a problem when there they sorted it straight away so I was very happy with there service. Beaches are fantastic I would go as far as saying its one of the best beaches Ive been too I have visted many places this is so far one of my favourites very clean. I would & will go back to this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Hughes visited the Odessa Hotel, Protaras in May 2008
This was the second year in a row that we have stayed at the Odessa. The previous year we had stayed all inclusive but this year we were half board. We noticed it this year as the prices were quite inflated than last year. We wished we had gone all inclusive. This hotel is in a fantastic location, clean and the entertainement team really do work hard all day and night. The rooms are of ample size although the third bed is only a put you up bed. As my teenager is rather slim for his age this was ok but if he was any larger then I think he would have been uncomfortable. The food is lovely and lots of choices. The water park in Aya Napa is a must.

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

allan & jenny had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in April 2008
Hotel very clean and comfy all round spacious room & pool area. Ideal location for beach restaurants, bars for quiet or livley nights.

Staff, polite and friendly entertainment team first class, super shows, good day time programme.

Food was not good, no variety and always cold at breakfast and dinner.

We would return to this hotel but on a bed and breakfast bassi only.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

lynne had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in October 2007
Arrived at an ungodly 8.30 am, after travelling through the nightand all we wanted was out bed!It was a long transfer as we dropped off at Aya napia first.

Very nice 1st impression, and we were not disappointed. We did not use the hotel alot, but the rooms were nice, food nice in the main, although some people with children struggled. The good thing was if you didn\'t like what was advertised for evening meal,(the menu was displayed in advance) you could swap and have lunch instead and eat out in the evening, which we did a few times.

Good location. Hotel Very clean, pool area was great.

We heard the \"green grassed area\" that leads to the beach is going to be turned into another swimming pool with a dome over it, for winter use. (german pensioners) dont know if ...
its true.

Hotel all in all was just what we expected and we had no complaints

Read More

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

lynne horgan had a holiday at Odessa Hotel in August 2007
We were given the option to upgrade to AI but decided not to. It would have cost us

Tour Operator: libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

mr and mrs hunt had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in July 2007
We stayed at the Odessa having read other reports thought it sounded ok, but we were really suprised by how friendly the staff were.

Our cases were taken to our room whilst we were checked in we were in room 51 which was ground floor by the pool and grass area fantastic we also overlooked the sea I think our room had been recently decorated with new laminate flooring, deocor etc. we also had 2 dressing gowns (great after showers) found the supermarket at rising star great just 2mins from hotel, the beach and bars and shops just 2mins away too, food was lovely with two week menu on display in reception, we did 3 day cruise to Egypt through Thisvli travel the lady who booked was lovely we booked to go to Famagusta there too, Highly recomend both ...
of these trips.

It was our daughters birthday whilst there and hotel brought wine and fruit to the room, we had tea and coffee making facilities in room which we really enjoyed nice to have a cuppa on the balcony before breakfast,also fridge which was great for our cold drinks. weather was fantastic with a nice sea breeze even by the pool.

Plenty going on round the pool, I did aqua aerobics every morning superb (after all that food)!!!

All in all we had a fantastic time at the Odessa and would recommend it.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Gill visited the Odessa Hotel in July 2007
The all inclusive choice was excellent value and some people were indeed upgrading from half board to include drinks etc. Even cocktails are included in the package.

The food was very good with plenty of choice and the menu displayed every day so that people on half board could choose whether to eat at lunch or evening mealtime in the restaraunt. The breakfast choice was also vast from english to continental etc

The hairdryers in rooms work really well too!
The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels as well.The toilets in main hotel could have done with a little more attention though.Pool area was cleaned every morning to a good standard.

The location of the hotel was really good, having a central location for all bars restaraunts and the beach.You would have a view of the sea from any rooms due to ...
the position of hotel.

The hotel staff were rather varied! All the manager/supervisors appeared to be Cypriot and very good workers. The rest of the bar staff and waiters etc, came from lots of other nationalities and it seemed that they tried their best under the circumstances. Peter on the pool bar worked lots of hours and a lot of the time on his own having to serve waiters as well as guests.

The entertainment was all in English and the team worked very hard both day and night. Bobby, Toni and Jamie are great with the kids and credit to Jonny as well with his great (if dry) sense of humour. If you go on a boat trip, I would recommend the one that Jonny organizes!

We would definetly visit the Odessa again.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lynn and Ian stayed at Odessa Hotel in May 2007
The Hotel is clean but a little dated.

Maid service every day with towel and bed change. Room a good size with fridge (key free of charge at reception) hair dryer lots of storage. Seating area in room and balcony. Bathroom small but all you need shower excellent. Air con excellent. Free use on TV not that ever watched it.

Pool area very clean with lots of beds (the usual towels on early morn). 3 minute walk from pool to beach.

The staff at hotel are very friendly and good fun.

Entertainment team all english are great laugh, try to join you in every thing. Always have a smile on their faces even see them out in the bars at night. Bobby is a little party girl having fun all day ...
long.

Food ok,drink good went out most nights for meals and bars untill 4 am. So didnt make good use of all inclusive.

Read More

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Brian and Claire had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in May 2007
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were met by a very freindly gentleman on reception.

Our rooms had been upgraded to sea view and we had interconnecting doors as requested (via e-mail). The rooms were a little tired but were very spacious and clean.The rooms had the usual hairdryer, TV and fridge (fridge extra cost) facilities but whilst we were there they added a kettle and cups which was great.

Food was plentiful, lots of choice and nicely presented. However, if you have a bland food palet, you may struggle a bit.

Location was very good. 1 minute walk to beach. 2 minute walk to main strip. The cheapest supermarket we found was the one by the Rising Star Hotel (50m from pool area - go out onto the grass area and turn left).

The entertainment was ...
organized by Hannah, Toni and Bobby and was excellent, offering activities throughout the day and evening. The kids club which the children enjoyed very much was also excellent.

The hotel and pool area were very clean and spacious. The staff were friendly although it is a shame to see that there are less and less cypriot staff being employed.

Overall we had an excellent holiday at the Odessa and will almost certainly return the same as many of the friends we made. We have to return we never got to play tennis ,never made it to the church on the hill and Eric ray (elvis) was only returning after we left, we are counting the days already !.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

sharon had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2006
Odessa, great hotel.

Great location with a great entertainment team (even Johnny the funniest gay entertainer I have ever met).

Food great with a nice selection.

Pool area lovely.

plenty of nice people to meet.

Loved the bar staff but found their swearing sometimes offensive.

Entertainment was good with a varied mix of shows, blues bros, Chicago and two renditions of Robbie Williams, one on the stage and one peformed at midnight by a drunk man(the latter being more of a tribute act then the first!!).

Will go again for sure..and would love to see the same faces

Tour Operator: jmc

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sas had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2006
Just back from Odessa Hotel. Fantastic location just off the Protaras strip where there are loads of bars and restaurants but hotel peaceful with no noise disturbance at night.

The pool was lovely with a grass area leading down to the beach.

The sea was beautiful. Beach can get quite crowded but bearable. Further toward Fig Tree bay it gets very crowded with lots of Cypriot families on their holidays. There are loads of water sports all along the beach which I think my children went on just about all of. The hotel staff were very friendly.

The food and drinks were very nice but we found the buffet a little repetitive.

Our room was very clean and bright with maid service daily. Our twin boys of 15 yrs absolutely loved it and made ...
many friends. P

rotaras is a very safe place and they went out with their friends to bars and clubs every night with no problems. Entertainment very good.

The animation team worked very hard and were very friendly. They put on shows with dancing, singing and quizzes. During the day it was aqua aerobics, volley ball and water polo. There was also a kids club and kids disco early evening which the little ones seemed to really enjoy.

My husband was very ill while we were there and ended in hospital having a disc removed in his back so I was in the hotel a lot on my own but every one was very supportive and friendly and I felt very safe.

I hope to return next year under better circumstances but would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: Sunstar Leisure

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Paul kavanagh visited the Odessa Hotel, Protaras in September 2005
The hotel was as well run. Staff were very attentive to your needs.

The hotel is just off the strip but was very quiet at night no loud noise to disturb your sleep.

This hotel is now part of the Tsokkos group and one of the best.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Donna had a holiday at Odessa Hotel in September 2005
On arrival the hotel staff were very helpful and our cases were taken to the room for us. We were very disappointed with the room although we had seen photos, the decor is just so dated, but it was very clean. We soon realised that it was \'only\' decor and that the rest of the hotel made up for it though and soon made our room home for 2 weeks. We were on the second floor and it looks like the top 2 floors are differently decorated - looks nice if the curtains are anything to go by!!

Every Morning there was a fantastic breakfast laid on - although it was the same choice every day, but there was an abundance of choice which included cereals, toasts, juices, fruits, cakes, cheeses etc and fried breakfast with many sorts of tea, ...
coffee, hot chocolate etc which were served buffet style till 10 every day.

There was lunch as a buffet choice but we rarely ate this because we chose to have something later at about 3:30pm from a selection of choices that was free if all inclusive, such as toasties (with chips and salad) or pizza, or spaghetti bolognese, again there was a wide range of meals.

Then at tea time there was another wide range of food served buffet style - soup with \'hot\' rolls then salad selection and then a hot meal buffet section followed by a pudding buffet and a cheese and biscuit buffet with fruits - the choice was vast and in 2 weeks did not appear to be repeated often - this was served till 9:30 pm.

The entertainment was very good which varied from Cabarets which included Riverdance and Chicago eg and there was quizzes and bingo most nites.

The all inclusive was a very good way to save money while on holiday because you could chose to eat in or out if you chose, and the local drinks were actually very nice to drink including the Keo beer.

The Hotel itself was very clean and nicely set out and the staff were very friendly and we were served the same as non all inclusive guests!!!!

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, and the towels were changed daily.

The position of the hotel was great, it was on the strip and the beach was \'quite\' close but not situated \'at\' the beach which was lovely with clear waters (some rocks) -fig tree bay is just up the road, which was gorgeous but very busy. The hotel really looked after us and we really recommend it!


Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

alan fraser visited the Odessa Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2004
Although classed as a 4 star, we would rate this as a good 3 star, for the following reasons.
1. Hotel Staff-all very friendly,
2. Hotel room- our room was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool (side/sea view), which we paid an extra

Tour Operator: kwik travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

chris had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras in September 2004
We chose the Odessa to celebrate our 30th wedding aniversary. We could not have been more pleased. It was the first time we did not have to carry our cases to our room. The room itself was clean and tidy with a sea view.

We originally booked in half board but the food and service was so good we up graded to all inclusive. All the staff was friendly and helpful. On the day of our anniversary a waitress delivered wine, glasses and a big bowl of fruit to our room compliments of the staff.

The hotel is no more than 2 minutes from the beach the rooms are air conditioned which was a god send as the weather was very hot. The entertainment was the only down fall.

Plenty for kids which were few due to the time of ...
year. The evening was a struggle for the crew who had to be jacks of all trades one night we were subjected to the blues brother

Read More

Tour Operator: kwiktravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

elizabeth jennings had a holiday at Odessa Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2004
We stayed at the Odessa in Protaras. We arrived in the middle of the night and wanted something to drink, and the man on the desk could not even provide a glass of water.

Our room was comfortable but everything was very worn and frayed.

The young waitresses were absolutely brilliant (couldn't do enough for you especially Paullina).

We tried to book a late checkout room but were told none available. Our cases had to be left in reception until our departure to the airport at 1-30am.

The rep spent the entire holiday seeing to the needs of his parents, not the paying customers. .

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share