12 independent reviews of the Malama Holiday Village
Address: Protaras, Cyprus
Malama Holiday Village
Malama Holiday Village Location
Ranked #40 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Malama Holiday Village Malama Holiday Village is rated 3.58 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
75% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Malama Holiday Village Reviews

3/5
3

David Williams had a holiday at Malama Holiday Village Hotel in April 2009
We chose half board to save money, with exchange rates so poor. The self service breakfast was broad in choice with both continental and full English foods available. We did not eat at the hotel at lunch time although we were informed that we could take lunch instead of evening meal if we so wished on a daily basis.
The choice of foods at evening meal were somewhat repetitive with a standard choice of salad variations at all meals and a variation on chicken preparations. The food was plentiful and tasty although for guests who prefer not to eat foods in a variety of sauces and marinades you will find yourselves choosing to eat away from the hotel. There is little provision for fussy kids with limited palates, although we were able to order nuggets and chips on one occassion. ...
Drinks are relatively expensive reflecting the hotel mark up with a large beer at 3.70 Euro, imported shorts are also expensive and priced separately from their mixers.
The apartment cleanliness was excellent with daily maid services to our rooms.
The hotel complex is situated about 5km from Protaras which would take 30 mins to walk assuming good health. The taxi costs 10-12 Euro, which is expensive in todays\' climate. Within a five minute walk is a few bars, restaurants, a bakery and supermarket, limited when compared with the choices and value for money at Protaras centre.
Those families with toddlers will find the limited chaos they call entertainment acceptable. We had older kids and we got out of the hotel every evening to avoid the madness. There is no holiday atmosphere in the bar of the hotel and drinks are expensive.
There is a nice pool area at the back of the hotel with lovely views out over the bay.
Objectively, this is not a bad hotel complex

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

bethany had a holiday at Malama Holiday Village in August 2008
the hotel was ok.
the room was very clean and well equipted. the location wasnt so good ,it was impossible to walk to the center of protaras but the taxi into it only took 15 minutes and cost about 12 euros.Entertainment was always avalible at night times, but it wasnt very good.It was nice to have the little beach because it wasnt that busy.the gardens around the hotel were lovely.there were a few resteraunts and shops about 10-15 mins down the road.
the hotel would be good for young families and families that are very active.


Tour Operator: british airways
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

caroline visited the Malama Holiday Village Hotel in August 2007
We are just back from a wonderful holiday in beautiful cyprus. This hotel was excellent as far as cleaniness is concerned. The rooms are very bright and spacious, one of the best apartments we have had on our holidays.They seem to have a very good security policy here. Maid service is very good with plenty of clean towels and beds changed regularly. The staff are very nice and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on our first day there but the food we got was not great. The location of the hotel is a bit far away from everything, fine if you want to lie by the pool everyday but if you wish to discover a bit more about cyprus you have to get a taxi everywhere.We cannot comment on the entertainment because we went to protaras or aiya ...
napa at night but the bar seemed to close early !! But all in all it was very good and would recommend it

Read More

Tour Operator: gerry mcmanhon travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

o'mahony had a holiday at Malama Holiday Village Hotel in July 2007
hotel was great in a good position the food was excellant and we would go back

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Jenna visited the Malama Holiday Village, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2007
I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Its very clean, and all staff were very friendly and a very good laugh especially on cabaret night.

Fantastic views from our balcony and again whilst we ate some lunch at the seaview restaurant.

Looking forward to visiting again next year.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Zoe Spencer-Skeen visited the Malama Holiday Village, Protaras, Cyprus in July 2006
I loved everything about this hotel, I thought that the staff and entertainers were brilliant, they were very friendly.

The rooms were clean which is always good, it was set in such a nice spot by the sea.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and I would certainly go back again!

Tour Operator: Friend

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Nicki Shepherd stayed at Malama Holiday Village Hotel, Protaras in June 2006
Me and Zoe went in 2006 was a brilliant holiday

The staff and entertainers were really friendly and made us feel at home.

There was a restaurant up the road called Tonys which had yummy cheesy garlic bread!

Miss it so much and will go back again definitely!

Well worth the money!

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Mary visited the Malama Holiday Village in April 2006
This Hotel was an excellent choice. It was kept very clean all the facilities were regularly maintained.

The food was of very good quality buffet style, but a la carte was also offered.

The location was in a quiet part of Potaris but had numerous good bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel had its own cove with watersports activities available from the beach. Other beaches within easy walking distance.

Lots to do Tennis, Squash, indoor and outdoor pools and the Jacuzi was an added bonus.

The hotel staff were very polite and friendly.


Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Martin stayed at Malama Holiday Village, Protaras in October 2005
The Malalama is very much a product of being owned by a large company in that it exibits many of the corporate standards but lacks the personal touch that we have witnessed elsewhere in smaller owner run premises.

We arrived early evening with 2 children and as such decided to eat in rather than venture out. We selected the buffet and ate in what resembled more of a food hall reminiscent of having school meals. The buffet was of a poor standard and having selected the fish I got a bone so large stuck in my gum it had to be pulled out!!

The breakfasts were fine with a good choice of differing food. The other menues for lunch basically catered very much for Brits who wanted to eat burger and chips with very little local food available. ...
Evening meals were a little more varied

There are 2 pools on the site, sat adjacent to each other. The second one was out of order as it appeared to have structural faults and was cordened off for the entire visit. Looking at the cracks alongside it would appear to merit a major rebuild. The second pool was excellent for children in that the entrance was on a sloping gradient and really did facilitate children playing at the edge without worry that they would fall in. However, the temperature of the water was so cold that few people rarely ventured in.....a huge dissapointment to us.

The beach sits behind the main pool a small way down some steps. We did visit but decided not to stay due to the cleanliness of the sand which was generally covered in litter and poorly kept. A shame as otherwise it was a nice area

We did not try the indoor pool and jaccuzi due to the widespread complaints of the temperature of the indoor pool being as cold as the outdoor one which does explain its general lack of use.

There were a dair number of children visiting which made it good for families in that there were other children for theme to to play with

The staff were very pleasant and obliging on reception. My suggestion is not to change travellers cheques at the Malama as they charge an exchange rate approx 10% less competative than the banks with an additional fee of

Read More

Tour Operator: Booked Direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Karen had a holiday at Malama Holiday Village Hotel in September 2005
Lovely. Set out like a village, very quiet (when you don\'t get large families of italians).

Apartments large and spacious. Basic cooking facilities but why cook when you have a nice selection of restaurants five minutes away.

Apartment always cleaned daily apart from Sunday. Staff always friendly.

Large pool with smaller pool (not in use Sept 2005) due to problems with the tiling but nobody bothered as right in front of the Malama (down some steps) is a small coved beach and the sea is fab.

Usually I just turn my sunbed around whilst around the pool and just face the sea watching people swim, watch the boats go by or just watch the sea change colour - pure heaven.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Ami Beech visited the Malama Holiday Village, Protaras in June 2005
We arrived at Malama village very late at night as we were the last stop on the coach.

Next time we would get a taxi direct. Malama village is a distance away from Protaras but we did find a nice restaraunt at a short distance down the road. This restaurant is called Faliros.

The hotel is clean and the pools are nice and big. they have a nice little beach cove. The hotel is a bit out of the way and the entertainment is something to be desired.
Have to go into protaras to find decent entertainment which was a taxi there and back.

Food at hotel could be better, we eat out most nights. The entertainment staff were good through the day and the bar staff and reception staff are very friendly aswell. would we stay there again? yes if it was nearer to Protaras.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Karen stayed at Malama Holiday Village Hotel in April 2004
This was the 3rd time that I had stayed at the Malama, my parents have the apartment with a company called RCI which is the new version of timeshare.
This was the first time we had gone in a larger group we expected to get a 2 bedroom apartment but what we actually got was 2 1 bedroom apartments with an inter connecting door which was absolutely brilliant, 2 bathrooms then you see, good when there is 5 women getting ready to go out at the same time!!

The maid service was great cleaned everyday except the day after we arrived and sunday. You decide when you want your towels washing, to do this you place them in the bath.

The staff were very polite and helpful. In 2003 when we were there I had severe toothache, the man on reception was great ...
he telephoned his wife at home to ask her for a telephone number of an english speaking dentist, he booked me in at 7am that morning by 7:30 my tooth had been whipped out no blood no pain. If I could afford I would go back to Cyprus every 6 months for my checkups.

We only tried the food in the hotel twice, as we like to shop around in Kapparis and Protaras. What we did have there was delicious. Mostly buffet style but you can decide on your own portions then plus seconds and thirds.

The kids club was ideal for us on this trip as we had a 4 year old with us and by the end of the first day he was getting a bit bored of his 5 adult female companions just lieing in the sun!!! They had a kids disco most nights in the bar next to reception also a talent show even though our Cameron wouldn\'t take his hands out of his pockets!!!

The location of the hotel is not brilliant, It is in a smallish village called Kapparis. A short taxi ride into Protaras which is really getting quite big now. Lots of really good restaurants and bars. Good quality Cypriot and English food. Try as much Cypriot food as you can it is wonderful.

Read More

Tour Operator: RCI

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars
Share