43 independent reviews of Agios Nikolaos, Greece
Agios Nikolaos Location

3/5
Agios Nikolaos is rated 3 out of 5 from 43 Reviews

Agios Nikolaos Hotels

Agios Nikolaos Reviews

3/5


richards visited here on August 2005
The area around the apartments has a shop and a few taverna reasonably priced. We attended Agihos Nikolaos for my sons wedding. The centre was busy and their was plenty of choice for eating out, the resturants by the lake side are especially nice. It a child friendly place and all the tavernas are geared up for children. The weather on day rose to 44 degrees (very hot).
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


hall family visited here on August 2005
Aghios Nicholas is a fantastic resort.

Not for those who want to party non stop but ideal for anyone wanting a cosmopolitan resort with plenty of quality restaurants and bars/tavernas.

The further away from the lake you eat or drink the cheaper it gets 2 euro`s a pint up the hill.

Beautiful harbour area to eat and drink or to take boat trips to the many attractions.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Jon visited here on July 2005
The resort is clean and full of tavernas + shops.

The beaches are Blue flag and mainly sandy with lifeguards.

The following surrounding resorts are worth a visit, Elounda, Sitia, Lerapetra, Malia and Plaka (however you will need a car to visit most of them).

Water city is definately worth a visit (entance is 16 euros, open 10.00am to 6.00pm), approx 30 miles from the resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


les hall linda hall emma hall visited here on July 2005
Agios Nicholas is a delightful resort with something for everyone. The harbour area is most attractive full of restaraunts bars and taverners.

Couple of disco\'s or so we were told but we couldn\'t hear them. bars tend to be a bit price\'y close to the harbour but if you venture a little further up the hill you can find beer at 2-3 euro\'s a pint.

Lake area past the harbour is nice to sit and people watch with bars all the way round but again at a price. Shopping is very good in this area all the usual tat but lots of locally made goods of high quality especially the paintings.

All in all very enjoyable resort possibly a bit too quiet for the younger ones but ideal for couples/families.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Catriona visited here on June 2005
This is our families\' third time in Aghios Nikolas and will almost certainly not be our last.

We have visited other countries but have never found anywhere that comes up to the standard of Ag Nik.

You must visit the Toedeleokie Bar next to the Hotel Hermes, it is the best bar in the world!!! Good drinks, lovely people!! What more do you need!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Wadsworth visited here on June 2005
As mentioned in other reviews, very nice place, menus a bit limited and don\'t change, we prefer the variety of the tavernas outside the resort, main restaurant a bit pricey, preferred to get taxi to nearby villages.

Our kids loved the kids club and the kids reps were really good.

Overall an excellent resort, quiet, friendly, clean, lots of sunbeds though people kept reserving sunbeds and appearing near the pool around midday, but you would always get a bed (or 4) until after 10am most days.

Highly recommended but would go self catering due to limited menu. Shop on site sold most things needed. Very good.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Johnston - Group Holiday visited here on May 2005
Ag.Nik was a beautiful town - with some gorgeous restaurants around the \'bottomless lake\'.

We didn\'t really go to the beaches very often but there were some pretty coves nearer to our apartments (Paradise apts)which were lovely and quiet.

Great place also to use as a base for excursions.

This was our first stay in Ag.Nik and we will go back again someday I am sure.
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


creta star appartments visited here on August 2004
Aghios Nikolaos is a nice resort unfortunately due to the wind which are quite common in August the water was full of rubbish and litter. The beaches(municipal) are kept clean however the sea along many of the beaches along this coastline were filthy. There is an abundance of restaurants in this resort with some great food available. I would not go back to this part of Crete because of the disappointing state of the sea.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

2/5


neaves visited here on August 2004
Ag Nik is clean and a busy little resort which we liked. We ate at La Strada restaurant which was a good meal. We can not comment on the entertainment or the beach standards because we did not use them.

We booked a trip to Spinolonga Island through Nostas tour. This was a boat trip which cost 45 Euros for the 4 of us. We had an excellent guided tour of the Island even all the children were entralled with the way the guide told the history. Beware some other companies will just leave you on the island to look around, you will not learn the history then and it would just be a pile of ...
ruins.

As usual the Greek people were lovely and the children were made to feel welcome and yes we have already booked another Greek resort next year.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Chris Jackson visited here on May 2004
Aghois Nikolaios is the nearest resort to Candia Park Village, about 6km away (a short taxi ride - taxis always readily available).The centre is set out round a harbour and the lake which adjoins it. Its clean and there are plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from, especially round the lake. The waiters do try and entice you in, but are friendly and not at all pushy. There is a marina and beach, but as we used our hotel\'s private beach, I have rated the beach standard on that. Lots of gift shops, and a market on Wednesdays which is worth a look. The tourist office and taxi rank are next door to eachother, so you won\'t ...
get lost. There is a Spar supermarket and several chemists in case of need. The public loos are not particularly nice. The toilets themselves are clean, but the building is a bit battered and needs some attention! I would definitely visit again.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Bennett + Priddle families visited here on May 2004
Agios Nikolaos is a high standerd town,with quaint little shops that were reasonalby priced, if you\'re willing to haggle. All except the game shops that have very expensive games! e.g playstation 2 games are around 60-75 euro.

We suggest taxis if you are planning to go to the town,we walked once it took about 45-50 minuites(we stayed at Candia Park).It tired us all, appart from my son, who was willing to walk back, and we never felt like much shopping then.

Tip - there are lovely restraunts,but they are more expensive if you eat next to the harbour.

We repeatedly visited Taverna Kri Kri. Which is a brilliant restraunt just passed St Nickolas bay, a short distance from the town.It has fantastic food ...
a childs play area,a large screen tv,pool table and a bar.We highly recommend it.

Also take the time to visit Elounda. It has nice restraunts,and well priced shops.There\'s a sunken city and boat trips to Spinalonga,which is the island where people who suffered with lepracy stayed.People say that superstars go to Elounda to stay,in the more expensive hotels.


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Graeme & Rhona visited here on September 2003
Elounda is a charming, small, working fishing port that has managed to maintain its essential Cretan character in spite of being a popular holiday destination.
This is not a resort for the larger lout or for those who want a riotous night life with discos and boozing until the early hours of the morning.
However, for young families with children up to teenage and for couples who enjoy peace and quiet and who appreciate the beautiful scenery and cosmopolitan nature of the resort, this is a place for you.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


G THOMPSON visited here on September 2003
The resort of Aghios Nikolaos was very disapointing with the harbour side restaurants being rather expensive.

We had most meals at only a couple of places nearer the hotel and did not venture much into the resort center at night due to the distance back to our hotel.

The rest of Crete was very nice and if we returned would probably go to Rethymnon or Chania much nicer.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

3/5


davies visited here on August 2003
The location was OK. There was no beach it was rocky but the bay was picturesque, the town had ample bars and restaraunts. Nights, although I would say it suit adults rather than families.

The diving school was the only watersports there. Further round the bay was a harbour and the big cruise ships came in to port there.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


kathy marshall visited here on July 2003
agious nikolaus was probaby the nicest resort ive been to among the greek islands, it was quaint, with plenty of bars and restaurants and clubs but not too noisy,it tended to have people of all ages. the bars centred around the harbour and also the bottomless lake which had restaurants set in a mountain overlooking the lake. It really was picturesque and i would definately go again
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Alantha Apartments  stars Alantha Apartments
An attractive, modern complex in the heart of Aghios Nikolaos, Alantha Apartments is an ideal choice for families and couples. The accommodation is bright and spacious, and there is a roof-top swimming pool boasting panoramic views over the bay.

Latest Review: Jul 2008

Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

1/5
Artemis Beach Hotel  stars Artemis Beach Hotel
The Artemis Beach Hotel offers beautiful views right from an ocean side location. The fantastic Cretan hospitality and high level of customer service ensures everybody has an enjoyable stay.

Latest Review: Aug 2003

Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Candia Park Village Apartments  stars Candia Park Village Apartments
Reminiscent of a traditional Cretan village and situated in a beautiful beachside location overlooking Mirabello beach, the Candia Park offers a perfect setting for couples and families seeking a relaxing holiday.

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Coral Hotel  stars Coral Hotel
Run-of-the-mill mid-range tourist establishment making a good base from which to explore. Has added benefit of being close to town's amenities and its own pool. Guests also have use of facilities at sister hotel.

Latest Review: Apr 2008

Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

2/5
Hera Village Bungalows & Hotel  stars Hera Village Bungalows & Hotel
Address: Pleura Agiou Nikolaou, Agios Nikolaos 72100, Greece

Latest Review: Sep 2006

Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Hermes Hotel  stars Hermes Hotel
With a very convenient location, right on the seafront and overlooking the picturesque Gulf of Mirabello, the hotel\'s rooftop swimming pool offers fabulous views and the beaches, bars and restaurants of Aghios Nikolaos are within easy reach.

Latest Review: May 2009

Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel  stars Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Address: Havania, Agios Nikolaos, 72100, Greece

Latest Review: Sep 2013

Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Kalithea Apartments  stars Kalithea Apartments
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Άγιος Νικόλαος, Agios Nikolaos (Crete) 72100, Greece

Latest Review: Jul 2005

Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Lato Hotel  stars Lato Hotel
Address: Ammoudiou, AGIOS NIKOLAOS - CRETE 72100, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

5/5
Manos Apartments  stars Manos Apartments
These pleasent apartments are situated on a quiet side road, close to the beach at Elounda. A popular choice for couples seeking a relaxing holiday, this is a good base for exploring the coastlines bays and coves.

Latest Review: Apr 2010

Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

2/5
Mikro Village Hotel  stars Mikro Village Hotel
Address: xirokambos, 00, Crete - Greece, Agios Nikolaos 72100, Greece

Latest Review: Apr 2007

Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Minos Beach Art Hotel  stars Minos Beach Art Hotel
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Aghios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece

Latest Review: May 2008

Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Minos Palace Hotel  stars Minos Palace Hotel
Address: Ammoudiou, Agios Nikolaos 721 00, Greece

Latest Review: May 2007

Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

4/5
Ormos Crystal Hotel  stars Ormos Crystal Hotel
Address: Ormos - Akti Agiou Nikolaou, Agios Nikolaos 72100, Greece

Latest Review: Aug 2006

Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

5/5
Paradise Apartments  stars Paradise Apartments
Finished to a high standard, the Paradise Apartments are located amongst the olive groves. Ideally situated away from the main bustle of Aghios Nikolaos, a selection of tavernas, bars and restaurants are close by.

Latest Review: Apr 2009

Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Share