Image of Sunset Beach Hotel

Sunset Beach Hotel

14 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
2 stars

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sylvia McKee
A little more attention to detail would make this place great
5 years 6 months ago
This was the second time we have stayed at the Sunset Beach. The first time was some twelve years previously.
The rooms was fine and kept clean.

The Sky TV for which we paid extra was a little lacking - as in the programme choice was very limited & the connection kept falling out of the box - but it was adequate for our purposes.

The breakfast was toast & marmalade - anything else was extra + a service charge - also on occasions the bread was mouldy - the marmalade was out of date.

A little more attention to these things would be a benefit - apart from that and the fact that the bar prices were more expensive than at other nearby outlets everything was fine & we are returning again in November this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Kim And Ged
New people are not made welcome
5 years 6 months ago
Never again, this place is like a private club for people that have been there for the same two week every year and the staff seem to favour them and leave the newbies outside the circle of membership of the top table.

There are people there that seem to think they need to vet the incoming guests late night when all the normal people are in bed getting some sleep and NOT up till the early hours drinking and making the staff stay up to serve them till almost three in the morning and that same staff has to be up in less than three hours to serve breakfast!

The hotel IS dirty and the rooms are small.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Cath And Tass
Wonderful friendly little hotel
5 years 6 months ago
We travelled to Sunset beach for the 2nd time with 4 friends, 2 have been before and 2 newbys. We found the hotel to be as lovely as ever, the staff who work very long hours were always on hand with a cold drink and a smile. As we always ended our night on the town back at the hotel the staff got to know us quite well and we often kept them up very late. I don't think this went down very well with some of the other guests who were happier walking around all day looking for faults. After all this is India.

Yes they do add a service charge to the bill but then again so does a lot of hotels in the UK, we certainly never minded paying and never felt as though we were being ripped off.

The rooms were cleaned and mopped out every day except Sunday, clean towels every day and clean bedding every other day.

We have booked again for next year to go back to this wonderful friendly little hotel and we would not hesitate to recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
David And Jenni
What a joke!
5 years 6 months ago
What a joke, this place is dirty and the staff just walk about all day playing silly games between themselves. There is a service charge they add to everything you buy there and then round it up to the next round number plus after all this they still hang about for a tip.

The room we were in was filthy and there was a distinct note of the whole place had seen MUCH better days. The other guests seem to meet up the same weeks every year and do not want to even talk to anyone unless you have been there for at least twice a year for the last twenty years, it seems like you need a membership card to fit in either with the staff or guests.

You can make your own mind up but we will not return to this hotel as there are a LOT better hotels in Candolim.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mr H
Loved Goa, but NOT this hotel
5 years 6 months ago
Well, what can I say apart from this place is far from as good as some of the reviews seem to rate it, I think that at some point it was ok but now it is long past its sell by date and very worn around the edges. This is NOT our first visit to Goa so I do have some idea of what I’m talking about.

This is the first hotel in Goa I have stayed at where they add on a service charge to your bar bills and then expect a tip too. Ok, so it’s not much but the percent of the service charge all depends on who serves you and even then they round it up to the next ten rupees!

The rooms are shoddy and not really as clean as they could be, the location is right down near the whispering palms and yes, it’s near the beach BUT it’s still a good way from the main part of Candolim.

The staff are a mixed bag, some are ok and some just ignore you. The food at the Bistro is good but the breakfast as everywhere else is rubbish and includes toasted STALE bread and the coffee must only cost about five rupees a ton!

The guests seem to be all ones who have been there for years and seem to return for the same time and meet up leaving any new guests classed as "outcasts".

We shall not be returning to this hotel but Goa is a wonderful place.
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Julie & Gary Milner
Very friendly
5 years 8 months ago
Stayed at Sunset Beach in January '11 which was our second visit to this hotel. Been to Goa 4 times now and will be returning again next year.

Did find this year you had to pay for beach towels for four towels we were charged 60 rupee's (90 Pence). TV if you wanted it also had a charge. There was a safe in the hotel this time for a fee which was worth the money to keep your things safe. Air con we never get as there is a fan that is over the bed and does the job for us just as good.

Breakfast coffee, toast, juice is ok. Milky coffee extra charge but is lovely.

Staff are very friendly and the owner comes and speaks with the guests when he is walking round the site; any problems and they are sorted straight away if reported.

Rooms cleaned every day and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We did miss the cows on a night when we returned to our hotel as they seemed to have moved on this year from the spare ground at the side of the hotel. Taxis there now but no problem at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
MCB
6 years 8 months ago
Have just spent two weeks at The Sunset Beach flying with Thomas Cook from Manchester. Initially we were a bit disappointed with the hotel or should I say the staff. This was our third visit to Goa but our first to this hotel. On our previous visits to another hotel we had found the staff to be excellent and that they couldn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 6 months ago
Having stayed here for the 3rd year running, this to me is one of the very decent hotels for it's location near the beach and away from the main road to avoid any noise. I guess the only noise you do get are early morning dogs barking, but no great issue and the honking horn of the local bread boy on his bicycle - try him for his fresh samosas at 5rps each, excellent !
Very clean hotel around the small compact grounds. The pool while on the small side, is ok for cooling off afer coming from the beach. Plenty of towels and a few sunbeds if you don't want to venture out, it is salso shaded all day so will be very cool water.
Security staff here are excellent, along with the room maids, and have never heard of any problems with things going missing.
Breakfast is the usual, toast/juice/tea etc.. anything else is extra - eggs/cornflakes.
Nothing to complain about.
Rooms on the top at the end block do not have balconys,if this is a problem ask for a change, if one is available it will not be a problem, but if you do getthese rooms they are as good as the rest other than no balcony.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 7 months ago
Just stayed at Sunset Beach hotel for 2weeks from 16th February Hotel is basic but of good standard. Rooms are cleaned every day and bed linen and towels changed daily. We had a first floor room with balcony with side view over the pool. Which in the morning was nice to seat on balcony because there was no sun on balcony but by the afternoon it was red hot. Pool was very clean and staff cleaned it every day. The only problem there was there was a few dogs at the hotel that loved barking very early in the morning. Will probaby book this hotel for next year but February was too hot for us so will go back in Janaury. Staff at Reception and Bar very polite and always very chatty and enjoyed talking to us. Breakfast was tea juice and toast, but at very small cost extra food could be ordered and cooked fresh to order.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 8 months ago
we have just returned from our first stay in goa and what an experience. we definately chose the right hotel just the right size, everybody really helpful,friendly and the hotel staff and cleanliness much more than a 2 star hotel. We had a huge double bed and the mattress wonderful. Breakfast toast, juice and coffee etc, but plenty of alternatives for small extra charge.Didn't use pool hardly at all,quite small but never many people around it so not a problem.
Felt really at home and we are already making plans to return next January. One of our best holiday experiences.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: