28 independent reviews of the Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Sunset Beach Hotel Sunset Beach Hotel is rated 4.11 out of 5 from 28 Reviews
89% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (28 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Sunset Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"A little more attention to detail would make this place great"
Sylvia McKee stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in March 2011
This was the second time we have stayed at the Sunset Beach. The first time was some twelve years previously.
The rooms was fine and kept clean.

The Sky TV for which we paid extra was a little lacking - as in the programme choice was very limited & the connection kept falling out of the box - but it was adequate for our purposes.

The breakfast was toast & marmalade - anything else was extra + a service charge - also on occasions the bread was mouldy - the marmalade was out of date.

A little more attention to these things would be a benefit - apart from that and the fact that the bar prices were more expensive than at other nearby outlets everything was fine & we are returning again in November this year.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1
"New people are not made welcome"
Kim and Ged stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel in March 2011
Never again, this place is like a private club for people that have been there for the same two week every year and the staff seem to favour them and leave the newbies outside the circle of membership of the top table.

There are people there that seem to think they need to vet the incoming guests late night when all the normal people are in bed getting some sleep and NOT up till the early hours drinking and making the staff stay up to serve them till almost three in the morning and that same staff has to be up in less than three hours to serve breakfast!

The hotel IS dirty and the rooms are small.


Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5
"Wonderful friendly little hotel"
cath and tass had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel in March 2011
We travelled to Sunset beach for the 2nd time with 4 friends, 2 have been before and 2 newbys. We found the hotel to be as lovely as ever, the staff who work very long hours were always on hand with a cold drink and a smile. As we always ended our night on the town back at the hotel the staff got to know us quite well and we often kept them up very late. I don't think this went down very well with some of the other guests who were happier walking around all day looking for faults. After all this is India.

Yes they do add a service charge to the bill but then again so does a lot of hotels in the UK, we certainly never minded paying and never felt as though we were being ripped ...
off.

The rooms were cleaned and mopped out every day except Sunday, clean towels every day and clean bedding every other day.

We have booked again for next year to go back to this wonderful friendly little hotel and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2
"What a joke!"
David and Jenni stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in March 2011
What a joke, this place is dirty and the staff just walk about all day playing silly games between themselves. There is a service charge they add to everything you buy there and then round it up to the next round number plus after all this they still hang about for a tip.

The room we were in was filthy and there was a distinct note of the whole place had seen MUCH better days. The other guests seem to meet up the same weeks every year and do not want to even talk to anyone unless you have been there for at least twice a year for the last twenty years, it seems like you need a membership card to fit in either with the staff or guests.

You can make your own mind up but we will not ...
return to this hotel as there are a LOT better hotels in Candolim.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2
"Loved Goa, but NOT this hotel"
Mr H stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2011
Well, what can I say apart from this place is far from as good as some of the reviews seem to rate it, I think that at some point it was ok but now it is long past its sell by date and very worn around the edges. This is NOT our first visit to Goa so I do have some idea of what Iím talking about.

This is the first hotel in Goa I have stayed at where they add on a service charge to your bar bills and then expect a tip too. Ok, so itís not much but the percent of the service charge all depends on who serves you and even then they round it up to the next ten rupees!

The rooms are shoddy and not really as clean as they could be, the location is ...
right down near the whispering palms and yes, itís near the beach BUT itís still a good way from the main part of Candolim.

The staff are a mixed bag, some are ok and some just ignore you. The food at the Bistro is good but the breakfast as everywhere else is rubbish and includes toasted STALE bread and the coffee must only cost about five rupees a ton!

The guests seem to be all ones who have been there for years and seem to return for the same time and meet up leaving any new guests classed as "outcasts".

We shall not be returning to this hotel but Goa is a wonderful place.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5
"Very friendly"
Julie & Gary Milner visited the Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2011
Stayed at Sunset Beach in January '11 which was our second visit to this hotel. Been to Goa 4 times now and will be returning again next year.

Did find this year you had to pay for beach towels for four towels we were charged 60 rupee's (90 Pence). TV if you wanted it also had a charge. There was a safe in the hotel this time for a fee which was worth the money to keep your things safe. Air con we never get as there is a fan that is over the bed and does the job for us just as good.

Breakfast coffee, toast, juice is ok. Milky coffee extra charge but is lovely.

Staff are very friendly and the owner comes and speaks with the guests when he is walking round the site; any ...
problems and they are sorted straight away if reported.

Rooms cleaned every day and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We did miss the cows on a night when we returned to our hotel as they seemed to have moved on this year from the spare ground at the side of the hotel. Taxis there now but no problem at all.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

MCB visited the Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in January 2010
Have just spent two weeks at The Sunset Beach flying with Thomas Cook from Manchester. Initially we were a bit disappointed with the hotel or should I say the staff. This was our third visit to Goa but our first to this hotel. On our previous visits to another hotel we had found the staff to be excellent and that they couldn

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Spike visited the Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2009
Having stayed here for the 3rd year running, this to me is one of the very decent hotels for it\'s location near the beach and away from the main road to avoid any noise. I guess the only noise you do get are early morning dogs barking, but no great issue and the honking horn of the local bread boy on his bicycle - try him for his fresh samosas at 5rps each, excellent !
Very clean hotel around the small compact grounds. The pool while on the small side, is ok for cooling off afer coming from the beach. Plenty of towels and a few sunbeds if you don\'t want to venture out, it is salso shaded all day so will be very cool water.
Security staff here are excellent, along with the room maids, and have never heard of any ...
problems with things going missing.
Breakfast is the usual, toast/juice/tea etc.. anything else is extra - eggs/cornflakes.
Nothing to complain about.
Rooms on the top at the end block do not have balconys,if this is a problem ask for a change, if one is available it will not be a problem, but if you do getthese rooms they are as good as the rest other than no balcony.

Read More

Tour Operator: Independent flights

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

April had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2009
Just stayed at Sunset Beach hotel for 2weeks from 16th February Hotel is basic but of good standard. Rooms are cleaned every day and bed linen and towels changed daily. We had a first floor room with balcony with side view over the pool. Which in the morning was nice to seat on balcony because there was no sun on balcony but by the afternoon it was red hot. Pool was very clean and staff cleaned it every day. The only problem there was there was a few dogs at the hotel that loved barking very early in the morning. Will probaby book this hotel for next year but February was too hot for us so will go back in Janaury. Staff at Reception and Bar very polite and always very chatty and enjoyed talking to us. Breakfast was tea ...
juice and toast, but at very small cost extra food could be ordered and cooked fresh to order.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

liz king had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel in January 2009
we have just returned from our first stay in goa and what an experience. we definately chose the right hotel just the right size, everybody really helpful,friendly and the hotel staff and cleanliness much more than a 2 star hotel. We had a huge double bed and the mattress wonderful. Breakfast toast, juice and coffee etc, but plenty of alternatives for small extra charge.Didn\'t use pool hardly at all,quite small but never many people around it so not a problem.
Felt really at home and we are already making plans to return next January. One of our best holiday experiences.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

mandnleight had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel in March 2008
Sunset beach is the best
breakfast basic,evening meals fab.
rooms spotless,beds huge and comfy.
swiming pool very clean and cold.
staff brill,helpfull and funny
location,just a five min stroll fome the beach
no entertainment when we were there but just
up the road you will find all yiu need,for a great
holiday.


Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

woody had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in January 2008
First time staying at the Sbeach and loved every minute of it.

Rooms cleaned and beds and towels changed every day a lot of the hotels in Goa are very basic but I found this one to be very good.

Breakfast is basic toast and coffee but for a small charge a full english can be obtained.

The staff are very friendly and cant do enough to help you especially the night watchman give him a couple of cigarettes on a nightime and he\'s your friend for life see you all next January team I cant wait!

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sherman visited the Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in November 2007
Arrived 29 nov 2007, a group of four middle aged couples,have been to Goa, Candolim 4 times previous.

This hotel is the best we have ever stayed in.Staff superb, cleanliness outstanding, pool small but very clean.

Nothing to much trouble, safe fridge and air con in rooms payable at small amount.

Will all be back nov 2008

Tour Operator: thomas cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

sleep_r_us stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2007
We love this little hotel and all their staff.
Nothing is ever to much trouble.
Our room was 106 which turned out to be a laugh with the staff and we were known by 106.
We had a very large bed and its the best we\'ve had in Goa.We did find that because we were on the ground floor and close to the bar that people used to take a short cut past our room to the pool which was a nuisance.
We did\'nt use the breakfast side of it this year we went else where.Our sheets/towels were changed everyday and animal designs made out of the towels were there when we got back.
Its very close to the beach,5 mins max walk.1-2 mins walk into town.We would use this hotel again no trouble.

Tour Operator: D.I.Y.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

sleep_r_us had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in March 2007
The breakfast was o.k apart from the bacon was cut into tiny bits. Would prefer to go out and about try different places.

Our room was very nice and in a nice spot, we had two balconies, overlooking the breakfast area. Bathroom clean nice shower one of the cleanest I\'ve stayed in yet. Only downside was the sheets on the bed I think they would just fit a cot. Mattresses was nice and thick, sheets changed every day and so were the towels(these were hard). We paid extra for safe, a/c, t.v.

The staff were really lovely Our cleaning girl was very honest she found a 100rps under our bed and waited for us to arrive back to let us know. We were only to glad to give her a tip. The security man used to have our key ready when coming ...
back late on a night.

There's no entertainment but that's no problem top of the beach road either left or right and there's plenty to be found.

We are going back in nov just can\'t wait truly a lovely hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

denise helen marsden stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in March 2007
Sunset beach resort in Candolim, Goa is still as good as it was when we visited there last year. We were greeted by the staff like old friends.

The rooms we had were by the garden just near bar area and they were lovely.

The breakfast is just toast and marmalade but for a very small charge all the extras are available.

We had clean sheets and towels every day and we bought beer, soft drinks and water as needed from the bar and it was delivered to our rooms very quickly.

The cost was no more than buying from the local shops. Our rooms were available on arrival 7.30am and we kept them right up until departure.

We had a couple of meals in the Bistro this year (it was closed for Easter when we went last ...
year) and the standard of food and service could not be faulted.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Gail visited the Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in March 2007
This was our 3rd visit to the Sunset.

It\'s a small family run hotel about a 5 minute walk from the beach. The rooms are spacious and house keeping is of a very high standard.

This time we were on the 3rd floor in one of the newer rooms which had 3 large windows and a small balcony. It had the biggest and most comfortable bed I\'ve ever slept in.

The staff are all very friendly and the service is great. We had a marvelous time and hope to return again in 2008.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

jude and john stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim in January 2007
This was our second visit to Goa but first visit to this hotel.

We were very pleased with our ground floor room lovely huge bed with a really comfy mattress, we paid extra or a fridge which was well worth the cost for a reasonable charge we had it filled with water, beer and soft drinks.

Bedding and towels changed every day. We had two patio areas which looked onto a garden area which was kept neat and tidy plesant and peaceful to sit and read for a while. The breakfast was very basic which suited us but as usual for a very small charge you could order extrs\'s.

With our holiday deal we were given four meal vouchers each per week which could be used lunch or dinner. We used several of these and although the menu is fairly ...
limited we enjoyed every one we had. One day when I had not been too well they adjusted the choice for me slightly at no extra cost.

The staff were always pleasant and the resident dogs were very well behaved.

All in all I would be very happy to use this hotel again

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Liz B had a holiday at Sunset Beach Hotel in December 2006
In the 6 years we have been visiting Goa this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Just a 10 minute walk from the beach and the same to all the restaurants in Candolim. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and we were entertained most days by the towel designs. All the staff Xavier, Dominique, The Captain and Cindy the holiday rep were really friendly and helpful especially when 1 of our party was taken ill the day before he was due to travel home. Breakfast was basic but for a small charge eggs, bacon etc were available.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Huwbe stayed at Sunset Beach Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2006
Really pleased with the Sunset Beach hotel. Was told before we went to Goa that you only really get 2* or 5* hotels in Goa regardless of what brochures say. I think that is very true, but this hotel for a 2* was absolutely fine - no problems what so ever. Room was modern, bright & clean, the maid did an excellent job, including keeping us entertained with a different sculpture with the towels each day!!

Staff very friendly & spoke good English, food choice was a little bit limited, but when there are 100\'s of places to eat elsewhere why would you eat in the hotel night after night? Only draw to hotel food is the with Thomas Cook bookings you do get 4 free meals each per week (can be taken either lunch or dinner). That doesnt not ...
include the much acclaimed Sunset bistro, although on the hotel site is actualy owned independently.

Hotel pool was spotlessly cleaned ( done every day), pool is small as indicated in brochure photos, and only about 12 sunbeds avaiable but we never struggled to actually get one - some days we had the pool entirely to ourselves. Pool is not suitable for children as has no shallow area.

A very good value for money hotel. Rooms are available as soon as you arrive, even at 6am, unlike some hotels hwere poepple had to wait to midday & also able to keep room until you depart if night flight - IE. we left at 3am for flight home & had room right up till leaving.

Location os good 5 mins from beach - guess that why pool was empty most days, and also fairly central in Candolim but thankfully just off the main road.

Would stay there again & certainly hope to.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars
Share