198 independent reviews of Candolim, India
Candolim Location

4/5
Candolim is rated 4 out of 5 from 198 Reviews

Candolim Hotels

Candolim Reviews

3/5


Ian & Ann / Rick & Carole visited here on January 2010
The resort has a fair amount to offer - from local trips (either with the Tour companies) or by local taxis and plenty to see in the local shops and stalls. The tailors and leather jackets are well priced (you could not get the same at home for the price). Eating and drinking outside of the hotel is not a problem as there are plenty of small/meduim sized bars and eateries around.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


lester visited here on December 2009
Not much point adding anything here if it is an old Goan hand reading this. Some say the Candolim/Calangute strip is now too commercialised, others like its bustling night life and eateries. If you want a clean sandy beach, reliable weather and a big choice of places to eat and drink, then go.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


A. Sharma visited here on December 2009
I am a regular traveller, and am fortunate to have visited many many countries in the world. Having stayed in both top end and humble locations I can confidently say that the Prazeres Resort is by far the worst hotel I have ever visited.

If you are accustomed to staying in a clean, safe hotel then avoid this hotel like the plague.

The management are rude, the rooms small and filthy (extremely basic) with very poor lighting and in desperate need of some TLC. When my friends informed the hotel we cannot stay in such a place - the management threathened my group with \'goons\'. So please be fully aware of the \'cancellation policy\' prior to booking a room here.

The Air ...
cons did not work in half the rooms either.

Please spend your money in a more deserving place.


Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


G Baker visited here on November 2009
Candolim was nice and we are going again this year but this time we will try to pick a hotel that is inhabitable.

The beach is very good and the shacks provide a excellent service.

Many good restaurants in the area and a wide variety of cuisine is available including European food to a very high standard.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


ball visited here on April 2009
The resort is kept cleaned .There was no entertainment at the hotel.we went to the shacks on the night time. spottys was the best.Food was good and the staff really friendly.Inferno and the sports bar on the beach road are very good.we went on some trips one to the waterfalls which were very nice and we feed the monkeys there,elephants were fun you can have a shower with them and a ride.They were near the waterfalls.so we did them first then went to the waterfalls after.On our way back we went to the spice plantation which was very interesting.we loved goa and cant wait to go back.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Cathy visited here on April 2009
The people of Goa made our holiday very special we witnessed friendliness, politeness and excellent service throughout our stay (with one exception to be discussed later.)We stayed in Candolim and had an all inclusive tarrif. We would not stay all inclusive again as the food & drinks are so cheap and of such good quality and value for money.
We were struck initially by the untidiness of the main roadway and the rubbish thats dumped around,we also were struck by the poverty that affects lots of the locals, however the friendliness of everyone we met out there, their interest in the tourist and the relaxed manner in which the Goan people go about there buisness soon helped us to relax ...
and really enjoy all that this part of India has to offer.
We travelled down to the beach which was approx 10 minutes from our hotel.We passed cattle sauntering along and a vast array of shops bars restaurants.The Spice Garden was our favourite, they do wonderful steaks and is run by a lovely family.
When we reached the beach we were struck with the sight of a big rusty wreck of a ship that has apparently been there for 9 years, it does spoil that part of the resort.The beach was clean and the Arabian sea was green and choppy. We visited a couple of beach shacks and were pleased with the cheapness and quality of food and beverages that were served.
Unfortunatly We were pestered within 10 mins of us settling down on a sunbed. The Beach sellers were very annoying and if you show the slightest bit of interest in any of their wares you were quickly surrounded by others, they were very persistant. I found it annoying and intrusive and actually told one of the sellers this. We was so annoyed that we didnt go back to that beach.
We met a very friendly Taxi driver called Ricki who took us to two secluded beaches further north than Candolim.
For 800 rupees Ricki would take you to where ever you wanted to go at any time and wait for you. It was a very good service but such a pity that you had to travel so far to avoid the sellers!!! Ricki recommended Asvem beach and Dream Beach. Both these beaches were very quiet and this is were we truely \'chilled\'relaxed and soaked up the Indian sunshine.
Again the service, food & beverages at the beach shacks at these two beaches were very good value and indeed very tasty. Probably because the beaches were secluded the staff at the shacks were very friendly and attentive.We would not go all inclusive again in Candolim.
If you look beyond the untidiness and some of the poverty that is all around, the resort touches all of your senses and we had a most wonderful time. My husband bought me some beautiful jewelery at the most surprising of prices. We would recommend purchasing any Jewels out there as they are spectacular and really makes you realise how very very expensive similar items are back home.
We will return To Goa.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


simon taylor visited here on April 2009
candolim is my favorite resort in goa for food and entertainment it has a frendly feel about th place however i do prefare baga beach for the day only because you dont have to walk as far from the sun lounger to the sea. and im not lazy the sands hot
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Spike visited here on March 2009
We have now stayed in Candolim for 10 years and it has never been clean, but far far better than neighbouring Calangute.
If you do not read up on India prior to your visit, do not visit ! Things have to change here to bring more tourists in, filth is one of them, but I can\'t see that changing..
As for entertainment, it\'s always been a sit back and have drink atmosphere, so hot you don\'t want to do much else.
Some bars do have local singers or musicians and krapeeokee is catching on if you go looking for it.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Joanne visited here on March 2009
Candolim has many places to eat and drink at night and on the beach. If you are looking for more nightlife Baga is just 10 mins by taxi and has more bars, restaurants and nightclubs. There are also plently of markets where you get get some absolute bargains! Candolim\'s beach is endless and has loads of great \'shacks\' offering almost any kind of food and drink!! The best part of my holiday is that the locals are so friendly and welcoming, we were two young girls out there alone and felt entirely safe.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Sue visited here on March 2009
As we stayed at a guest house and not a holiday resort, there\'s not much I can say.
Candolim has great restaurants, great nightlife if you like that sort of thing, and it\'s easy to get around.
I\'ve been there numerous times and am going again this year
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Bev & Nigel visited here on February 2009
As with all areas of Goa the cleanliness is severley lacking around the streets etc, however most shops, bars and restaurants are spotless

Beach in Candolim is quieter than Baga or Calangute and has fewer sellers, although it is gettign busier every year

The resort used to offer a number of quiz nights in some bars and all these appear to have stopped therefore the choice is sat in a bar or restaurant watching the world go by or visiting some of the few venues that provide live entertainment.

Ruffles has somthing every night and good reasonable drinking holes such as \" Ninos Nook\" Viva Pub and The Red Hot Hole (on main road with very pink curtains at the front) all offer ...
good enviroments to either watch the world go by or spend time talking to friends

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


dave&jenny wall visited here on February 2009
Nice resort, not as much going on as there is in the Beach Rd area of Candolim but some good restaurants and the Tiger bar is good for a late night drink.
The beach at the Sinqerim end of Candolim isn\'t as nice as it used to be, Quite a bit of oil in places. Don\'t know if this is due to the ship which has been there for about 8yrs or if it\'s the increase in water sports that\'s to blamebut none the less a good base for gettinmg around and well worth a visit.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


d hargreaves visited here on February 2009
Candolim was pretty much as usual. Litter etc everywhere,but still retains its charm.
There is a nice resurfaced tarmac road down to the beach at the side of Choclatiers cafe with only a bit of sand to walk over to the beach shacks.
Some parts of the beach have suffered badly with the River Princess and there appears to less of any attempt to clean up the rubbish that the tide brings in.
There is however a lifeguard on duty this year (chocolate fireguard comes to mind!)
A couple of new (changed name)restaurants have appeared but most the old favourites are still there and first timers will have a hard choice on deciding where to eat.
There didn\'t seem to be as much noisy ...
entertainment from some of the bars as was the case last year.
All in all , pretty much the same as last year and we will be back next year without any reservations.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

2/5


Linda Roach visited here on February 2009
andolim is a great base for seeing all the sights of Goa.Great food and very reasonable prices.
The sea has got rougher over the last few years so care must be taken.also the motorcycle bag snatchers were rife this year so keep your bag on the side furthest away from the road. A lot of people had bags snatched this year including me and we have been going to Candolim for years only carry what you need at night
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Mark Warren visited here on January 2009
This was tenth visit to Candolim. The street stalls, street vendors, dust and cows ( to which everyone, including buses and cars ) gives precedence, combine to make Candolim a different, interesting and very welcoming place. Of course everyone wants our money but then we have more than them and a refusal or price bartered down by 75% always results in a smile. Driving standards are poor but there is no road rage or scowls. Everyone smiles. We have much to learn from these lovely people.

Lots of dust but everywhere is hygienically clean, including restaurants - in ten holidays, eating in every type of restaurant, including the beach shacks ( which are very good and cheap ...
) we have never had a tummy upset after eating, though we tend to eat mainly cooked meals and very little salad type food.

Most of the restaurants have entertainment, from nostalgic 60\'s background music to full blown and noisy bands. There are venues for everyone.

Beaches are cleaned up daily and largely spotless and sunbeds ( cheap or free ) always come with a shade. Service from the lads who take orders for drinks and food is superb - just a raised hand and they come running and always willing to shift a sunbed or shade when requested. They live on tips which seem to be quite generous as very well earnt. There is a lifeguard service and a flag system for when swimming is safe.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Julia visited here on January 2009
If you have never travelled outside of Europe you may find Goa a bit of a shock! There are no pavements in Candolim, so you need to be aware of vehicles when walking at the side of the road, you also need to be careful of cows as well!

Candolim is a great place to visit if you are a Goa newbie as it isn\'t as hectic as Calangute but for a few rupees you can go there by bus.

The beach is long and mainly sandy - as you travel away from the River Princess the water becomes less pebbly and if you enter the beach from the beach road then many of he shacks employ security to keep away beach ...
sellers.

There are loads of really nice places to eat - both shacks and restuarants, you will be spoilt for choice. There is also an abundance of jewellers and tailors, so if you are after a cheap deal, make sure you do your research first and you can even take pictures of items you want copying.

Be aware that you are not in Europe so you will see some litter at the side of the road and the wacky racer style of driving can be a bit intimidating at first. However, you will find many friendly people, great restaurants and don\'t forget to take the local bus for a real Goan experience!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


liz king visited here on January 2009
This was our first trip to Goa and overall brilliant time.
Good restaurants and not a bad meal during our stay.. Try the Bistro(next door to Sunset, the Mermaid, Cecilias, Ruffles,also worth a visit to the taste of India in Calangute. Most of meals cost between 10-15 in total for 2 course meals and drinks for 2!
Ganeshs shack on the beach right near the stranded river princess boat, is a must. All food cooked freshly and he goes to the Market everyday.. nothing too much trouble for him and his staff and it seems that many return to his shack year in year out.
Quite an experience getting to the beach via the various shops/shacks... come and look in my shop said ...
many times a day..enjoy it! People very friendly and welcoming and nothing too much trouble.
Plenty of sights to be seen and its cheaper to hire your own taxi and they will look after you well and take you anywhere and wait until your ready to return.
This experience has made a lasting impression on us both and we will definately return next year... if i have to be critical... then its the amount of rubbish left around... but look beyond that and what a wonderful place... even watching the cows walking down the main road eating the flowers from the shop! Hilarious.. Take a torch as lots of short powercuts.. if your about to travel enjoy and i\'m sure you will return again in the future!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


neil & mal visited here on January 2009
if you want cleanliness, have a holiday in a hospital, if you want entertainment, stand at the side of the road, and watch the cars,scooters riders,buses,cows,goats,cyclists, jockeying for position, you will be entertained for hours,the beaches in \"candolim\" are clean, seawater in january is nice & warm. there is some very nice cheap restaurants, just ask other tourist you meet for their views, if you go to \"candolim\" get on a bus & have a ride to \"calangute\" it will cost about 5 or 10 rupees each, its better than any fair ground ride.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


pam chapman visited here on January 2009
candalim is central to everything so is a convenient placde to stay it is much quieter than calangute or baga but is still lively.the beaches are nice but the hawkers can be a nuisance,whilst staying in goa you should try some of the local bars where the locals eat the naik bar in nerul serves excellent food at a fraction of the cost of the restaurants on the tourist strip we will be back next year for 2 weeks before christmas and again for 2 weeks after
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Bishop visited here on January 2009
Candolim is a fabulous resort. We visited club 21 shack on the beach every day. The boys are friendly and helpful and always remember your name. The resort has lots of restaurants and bars, our favorite was Sea Shell restaurant on the main road near The beach road.The service here is the best ever, and the food is delicious.
The resort itself is much cleaner now than when we came before. A really pleasant resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Aldeia Santa Rita Hotel  stars Aldeia Santa Rita Hotel
Address: Sinquerim, Bardez, Goa

Latest Review: Mar 2010

Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Alexandras Tourist Centre  stars Alexandras Tourist Centre
Address: Beach Road, Candolim, Bardez, India

Latest Review: Feb 2013

Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Alor Grande Hotel  stars Alor Grande Hotel
Alor Grande Holiday Resort is situated just 500 meters away from the beautiful Candolim beach of Goa with its silvery sands.

Latest Review: Jan 2009

Ranked #37 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Angelas Guest House  stars Angelas Guest House
Address: Dando, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India

Latest Review: Feb 2012

Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Ave Maria Guest House  stars Ave Maria Guest House
Latest Review: Dec 2008

Ranked #36 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Blue Sea Beach Resort  stars Blue Sea Beach Resort
The Blue Sea Beach Resort, built in 2012 situated in the popular beach road area of the resort. The beach is just a 10 minute stroll away.

Latest Review: Mar 2013

Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Casa Seashell Hotel  stars Casa Seashell Hotel
Address: Opp. Candolim Panchayat, Candolim, Bardez, Goa 403515, India

Latest Review: Nov 2010

Ranked #11 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Casablanca Beach Resort Hotel  stars Casablanca Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Wadi Candolim, Bardez,, Candolim, Goa 403515, India

Latest Review: Feb 2008

Ranked #32 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Darolinas Guest House  stars Darolinas Guest House
Address: Candolim, Goa, India

Latest Review: Jan 2012

Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Dona Alcina Hotel  stars Dona Alcina Hotel
Address: Siquerra Waddo Candolim, Candolim, Goa 403515, India

Latest Review: Feb 2009

Ranked #34 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Goan Village  stars Goan Village
Previously known as Alegria de Goa Hotel

Latest Review: Feb 2009

Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Green Peace Holiday Home  stars Green Peace Holiday Home
The Green Peace holiday home is located in the centre of Candolim, just 4 minutes walking distance from the beach. This basic apartment block consists of 12 apartments, and has a pool. Located near the market and taxi rank.

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #32 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Highland Beach Resort  stars Highland Beach Resort
This attractive and charming resort hotel offers everything you could need for your Goan holiday. The palm shaded sun terrace and welcoming swimming pool is a great place to relax or alternatively the golden sands of Candolim Beach are just a short walk away.

Latest Review: Dec 2012

Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Horizon View Guesthouse  stars Horizon View Guesthouse
Address: Candolim, Goa, India

Latest Review: Nov 2010

Ranked #30 of 40 hotels in Candolim

2/5
JJ's Guest House  stars JJ's Guest House
The rooms are spacious with shower and toilet, ceiling fans and air conditioning in all rooms, as well as fridges provided. The big communal area is an ideal place to relax, it's bright, airy therefore its a great place to take in the main street of Candolim, JJ's will do all they can to make your stay comfortable.

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #39 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort Hotel  stars Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Candolim, Goa, India

Latest Review: Apr 2007

Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Lucia Beach Guest House  stars Lucia Beach Guest House
1 - 5 Bedrooms with attached sitting room and 1 or 2 bedrooms with kitchen and sitting room. All rooms are fully furnished with modern facilities. The room rate is negotiable with a 50% discount during the off-season.

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #18 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Lui Beach Resort Hotel  stars Lui Beach Resort Hotel
Lui Beach Resort is a attractive holiday resort maintained to a high standard and is peacefully situated just 250 meters stroll from the beach. Surrounded by Palm trees and a well kept garden, this is the most perfect location.

Latest Review: Jan 2013

Ranked #25 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Magnum Resort Hotel  stars Magnum Resort Hotel
In a convenient location on the popular Candolim to Calangute road, with many local shops close to hand. A short 5 minute walk through the palm groves take you to the lovely Candolim beach. Transfer time from the airport approximately 1 hour 15 minutes.

Latest Review: Feb 2011

Ranked #24 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Manida Seaside Guest House  stars Manida Seaside Guest House
Address: Candolim, Goa, India

Latest Review: Mar 2010

Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Marbella Guest House  stars Marbella Guest House
Address: Sinquerim Beach, Candolim, Goa, India

Latest Review: Jan 2008

Ranked #5 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Melodious Waves Hotel  stars Melodious Waves Hotel
Address: Dando, Candolim - Goa, India

Latest Review: Dec 2008

Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Moonlight Bay Guest House  stars Moonlight Bay Guest House
Set in the green gardens of Candolim this small guesthouse is a quiet getaway. Each of the 4 rooms has a double bed, kitchen and refrigerator. The Moonlight Bay also benefits from hot water 24 hours a day and each room has a nice balcony.

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Perola Do Mar Resort Hotel  stars Perola Do Mar Resort Hotel
Address: Op. prim. health C.cent., siqueiro Vaddo, Candolim - Goa, India

Latest Review: Jan 2010

Ranked #12 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Phoenix Park Inn Resort  stars Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Latest Review: Dec 2010

Ranked #19 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Prazeres Resort Hotel  stars Prazeres Resort Hotel
Latest Review: Nov 2012

Ranked #35 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Rising Wave Guest House  stars Rising Wave Guest House
The Rising Waves is a 2 star accommodation, which is friendly and authentic, located amongst traditional Goan houses. Located 400 meters from the beach, with direct access. All rooms are self-catering with air conditioning, alcony, hot water and sky tv.

Latest Review: Mar 2012

Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Santana Beach Resort Hotel  stars Santana Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Dando Beach Sinquerim Road, Candolim, 403515, India

Latest Review: Dec 2010

Ranked #10 of 40 hotels in Candolim

5/5
Sea Breeze Hotel  stars Sea Breeze Hotel
Address: Candolim, Goa, India

Latest Review: Feb 2006

Ranked #4 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Silver Sands Hideaway Hotel  stars Silver Sands Hideaway Hotel
The Silver Sands Hideaway is a newly built hotel in 2011, offering guests a stylish break, with a Boutique feel. The hotel has 23 rooms and they are decorated to a high standard. Located closed to the tropical beach in a central location, close to bars, resturants and markets, this hotel offers it all.

Latest Review: Nov 2011

Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Silver Sands Holiday Village  stars Silver Sands Holiday Village
The Silver Sands Holiday Village provides simply furnished accommodation. A family-run hotel offering warm Goan hospitality and friendly service, enjoying a good location in Candolim, close to the beach.

Latest Review: Dec 2013

Ranked #21 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Sonesta Inns Hotel  stars Sonesta Inns Hotel
Address: Candolim, Bardez North Goa, Candolim, 403515, India

Latest Review: Mar 2007

Ranked #20 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Summerville Beach Resort  stars Summerville Beach Resort
Latest Review: Nov 2010

Ranked #23 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Sunset Beach Hotel  stars Sunset Beach Hotel
Latest Review: Mar 2011

Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Sunshine Park Hotel  stars Sunshine Park Hotel
A leisurely walk from the main Candolim road will lead you away from the hustle and bustle of the resort to a peaceful inland area to Sunshine Park. This comfortable accommodation is ideal for those seeking a good value for money hotel.

Latest Review: Jan 2009

Ranked #38 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Valentines Retreat Hotel  stars Valentines Retreat Hotel
The Valentine's Retreat is in a great location with the golden sands of Candolim Beach less than 10 minutes' walk and the nearest shops on the main Candolim Road just a couple of minutes away. The rooms are in two blocks, one at each end of the swimming pool.

Latest Review: Feb 2012

Ranked #22 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel  stars Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Bamon Vaddo, Candolim, Candolim, 403515, India

Latest Review: Apr 2009

Ranked #28 of 40 hotels in Candolim

3/5
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Hotel  stars Whispering Palms Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Sinquerim Beach, Panaji, Goa 403515, India

Latest Review: Dec 2009

Ranked #29 of 40 hotels in Candolim

4/5
Xavier Beach Resort Hotel  stars Xavier Beach Resort Hotel
Address: OPPOSITE STATE BANK OF INDIA CANDOLIM BRANCH VADDY CANDOLIM BARDEZ GOA, Candolim, Goa 403505, India

Latest Review: Nov 2009

Ranked #9 of 40 hotels in Candolim
Share