29 independent reviews of the Santana Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Dando Beach Sinquerim Road, Candolim, 403515, India
Santana Beach Resort Hotel
Santana Beach Resort Hotel Location
Ranked #10 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Santana Beach Resort Hotel Santana Beach Resort Hotel is rated 4.24 out of 5 from 29 Reviews
90% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (29 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Santana Beach Resort Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Top marks!"
DaveWales had a holiday at Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in December 2010
I have to give this hotel top marks in everything but remember it is a 3 star hotel. Not every one will like it's location at the quiet end of Candolim.

If I have to look for faults it would be that your room balcony is likely to be hit and miss, mostly miss but on the other hand the rooms are spacious and well equipped and if you want to sit and have a beer in the early evening there are two hotel bars and the beach is a couple of minutes away.

Poolside sunbeds can be in short supply as there are only 18. It is also irritating that for most of the day at least a third don't have people on them. If folk took there belongings away every time they disappeared for a few hours there would ...
be sufficient availability for everyone.

The positives are that the hotel is well maintained, the staff delightful and breakfast by the pool is excellent.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"First choice for a holiday"
Polly had a holiday at Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in November 2010
We've stayed at the Santana 3 times (Nov 2009, Feb 2010 and Nov 2010) and love it.

All 3 rooms we've had (614, 608 & 524) were light and airy. 614 was the best room as it had a massive super-king-sized bed. The others had single beds.

There is a separate kitchen area with table and chairs, sink and fridge. The bathroom was fully tiled, very clean and there was always lots of hot water. Bedrooms are large with wardrobe, bedside tables, mirror and TV. The balcony was small, just enough room to take 2 chairs and a small table. The rooms have ceiling fan and air-conditioning. The units in rooms 614 & 608 were newer, very quiet and effective. 524 was older but still effective. Bedding and towels were changed daily and the room boys did ...
various designs (swans, hearts) with the towels every day.

The hotel has 2 pools, a free-form one and a small oblong one close to the hotel restaurant. Both were absolutely spotless. In fact the whole hotel is very clean. Our rooms were always cleaned very well by the room boys.

There are well tended gardens leading from the front of the hotel towards the beach with a number of sunbeds dotted about.

Breakfast is juice, coffee, tea, cereal, toast & eggs cooked to order. Although we had booked B&B, we never ate breakfast in the hotel so I've classed this as self-catering. We didn't have any other meals or drinks there either.

The safety deposit boxes were in Reception and seemed to be accessible all the time. Very cheap at 25 rupees per day.

All the staff - from the people on Reception, gardeners, housekeeping staff, waiters etc were very pleasant, eager to please and really gave the impression that they were there just to make your holiday as good as they possible could.

Going towards the beach, you reach the Calamari beach shack which is very popular especially Sunday lunchtimes as they have live music on.

The Santana is located towards the Sinquerim end of Candolim and is maybe a steady 15 minute walk up to the middle of Candolim. Partway up there is now a pavement (which starts opposite the Stonehouse) which makes walking easier.

This hotel would be our first choice for a holiday in Candolim.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Paul visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel in December 2009
Sanatana Beach Resort is just lovely with its lush tropical gardens and beach setting.
Although located within the quieter end of Candolim (Sinqerim), I felt this was great becasue you are not in the hustle and bustle of the centre of Candolim and benefit from reduced traffic which can be quite busy as you head towards the centre of Candolim.
The staff were excellent. The beach is small and it is such a shame that the ship is causing coastal erosion of the beach at that end of Candolim. The wave can be quite large and the undercurrents can be quite strong but it didnt stop me from having a swim. I wouldnt suggest that young children swim alone in the sea. The pool areas are nice if small and at the main splash pool at the top of the ...
resort you would be pushed to find an empty bed after 9am.
I preferred the small pool by the gardens which was hardly used (if you like the quiet then get a bed in the gardens and walk to the small pool for a dip.
There is a taxi rank at the top of the road by the top entrance to the hotel and the guys there were fantastic and cheap.
The hotel rooms were basic but had everything you woould need, mini bar, fans, air con, kitchen areas (in a few). The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. Its funny as the maids are nearly all men.
There are loads of nice beaches in the area Sinqerim, Calangute and Baga and the closest. Baga is a bit mad and you get hassled a lot but its great if you like to be in the thick of thinks Shining Star Stack at the end of Baga Beach is great.
Ashwen Beach is about 40 minutes away in a taxi and is just beatiful with its cove like shallow waters and no hassle on the beach.
I would not hesitate in going to Goa and the Santana Beach again in the future as the setting is really nice and the staff could not do enough to help.
Yeah the location is a little out of the way but taxis cost around

Read More

Tour Operator: Monarch / Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

ross visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel in November 2009
1 reader found this review helpful

we loved this hotel sheet and towels changed every day lovely gardens nice pool lovely staff just walk to the end of the garden and your right on the beach the calamari shack is nice if you want some food or drinks on the beach taxis just down the road we will be coming back here next year

Tour Operator: jewel in the crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Brian Savage had a holiday at Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2009
My wife and i visited this hotel for four weeks and had a great holiday.This is a simple hotel but with five star service.The sheets and towels were changed every day and were spotlessly clean.The staff would do anything for you and made us feel so welcome.There was lovely walkways throughout the hotel and nice gardens leading down to the beach.Breakfast was simple but nice....fruit or cerial/eggs/toast and fruit juice. We cant wait to come back again next year.

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stuart visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2009
This was our second visit to this particular Hotel, and i have to say i have already booked for 2010. The Hotel offers a good continental breakfast, serving up fresh fruit, cereal, toast, eggs and Fruit Juice. This Breakfast is enjoyed in a unhurried relaxing round the pool sun coming up kinda way.
The location of the hotel is second to none in Candolim, Set within mature well stocked gardens, off the main road and yet just 2 minutes walk to the beach. The rooms are cleaned daily and the towels changed every day too, the staff are MEGA highly friendly and will help you out and do anything for you. Amar, James, Ollie, Sunny, Anthony aka The Captain, Suresh to name but a few kept us well informed and up to date, they go the extra ...
mile to make your stay not just a holiday but an experience, they are not just Hotel Staff they have become family Friends. Ron the pool manager/attendent is a real laugh as too is his friendly wife Pat.
Evening meals are a gastronomical dining delight, the only downside being the complete lack of evening entertainment, with the exception of Sunday Karaoke Night, especially for 3 sundays of the year, when Lip Up Fatty is the Show stopping song and Alice sung by Jay is the Bar emptying song.
I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone, but please don\'t book untill i have secured my own room each year, as i would be broken hearted if i was made to stay elswhere.

Read More

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

witchy visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel in December 2008
Having visited Goa many times it was with much excitement that we arrived at the santana beach i had read all the reviews on this site.
All i can say is 12months must make all the difference
on arriving all seemed well then we walked in the room to be met by the musty smell(now been told its because its very damp after monsoon and no chairs yes that\'s rite no chairs non we then spent 4days and complaining to the rep before we where given some chairs at 7am we awoke to loud banging on the door and the chairs where dumped in the middle of the room.
Now to some good bits
a new pool with swim up bar (don\'t get to excited its only 20ft big) the pool bar boys are very nice and very helpful including telling the work ...
men on the new build next door to stop watching the western women .
Having said all that the hotel is clean the staff friendly and eggs any way you want for breakfast.

Read More

Tour Operator: cosmos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

John & Gillian stayed at Santana Beach Resort Hotel in January 2008
Small friendly hotel with gate from garden opening onto beach.

Not all rooms have balconies but we had asked for 1st floor with sea view and we got room 524 which looked down the lane leading to the sea which we could see in the distance.

Lots of local wildlife to see coming and going including the local free range cows that walked up and down the lane to the beach. There is a new development being built next door from which there was some noise which didn\'t bother us but could be a problem for rooms facing onto it as it is very close.

The rooms had fans and air conditioning which were a must as it was very hot. There was also a kitchen area with sink and a fridge mini bar but no cooking facilities.

Unlike UK hotels ...
the price of drinks from the fridge were very reasonable and we signed for what we consumed every day and paid at the end of our stay. The gardens were very pretty and well maintained and for those who didn\'t get a balcony there was quiet central square away from the pool to sit in the shade.

All the staff spoke english some more than others and everyone said good morning and were helpful and friendly. Guards were on both gates 24 hours and were helpful with a torch when there were power cuts. Taxi rank outside the gate would take you anywhere in Goa for a negotiated price we paid 250 rupees to do to Baga.

At the hotel reception were safety deposit boxes which was very cheap and they changed travellers cheques saving a walk to the bank.

Read More

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Amit Rai Ahuja stayed at Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in October 2007
As a tourist I assume a resort/hotel makes your trip 50% relaxing but Santana Resort in North Goa did much more than that.

Its is a fabulous resort in North Goa with great aminities,wonderful location and excellent staff.
The owner Ms. D\'souza is really on top of line her profession.
The ambience is really wonderful with studio apartments at quite an affordable prices.

Really a great place to spend you vacations!!!

Tour Operator: Make My Trip

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Peter Powell had a holiday at Santana Beach Resort Hotel in October 2007
A short walk through the hotel gardens takes you straight on to the beach, an excellent location. We found the hotel food very good on the nights we eat in, standard breakfast is basic but you can order whatever you want as an extra.
Hotel rooms were very clean and the staff very willing and helpful.
The swimming pool is quite small but most people used the beach which has sun loungers by the beach shacks.

Overall a very pleasant stay and one we would recommend.

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Shilpa Chauhan visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in October 2007
The staff (excluding management) are extremeley helpful and friendly : cleaners/porters/reception/restaurant and security. Even the women doing the menial jobs such a scrubbing the paving stones are polite enough to stop and say hello in broken English, it\'s very unfortunate that the management haven\'t actually learnt the art of such manners. One word of warning, do not use the taxis that hover outside of the hotel, they are unreliable and money grabbing cheaters. I had to take my son to the hospital, not only did they not know where it was, they dropped us off two blocks away then charged as extra than agreed. Make it clear to reception that you do not want to use thse taxis.

Food excellent and fab location so close to the gorgeous beach. Food at the beach shack Calamari is fantastic !

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Venkata Ragavan Shanmugam stayed at Santana Beach Resort Hotel in September 2007
The rooms were very good as expected.

Tour Operator: Paulo Travels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Carlos Pereira had a holiday at Santana Beach Resort Hotel in May 2007
I would just like to thank everyone at Santana (as well as Calamri)for making our stay in Goa such a memorable one.(Both for me and my girlfriend.) Not very often do Hotels deliver as they promise, but at Sanatana, we were treated to service way beyond our expectations. From the charming receptionist to the chatty bartender, everyone made a sincere effort to ensure that our stay was perfect. And they sure did succeed!

Keep up the good work, Goa needs more hotels like youres. Hope to see you\'ll soon.

Tour Operator: Own

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Sumant Bhatia stayed at Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in April 2007
The hotels location is good & rooms are decent, but the attitude of the owners is pathetic to the point it is deplorable.

The owners are downright rude to the point that when you try and talk to them instead of addressing your problem they tell you that they are busy...simple if you are an Indian they don't appreciate your business. They are only interested in getting you to shell out as much advance payment as possible and then harass you to no end. The lady partner (co-owner) co-ordinates all bookings and expects the guests to know her house rules without spelling them out to the guests neither verbally or when she sends out a booking confirmation on email.

Even worse is the complimentary breakfast provided as a part of the package, where a bread butter jam & some fresh fruit ...
are passed of as continental breakfast that the hotel promises as a part of the package.

All in all had a very good holiday for about 5 days in Goa except that the owners of the resort left a very very bitter taste at the very start of the holiday which somewhat ruined a part of my vacation.

Will not recommend this property to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: Own arrangements
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

santosh.p visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in April 2007
We are back to Pune, and yet lost within the sandy beach next to the Santana Beach Resort.

Our stay at the resort had been very comfortable and the quality of service has certainly enhanced our memories regarding Goa.

The room is clean, vintage and spacious with an attached terrace that welcomes you to relax in the evenings. The kitchen is well stocked with all the right drinks and priced right too. Never felt the need for room service really.

Santana is situated about 100 mtrs from the beach, directly behind, with a fantastic beach shack connected to the resort, named Calamari. Evening time can be spent at Calamari gazing at the roaring sea waves in a relaxed mood. this is almost like a private beach. Since it is located in Candolim, which is slightly quieter than Calangute or Baga it is great ...
as you can enjoy the tranquility in Candolim and are only a ten minute drive away from busier Calangute.

My special regards to Anthony, Shekhar, Amar, Debashish, Deepak and the security guys for making us feel special and at home everytime. Makes me feel there cannot be better places without better people.

I am looking forward to visiting the place again.
thanks and regards,

P.Santosh

Read More

Tour Operator: own

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sandeep Kamal visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel in April 2007
We had come to Goa on our company holiday. Staff at Santana made our 3 days visit very comfortable and everyone enjoyed.

We had visited Goa many times earlier, but this time Visit at Santa was to most memorable. Its proximity to the beach, beautifully landscaped garden, friendly staff made our stay very enjoyable.

In fact most of the staff has taken the brochure of the resort and pass on to other friends and relatives.

We would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Goa and planning to stay around Calangute and Candolim area.


Tour Operator: Prime Focus

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sandra had a holiday at Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in April 2007
We stayed at the Santana Beach Resort and had a fantastic time. All the staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help us to find the best places to visit. The hotel was very clean, pretty and well maintained.

It provides a really peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. It was also great to be so close to the beach and is an excellent place to base yourself in order to travel to other parts of Goa.

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Mrs Tame stayed at Santana Beach Resort Hotel in March 2007
We had two suites of rooms, one for my husband and I and the second for my daughter. The rooms were cleaned every day, beds and towels were changed daily.

When we chose to eat in the hotel the food was excellent, especially in the beach-shack restaurant.

The staff were always very friendly and helpful. We cannot comment on entertainment as we chose to visit the resort at night.

The hotel complex is very attractively landscaped and gardens were tended regularly. The staff used external mosquito fumigation regularly for the benefit of its\' clients which was appreciated.

The reception area was always manned and any questions or queries regarding the resort, taxis etc was addressed immediately. The night security was excellent.

A security guard was seen to patrol at regular intervals. On our return to ...
UK we booked a holiday to this Hotel next March 2008 as we were made so comfortable and made so welcome.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Santana Beach stayed at Santana Beach Resort Hotel in March 2007
My parents and I stayed at The Santana Beach for two weeks in March 2007 where I had my own room.

The hotel cleanliness was excellent. My room was cleaned daily as were the towels.

The location was within a two minute walk from the beach - perfect for any sun worshipper!

The hotel staff were very polite and would put themselves out to help. Sonny, the barman was particularly nice and always made you feel welcome!

My parents and I visited the resort of Candolim everynight so I cannot comment on the entertainment.

I would certainly stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Tour Operator: Monarch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stacy visited the Santana Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in March 2007
I was really satisified with the Santana Beach Resort. We had originally booked for one week at this hotel, ut we were so impressed we wanted to stay the second week. The management did everything they could and kept us updated with the progress. They suceeded and we got our 14 night stay!

The staff on reception, security, bar and housekeeping were more than pleasant. Even down at the hotel beach shack, The Calamari. (They got to know me for my love of pancakes in the morning on the beach!)

It is in a great location, away from the hustle and bustle- but only a 5 mintue walk to the beach.

Overall, we were so impressed with the facitilites. Lovely and clean.

I would definately stay here again if the opportunity arises.

Tour Operator: Monarch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share