Image of Santana Beach Resort Hotel

Santana Beach Resort Hotel

11 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
2 stars
Dando Beach Sinquerim Road, Candolim, 403515, India

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Top marks!
5 years 9 months ago
I have to give this hotel top marks in everything but remember it is a 3 star hotel. Not every one will like it's location at the quiet end of Candolim.

If I have to look for faults it would be that your room balcony is likely to be hit and miss, mostly miss but on the other hand the rooms are spacious and well equipped and if you want to sit and have a beer in the early evening there are two hotel bars and the beach is a couple of minutes away.

Poolside sunbeds can be in short supply as there are only 18. It is also irritating that for most of the day at least a third don't have people on them. If folk took there belongings away every time they disappeared for a few hours there would be sufficient availability for everyone.

The positives are that the hotel is well maintained, the staff delightful and breakfast by the pool is excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
First choice for a holiday
5 years 10 months ago
We've stayed at the Santana 3 times (Nov 2009, Feb 2010 and Nov 2010) and love it.

All 3 rooms we've had (614, 608 & 524) were light and airy. 614 was the best room as it had a massive super-king-sized bed. The others had single beds.

There is a separate kitchen area with table and chairs, sink and fridge. The bathroom was fully tiled, very clean and there was always lots of hot water. Bedrooms are large with wardrobe, bedside tables, mirror and TV. The balcony was small, just enough room to take 2 chairs and a small table. The rooms have ceiling fan and air-conditioning. The units in rooms 614 & 608 were newer, very quiet and effective. 524 was older but still effective. Bedding and towels were changed daily and the room boys did various designs (swans, hearts) with the towels every day.

The hotel has 2 pools, a free-form one and a small oblong one close to the hotel restaurant. Both were absolutely spotless. In fact the whole hotel is very clean. Our rooms were always cleaned very well by the room boys.

There are well tended gardens leading from the front of the hotel towards the beach with a number of sunbeds dotted about.

Breakfast is juice, coffee, tea, cereal, toast & eggs cooked to order. Although we had booked B&B, we never ate breakfast in the hotel so I've classed this as self-catering. We didn't have any other meals or drinks there either.

The safety deposit boxes were in Reception and seemed to be accessible all the time. Very cheap at 25 rupees per day.

All the staff - from the people on Reception, gardeners, housekeeping staff, waiters etc were very pleasant, eager to please and really gave the impression that they were there just to make your holiday as good as they possible could.

Going towards the beach, you reach the Calamari beach shack which is very popular especially Sunday lunchtimes as they have live music on.

The Santana is located towards the Sinquerim end of Candolim and is maybe a steady 15 minute walk up to the middle of Candolim. Partway up there is now a pavement (which starts opposite the Stonehouse) which makes walking easier.

This hotel would be our first choice for a holiday in Candolim.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Paul
6 years 9 months ago
Sanatana Beach Resort is just lovely with its lush tropical gardens and beach setting.
Although located within the quieter end of Candolim (Sinqerim), I felt this was great becasue you are not in the hustle and bustle of the centre of Candolim and benefit from reduced traffic which can be quite busy as you head towards the centre of Candolim.
The staff were excellent. The beach is small and it is such a shame that the ship is causing coastal erosion of the beach at that end of Candolim. The wave can be quite large and the undercurrents can be quite strong but it didnt stop me from having a swim. I wouldnt suggest that young children swim alone in the sea. The pool areas are nice if small and at the main splash pool at the top of the resort you would be pushed to find an empty bed after 9am.
I preferred the small pool by the gardens which was hardly used (if you like the quiet then get a bed in the gardens and walk to the small pool for a dip.
There is a taxi rank at the top of the road by the top entrance to the hotel and the guys there were fantastic and cheap.
The hotel rooms were basic but had everything you woould need, mini bar, fans, air con, kitchen areas (in a few). The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless. Its funny as the maids are nearly all men.
There are loads of nice beaches in the area Sinqerim, Calangute and Baga and the closest. Baga is a bit mad and you get hassled a lot but its great if you like to be in the thick of thinks Shining Star Stack at the end of Baga Beach is great.
Ashwen Beach is about 40 minutes away in a taxi and is just beatiful with its cove like shallow waters and no hassle on the beach.
I would not hesitate in going to Goa and the Santana Beach again in the future as the setting is really nice and the staff could not do enough to help.
Yeah the location is a little out of the way but taxis cost around
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Ross
6 years 10 months ago
we loved this hotel sheet and towels changed every day lovely gardens nice pool lovely staff just walk to the end of the garden and your right on the beach the calamari shack is nice if you want some food or drinks on the beach taxis just down the road we will be coming back here next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 7 months ago
My wife and i visited this hotel for four weeks and had a great holiday.This is a simple hotel but with five star service.The sheets and towels were changed every day and were spotlessly clean.The staff would do anything for you and made us feel so welcome.There was lovely walkways throughout the hotel and nice gardens leading down to the beach.Breakfast was simple but nice....fruit or cerial/eggs/toast and fruit juice. We cant wait to come back again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stuart
7 years 8 months ago
This was our second visit to this particular Hotel, and i have to say i have already booked for 2010. The Hotel offers a good continental breakfast, serving up fresh fruit, cereal, toast, eggs and Fruit Juice. This Breakfast is enjoyed in a unhurried relaxing round the pool sun coming up kinda way.
The location of the hotel is second to none in Candolim, Set within mature well stocked gardens, off the main road and yet just 2 minutes walk to the beach. The rooms are cleaned daily and the towels changed every day too, the staff are MEGA highly friendly and will help you out and do anything for you. Amar, James, Ollie, Sunny, Anthony aka The Captain, Suresh to name but a few kept us well informed and up to date, they go the extra mile to make your stay not just a holiday but an experience, they are not just Hotel Staff they have become family Friends. Ron the pool manager/attendent is a real laugh as too is his friendly wife Pat.
Evening meals are a gastronomical dining delight, the only downside being the complete lack of evening entertainment, with the exception of Sunday Karaoke Night, especially for 3 sundays of the year, when Lip Up Fatty is the Show stopping song and Alice sung by Jay is the Bar emptying song.
I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone, but please don't book untill i have secured my own room each year, as i would be broken hearted if i was made to stay elswhere.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 9 months ago
Having visited Goa many times it was with much excitement that we arrived at the santana beach i had read all the reviews on this site.
All i can say is 12months must make all the difference
on arriving all seemed well then we walked in the room to be met by the musty smell(now been told its because its very damp after monsoon and no chairs yes that's rite no chairs non we then spent 4days and complaining to the rep before we where given some chairs at 7am we awoke to loud banging on the door and the chairs where dumped in the middle of the room.
Now to some good bits
a new pool with swim up bar (don't get to excited its only 20ft big) the pool bar boys are very nice and very helpful including telling the work men on the new build next door to stop watching the western women .
Having said all that the hotel is clean the staff friendly and eggs any way you want for breakfast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John & Gillian
8 years 8 months ago
Small friendly hotel with gate from garden opening onto beach.

Not all rooms have balconies but we had asked for 1st floor with sea view and we got room 524 which looked down the lane leading to the sea which we could see in the distance.

Lots of local wildlife to see coming and going including the local free range cows that walked up and down the lane to the beach. There is a new development being built next door from which there was some noise which didn't bother us but could be a problem for rooms facing onto it as it is very close.

The rooms had fans and air conditioning which were a must as it was very hot. There was also a kitchen area with sink and a fridge mini bar but no cooking facilities.

Unlike UK hotels the price of drinks from the fridge were very reasonable and we signed for what we consumed every day and paid at the end of our stay. The gardens were very pretty and well maintained and for those who didn't get a balcony there was quiet central square away from the pool to sit in the shade.

All the staff spoke english some more than others and everyone said good morning and were helpful and friendly. Guards were on both gates 24 hours and were helpful with a torch when there were power cuts. Taxi rank outside the gate would take you anywhere in Goa for a negotiated price we paid 250 rupees to do to Baga.

At the hotel reception were safety deposit boxes which was very cheap and they changed travellers cheques saving a walk to the bank.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Amit Rai Ahuja
8 years 11 months ago
As a tourist I assume a resort/hotel makes your trip 50% relaxing but Santana Resort in North Goa did much more than that.

Its is a fabulous resort in North Goa with great aminities,wonderful location and excellent staff.
The owner Ms. D'souza is really on top of line her profession.
The ambience is really wonderful with studio apartments at quite an affordable prices.

Really a great place to spend you vacations!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
8 years 11 months ago
A short walk through the hotel gardens takes you straight on to the beach, an excellent location. We found the hotel food very good on the nights we eat in, standard breakfast is basic but you can order whatever you want as an extra.
Hotel rooms were very clean and the staff very willing and helpful.
The swimming pool is quite small but most people used the beach which has sun loungers by the beach shacks.

Overall a very pleasant stay and one we would recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: