13 independent reviews of the Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Bamon Vaddo, Candolim, Candolim, 403515, India
Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel
Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel Location
Ranked #28 of 40 hotels in Candolim


3/5
Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel is rated 3.46 out of 5 from 13 Reviews
69% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (13 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

Cathy stayed at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in April 2009
It was our first visit to Victor Exotica (VE).We had origionally booked to go to Cuba but had to rearrange at the last minute and Goa was suggested.
After reading some of the reports we admit to being slightly anxious as to what we could expect.
We arrived after a 10hr flight and were quickly taken on the 1hr transfere journey seeing lots of the sights and sounds of this part of the world.
As we approached VE we were greeted by a security guard in a gated complex. Initially we were rather concerned as to why a guard was needed, but we were quickly reassured that all the complexes had 24 hr security.The guards were very friendly and polite.
We were promptly shown to our room which was at the poolside and near to reception and we were impressed with how ...
neat and clean our room was,we had a lot of storage space within the room and a nice clean shower room with a very powerful hot shower.Ladies make sure you take your hairdryer as the hotel doesnt provide one. Our room had both Air conditioning and ceiling fan, which were very much appreciated.
Our roomboy Krishna had the friendliest smile and was so attentive tidying up our room on the odd occasion we had messed it. He left us some wonderful bedart that was pretty as well as surprising. I took a photo of each one!
We had a mini fridge and satallite TV which showed lots of the important footy matches that were being played back home, much to my husbands delight!! There were several English speaking channels and of course English is fluently spoken in Goa. We were AI and we enjoyed the variety of food that was served.Lots of spicy curried dishes which we enjoy and the chefs did THE best made to order omlettes,for breakfast.
The poolside bar served most of the usual spirits and mixers beers and a small choice of wines. We had no complaints about the service from the Restaurant or bar and could only praise the staff for their politness and service in 34-38oc (bit of a heatwave while we were there.). The pool was lovely. Cleaned every day.Towels provided for the loungers.The communal areas were also regularly cleaned throughout the day. There were the local Goan Papers available to read if you wanted to catch up on local/ international news.
The safety deposit boxes were free and securely kept behind reception.
The hotel had lots of vegetation which encouraged some of the wildlife and we saw some lovely birds and other creatures dashing about the trees.
Our only dissapointment was the evening entertainment which was mainly for the over 60\'s age group. The acts were very similar to each other and sang very similar songs. We started to venture out in the evenings as there are lots of good bars & restaurants within a few minutes walk.
With this in mind we would not go AI again in Goa as there are a great variety of eating places and the cost of everything in Goa is very very cheap.
We enjoyed our stay at VE and would go there again but not on the AI tarrif.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Rita Rintoul visited the Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2006
We arrived at the Victor Exotica on the morning of the 24th December 2006. As we arrived on the Main Road, we did think what had we come to, but on going up the drive to the Gates it was a different view. The Security Guards on duty were very polite and helpful. The hotel was spectacular with the Xmas decorations all around and the Xmas Tree in the Reception mad it feel very like home. This we thought was very welcoming as being away from Scotland for Xmas. The staff were very friendly, the waiters were excellent and could not do enough for you. Our room was kept clean and tidy especially with a different Towel Art every day. The food was excellent and a lot of choices.

Travelling from the Airport, we were told ...
about the power cuts, as we did have a few it did not last for any length of time. Also we were told with regards to Hot Water at certain times, but a day on the beach the water was lukewarm which was fine with us (we got clean!!)

The hotel could have done with better entertainment!! but like anywhere they cannot cater for everyone, as it is an indivudual choice.

As we had a great time, a holiday is what you make it. We have booked again for 3 weeks this time going out on the 29th December as celebrating New Year was excellent and the atmosphere brilliant.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Jackie had a holiday at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2006
Hotel was well postioned. Staff and rooms were very good.
The food was average but nice places in Candolim to eat.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Dave Paisey visited the Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2006
Mattress on bed was non existant. Shower cold, moved rooms and shower hot but toilet didn\'t work. Shower overflowed due to blocked drains.

Food was 99% Indian, did not cater for European visitors very well at all.

Rooms were clean, staff were friendly but could never address the problems.

I don\'t understand why all inclusive means bad food!!

Definitely would not visit this hotel again.

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Alison visited the Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in November 2006
We were transferred to this hotel due to hotel originally booked not being ready for guests, we were upgraded to all inclusive for the inconvenience, though we did not really make use of this.

The hotel was clean and staff friendly, we had not ordered a fridge and did so on arrival for 300r a day and had it delivered within short time to room.

Generaly areas were kept clean, though tablecloths left a lot to be desired. There were some \"nasty smells\" at times around the pool and bar area. Rooms were clean and bedding changed regularly. The balcony was too small. There was a distinctive lack of hot water in the shower at any time of day.

The hotel was convenient for strolls at night to restaurants, although all inclusive we ate out as the choice ...
of food was very limited at the hotel and some choices had run out and were not replaced. Cold water was available to AI guests, though we were a bit doutful about its safety, as it was served from large chilled containers and not sealed bottles.

There are several shacks all selling the same things. The shop to to the right at the end of the path to hotel gave very favourable exchange rate for currency.

There was evening entertainment advertised but we did not go for this.

Although the hotel was in a good position and relatively good standard, we prefer to go to different areas rather than return to old ones, so for this reason only would not go back

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

DERRICK HARGREAVES had a holiday at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in March 2006
Arrived at the Victor Exotica at about 16.30 after a fairly good exit from the airport and were welcomed and checked in quickly.

Shown to our room, which was ground floor by the bar area. The fridge we had asked for was not installed but came within 5 minutes.(300 rps per day) The room was large and had a very large double bed, wardrobe, bedside cabinets and a dressing table. The room was fairly dark owing to only having small window and patio door and a small balcony. There was a TV, ceiling fan and air conditioning,(a bit noisy) bedside lamps light over the dressing table and another near the wardrobe, but the room was still always fairly dim inside.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a good shower room (soap and shampoo provided), the only problem with the bath room ...
was that the hot water tap on the sink let only a trickle of water out. Hot water is only available at certain times (morning and evening)but this never caused us any problems. Towels were changed daily and bedlinen every other day. All in all we were pleased with the room and would rate it as good or better than the Phoenix park.

Breakfast was fairly good, with the usual choices of fruit juice,fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, beans and tomatoes. Eggs were made fresh to order. Usually some form of Indian breakfast dish was available also. The restaurant was always clean and staff were plentiful to fetch and carry etc. One strange oddity was the fact that chilled water was only available to \"all inclusive guests\". We never ate in the restaurant at night but people who did said that it wasn\'t very good (a penalty of AI).

The pool area was clean and tidy with someone sweeping up the leaves from the trees all the time. The trees gave plenty of shade around the pool area. Maybe a bit short on sunbeds. The area near the pool for snacks and drinks etc had about a dozen tables with the dirtiest tablecloths we have ever seen, they changed them for the second week but were still dirty and unattractive looking.

Safety deposit boxes were adjoining the managers office and were secure enough,(you need to sign a book when you visit them).

Most of the rooms I saw had balconies BUT there were some that didn\'t and some also appeared to be in parts of the building where they wouldn\'t get much sunlight.

Drinks around the pool were at a reasonable price (65rps for a large Kingfisher)for the circumstances and had to be signed for, no cash taken.

We found the staff to be all friendly and helpful, willing to chat and pass the time of day, this included the security guards with the exception of ONE of the night security who was a bit grumpy (the other night guards we met were very friendly).

We had one boy to clean the room for the two weeks, except for his day off, and he was extremely thorough. He tidied up nicely, moved things that we had left lying about, shoes etc, but did not touch anything that he shouldn\'t have. Everyday we were treated to a different form of \"towel art\".

The hotel is located up a short side street off the main Candolim/ fort aguada rd, opposite the Cinabar restaurant bar, taking approx 10 minutes to the beach passing approx 4 cheap rubbish shops.Very handy for several good restaurants. There is a taxi rank at the bottom of the street.

Entertainment was pretty much typical of what regular Goan-goers would expect, fairly basic and a bit amateurish with the same acts for both weeks, but as we didn\'t stay to watch them we can\'t really criticise.

Amongst the visitors we met(many Goa first timers) and spoke to there everyone was happy with the standards except possibly one couple who had gone all inc and had paid what I thought was an extortionate amount for it, who thought that they would be getting something better for their money

All in all we were very happy with the hotel, thinking that it fairly deserves 3 stars and would go back but for the fact that it is AI next year.

Read More

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Milly had a holiday at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in February 2006
Victor Exotica has a great location and the staff very polite and welcoming. However at breakfast,lunch and dinner,if you want to sit outside the tables are made out of plastic and so are the chairs, they have got bits of left over food and dirt all over them so when you are eating it attracts the flies.

The rooms are very clean and your bed gets made everyday. The rooms are big but when I stayed we didn\'t have a balcony, so we asked to be moved to a room which had one but we regretted it when we saw our new room. It was dark and there was no privacy.

The entertainment was rubbish and they were playing right outside our door and all the lights went out at 11pm so you were sitting in the dark.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Towpal had a holiday at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel in February 2006
Booked with Thompson whose brochure states all rooms have balcony or terrace. We had two rooms booked and both were in G block which have neither.

One of our rooms required three beds but this had to be requested on arrival? Surely they knew from the booking!! I suspect it's a method of securing extra tips because it was very obvious one was expected after the bed was delivered. After four days of continual requests at reception we were offered alternative rooms. Our friends who had their ten year old accepted the new room but were disappointed to find it was dark and dingy and the entertainment was on the doorstep and the all inclusive bar just a few feet away. We decided to stay put as the room offered to us was in the car park area.

The main ...
dining area was clean and tidy and the breakfasts were lovely but the entertainment and bar area seating was disgusting. I doubt if the tablecloths had been changed for weeks and no effort was made to clean excess food off them...even though the hotel seemed to have dozens of staff.

One night on returning to the hotel we were approached by a security guard who demanded money because he alleged we had made a complaint about him? Complained to reception the next day but received a very lacklustre response. If you returned to the hotel late, keys were left within easy reach so you could collect your own key, (and tell which rooms were still empty) so many security issues with this system that it makes your mind boggle!!

Our flight was early morning so we left at 3am, same security man demanded money even though he hadn't lifted a finger to help with bags. Never again would we return to this hotel.

Best thing about it was location and breakfasts.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

Thomas stayed at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in February 2006
We had booked and paid in full to stay in the Victor 2 months prior to travel. When we arrived at the Airport we were told by Thomson that the Victor had overbooked and we were having to move to another hotel in another resort. According to Thomson, this is a fairly regular occurrence with the Victor, and we were one of 4 couples affected just that week.

We went to visit the Victor to see what we had missed, and the hotel looked delightful. When we asked about the possibility of booking a week\'s accommodation privately (without letting on we were disgruntled almost-guests) the hotel stated they may be able to fit us in and \"to come back tomorrow\". This would have been week 2 of our holiday, and they should have been full. Sounds like something unsavoury is going ...
on.....

The staff we met were helpful and the other guests we spoke to were enjoying their stay. Seems a shame that the hotel is risking its reputation.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Valerie stayed at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel in January 2006
This was our first time in Goa and we were very pleased and happy with the standard of this hotel.

The hotel was a good base for our stay and in a good quieter part of Candolim.

The hotel staff were always polite and helpful and the hotel was alway very clean and tidy.

Would definitely go back there again on a bed and breakfast basis. Too many good restaurants around Goa to ever contemplate going AI.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

April stayed at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in January 2006
Stayed at hotel for 2 weeks - hotel was very clean
location good. Staff were very polite and would do anything to help you. Good choice of food for breakfast - did eat once on evening at hotel and food was really good and very fresh.

Will defintely be going back to this hotel again well worth it.

Tour Operator: citrus travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Steve visited the Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2005
First of all let me tell you how we came to stay at the Victor. First Choice moved us from the Whispering Palms after we had paid them and just before they had to pay us compo for the move. Any thanks First Choice about time you did it right.

The hotel is set back 100mts or so up a drive from the main road so there is no traffic noise. The hotel reception area is very well set out with comfy sofas and arm chairs.

The rooms are in four blocks. Four rooms at ground level and four at first floor level. There are a number of rooms in the main hotel block all in this block have a balcony. The rooms are very clean and have free air con and free cable TV and a fan on the ...
ceiling. You can only get hot water in a morning and evening but the cold water is tepid and ok to shower with. You can hire a fridge if you wish at

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Looby stayed at Victor Exotica Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2004
The hotel itself looks really nice and the rooms are nice and big and nicely furnished.

There are a few reasons though why we would not stay here again. Everything stops at 11pm, if you want to come back to the hotel for a nightcap it\'s just not possible. We have stayed in the Osborne Hotel a couple of times, which although is not in the same league as the Victor Exotica, is much cleaner and to be honest is in a more central location.

Finally and most seriously, we had items stolen from our room whilst staying there. Although the items weren\'t really expensive, it was the principle of it. We reported the theft to management who just did not take us seriously at all so the matter was dropped. We also noticed when ...
packing to come home that someone had gone through all of the pockets of any jacket/trousers in the wardrobe as they were either unzipped, unbuckled or slightly turned out.

There are just too many hotels in Goa to choose from for us to have to put up with this again therefore we will definately stay elsewhere next time!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Share