42 independent reviews of the Silver Sands Holiday Village
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Silver Sands Holiday Village Location
Ranked #21 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Silver Sands Holiday Village Silver Sands Holiday Village is rated 3.83 out of 5 from 42 Reviews
86% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (42 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Silver Sands Holiday Village Reviews

5/5
5
"Brilliant hotel "
barbara madden visited the Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim in December 2013
First time in Goa and it won't be the last! The hotel was much better than we expected. The room was large and spacious and clean. The staff at reception and waiters were a really friendly bunch, so much that I would consider going back alone if I had to.

The pools are wonderfully refreshing just what you need after a day on the beach, which is only 3 minutes away. We ate like queens and drank like kings wonderful holiday in truly wonderful destination. Hotel is in great position for beach and shops in all truly relaxing holiday, next time going for longer though.


Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4
"Airy and spacious rooms"
Gooorooo stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel in February 2011
We stayed in a superior room (204) so had air conditioning and a fridge included - which were essential. The room was airy and spacious and kept spotlessly clean (although we tipped the room boys every day very well so that probably helped!)

The staff were really helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

You can't find a better location in Candolim - it's as close to the beach as you can get and at the bottom of Beach Road so very close to all the bars and restaurants.

My only complaint would be the bed which was ROCK HARD and we were both achy by the end of 10 days. I understand that that's not specific to this hotel though and will be something you may find in lots of places in Goa so don't let ...
that put you off.

I would happily return to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3
"Brilliant location!"
jon.sherry had a holiday at Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel in January 2011
The hotel is basic but clean and the staff are brilliant.

The breakfast is poor but a nice cup of tea. You can get a decent breakfast just round the corner in the Ocean Beach.

I'm not really sure about the hotel entertainment; I didn,t see any!

The pool table is good, a couple of the staff like a game.

On the whole this hotel is good value for money and in a brilliant location.

We are already looking to go back next year.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Best holiday EVER"
Mark and Catherine stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim in November 2010
What a holiday! This hotel or resort is NOT five star but makes up for it in every other way as does Candolim itself. The staff are so helpful.

All I can say is if this is your first trip to Goa (as it was ours) nobody can prepare you for the culture shock that will hit you like a brick in the face, from the moment you get off the plane you will be shocked by what you see, hear and smell but PLEASE go with the flow and the place grows on you very quickly. My wife and I were ready to get back on the next plane back to the UK.

The Silver Sands is in a corner of Candolim, very close to the beach and away from the hustle of the main road. We stayed in ...
a bungalow and was very happy with it, great way to do some people watching or we would sit out chatting to the people across the path whilst having a few drinks.

Good tip is TAKE A TORCH and spare battery, there are power cuts several times a day all over Candolim.

THIS WAS OUR BEST HOLIDAY EVER and we will be going back soon.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Fantastic "
Vicky and Steve stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim in March 2010
This was my first visit to Goa and what can I say...
Best way to explain it is FANTASTIC. They might just as well give the food and drink away, it really is that cheap. The hotel is basic but far better than some of the hell holes I saw, Staff are great, not as close to the beach as we were told but itís only a couple of moments to the long golden sandy beach.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

D Hargreaves stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2010
The hotel was surprisingly good. We did have one or two reservations before going but these were soon dispelled.
We were welcomed and shown to our room without any delay, the rooms was clean and airy with exellent AC and fan.Tv and fridge were included, note NOT a mini bar, provide your own beers etc.
The shower room was clean but a bit on the dingy side which has been reflected in our score for cleanliness.
The beds were two singles pushed together, with decent mattresses, although a bit on the firm side.
Sheets were clean and stain free,, towels were clean and fluffy. Pillows can only be described as.... EXCELLENT!
We asked for extra pillows on arrival but didn\'t need or use them.
On a night the room was quiet even though our room was the nearest to the kitchen and staff rooms.
The ...
grounds were kept clean and tidy, except perhaps where the resident dogs had scratched the earth up to make a bed. Very friendly dogs.
the gardens were pleasant, with an assortment of wildlife, lizards, kingfishers and chipmunks.
Pool area was as we expected, a bit small and not much sun, but always some sunbeds as not many use it.
Breakfast was the usual basic tea and toast with jam etc, served either in the restaurant or at the Amara on Beach Road or at the Ceu Mar beach shack.
You are issued with vouchers on arrival which can be exchanged in any of these restaurants, extras are charged.
Toast at the Almara was ...rubbish!Dry and rock hard. but at the resturant and beach shack was very nice.

Staff were really friendly without being intrusive, room boys were friendly and quick, always with a smile and a pleasant word, restaurant and bar staff were the same although we did notice that two of the bar/restaurant staff seemed more interested in the cricket on TV and left the work to the others.
There is a pool table, a library and internet access (60rps per hour).
The Sheetal restaurant opposite is part of the same group and the food there was excellent,but portions could be a bit overfacing sometimes.
The Ceu Mar shck , also part of the hotel was clean and well organised with good staff, perhaps a bit further back from the beach than I would have preferred but thats just finding fault for the sake of it!
Only actually ate one meal at the Silver sands own restaurant and whilst it was OK we didn\'t really enjoy it but that could be more down to the heat(and Kingfishers)than to the food.
I wouldn\'t want to stay in one of the cottages as they appeared dark and small, although the people in them seemed happy enough. These are very good for people watching on an evening as everyone has to walk past them.
Some people did say that the standard rooms were not so good but as I didn\'t see them I couldn\'t confirm this.
Safety deposit boxes were available, either use their lock or take your own, I think the were 50 rps a day plus 200 rps deposit for their lock.
The only genuine complaint I can think of was that the toilets for the restaurant area could have been nicer, but they weren\'t really bad.
This is a hotel in a really good location, managed by a manager who knows his job and staffed by staff that are happy to do their jobs.
All guests appeared to be British, maybe a couple of Danish/Swedish/Indian visitors but no Russians at all.
Normally stay in the phoenix park but much prefer the Silver sands now.
I would happily recommend to anyone who knows what to expect in Goa.
Not sure if allowed to link to some pics of the hotel, but will post link and mods can delete if required.

http://s56.photobucket.com/albums/g169/del949/silver%20sands%20goa/

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jojo had a holiday at Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2009
The rooms were clean and quiet. Not too keen on the breakfast provided in the price but other meals were cheap enough.
Perfect location, perfect, friendly staff, entertainment themselves!!!
No complaints whatsoever!!

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

JULIE HEYES stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim, India in February 2009
2nd time in goa. The airport is mad but go with the flow and just let one of the men take your cases to either taxi or coach. It\'s worth the tip. Hotel in a great location 2 minutes to the beach. Plenty of great restaurants within easy reach. Used the boat shack almost every day. Great food and the boys there are great.

Could use the cea mar beach shack for breakfast which was very pleasant. Room cleaned ok every day although had to go to reception several times as no clean towels left in room. Bed linen old and although clean was grey with age. Clean towels smelled fusty which wasn\'t pleasant.

They need to review their laundry arrangements. Had a bungalow room at first, big enough but very dark, was ...
unable to read at night as lighting was very poor. Upgraded to superior room for 2nd week which was much better. Don\'t go to goa if you like luxury hotels and rooms as it won\'t suit you.

I absolutely love it and can\'t wait to go back. The people are fantastic and the place is totally chilled. The first time was a culture shock for a couple of days but not this time.

Read More

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

HARRIES stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim in January 2009
stayed in superior room R202, at first was a little shocked but after seeing accomodation in Goa this was a superior room, very spacious, beds really hard, room had a TV, Fridge, Air Con. Fan, great location, would stay here agian if returned to Goa

Tour Operator: FIORST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Claire visited the Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim in December 2008
We

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

faz,tony,trisha,julie, visited the Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2008
Again the hotel and staff where exellent,the standard rooms are not brilliant but at least are clean.

However, do not fly with Monarch ,they are an absolute disgrace,we paid

Tour Operator: sunset holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

margaret sudworth visited the Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel in March 2008
this was our first time in goa and we were looking forward to getting to the hotel because it looked great in the brochure.how wrong we could be.the room was basic which we expected but after two weeks the beds hadn\'t been changed or the room swept.none of the bathroom had been cleaned.round the pool bottles and glasses were left for up to 5days before being moved.the pool was never cleaned either inside or round the sides were cigarette end were left.i know the people who smoked should have moved these but we all know what some people are like. there was a dog in the hotel and it wasn\'t well so one of the staff locked it in the shower room near the pool until the vet came which was 4 hours later.who would want to go in ...
the shower after a dog being in there all that that time.the towels they left when they did change them were full of holes.we told the hotel and the rep about the dirt but nothing was done.the breakfast was awful the toast was like eating tiles it was that hard.i wouldnt reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Julian Sabine had a holiday at Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim in February 2008
A basic but very clean and friendly hotel. All the staff were helpful, particulary Guru and Ajay. The hotel is perfectly situated about 100 yards from the beach and about the same distance from the bars in the beach road.
I would certainly come back to the Silver Sands again as i found it a very welcoming hotel.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

PAULETTE & JASON HANCOCK visited the Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel in January 2008
What a fab hotel!!!
Great people, cheap prices, great room.

We stayed in superior room; it was very spacious with fridge, ac, fan and sky TV. Although we didn

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Debra Cousins had a holiday at Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim in November 2007
We arrived in Goa on the 28th November. We were very disappointed when we arrived at the hotel, the room that we was shown to first was really small at the back of the old block, it was dingy and very sparsely furnished with only a ceiling fan and no fridge. We went back to reception and asked if we could have a room overlooking the pool, the lady on reception said we would have to upgrade because these rooms had air conditioning, this we agreed to do and was shown to room F10 which wasn\'t that much bigger but at least we had a better outlook, however we still had no fridge, once again we had to pay, in the first hour we were there we had to shell out 5,980 rupees for the a/c, fridge and safety ...
deposit box.

We knew there was building work going on as we had a letter from First Choice, however it said it would not effect our stay and would be complete by the 1st Dec, this wasn\'t so, they were working on the steps up to our room every day for the first week we were there, we had to step over tools, tins of paint and workmen, it was a nightmare. We complained to the rep, along with another 2 couples and eventually the work was speed ed up.

The breakfast was a joke, it took them 25 minutes to serve us tea and toast one morning, the eggs were either over cooked or under cooked, after 3 days we decided to have breakfast on the beach instead.

Our room was cleaned on a daily basis, the towels changed daily and the sheets were changed every 2/3 days depending on which boy did the room. The standard of cleanliness could have been better, but at least they made an effort.

While we were there we looked at the bungalow rooms, these are also very basic and reminded me of the old chalet\'s at holiday camps in the UK in the 60\'s. We also looked at the new superior rooms, these are very nice complete with tv, phone, fridge, a/c and big bathroom, anyone staying in these rooms would really enjoy their stay.

We are already booked to go back to the Silver Sands in March for 3 weeks, had we known the standard rooms were so basic we would have looked elsewhere before booking our second trip. I enquired with First Choice if we could upgrade to the new rooms but they wanted a further

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Joan & dennis visited the Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim in February 2007
This was a last minute booking so was quite apprehensive about the hotel after reading other reports.

We arrived at the hotel about 7:30am and were allocated our room straight away.

The room was a superior room although not one of the new ones. The room was quite spacious with a king size bed, wardrobe, TV, A/C and a small fridge.

It was cleaned everyday(you have to hand your key into reception otherwise you won\'t get it cleaned).

The breakfast consists of 3 pieces of toast, one small tub of butter and jam, orange juice, tea or coffee. You can purchase other items for a supplement. Not worth getting out of bed for.

Apart from that, the staff are very friendly and the hotel is a few minutes from many restaurants and about 3 minutes from the beach.

We had one meal there in ...
the evening but were very disappointed with it, so didn\'t eat there again.
I would be happy to stay there again but only in a superior room.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Clare & Keith had a holiday at Silver Sands Holiday Village in February 2007
Just come back from our first visit to Silver Sands. Will definitely be going back.

There are 3 types of accommodation in the hotel now - rooms in a block (some of them overlook the pool, others overlook a back yard and would be quire dingy.)We were given a pool facing room when we first arrived -it was grim and dingy and I couldn\'t face spending 3 weeks in it with no fridge ( I need one to keep my medication cold) or such a small cramped space with no air con.

We obviously hadn\'t read the brochure properly and just assumed rooms were allocated on arrival - simple really - you get what you pay for.

Went to reception to request fridge ( 100 rps per day) and air con ( 300 rps per day). Had no choice but to ...
pay this but was very pleasantly surprised when Lorena the very helpful receptionist said if we were happy to pay for the air con she would move us to a bungalow.

This is the second choice of room. We were very happy there. Ours was quite spacious (Rm 118) and had a patio/balcony that we sat out on every night to have a coffee and honeybee brandy.

It was very basic but pleasant, not too noisy and everybody that walked passed said hello and we learnt lots of info from fellow guests, it was great swapping restaurant reviews ( spread the word to everyone about Holiday-Truths!).

If you want to chat there is always someone to chat too. If you want peace no one will bother you. The worst bit of the bungalows is the mattresses - they are dire - really thin and hard. However the couple next door to us complained and an additional double mattress was delivered to them very quickly.

The 3rd option is the new superior rooms built in Nov. These are supposed to be very nice with air con/fridge and TV included in the price. Lots of positive comments but as mentioned we were happy with what we were given and didn\'t bother with the extra cost for just a TV.

The breakfast was very slow but if you don\'t want to wait (we live on Goa Maybe Time when we are on holiday so don\'t get wound up by the little things.)

Ceu Mar the beach shack owned by the hotel is a prettier setting and a bit faster. We enjoyed sitting in the restaurant watching the world go by ( including Laxmi the elephant on her way to the beach every day) How many people can say they watch passing elephants while eating breakfast!!

We had lobster in the restaurant one night and it was lovely. One of the waiters ( Ajay) had taken the time and trouble to set the table beautifully and waited on us like royalty. The effort he put in was really sweet and made the already great meal even better.

The pool is basic but has plenty of sun beds, only two of them get sun all day but with the beach so close it\'s really no big deal.

We were however shown another pool that belongs to the hotel as well ( it\'s in a block run by Jewel in The Crown and is along a back alley through the Angara Restaurant) If you can\'t find it ask fellow guests or one of the waiters. A pleasant surprise that we would never have known about if we hadn\'t been told by fellow guests! It is a brand new small pool, figure of eight shape with a plunge pool at one end. Not as many beds and often taken early on. If you want drinks or snacks the staff at the Angara are happy to bring it too you.

The staff at the hotel were fantastic and really take the time to make sure you are happy and to have a chat. It is a real village atmosphere and we will definitely go back - would say it was more suited to couples looking for quiet laid back atmosphere.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

faz,tony,trisha,julie,brian,tom,lil,jimmy,sue, stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim, India in February 2007
we have stayed at many hotels in goa,been there seven times now,but this was the most freindly and best located.

the night manager guru was an exellent help and very freindly.

all the waiters pinto.rocky,neil.ajay. where all very helpfull if you wanted a certain meal it was done exactly how you wanted it all you had to do was tell these guys what you wanted.

we had chinese,indian,thai,italian,english,food in the hotel it was all exellent.

we are all going back next year.

the rooms are basic but kept spotless,the old block could do with having TV faciliteis in it but guru said they were trying to get that next year.

also i think they were building a sports bar on the roof of the old games/TV room

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

emma stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village in February 2007
We went bed and breakfast but cant complain about either the rooms are basic but clean and tidy. A very clean place.

The location the hotel is in is just simply amazing! could not of asked for more just 2 minute walk from the beach with a road that's just full of endless entertainment and amazing food.

The hotel staff are so kind and funny they will bend over backwards to make you happy like Ajay, Neil and John can't wait to see them next year.

The hotel entertainment is not the best but there is beach road so that's OK. I am going back to this hotel with out a doubt.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

brent and alex stayed at Silver Sands Holiday Village, Candolim in January 2007
Stayed in the Silver Sands holiday village Candolim from Jan 6th to Jan 21st.

Ok the breakfast is basic but we found it adequate and for a few rupees you can eat out.

As for the cleanliness we stayed in room F1 and it was cleaned daily. The bed sheets every other day,the room boys did a good job.

By far the best about this holiday is the location with the beach and restaruants a 2 min walk away. We found Bobbys shack, Alexandras, andEast meets West in Baga to be the best places to eat out.

The hotel staff and waiters were really friendly and did their best to make our stay as nice as possible.

The next time we visit Goa will be booking the Silver Sands.

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share