Image of Silver Sands Holiday Village

Silver Sands Holiday Village

21 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 42 reviews
2 stars
The Silver Sands Holiday Village provides simply furnished accommodation. A family-run hotel offering warm Goan hospitality and friendly service, enjoying a good location in Candolim, close to the beach.

42 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Barbara Madden
Brilliant hotel
2 years 5 months ago
First time in Goa and it won't be the last! The hotel was much better than we expected. The room was large and spacious and clean. The staff at reception and waiters were a really friendly bunch, so much that I would consider going back alone if I had to.

The pools are wonderfully refreshing just what you need after a day on the beach, which is only 3 minutes away. We ate like queens and drank like kings wonderful holiday in truly wonderful destination. Hotel is in great position for beach and shops in all truly relaxing holiday, next time going for longer though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Gooorooo
Airy and spacious rooms
5 years 3 months ago
We stayed in a superior room (204) so had air conditioning and a fridge included - which were essential. The room was airy and spacious and kept spotlessly clean (although we tipped the room boys every day very well so that probably helped!)

The staff were really helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

You can't find a better location in Candolim - it's as close to the beach as you can get and at the bottom of Beach Road so very close to all the bars and restaurants.

My only complaint would be the bed which was ROCK HARD and we were both achy by the end of 10 days. I understand that that's not specific to this hotel though and will be something you may find in lots of places in Goa so don't let that put you off.

I would happily return to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jon.sherry
Brilliant location!
5 years 4 months ago
The hotel is basic but clean and the staff are brilliant.

The breakfast is poor but a nice cup of tea. You can get a decent breakfast just round the corner in the Ocean Beach.

I'm not really sure about the hotel entertainment; I didn,t see any!

The pool table is good, a couple of the staff like a game.

On the whole this hotel is good value for money and in a brilliant location.

We are already looking to go back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark And Catherine
Best holiday EVER
5 years 6 months ago
What a holiday! This hotel or resort is NOT five star but makes up for it in every other way as does Candolim itself. The staff are so helpful.

All I can say is if this is your first trip to Goa (as it was ours) nobody can prepare you for the culture shock that will hit you like a brick in the face, from the moment you get off the plane you will be shocked by what you see, hear and smell but PLEASE go with the flow and the place grows on you very quickly. My wife and I were ready to get back on the next plane back to the UK.

The Silver Sands is in a corner of Candolim, very close to the beach and away from the hustle of the main road. We stayed in a bungalow and was very happy with it, great way to do some people watching or we would sit out chatting to the people across the path whilst having a few drinks.

Good tip is TAKE A TORCH and spare battery, there are power cuts several times a day all over Candolim.

THIS WAS OUR BEST HOLIDAY EVER and we will be going back soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Vicky And Steve
Fantastic
6 years 2 months ago
This was my first visit to Goa and what can I say...
Best way to explain it is FANTASTIC. They might just as well give the food and drink away, it really is that cheap. The hotel is basic but far better than some of the hell holes I saw, Staff are great, not as close to the beach as we were told but it’s only a couple of moments to the long golden sandy beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 3 months ago
The hotel was surprisingly good. We did have one or two reservations before going but these were soon dispelled.
We were welcomed and shown to our room without any delay, the rooms was clean and airy with exellent AC and fan.Tv and fridge were included, note NOT a mini bar, provide your own beers etc.
The shower room was clean but a bit on the dingy side which has been reflected in our score for cleanliness.
The beds were two singles pushed together, with decent mattresses, although a bit on the firm side.
Sheets were clean and stain free,, towels were clean and fluffy. Pillows can only be described as.... EXCELLENT!
We asked for extra pillows on arrival but didn't need or use them.
On a night the room was quiet even though our room was the nearest to the kitchen and staff rooms.
The grounds were kept clean and tidy, except perhaps where the resident dogs had scratched the earth up to make a bed. Very friendly dogs.
the gardens were pleasant, with an assortment of wildlife, lizards, kingfishers and chipmunks.
Pool area was as we expected, a bit small and not much sun, but always some sunbeds as not many use it.
Breakfast was the usual basic tea and toast with jam etc, served either in the restaurant or at the Amara on Beach Road or at the Ceu Mar beach shack.
You are issued with vouchers on arrival which can be exchanged in any of these restaurants, extras are charged.
Toast at the Almara was ...rubbish!Dry and rock hard. but at the resturant and beach shack was very nice.

Staff were really friendly without being intrusive, room boys were friendly and quick, always with a smile and a pleasant word, restaurant and bar staff were the same although we did notice that two of the bar/restaurant staff seemed more interested in the cricket on TV and left the work to the others.
There is a pool table, a library and internet access (60rps per hour).
The Sheetal restaurant opposite is part of the same group and the food there was excellent,but portions could be a bit overfacing sometimes.
The Ceu Mar shck , also part of the hotel was clean and well organised with good staff, perhaps a bit further back from the beach than I would have preferred but thats just finding fault for the sake of it!
Only actually ate one meal at the Silver sands own restaurant and whilst it was OK we didn't really enjoy it but that could be more down to the heat(and Kingfishers)than to the food.
I wouldn't want to stay in one of the cottages as they appeared dark and small, although the people in them seemed happy enough. These are very good for people watching on an evening as everyone has to walk past them.
Some people did say that the standard rooms were not so good but as I didn't see them I couldn't confirm this.
Safety deposit boxes were available, either use their lock or take your own, I think the were 50 rps a day plus 200 rps deposit for their lock.
The only genuine complaint I can think of was that the toilets for the restaurant area could have been nicer, but they weren't really bad.
This is a hotel in a really good location, managed by a manager who knows his job and staffed by staff that are happy to do their jobs.
All guests appeared to be British, maybe a couple of Danish/Swedish/Indian visitors but no Russians at all.
Normally stay in the phoenix park but much prefer the Silver sands now.
I would happily recommend to anyone who knows what to expect in Goa.
Not sure if allowed to link to some pics of the hotel, but will post link and mods can delete if required.

http://s56.photobucket.com/albums/g169/del949/silver%20sands%20goa/
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Jojo
7 years 2 months ago
The rooms were clean and quiet. Not too keen on the breakfast provided in the price but other meals were cheap enough.
Perfect location, perfect, friendly staff, entertainment themselves!!!
No complaints whatsoever!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
JULIE HEYES
7 years 3 months ago
2nd time in goa. The airport is mad but go with the flow and just let one of the men take your cases to either taxi or coach. It's worth the tip. Hotel in a great location 2 minutes to the beach. Plenty of great restaurants within easy reach. Used the boat shack almost every day. Great food and the boys there are great.

Could use the cea mar beach shack for breakfast which was very pleasant. Room cleaned ok every day although had to go to reception several times as no clean towels left in room. Bed linen old and although clean was grey with age. Clean towels smelled fusty which wasn't pleasant.

They need to review their laundry arrangements. Had a bungalow room at first, big enough but very dark, was unable to read at night as lighting was very poor. Upgraded to superior room for 2nd week which was much better. Don't go to goa if you like luxury hotels and rooms as it won't suit you.

I absolutely love it and can't wait to go back. The people are fantastic and the place is totally chilled. The first time was a culture shock for a couple of days but not this time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 4 months ago
stayed in superior room R202, at first was a little shocked but after seeing accomodation in Goa this was a superior room, very spacious, beds really hard, room had a TV, Fridge, Air Con. Fan, great location, would stay here agian if returned to Goa
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
We
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: