21 independent reviews of the Magnum Resort Hotel
Address: MAGNUM RESORTS, NEAR HEALTH CENTRE CANDOLIM, Bardez, Goa 403515, India
Magnum Resort Hotel
Magnum Resort Hotel Location
Ranked #24 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Magnum Resort Hotel Magnum Resort Hotel is rated 3.62 out of 5 from 21 Reviews
81% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (21 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Magnum Resort Hotel Reviews

3/5
3
"Never again"
Mr &Mrs Spoor had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim in February 2011
This is our 3rd visit to Candolim and our first at the Magnum. The rooms are basic which we expected in a 2 * hotel. What we didn't expect was how dirty the hotel was.

We were allocated rooms with a roadside view so we requested an upgrade. We were shown rooms with stuffing hanging out of the sofa and most of the glass was missing from the bathroom window. We were told these rooms would cost another 120 per room which was reasonable for 21 days.

We refused these rooms and asked to be shown the best rooms available and were shown the Honeymoon Suite at a cost of 100 per room. These rooms were better than the others so we accepted them even though they didn't have balconies.

Bedding was supposed to be changed on alternate days but this did ...
not always happen and we had to request fresh pillowcases after 6 days. Our bathroom was cleaned maybe twice a week but we did get fresh towels daily, usually around 6pm which was a bit odd.

Breakfast was usually bread, fruit and eggs and served by cheerful staff.

The staff were always polite and helpful especially Sam the evening barman.

We only used the hotel pool once as it doesn't get much sun and it was the only place we were bitten by insects. Also a huge rat ran from the steps to reception in broad daylight!

We will definitely return to Goa but not this hotel ever again.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3
"Good location"
Polly visited the Magnum Resort Hotel in February 2011
This was our second stay at the Magnum, the previous time was 6 years ago.

Our room (111) was on the 1st floor, sort-of overlooking the pool but in reality overlooking a field that had some rubbish dumped in it.

The rooms were: Sitting room approx 13 x 10 with a large sofa (which may have been a bed settee), 2 easy chairs, coffee table and TV which had a number of channels including CNN, BBC World News, National Geographic, Discovery & ESPN. It had a ceiling fan and doors led onto a decent sized balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Kitchen area with large fridge and sink. Bedroom which was small with 2 single beds, a wardrobe, chest of drawers, ceiling fan and air-conditioning unit. Bathroom.

The A/C unit wasn't very effective and had no temperature control. It just about ...
made the room cooler than with the fan. We didn't have to pay extra for it, I'd have been very disappointed if we had paid for it.

The bathroom was OK but could have done with a deep clean of the grout between the tiles though. There was always plenty of hot water.

Bedding was changed every other day and the sheets were clean although not white. Towels seemed to be changed every day although they didn't change them when they cleaned the room but instead knocked on your door anytime between 6pm and 7:30pm. I don't know if this was designed to obtain a daily tip (it didn't work with us!) but it was sometimes inconvenient if you wanted a shower earlier although you could probably have rung Housekeeping and requested one.

The rooms were cleaned adequately enough and the walls were painted a nice pale yellow but there are some areas where they could give a better impression of the hotel with just a few minutes of work.

For example, the towel rail in the bathroom was loose as it had 2 screws instead of 4, the bathroom light was the same. Knobs on wardrobes & drawers either loose or missing. Not very important but minimal repairs would give a better impression of the accommodation.

Although we had booked B&B, we never ate breakfast in the hotel so I've classed this as a self-catering.
We didn't have any other meals or drinks there either.

There is a small oblong pool which looked clean, with about 10 sunbeds round it. It didn't seem to get a lot of sun during the day. There are 7 or so tables round the pool for drinks. The pool area and other communal areas were clean and the staff were very pleasant.

The safety deposit boxes were in Reception and seemed to be accessible all the time.

As our room was towards the back, there was no noise at all.

The best thing about the Magnum is the location, right in the middle of Candolim. Its close to the Elephant Shop for drinks and money change and there are lots of bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Nick and Tracy had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2010
Had a room over looking the pool. Plenty of room and basic but was good enough for what we wanted....showering, sleeping and relaxing. The breakfast was the usual self service, cereals, fruit,eggs, bread, tea and coffee. Room cleaned every day and bed made. The towels were pretty rough but as other people have stated \"it is India\". The staff were very friendly and all in all it was a decent place, nothing flash but adequate. The location was fine, right on the main road so surrounded by all the action and about an easy 10 minute walk to the beach.

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Doug visited the Magnum Resort Hotel in November 2009
Location excellent, close to all the shops, bars etc.
Rooms probably clean by Indian standard but slightly grubby (not that we thought that this was a problem) if you can get the larger room the better.
Towels changed daily, pool clean & the breakfast probably the best weve ever had (this was the 10th time in Goa). All staff very helpful, this was the second time we have been to this hotel & will probably be back

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

pallister had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2009
We stayed in the Magnum for 3 weeks.We have been to Goa many times but this was our first time at the Magnum.We were shown to a room without a balcony,this actually did not bother me as much as I thought as the room was cool and quiet.We were hardly ever in our room anyway.The staff were always friendly and helpful.The pool was excellent and clean.We only ate breakfast at the hotel and the eggs were free.The magnum was a typical goan hotel basic but at least it was friendly and clean.Great location not far from beach.

Tour Operator: hays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Linda Roach visited the Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2009
We stayed at the Magnum for three weeks Feb / March 09. It has had some very bad reviews. In my opinion undeserved. We found it to be very good. We did upgrade our room for a cost of

Tour Operator: Jewel in the crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mark Warren had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim in January 2009
For a 2 star hotel, absolute magic. Accomodation spacious and if clean by Goan standards is not good enough there is a supermarket as good as Tesco\'s a few minutes walk right along the road for bleach etc. For breakfast, fruit, eggs(done any way)toast etc, all done promptly, willingly and with a smile.

Service from all staff could not be faulted. Everyone wanted to help in any way possible and always cheerfully.

Towels changed daily and bed linen every other day. Beds made up and apartment (sort of) cleaned daily.

It was a delight to spread some tips around during and at the end. I will certainly go again.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

pam chapman had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel in January 2009
we return to the magnum every year and the staff are always very helpful the hotel is basic but clean this year we had a blessing at magnum resort and the hotel manager arranged everything it was the most perfect day a fairytail come true.the magnum hadn,t looked sopretty for a long time.i cant thank everybody enough and would recommend having a wedding arranged by mr john d\'sa

Tour Operator: southall travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Andrea Carre visited the Magnum Resort Hotel in December 2008
The welcome was warm and friendly, and very welcome after a 13 hour flight delay! The accommodation was roomy and clean, my bed linen and towels were changed daily. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee, eggs cooked any way you chose, toast, bread, butter, jams.
The staff were charming and always ready to help out.
The pool and garden area were always clean and well kept. The onsite tailor was brilliant.

Tour Operator: Manos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

paul stayed at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2008
Having been to Goa many times this was our first stay in Candolim, usually stay in 2 star hotels in Calangute. Read some reviews about the Magnum so we were not expecting anything special. If you have been to Goa and know what to expect from a 2* you will be pleasantly surprised, the room was large and clean and the staff were faultless. Other than breakfast we didnt use the hotel during the day but the pool looked fine and there were people who stayed around the pool all day and seemed to be happy with it. The bar was good and the staff looked after you very well.
Breakfast was very good, usual basic stuff but unlike many others they didn\'t charge for omelettes and boiled or fried eggs. Rooms had AC and fridges as no extra charge. Beats ...
the pants off the Park avenue and Senior Angelo where we usually stay. Would go back without a doubt.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Tina had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2007
On arriving at the hotel we were greeted with cold and fresh fruit juice - a welcome relief after a long journey!The rooms were very unclean and dirty,including blood stained curtains and yellow-tinged bed linen.We only recieved a clean towel each after the first 7 nights!However, all staff were extremely helpful,welcoming,informative and friendly.They could not do enough for us

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Jack & Rachael visited the Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim in November 2007
First impressions of the hotel were good, staff were extremly plesant, we were given refreshments and cases were took to our room. After reading previous reports we were expecting basic but clean but what we got was basic and extremly filthy. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling, the shower head was also full of rust and mould and it stank to the high heavens, the towels were disgusting and full of holes. The bedroom wasn\'t much better, the sheets and pillows were completely covered with stains. We didn\'t even bother looking in the fridge. We complained to the manager who insisted that everything was clean - he did however offer us another room but it was 10 times worse, so we stayed put, but only after we bought our own bleach and a mountain ...
of towels to use as bed sheets etc. Even though we had the fridge scrubbed clean we only kept water in it. The a/c only worked in the bedroom and it sounded like a helicoptor was in the room with us. Breakfast was also a disaster, a chainsaw would have come in handy to cut the toast in half, but we only ate here once. We never stayed at the pool and it did look like it could have been cleaned more often, loads of dead dragon flies in it, and a couple we were friendly with mentioned they seen frog\'s in it! We had a look around other hotels and they weren\'t half as bad as the magnum. The towels and bed sheets were only changed once while we were there. We will definately be back to Goa but never back to the magnum. The only positive thing to say is that the location is good.

Read More

Tour Operator: odyssey
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jo Edwards stayed at Magnum Resort Hotel in February 2007
This is our second time in the Magnum, we love the location (directly above the main elephant shop) and always request a room facing the main road which can be noisy if you are a light sleeper but fab if you like to watch the comings and goings of Candolim.

The hotel is basic but very clean but it is the staff which make the place special most of whom remembered us from our last visit 2 years ago, please make time to talk to them as you will learn loads.

The food was good with barbeque once a week (excellent) the only down side being the lack of any entertainment other than this but this is typical Goa and ther is a very good late bar just up the road(Ice and Spice).

All in all love this hotel and special thanks ...
to Sam and Prem on the bar for their insight into local life and laughs on valentines night.

Read More

Tour Operator: Manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

steve hopkins stayed at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in April 2006
This was our second time in Candolim first time in the Magnum.

The hotel is basic but clean.

Friendly staff and near to everything. (Next door to elephant shop).

It had air conditioning. i would stay there again next time going to look now for holiday in Nov-Dec

Tour Operator: manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Lez stayed at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim in March 2006
The Magnum is a bit dated and the room furniture was falling into fire wood category 1 the television worked when we had electricity as did the water heater.

Saying that, I had no complaints regarding my room (214), it was cleaned daily with a change of towel and sheets changed every other day. The A/C worked well and quiet, to well, at times I was freezing cold when the outside temp was 95 deg F, I had to open the bathroom door to let some heat in.

The staff where first class from the room boys running errands for me (at any time) the reception staff always gave good information nothing seemed too much trouble to them. I could phone from a shack and they would send a taxi for me is just one point of many good points.. ...


The pool is of a good size and always clean as where the poolside tables. The sun beds, 10 in all were enough for the guests that used them.

I was on a B&B basis breakfast was fresh fruit, fruit juice, cornflakes with fresh milk, 2 eggs cooked anyway you asked with toast, Indian bread, butter, jam, marmalade tea and coffee, every day.
Apart from breakfast I only ate once at the hotel so I shouldn

Read More

Tour Operator: My Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Kirsty & Ryan had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel in March 2006
We stayed for 2 weeks at the Magnum earlier this year on our first visit to Goa. Thought it was a great little hotel.

We asked for a room with a balcony on check in but didn\'t get one but still we were happy with the room. The rooms were well equipped - the fridge in perfect working order was a godsend, the TV worked fine when there wasn\'t a power cut, shower good and room was always clean.

We had breakfast almost everday at the hotel which was plenty and lovely to sit round the pool first thing. We occassionally ate there during the day and the pool snacks were also good.

The staff were more than helpful and we used the laundry service a couple of times whilst there.

The swimming pool was always clean and there were balls ...
/ inflatables round the pool (some of which we left!)
The only scary thing was all the coconuts hanging precariously over the pool area which could easily have fallen!! Luckily the only thing which fell from a tree almost on top of me was a sleeping lizard (didn\'t fell lucky at the time though, scared me senseless!)

All in all, a lovely hotel

Read More

Tour Operator: MyTravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Marilyn had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2006
The Magnum is a basic hotel, however this is a great place to stay. The room was large with a living room sofa table wardrobe and cable tv., seperate kitchen sink and fridge freezer then bedroom ac and fan and bathroom. I didnt have a balcony but as i spend so little time in my room this wasnt an issue.
The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels daily and bed linen every other day.

The breakfasts were better than friends in the highland beach got. You had tea /coffee/ fruit juice, cornflakes rolls with marmalade or jam and fresh fruit. You can also choose eggs any style and toast.

The staff in the hotel are what really makes your stay enjoyable Elvis!! the restaurant manager Sanjay the head of reception are really nice. Sam the barman was a sweetie always smiling ...
and the guys who clean the rooms were all really nice.

The hotel is perfectly located on the main road close to some really good restaurants and about a 10 minute walk from the beach. The taxis immediatly outside the hotel were always reliable and very reasonable in price. Also handy is the elephant shop just a couple of doors down for changing currency or buying everything else you need.

Read More

Tour Operator: Jewel in The crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lynne visited the Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2005
Had a room on the front with balcony which was brilliant for watching the world go by. The Magnun is ideally situated for the beach,bars and restaurants.

We had clean towels and sheets every day for a month and although some of them were not whiter than white they were all clean. We used the hotel laundry service and everything came back clean nothing was lost, it was also very cheap.

We did have problems at first with the air con going off but the staff were excellent and repaired it straight away each time.

All the staff were very friendly and couldn\'t do enough for you.

The only food we had at the hotel was breakfast, eggs any way you wanted them, bread, toast, jam, fruit etc but all freshly cooked and very clean.

Have already booked to go back this December



Tour Operator: Manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

millym had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel in February 2005
Magnum resorts is in an excellent location right in the centre of Candolim on the main road. It

Tour Operator: odeyssy

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Debbie had a holiday at Magnum Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2004
Have visted Magnum twice now - first time in 2003 and we had a really gloomy room at rear of hotel we called cell block Goa and the cleanliness of the towels etc were not up too much!

However, you don\'t go on holiday for the inside of a room and the location is excellent - away from the beach road (which is a little commercial for us), with shops next door, great restaurants and a 10-15 min walk to our fav beach shack.

In 2004 we had a lovely room overlooking the pool and the sheets/towels much improved.

But the nicest thing about the Magnum is the staff - they really will do anything for you ie - my husband\'s sandals neaded repairing and one of the guys went into Calungute on his moped and got them fixed ...
for next to nothing. They will bring you breakfast in bed (although we never bother with breakfast) collect your laundry and because my husband likes a lie in they never came to our room until the afternoon - very considerate.

Don\'t expect the Ritz but if you take it as you find it - the Magnum is not bad at all and they really seem to have improved cleanlines in 2004 from 2003.

We have booked for 2005 so can\'t be that bad!

Read More

Tour Operator: Manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars
Share