Image of Magnum Resort Hotel

Magnum Resort Hotel

24 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
2 stars
MAGNUM RESORTS, NEAR HEALTH CENTRE CANDOLIM, Bardez, Goa 403515, India
In a convenient location on the popular Candolim to Calangute road, with many local shops close to hand. A short 5 minute walk through the palm groves take you to the lovely Candolim beach. Transfer time from the airport approximately 1 hour 15 minutes.

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr &Mrs Spoor
Never again
5 years 5 months ago
This is our 3rd visit to Candolim and our first at the Magnum. The rooms are basic which we expected in a 2 * hotel. What we didn't expect was how dirty the hotel was.

We were allocated rooms with a roadside view so we requested an upgrade. We were shown rooms with stuffing hanging out of the sofa and most of the glass was missing from the bathroom window. We were told these rooms would cost another £120 per room which was reasonable for 21 days.

We refused these rooms and asked to be shown the best rooms available and were shown the Honeymoon Suite at a cost of £100 per room. These rooms were better than the others so we accepted them even though they didn't have balconies.

Bedding was supposed to be changed on alternate days but this did not always happen and we had to request fresh pillowcases after 6 days. Our bathroom was cleaned maybe twice a week but we did get fresh towels daily, usually around 6pm which was a bit odd.

Breakfast was usually bread, fruit and eggs and served by cheerful staff.

The staff were always polite and helpful especially Sam the evening barman.

We only used the hotel pool once as it doesn't get much sun and it was the only place we were bitten by insects. Also a huge rat ran from the steps to reception in broad daylight!

We will definitely return to Goa but not this hotel ever again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Good location
5 years 5 months ago
This was our second stay at the Magnum, the previous time was 6 years ago.

Our room (111) was on the 1st floor, sort-of overlooking the pool but in reality overlooking a field that had some rubbish dumped in it.

The rooms were: Sitting room approx 13 x 10 with a large sofa (which may have been a bed settee), 2 easy chairs, coffee table and TV which had a number of channels including CNN, BBC World News, National Geographic, Discovery & ESPN. It had a ceiling fan and doors led onto a decent sized balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Kitchen area with large fridge and sink. Bedroom which was small with 2 single beds, a wardrobe, chest of drawers, ceiling fan and air-conditioning unit. Bathroom.

The A/C unit wasn't very effective and had no temperature control. It just about made the room cooler than with the fan. We didn't have to pay extra for it, I'd have been very disappointed if we had paid for it.

The bathroom was OK but could have done with a deep clean of the grout between the tiles though. There was always plenty of hot water.

Bedding was changed every other day and the sheets were clean although not white. Towels seemed to be changed every day although they didn't change them when they cleaned the room but instead knocked on your door anytime between 6pm and 7:30pm. I don't know if this was designed to obtain a daily tip (it didn't work with us!) but it was sometimes inconvenient if you wanted a shower earlier although you could probably have rung Housekeeping and requested one.

The rooms were cleaned adequately enough and the walls were painted a nice pale yellow but there are some areas where they could give a better impression of the hotel with just a few minutes of work.

For example, the towel rail in the bathroom was loose as it had 2 screws instead of 4, the bathroom light was the same. Knobs on wardrobes & drawers either loose or missing. Not very important but minimal repairs would give a better impression of the accommodation.

Although we had booked B&B, we never ate breakfast in the hotel so I've classed this as a self-catering.
We didn't have any other meals or drinks there either.

There is a small oblong pool which looked clean, with about 10 sunbeds round it. It didn't seem to get a lot of sun during the day. There are 7 or so tables round the pool for drinks. The pool area and other communal areas were clean and the staff were very pleasant.

The safety deposit boxes were in Reception and seemed to be accessible all the time.

As our room was towards the back, there was no noise at all.

The best thing about the Magnum is the location, right in the middle of Candolim. Its close to the Elephant Shop for drinks and money change and there are lots of bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Nick And Tracy
6 years 5 months ago
Had a room over looking the pool. Plenty of room and basic but was good enough for what we wanted....showering, sleeping and relaxing. The breakfast was the usual self service, cereals, fruit,eggs, bread, tea and coffee. Room cleaned every day and bed made. The towels were pretty rough but as other people have stated "it is India". The staff were very friendly and all in all it was a decent place, nothing flash but adequate. The location was fine, right on the main road so surrounded by all the action and about an easy 10 minute walk to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
6 years 8 months ago
Location excellent, close to all the shops, bars etc.
Rooms probably clean by Indian standard but slightly grubby (not that we thought that this was a problem) if you can get the larger room the better.
Towels changed daily, pool clean & the breakfast probably the best weve ever had (this was the 10th time in Goa). All staff very helpful, this was the second time we have been to this hotel & will probably be back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Pallister
7 years 4 months ago
We stayed in the Magnum for 3 weeks.We have been to Goa many times but this was our first time at the Magnum.We were shown to a room without a balcony,this actually did not bother me as much as I thought as the room was cool and quiet.We were hardly ever in our room anyway.The staff were always friendly and helpful.The pool was excellent and clean.We only ate breakfast at the hotel and the eggs were free.The magnum was a typical goan hotel basic but at least it was friendly and clean.Great location not far from beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Magnum for three weeks Feb / March 09. It has had some very bad reviews. In my opinion undeserved. We found it to be very good. We did upgrade our room for a cost of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mark Warren
7 years 6 months ago
For a 2 star hotel, absolute magic. Accomodation spacious and if clean by Goan standards is not good enough there is a supermarket as good as Tesco's a few minutes walk right along the road for bleach etc. For breakfast, fruit, eggs(done any way)toast etc, all done promptly, willingly and with a smile.

Service from all staff could not be faulted. Everyone wanted to help in any way possible and always cheerfully.

Towels changed daily and bed linen every other day. Beds made up and apartment (sort of) cleaned daily.

It was a delight to spread some tips around during and at the end. I will certainly go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Pam Chapman
7 years 6 months ago
we return to the magnum every year and the staff are always very helpful the hotel is basic but clean this year we had a blessing at magnum resort and the hotel manager arranged everything it was the most perfect day a fairytail come true.the magnum hadn,t looked sopretty for a long time.i cant thank everybody enough and would recommend having a wedding arranged by mr john d'sa
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Andrea Carre
7 years 7 months ago
The welcome was warm and friendly, and very welcome after a 13 hour flight delay! The accommodation was roomy and clean, my bed linen and towels were changed daily. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee, eggs cooked any way you chose, toast, bread, butter, jams.
The staff were charming and always ready to help out.
The pool and garden area were always clean and well kept. The onsite tailor was brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
7 years 7 months ago
Having been to Goa many times this was our first stay in Candolim, usually stay in 2 star hotels in Calangute. Read some reviews about the Magnum so we were not expecting anything special. If you have been to Goa and know what to expect from a 2* you will be pleasantly surprised, the room was large and clean and the staff were faultless. Other than breakfast we didnt use the hotel during the day but the pool looked fine and there were people who stayed around the pool all day and seemed to be happy with it. The bar was good and the staff looked after you very well.
Breakfast was very good, usual basic stuff but unlike many others they didn't charge for omelettes and boiled or fried eggs. Rooms had AC and fridges as no extra charge. Beats the pants off the Park avenue and Senior Angelo where we usually stay. Would go back without a doubt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: