Image of Sunshine Park Hotel

Sunshine Park Hotel

38 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
2 stars
Near Victor Exotica, Off Fort Aguada Rd, Candolim, North Goa, 403515, India
A leisurely walk from the main Candolim road will lead you away from the hustle and bustle of the resort to a peaceful inland area to Sunshine Park. This comfortable accommodation is ideal for those seeking a good value for money hotel.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 6 months ago
we booked our own flight and a private appartment through owners direct. i could not fault the appartment or the service given by the houseboy and maintenance man.we booked for eight weeks but moved to an appartment elsewhere after six.

the sunshine park however is a different story.
the stairs and hallway were fithy and strewn with discarded bin bags,on one occasion a pack of dogs were eating waste food in the stair well.
sewage effluent was overflowing the cesspit, running over the pathway outside our stairway and then into the road.
the pool was on several occasions so dirty the bottom could not be seen ,very little effort was made to clean it and guests were left to net the insects from the water themselves.the staff were quite happy to sit back and watch.
the patio area was not washed once during our six week stay,despite protests to the manager that local tourists were spitting on it.
the pool filter was rarely switched on ,and when it was the water was returning to the pool in the same filthy state.
we found a pool at another hotel and used it.
the hotel seems to have lost the support of all non local tour companies and is now dependant on the indian domestic market.this meant that every friday coach loads of mainly young indian males would arrive ,taking over the pool area and grounds.they even bring their own field kittchen which they set up on the lawn.
this is not a holiday hotel it is an indian mens weekend hostel.
do not stop here ,candolin is a great place and there is far better accomodation available nearby
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
8 years 8 months ago
This was our first visit to The Sunshine Park, but our 7th to North Goa.

The room we had was spacious & clean and looked over the pool
It had a large living room (about 18
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Alex & Dave
8 years 8 months ago
We Stayed for three weeks and found the hotel , rooms, and staff all very good, we've been to goa 10 times and stayed at various places and found this to be away from all the noise yet close to all that candolim offers. we'll go back there again.
we had an excellent deal with olympic holidays and can not fault any part of the package.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Anne
9 years 6 months ago
We stayed bed/breakfast, which was tea/coffee/toast. We only had one meal at hotel and it was horrid we couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Iain Mcnie
9 years 8 months ago
Got back from Goa 2 days ago.

Couldn't fault it, staff were friendly and helpful.

Food was great especially the steak.

The pool was cleaned every day.

Lots of sunbeds and shades they also supply towels for the beds 10 minite walk from the beach and restaurants.

Located back from the road in a quiet area.
Would stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
We had a ground floor room looking inland which was realy nice just to sit on the balcony in the evenings watching the world go by and listening to the wild life.

All the other geusts staying at the hotel were realy nice and always up for a chat.

Our room was cleaned every day and the bedding and towels were changed every other day, the room boys were always pleasent and would all stop for a chat if they saw us sitting outside in the evening,We are not normaly hotel and pool type people, prefering to go out and explore so we didnt spend much time in the hotel itself but we did spend one afternoon at the pool as it looked so good!Unfortunatly the only bad meal we had in the whole two weeks was at the hotel, the food was not very good at all.

Would we go back to this hotel? Yes we would the location was very good for us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
C Gillett
9 years 8 months ago
Having previously stayed at Sunshine Park in November 2005 and liked the location, we decided to purchase an apartment (the one we stayed in) on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool.

The resort has endeavoured to improve standards and the food was good.

There is a new chef in place who is helpful and friendly as are all the staff. As we were busy refurbishing our apartment, we ate more often at the resort. It was good to have room service.

Although the food was good, and reasonably priced, the service slow. The waiters never collected the trays which we left outside our front door. We ended taking them back to the restaurant.

Due to the set up of the complex with 30 rooms let to Odyssey for package tours, with the rest being privately owned the resort was deserted at times which was a shame.

There was a band that played but on one particular night to no audience. I felt sorry for them, it must have been disheartening.

All the staff are friendly and nice, but there is definitely room for improvement on the waiting side, to speed up the slow service.

Would continue to use the services.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alan Barnard
10 years 3 months ago
We rented a private apartment in this resort, which was well equipped and luxurious compared to hotels we have stayed in in the past in Candolim and we have 8 years experience of visiting the area!

The hotel is an an ideal postion, a few minutes walk to bars, shops and restuarants and a maximum of 10 minutes to the beach.

The pool was clean, had ample sunloungers and got the sun all day. We made some good friends with a few Indian families who own apartments within the complex who were very friendly.

We would definately go back
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
Booked this holiday on a late deal basis and was pleasantly surprised as we didn't know what to expect.

The rooms were basic but clean and our sheets and towels were changed daily.

The hotel staff were cheerful and friendly, our holiday rep was very good and was always on hand if needed.

We have been to Goa 7 times over the last 6 years and have enjoyed it every time, would definitely stay at the Sunshine Park again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Sunshine Park in January 2006, hotel on first impressions looked quite good and the accommodation was in the form of an apartment, living area (two ceiling fans), kitchen with only a fridge and sink, shower room and bedroom (one ceiling fan). Large balcony overlooking pool.

Our rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen.

Breakfast consisted of juice, toast and tea/coffee.

The hotel was situated about three minutes walk to main road where plenty of shops, restaurants are situated. The beach was about a 10/15 minutes walk.

The downfall I felt about the hotel was it was in four blocks of about 16 apartments each and half of the apartments were used by Odyssey as holiday accommodation and the other half belonged to Indian families who lived there which I found to be a bit strange.

The electric went out most days at some point which is maybe usual for Candolim and we also had no water for about half an hour on quite a few occasions.

The food was below average and the service left a lot to be desired, as every morning at breakfast there was shortages of cutlery, crockery and hot water for tea.

On the plus side the staff generally wanted to be of service and the prices charged in the bar and restaurant were reasonable for Goa.

I feel that overall the cleanliness of the hotel was not quite up to scratch but this is India after all.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: