14 independent reviews of the Sunshine Park Hotel
Address: Near Victor Exotica, Off Fort Aguada Rd, Candolim, North Goa, 403515, India
Sunshine Park Hotel
Sunshine Park Hotel Location
Ranked #38 of 40 hotels in Candolim


3/5
Sunshine Park Hotel Sunshine Park Hotel is rated 2.64 out of 5 from 14 Reviews
86% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (14 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 1 stars
Food 2 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 3 stars

Sunshine Park Hotel Reviews

2/5
2

terry & corinne stayed at Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2009
we booked our own flight and a private appartment through owners direct. i could not fault the appartment or the service given by the houseboy and maintenance man.we booked for eight weeks but moved to an appartment elsewhere after six.

the sunshine park however is a different story.
the stairs and hallway were fithy and strewn with discarded bin bags,on one occasion a pack of dogs were eating waste food in the stair well.
sewage effluent was overflowing the cesspit, running over the pathway outside our stairway and then into the road.
the pool was on several occasions so dirty the bottom could not be seen ,very little effort was made to clean it and guests were left to net the insects from the water themselves.the staff were quite happy to sit back and watch.
the patio area was not washed once during our six ...
week stay,despite protests to the manager that local tourists were spitting on it.
the pool filter was rarely switched on ,and when it was the water was returning to the pool in the same filthy state.
we found a pool at another hotel and used it.
the hotel seems to have lost the support of all non local tour companies and is now dependant on the indian domestic market.this meant that every friday coach loads of mainly young indian males would arrive ,taking over the pool area and grounds.they even bring their own field kittchen which they set up on the lawn.
this is not a holiday hotel it is an indian mens weekend hostel.
do not stop here ,candolin is a great place and there is far better accomodation available nearby

Read More

Tour Operator: independant
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Polly stayed at Sunshine Park Hotel in November 2007
This was our first visit to The Sunshine Park, but our 7th to North Goa.

The room we had was spacious & clean and looked over the pool
It had a large living room (about 18

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Alex & Dave visited the Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim in November 2007
We Stayed for three weeks and found the hotel , rooms, and staff all very good, we\'ve been to goa 10 times and stayed at various places and found this to be away from all the noise yet close to all that candolim offers. we\'ll go back there again.
we had an excellent deal with olympic holidays and can not fault any part of the package.

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

anne had a holiday at Sunshine Park Hotel in January 2007
We stayed bed/breakfast, which was tea/coffee/toast. We only had one meal at hotel and it was horrid we couldn

Tour Operator: odyssey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

iain mcnie had a holiday at Sunshine Park Hotel in November 2006
Got back from Goa 2 days ago.

Couldn't fault it, staff were friendly and helpful.

Food was great especially the steak.

The pool was cleaned every day.

Lots of sunbeds and shades they also supply towels for the beds 10 minite walk from the beach and restaurants.

Located back from the road in a quiet area.
Would stay there again.

Tour Operator: flight only

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Mick Andrews had a holiday at Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2006
We had a ground floor room looking inland which was realy nice just to sit on the balcony in the evenings watching the world go by and listening to the wild life.

All the other geusts staying at the hotel were realy nice and always up for a chat.

Our room was cleaned every day and the bedding and towels were changed every other day, the room boys were always pleasent and would all stop for a chat if they saw us sitting outside in the evening,We are not normaly hotel and pool type people, prefering to go out and explore so we didnt spend much time in the hotel itself but we did spend one afternoon at the pool as it looked so good!Unfortunatly the only bad meal we had in the whole two weeks was at the hotel, the ...
food was not very good at all.

Would we go back to this hotel? Yes we would the location was very good for us.

Read More

Tour Operator: Oddessy

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

C Gillett visited the Sunshine Park Hotel in November 2006
Having previously stayed at Sunshine Park in November 2005 and liked the location, we decided to purchase an apartment (the one we stayed in) on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool.

The resort has endeavoured to improve standards and the food was good.

There is a new chef in place who is helpful and friendly as are all the staff. As we were busy refurbishing our apartment, we ate more often at the resort. It was good to have room service.

Although the food was good, and reasonably priced, the service slow. The waiters never collected the trays which we left outside our front door. We ended taking them back to the restaurant.

Due to the set up of the complex with 30 rooms let to Odyssey for package tours, with the rest being privately owned the resort was ...
deserted at times which was a shame.

There was a band that played but on one particular night to no audience. I felt sorry for them, it must have been disheartening.

All the staff are friendly and nice, but there is definitely room for improvement on the waiting side, to speed up the slow service.

Would continue to use the services.

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin Atlantic + Spicejet

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Alan Barnard stayed at Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim in April 2006
We rented a private apartment in this resort, which was well equipped and luxurious compared to hotels we have stayed in in the past in Candolim and we have 8 years experience of visiting the area!

The hotel is an an ideal postion, a few minutes walk to bars, shops and restuarants and a maximum of 10 minutes to the beach.

The pool was clean, had ample sunloungers and got the sun all day. We made some good friends with a few Indian families who own apartments within the complex who were very friendly.

We would definately go back

Tour Operator: Odyssey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Debra Cousins stayed at Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2006
Booked this holiday on a late deal basis and was pleasantly surprised as we didn\'t know what to expect.

The rooms were basic but clean and our sheets and towels were changed daily.

The hotel staff were cheerful and friendly, our holiday rep was very good and was always on hand if needed.

We have been to Goa 7 times over the last 6 years and have enjoyed it every time, would definitely stay at the Sunshine Park again.

Tour Operator: Odyssey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

yvonne stayed at Sunshine Park Hotel in January 2006
We stayed at the Sunshine Park in January 2006, hotel on first impressions looked quite good and the accommodation was in the form of an apartment, living area (two ceiling fans), kitchen with only a fridge and sink, shower room and bedroom (one ceiling fan). Large balcony overlooking pool.

Our rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen.

Breakfast consisted of juice, toast and tea/coffee.

The hotel was situated about three minutes walk to main road where plenty of shops, restaurants are situated. The beach was about a 10/15 minutes walk.

The downfall I felt about the hotel was it was in four blocks of about 16 apartments each and half of the apartments were used by Odyssey as holiday accommodation and the other half belonged to Indian families who lived there which I found to be a bit ...
strange.

The electric went out most days at some point which is maybe usual for Candolim and we also had no water for about half an hour on quite a few occasions.

The food was below average and the service left a lot to be desired, as every morning at breakfast there was shortages of cutlery, crockery and hot water for tea.

On the plus side the staff generally wanted to be of service and the prices charged in the bar and restaurant were reasonable for Goa.

I feel that overall the cleanliness of the hotel was not quite up to scratch but this is India after all.


Read More

Tour Operator: odyssey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

i stephenson stayed at Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2006
Stayed for three weeks. Hotel was clean with basic rooms typical of hotels of 2 star rating in Goa.

Bed linen and towels changed every other day and rooms cleaned daily.

staff were typical Goans, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is basic as usual in Goa, tea/coffe and toasts but options for English or Indian extras.

Location is quiet only a few minutes from the main sinqurim/candolim road with the beach 10 minutes away as is the candolim resort centre.

Entertainment not our style, don't like bingo and games.
Going back in December 2006 as it suits us. 10th visit to Goa so tried a few hotels and this one is good value on the deal we got.

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Ameliajane visited the Sunshine Park Hotel in December 2005
The hotel is clean & basic, there is a sitting room, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom & 2 balconies. There are 2 fans in the sitting room & 1 in the bedroom. Rooms are cleaned every day,towels changed daily & bedding every alternate days.Ssafety deposit box 40rupees per day & are at reception, take your own padlock.

The staff are very friendly & we had a few problems with the w/c & shower but sorted straight away (nothing is too much trouble). You will need a torch for night time.

Breakfast is tea, coffee, toast & you can buy eggs etc.

The hotel is quite & away from the main road, yet only a couple of minutes walk to restaurants, shops etc.

We would stay here again.



Tour Operator: odysey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Sarah visited the Sunshine Park Hotel, Candolim in December 2005
Don\'t do it, stay at home!

We went for Christmas, as we went to Goa the previous year at the same time, we wanted to go back.

This hotel was horrible, wouldn\'t advise anybody to go there! The staff were miserable, and unhelpful.

Our room was cleaned twice in 14 days, and the bin in the bathroom emptied once.

The food was poor and that is being polite!

The swimming pool had dead flies floating in it, and a water beetle! Also on our first night we had a lizard in our room which took us the best part of an hour to get out.

We will never ever go back to Sunshine Park Hotel, it was a disgrace.

Tour Operator: Oddessey / Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

C Gillett visited the Sunshine Park Hotel in November 2005
Having booked a deal with Golden Ticket Travel for 3 weeks @

Tour Operator: Odyssey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars
Share