Image of Summerville Beach Resort

Summerville Beach Resort

23 of 39 hotels in Candolim

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
1 star

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Emma And Jacqui
Highly recommended
6 years 1 month ago
Our first trip to Goa and can say it won't be our last!

Alan and the boys made us feel like it was a home from home and any request was never any trouble. Yes its basic but we only needed it as a base. Their hospitality more than made up for it.

Rooms are basic but are cleaned thoroughly every day. Its safe and they are always looking out for their residents. Great recommendations and a couple of lovely taxi drivers always on standby to take you anywhere.

Highly recommend them for their service and hospitality.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Karthik & Gunjan
9 years ago
Well this hotel is certainly located close to the beach and away from the crowd madness at Baga and calangute although there is still a lot happening around this hotel....So if it is action and only action you want you rather go to Baga beach side.

The hotel is very basic with nothing fancy as such but it met my needs since I basically required a room to crash in for few hours cause half the time of the day we were out sight seeing and partying.

Calamari beach shack is worth visiting while staying at the hotel.

The hotel is located very close to the beach and close to SHIRO night club and the Kingfisher Villa. Fort Auguada is about a 10 Min's drive down.

Places worth visiting are Dhunsagar waterfall, Souzo Lobo Rest, Fiesta's rest, Martin's Corner, Britto's, Old Goa, Titto's and ofcourse the water sports on the beach. Colva beach in south Goa is also nice. Driving down to south Goa is really worth it since the beaches out there are much more clean.

Hiring a bike or car is very useful since the taxi's are quite expensive during the December season. You can get a bike for 500 and car for 1500 a day. The people in the hotel are very helpful and can help you out with this.

Did not try the hotel food so cannot comment on that. The hotel has got a small swimming pool.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 1 month ago
Just got back after two weeks and would definately stay again!.Great location,its more near to Dando beach on Fort Agauda road than Candolim Beach..but its right near Flambees which suited me.
The staff were really nice always willing to help anytime day or night.
The food was okay...but it was only bed and breakfast..main problem was the toast..very hard! Could be used as a weapon if put in the wrong hands haha.
Rooms are very basic but extremely clean which is the main thing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Sharon Woods
9 years 9 months ago
What can we say - fantastic. Basic wonderful accommodation. We cannot wait to go back. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis. Staff very happy and the poor lads sometimes had very little sleep but still smiled. Oh more importantly for me the little tea belly the hottest cuppa ever made - lovely :0)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Darilyn And Tony
9 years 11 months ago
Hotel is very basic, but staff are very, very friendly. They make you feel welcome from the minute you step off the coach.

Nice friendly run hotel, been back to the same hotel 3 years on the trot, and going back again in January 2008!

Well done alex on getting married.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years ago
Been to Goa many times and can honestly say the Summerville Hotel must be avoided at all costs.

Stained mattresses, mildewed pillows and filthy wardrobes not to mention general maintenance being exceptionally poor ensured we did not spend one night in the place.

Certainly nothing like the website pics and the rooms in the so called 'new' block appeared worse than the old building.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Brenda
11 years ago
The Summerville was basic cleanish but the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brenda
11 years ago
Having stayed in the Summerville the year before in November it was a basic hotel but as already reported what it lacked in decor it made up in hospitality.

Yes it does need a bit of TLC (paint etc)
but Alex and the lads would do anything to help so the only reason I would not stay there again is we like a change.

P.S Alex is getting married in April 2007
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris & Carey
11 years 2 months ago
Better than the 2 star Hotels in Candolim I have previously stayed in. Nice quiet location with pleasant garden. I prefer the beach further down (end of Beach Rd) - 5/10 mins walk along the beach - 50 to 100 rupees by taxi. The staff were great and room was cleaned every day.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Shane
11 years 11 months ago
I too have stayed in the Summerville it's a great hotel.

The room was cleaned daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Alex.

The only thing that bothered me was the location but I got used to it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: