12 independent reviews of the Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort Location
Ranked #23 of 40 hotels in Candolim


4/5
Summerville Beach Resort Summerville Beach Resort is rated 3.67 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
83% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 3 stars

Summerville Beach Resort Reviews

5/5
5
"Highly recommended"
Emma and Jacqui had a holiday at Summerville Beach Resort Hotel in November 2010
Our first trip to Goa and can say it won't be our last!

Alan and the boys made us feel like it was a home from home and any request was never any trouble. Yes its basic but we only needed it as a base. Their hospitality more than made up for it.

Rooms are basic but are cleaned thoroughly every day. Its safe and they are always looking out for their residents. Great recommendations and a couple of lovely taxi drivers always on standby to take you anywhere.

Highly recommend them for their service and hospitality.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Karthik & Gunjan had a holiday at Summerville Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2007
Well this hotel is certainly located close to the beach and away from the crowd madness at Baga and calangute although there is still a lot happening around this hotel....So if it is action and only action you want you rather go to Baga beach side.

The hotel is very basic with nothing fancy as such but it met my needs since I basically required a room to crash in for few hours cause half the time of the day we were out sight seeing and partying.

Calamari beach shack is worth visiting while staying at the hotel.

The hotel is located very close to the beach and close to SHIRO night club and the Kingfisher Villa. Fort Auguada is about a 10 Min's drive down.

Places worth visiting are Dhunsagar waterfall, Souzo Lobo Rest, Fiesta\'s rest, Martin\'s Corner, Britto\'s, Old Goa, Titto\'s and ...
ofcourse the water sports on the beach. Colva beach in south Goa is also nice. Driving down to south Goa is really worth it since the beaches out there are much more clean.

Hiring a bike or car is very useful since the taxi\'s are quite expensive during the December season. You can get a bike for 500 and car for 1500 a day. The people in the hotel are very helpful and can help you out with this.

Did not try the hotel food so cannot comment on that. The hotel has got a small swimming pool.

Read More

Tour Operator: By Myself

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Simone & Paul stayed at Summerville Beach Resort, Candolim, India in November 2007
Just got back after two weeks and would definately stay again!.Great location,its more near to Dando beach on Fort Agauda road than Candolim Beach..but its right near Flambees which suited me.
The staff were really nice always willing to help anytime day or night.
The food was okay...but it was only bed and breakfast..main problem was the toast..very hard! Could be used as a weapon if put in the wrong hands haha.
Rooms are very basic but extremely clean which is the main thing.

Tour Operator: Manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Sharon Woods stayed at Summerville Beach Resort Hotel in March 2007
What can we say - fantastic. Basic wonderful accommodation. We cannot wait to go back. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis. Staff very happy and the poor lads sometimes had very little sleep but still smiled. Oh more importantly for me the little tea belly the hottest cuppa ever made - lovely :0)

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Darilyn and tony visited the Summerville Beach Resort, Candolim in January 2007
Hotel is very basic, but staff are very, very friendly. They make you feel welcome from the minute you step off the coach.

Nice friendly run hotel, been back to the same hotel 3 years on the trot, and going back again in January 2008!

Well done alex on getting married.

Tour Operator: my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

Jan and Rob stayed at Summerville Beach Resort, Candolim, India in December 2006
Been to Goa many times and can honestly say the Summerville Hotel must be avoided at all costs.

Stained mattresses, mildewed pillows and filthy wardrobes not to mention general maintenance being exceptionally poor ensured we did not spend one night in the place.

Certainly nothing like the website pics and the rooms in the so called \'new\' block appeared worse than the old building.


Tour Operator: Manos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Brenda visited the Summerville Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in December 2005
The Summerville was basic cleanish but the staff were very friendly and helpful.



Tour Operator: freedom direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

brenda had a holiday at Summerville Beach Resort, Candolim, India in December 2005
Having stayed in the Summerville the year before in November it was a basic hotel but as already reported what it lacked in decor it made up in hospitality.

Yes it does need a bit of TLC (paint etc)
but Alex and the lads would do anything to help so the only reason I would not stay there again is we like a change.

P.S Alex is getting married in April 2007

Tour Operator: Manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Chris & Carey had a holiday at Summerville Beach Resort Hotel in October 2005
Better than the 2 star Hotels in Candolim I have previously stayed in. Nice quiet location with pleasant garden. I prefer the beach further down (end of Beach Rd) - 5/10 mins walk along the beach - 50 to 100 rupees by taxi. The staff were great and room was cleaned every day.



Tour Operator: Jewel in Crown

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

shane had a holiday at Summerville Beach Resort, Candolim, India in January 2005
I too have stayed in the Summerville it's a great hotel.

The room was cleaned daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially Alex.

The only thing that bothered me was the location but I got used to it

Tour Operator: mytravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Betty & Tom stayed at Summerville Beach Resort in December 2004
Having stayed at this hotel twice, we wouldnt stay again. The maintenance is very poor and the communal toilet in the bar area is filthy.

Apart from that the hotel is wonderful.

The staff are great they cant do enough for you,

To hire a fridge was 150rup a day which worked out quite a bit over 3 weeks a bit dear but everything else is cheap.

Almas over the road is great, and Joseph the waiter is a star. The location is wonderful. Pigs chickens and cows walking wild, not to mention the barking dogs, (They arnt that bad.) I loved the hotel but you cant stay in the same place every year so we are doing something different Nov 2006.

Tour Operator: Manos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

vijay and jenny had a holiday at Summerville Beach Resort Hotel in October 2004
Having read the review left by the lady who visited the hotel in january 05 I can only think she was in the wrong hotel. I have stayed at the hotel for many years - location, value for money, cleanliness and most importantly why I keep going back is the friendliness of the staff.

I class a couple of members of staff as my friends and have built up a raport with them and all my family goes to stay at HBR when they are in goa.

Breakfast lunches and evening meals are all available at the hotel - they even organised my fiancees birthday party at the drop of a hat for us, catering for 15 people at the drop of a hat including a birthday cake with not even a days notice.

I can only be led to believe that ...
you always get out what you put in - ie if you are nice too the staff the would bend over backwards for you. I hope that that lady who went in January gives it another go or if not maybe she should go and waste her money at a 5 star hotel .

Read More

Tour Operator: independently

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share