Image of Dona Alcina Hotel

Dona Alcina Hotel

34 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Siquerra Waddo Candolim, Candolim, Goa 403515, India

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Hutchison Party
7 years 5 months ago
This was our 3rd time in Goa but our first time staying in the Dona Alcina. Hotel has great location in centre of Candolim but despite this I would not recommend staying here.
This hotel is very popular with young Russian tourists and now has a distinctly "Russian" atmosphere which we personally did not enjoy. There were lots of drunk,noisy, partying young Russians which some people might have found intimidating.There were only a handful of British people staying here so ignore any comments by tour operators who claim that this hotel is popular with British guests as this is not true.
The pool area was quite dirty and not once during our 2 week stay did I see anyone cleaning the pool and surrounding tiles. The restaurant is grim and so is the food. Breakfast consists of toast and bread rolls with butter and jam. Tea and coffee only - you have to pay for anything else - even juice.Had dinner once in the restaurant and it was overpriced and very forgettable ! There are some wonderful places to eat in Candolim just don,t eat at the Dona Alcina.Poolside entertainment is pretty much non existent and there is absolutely no atmosphere in the evenings. We went out every night anyway but it might have been nice to enjoy the odd night at the pool bar.
Our room was large, cleaned every day if you leave your key at reception, and had a nice view of the gardens and pool from our balcony. We were lucky though! Some of the rooms look really grim !
The staff seemed friendly but most hotel staff in Goa are friendly wherever you stay.
Don,t change money at reception their rates are lower than elsewhere by about 3 rupees/ pound.
Under no circumstances would I stay at the Dona Alcina again. I should say that I am not a complainer and I do enjoy Goa but this hotel is simply not up to scratch and a bit seedy to be honest.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Laura Walters
7 years 6 months ago
The room was kept clean and clean towels every day if you handed your key in. The food was terrible, toast butter and jam tea and coffee for Breakfast.If you wanted anything else you had to pay for it. We ate 3 evening meals out off 16 as the food was extremely basic. You are much better off with just bed and breakfast at least you get a chance to sample some of the fabulous restaurants out there in candolim.I would not stay at this hotel again not if i was given a free holiday,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 5 months ago
Paid for 14 nights,stayed for 2.

We've been to Goa many times so knew what to expect,but this place really is the pits.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
9 years 6 months ago
Came back on the 28th Jan after our second visit to Dona Alcina in Candolim. The 3 who came with us were on their first visit to Goa. We had paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alex
9 years 7 months ago
We stayed here over Christmas 2006 and thought it was an excellent hotel for the money. We had read reports that the Hotel was being refurbished but we saw no signs of this, the refurbishment was taking place at the old Dom Francisco next door.

We had not been to Goa before but had been to India so we were expecting very basic.

We had requested an AC room which we were allocated and the room was in a quiet area at the back of the complex. It was typically Indian-style with the bare necessities, although there was a separate water heater which worked so hot showers any time of the day or night!

The room was cleaned quickly (when we handed the key to Reception) and was of a high standard.

We asked to move rooms (for 'outside' reasons, nothing to do with the Hotel) and they were more than accommodating - we were moved to a huge apartment at the front of the complex. We had forgotten to take a few toilettries from the old room and the staff moved them for us!

There was entertainment every night until approx 11pm and it looked like the Hotel had made a real effort. We did not go to any of the entertainment as it is not our sort of thing but it looked good. The only downside was that it was on every night and you couldn't escape it, but that gave us the perfect excuse to go out to yet another beach shack and restaurant!

We did not eat breakfast but it looked like the usual tea and toast. We had one meal at the bar and the food was good.

When we return to Goa we will be looking for a private rental but I would have no hesitation in returning to or recommending this Hotel. The staff were excellent, the rooms were more than adequate and the location was perfect.

The Dona Alcina by far exceeded our expectation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Linda McCann
10 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from the Dona Alcina today and although it is a very basic hotel and some rooms are below standard we were lucky to get a lovely room.

We questioned the disrepair of parts of the hotel and were told it is under new management and is getting done soon.

The bar staff were wonderful and really made our stay welcome with their friendy manner.

We knew what to expect going to india and we expected the worst. Our beds were changed daily new towels and room cleaned to a very good standard, So we would go there. again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris &john
10 years 4 months ago
We have been to goa every year for the past fourteen years and would not stay at the donalcina again even if it was for free we stayed one night only and checked out next morning it was the pits filthy bedding filthy room we didnt stay for breakfast the pool area was disgusting but it was well known in goa for been a bad hotel but we only found that out after we had checked out we know the majority of hotels in goa are basic but its the first time we have ever had to check out go their if you dare
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
10 years 6 months ago
We have just got back from 3 weeks at the Dona Alcina, we had a brilliant time. We had read conflicting reports on this hotel, most of them bad, but we found it clean and friendly. The towels and bedlinen were changed daily, the rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day.

The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, the room upstairs where breakfast was served, was very clean, and had fans running all the time. Any food stuffs that were open were kept covered against flies, altogether, a very well run hotel.

The only thing that gave me concern, was the falling coconuts! The entire complex is covered in coconut palms, and they do have a habit of dropping off.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Big Neil
10 years 6 months ago
Stayed here as part of a deal with , we were looking for a flight only open for 4 weeks. This was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Angela
10 years 7 months ago
It was fantastic all the staff was really friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

It was really clean.

The food was fantastic they made you what you wanted
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: