14 independent reviews of the Dona Alcina Hotel
Address: Siquerra Waddo Candolim, Candolim, Goa 403515, India
Dona Alcina Hotel
Dona Alcina Hotel Location
Ranked #34 of 40 hotels in Candolim


3/5
Dona Alcina Hotel Dona Alcina Hotel is rated 2.93 out of 5 from 14 Reviews
50% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (14 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Dona Alcina Hotel Reviews

2/5
2

Hutchison party had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in February 2009
This was our 3rd time in Goa but our first time staying in the Dona Alcina. Hotel has great location in centre of Candolim but despite this I would not recommend staying here.
This hotel is very popular with young Russian tourists and now has a distinctly \"Russian\" atmosphere which we personally did not enjoy. There were lots of drunk,noisy, partying young Russians which some people might have found intimidating.There were only a handful of British people staying here so ignore any comments by tour operators who claim that this hotel is popular with British guests as this is not true.
The pool area was quite dirty and not once during our 2 week stay did I see anyone cleaning the pool and surrounding tiles. The restaurant is grim and so is the food. Breakfast consists of toast and bread rolls ...
with butter and jam. Tea and coffee only - you have to pay for anything else - even juice.Had dinner once in the restaurant and it was overpriced and very forgettable ! There are some wonderful places to eat in Candolim just don,t eat at the Dona Alcina.Poolside entertainment is pretty much non existent and there is absolutely no atmosphere in the evenings. We went out every night anyway but it might have been nice to enjoy the odd night at the pool bar.
Our room was large, cleaned every day if you leave your key at reception, and had a nice view of the gardens and pool from our balcony. We were lucky though! Some of the rooms look really grim !
The staff seemed friendly but most hotel staff in Goa are friendly wherever you stay.
Don,t change money at reception their rates are lower than elsewhere by about 3 rupees/ pound.
Under no circumstances would I stay at the Dona Alcina again. I should say that I am not a complainer and I do enjoy Goa but this hotel is simply not up to scratch and a bit seedy to be honest.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook/ Manos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

laura walters visited the Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in January 2009
The room was kept clean and clean towels every day if you handed your key in. The food was terrible, toast butter and jam tea and coffee for Breakfast.If you wanted anything else you had to pay for it. We ate 3 evening meals out off 16 as the food was extremely basic. You are much better off with just bed and breakfast at least you get a chance to sample some of the fabulous restaurants out there in candolim.I would not stay at this hotel again not if i was given a free holiday,

Tour Operator: travel republic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

alfie visited the Dona Alcina Hotel in February 2007
Paid for 14 nights,stayed for 2.

We\'ve been to Goa many times so knew what to expect,but this place really is the pits.

Tour Operator: cosmos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Barrie had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2007
Came back on the 28th Jan after our second visit to Dona Alcina in Candolim. The 3 who came with us were on their first visit to Goa. We had paid

Tour Operator: Going Places

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Alex had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel in December 2006
We stayed here over Christmas 2006 and thought it was an excellent hotel for the money. We had read reports that the Hotel was being refurbished but we saw no signs of this, the refurbishment was taking place at the old Dom Francisco next door.

We had not been to Goa before but had been to India so we were expecting very basic.

We had requested an AC room which we were allocated and the room was in a quiet area at the back of the complex. It was typically Indian-style with the bare necessities, although there was a separate water heater which worked so hot showers any time of the day or night!

The room was cleaned quickly (when we handed the key to Reception) and was of a high standard.

We asked to move rooms (for \'outside\' reasons, nothing to do with ...
the Hotel) and they were more than accommodating - we were moved to a huge apartment at the front of the complex. We had forgotten to take a few toilettries from the old room and the staff moved them for us!

There was entertainment every night until approx 11pm and it looked like the Hotel had made a real effort. We did not go to any of the entertainment as it is not our sort of thing but it looked good. The only downside was that it was on every night and you couldn\'t escape it, but that gave us the perfect excuse to go out to yet another beach shack and restaurant!

We did not eat breakfast but it looked like the usual tea and toast. We had one meal at the bar and the food was good.

When we return to Goa we will be looking for a private rental but I would have no hesitation in returning to or recommending this Hotel. The staff were excellent, the rooms were more than adequate and the location was perfect.

The Dona Alcina by far exceeded our expectation.

Read More

Tour Operator: MyTravel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Linda McCann had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in April 2006
We have just returned from the Dona Alcina today and although it is a very basic hotel and some rooms are below standard we were lucky to get a lovely room.

We questioned the disrepair of parts of the hotel and were told it is under new management and is getting done soon.

The bar staff were wonderful and really made our stay welcome with their friendy manner.

We knew what to expect going to india and we expected the worst. Our beds were changed daily new towels and room cleaned to a very good standard, So we would go there. again

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

chris &john stayed at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in March 2006
We have been to goa every year for the past fourteen years and would not stay at the donalcina again even if it was for free we stayed one night only and checked out next morning it was the pits filthy bedding filthy room we didnt stay for breakfast the pool area was disgusting but it was well known in goa for been a bad hotel but we only found that out after we had checked out we know the majority of hotels in goa are basic but its the first time we have ever had to check out go their if you dare

Tour Operator: Jewel inthe crown
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Barrie Wells had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in January 2006
We have just got back from 3 weeks at the Dona Alcina, we had a brilliant time. We had read conflicting reports on this hotel, most of them bad, but we found it clean and friendly. The towels and bedlinen were changed daily, the rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day.

The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, the room upstairs where breakfast was served, was very clean, and had fans running all the time. Any food stuffs that were open were kept covered against flies, altogether, a very well run hotel.

The only thing that gave me concern, was the falling coconuts! The entire complex is covered in coconut palms, and they do have a habit of dropping off.

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Big Neil stayed at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in January 2006
Stayed here as part of a deal with , we were looking for a flight only open for 4 weeks. This was

Tour Operator: MyTravel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

angela had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel, Candolim in December 2005
It was fantastic all the staff was really friendly and couldn't do enough for you.

It was really clean.

The food was fantastic they made you what you wanted

Tour Operator: coop

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

johnsons had a holiday at Dona Alcina Hotel in December 2005
The breakfast was ok as tea and toast goes you can't really get that wrong.

Dirty flea pit! Been to Goa 4 times now know what to expect concerning hotels but this place was a joke.

Never touched the food the rooms were bad enough.

The location was good, the staff were friendly the entertainment what entertainment we went with a party of eight we would never stay at this hotel again if you can call it a hotel.

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

Brian Johnson visited the Dona Alcina Hotel in December 2005
Review already submitted - Admin

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Claire visited the Dona Alcina Hotel in November 2005
If you require luxury on your holiday then this is not the place for you.

The Dona Alcina is basic and needs updating.
The staff are fabulous and if you take the time to speak to them, even try a little Konkani, they will be so pleased and helpful.

We choose to stop here as we are normally on a budget and we know what we are getting.

Breakfast seems to be going downhill every year but evening meals seem to be a hit.

They try with everything tbey do but its very differnet to what we are used to.

If they spent money on the rooms the hotel would be alot better.

The location is one of the best, right in the heart of candolim.

Tour Operator: odyssey

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Norwood stayed at Dona Alcina Hotel in January 2005
Arrived at the Hotel Dona Alcina at the end of Jan. 2005 for a 2 week stay.

Wasn\'t expecting much for the price, but was hoping for clean and basic accommodation. It was the pits!

The room we were shown to was at the back of the complex,the room was very low lying and when the porter opened the door there was an overwhelming smell reminiscent of a full ashtray. The walls, wardrobe and fridge were a mucky shade of nicotine and sticky to the touch - we were stunned. The \'piece de resistance\' was a tatty piece of yellowed paper sellotaped to the headboard requesting us not to smoke in bed! The porter deposited our bags and hung about until we tipped him.

We were not looking for luxury and have island hopped round ...
Greece and had many holidays \'roughing it\' under canvas but we have never ever been in a scruffy, dingy room like this - It was disgusting! We immediately returned to the reception with our suitcases and were accompanied back to our room by a staff member \"to see what the problem was\" - he was speechless when I asked him if he would be prepared to holiday in a room like this and immediately offered to look for a better room for us.

We took the opportunity to have a good look around the complex, filthy broken windows, peeling paintwork, everything is in a state of decay and neglect, even the public areas around the pool.

It was breakfast time and the food - bread and jam and drinks were left exposed and the flies were taking full advantage of the situation - yuck.

We returned to reception by which time a long queue of irate new arrivals had congregated. We asked the reception staff to contact our rep and when he arrived we asked to be moved. To be fair he didn\'t put any obstacles in our way, it is obviously a frequently occurring scenario and we were taken in a taxi to a nearby property to which we could have a free transfer and then at our request to an upgrade Hotel (Valentines Retreat) which we accepted paying an extra

Read More

Tour Operator: Somak
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars
Share