Image of Valentin Marieta Aparthotel

Valentin Marieta Aparthotel

37 of 60 hotels in Playa Del Ingles

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de Italia, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingl├ęs, Gran Canaria, Spain
At the Valentin Marieta Aparthotel you can have all the benefits of Playa del Ingles on your doorstep and the seafront only minutes away.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John
9 years 10 months ago
stayed at the marrieta over the new year and must admit it served its purpose found staff friendly with some speaking english which helped we went half board which i think i could of done without food was bland and boring with things like goat and rabbit on the buffet i was easily put off salad selection was average not much of a choice any night for children except chips chips and more chips location sold it for me a 10 to 15 minute walk to the beach / kasbah centre /and local shops all in all i think if i went back i would definatly go self catering superb supermarket below hotel selling everything you could want
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

David White & Family
9 years 10 months ago
We arrived at this Hotel just after Midday on Christmas Eve 2007, having visited Gran Canaria, three times in previous years, for the Christmas and New Year period.

The steps down to the reception area were not a welcome sight, because of having a disability due to being an arthritis sufferer. We booked in and was given room 104 on the 1st floor. No Porter service is available to take luggage from the reception area to the room. We used the available lift service, (2 available) and on arriving at the room, found the cleaner doing the room. Not a good sign was my immediate thought, but I was willing to give it a chance, for the sake of the Family.

Room 104 is situated over the top of a Games arcade, (very noisy) on the Town side of the Hotel.

The Town side of the Hotel is permanently in the shade, and it appears that the other side of the Hotel, (Beach facing with loads of Sun) is reserved for Spanish and German guests. I work for Social Services in the United Kingdom, and I have no ill will towards people from other Nations. Far be it for me to complain of favoritism towards people from other Countries, but the senior staff at this Hotel, tend to favour the Spanish and German guests, with the British guests either having their requests ignored, or denied completely, and often rudely.

The cleanliness of the Hotel is only as good as those employed to keep it clean. Luckily the cleaner assigned to room 104 was meticulous in her duties, but the overall picture, left a lot to be desired, with the general cleanliness of the Hotel being very poor.

The food provided by the Hotel is presented well, but is bland and tasteless, with selection favouring the guests from Spain and Germany. We ate two meals at the Hotel, (Christmas Day) one of which was a 5 course meal, which was passable but not what I would class as memorable. The 2nd meal was a 3 course meal which was overpriced and best not referred to as edible.

The location of the Hotel is good for access to the Beach and all local facilities. Buses run past the Hotel to various destinations on the Island. Taxis are easily hailed from outside the Hotel and fares are very reasonable.

Hotel staff are selective in their approach to the guests from the United Kingdom, with requests for basic services often ignored, or rudely refused.

Entertainment (what entertainment). After arriving at the Hotel, we looked at the notice board to see what entertainment was available for the guests. The notice board was blank. Three days into the Holiday, my daughter took a radio to the poolside to listen to some music while sunbathing, as no music was being played by the pool by the Hotel. She was told by a staff member that this was forbidden by the manager, and to turn it off. Poolside activities are not available, even though the Holiday company brochure says they are.

All round review of this Hotel. Never again. Advice for United Kingdom guests. If you only want to use this Hotel to sleep in, you will possibly encounter no problems.

Otherwise look for somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Lee Conteh
9 years 10 months ago
We went as a group of nine people, the hotel was like a prison many of the appliaences within our rooms were broken toasters, fridge for fourteen days, matresses missing and the matresses we did have were soiled and torn.
Hotel food average and geared towards other nationalities.
Hotel is situated on a main street and rather noisy and the pools look alot better in the brochure but the view from the roof is breathtaking.
We found the staff in general to be miserable and also seemed to favour other nationalities. To complain was to waste ones breath.
For a family holiday this hotel is in no way suitable, children are consistantly harrassed by staff, happiness is considered noisy and to have wet feet a capital offence.
Rating the entertainment both night and poolside with a score of one could be a little flattering but the entertainment category didnt contain a zero.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Carol
10 years ago
Board basis was self catering, all cooking facilties worked but some rooms had toasters and some didnt.
The rooms were very clean and found the maids very nice and friendly.
Where the hotel was situated was great could not have asked for a better location

Upon arriving we noticed that our rooms were not together as requested, when i broached this with the girl at reception she was quite rude and said we had to speak with the Manager.I fully explained that this was a family holiday and it was important that we are all roomed next to each other. The Manager was very friendly and polite but was unable to provide us with 2 rooms together until mid way through our Holiday.

Also noticed that not all rooms have the same space on the Balcony. Our room had a very small one where as the other 2 doors away had a huge one! I found this very off putting.


For elderly people the only way out were up a flight of stairs which is not ideal when trying to get the suitcases up.

Pool area was a bit poor, seems to never get any sun and when the sun does come round it is blocked by the palm tree's. However there is a sun terrace on the roof which was good but appeared never to get cleaned.
I would visit this part of Playa again but poss not the Hotel, mainly due to special requests not getting actioned.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Tracy L
10 years 1 month ago
Hotel was very clean. Staff were great and there pizzas ect were great value for money.

The girls had great fun at the pool all day. The only problem was that there was never anything good on at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: xl

Recommended
Dazza
10 years 11 months ago
Reading reviews of holidaymakers from Summer '06, we thought we were going to stay somewhere clean & pleasant, sadly this was not the case. Staff friendly enough alright, however food was extremely poor & repetitive.

What entertainment there was poor too.

Room cleaned 3 times during our 7 night stay & the standard of cleanliness was diabolical.
location good.

This hotel is predominantly aimed for German & Spanish guests & this is quite evident throughout as they were located in all the sea view rooms which are on 3 & 4 th floors.

Swimming pool & surronding are has sun on it until 1 o'clock then it disappears behind hotel, leaving the un-heated pool cold after that time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: your holidays.com

Rachel
11 years 2 months ago
We arrived quite late, watch for the steps going down to reception. Hotel staff were very helpful and we were quickly into the hotel bar, which was quiet however with other bars so close this didn't matter. Being a bit giggly we were soon being told off about noise at 1am, oops. Everything was forgotten in the morning and multi-lingual staff were very pleasant and always greeted you with a smile.

People in the hotel mainly Spanish, German or English. We at first seemed the minority until later in the week when more English couples and groups of friends arrived.

The pool area was great sun all day, loungers and umbrellas were free although only a few umbrellas on busy days you may struggle to get one at first but they become free throughout the day.

Hotel food: Lovely, breakfast was between 8am and 10am we went around 9 with near enough no queueing and beans still hot! Tea time was from 6pm till 9pm, we went at around 7.30pm with never a big queue and always hot food, no complaints there! however if vegetarian choice is limited as 4 meat eaters we truly got our moneys worth! There was a snack bar so when spending days around the pool we ate there lovely pizzas at good prices! there are also lots of restaurants nearby and a supermarket underneath if you wished to buy your own.

Hotel Rooms: We decided to have 2 rooms although it said rooms fitted 4. They were fully equipped for self-catering which meant a fridge which is a bonus for those pre-party drinks! although the rooms had the facilities for 4 we were glad we had 2 rooms as it would have become a little too cosy! There is no air-con only two fans which we kept on all the time, although some days we were in 35c heat with balcony doors open we got quite a breeze so managed fine with just fans. Maids came everyday but Tuesdays and Saturdays, they gave us clean towels everyday (except Tue and sat) and the apartment was always spotless even folded my pyjamas under my pillow!! We didn't have problems with insects but know of people who did but if there is a maid nearby they'll help kill it!

Location: Great location, the Irish centre is 2 minutes from the hotel, many a night spent in Keane's bar. The Kasbah is about 10 minutes and the Yumbo and Hard Rock cafe is about 15 mins. The beach is about 10 mins away down a lot of steps! however if you walk all the way round you can reach it without going down the steps. Lots of shops, cafes and bars line the beach. Aqualand is in Masapolomas 1.10 (euro) on the bus bargain! Only takes about 20 mins and bus stop is opposite the hotel. Although close to bars, noise could be heard from the balcony, usually singer from the bar next to the hotel! but once the doors were shut we were amazed you couldn't here a thing!

The Tropical centre round the corner had a few could shops in with relatively cheap perfumes, cigarettes and alcohol.
There is a medical centre right next door however is private and doesn't except EHIC and is 65 euros for a consultation only! However the Centro de Salud is only 5 min taxi ride away (4euros) and costs nothing, just pay for the prescription which varies and you get to keep your X-rays! (I loved this fact a very unique holiday photo)Waiting was like a&e but door to door with treatment was about 1 1/2 hrs, not too bad really. Beware though the receptionist doesn't speak English but the doctor did.

Nightlife: We didn't really watch hotel entertainment, apart from the parrot show, due to the locality. Lots of choice at night, you can have a quite few drinks at cheers or jocks (most drinks 2 euros), or go up to one of the centres for a heavy night! We started out at Keane's a good friendly bar in the Irish centre on the way up there is a little market to browse for those little gifts! Behind Keane's there's a variety of pub/clubs or a night club across the way, this did us fine for a week without venturing to Kasbah but we heard good things about places up there especially cocktail bars!


All in all a fab holiday as a first time to Gran Canaria it didn't disappoint and with more exploring to do, looking at booking to this hotel again, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent company

Recommended
Barry
12 years 6 months ago
This was my 2nd vist here.

Its location is superb just @ 2075e bus ride from the airport close to all ammenities, 15 mins from the Yumbos. Busses are good if you want to get out as they stop just a few metres down the road.

The staff are friendy & efficient.

We did not use the restaurant or bar or sample the entertainment, but plenty of people seemed to be happy with this. We may have used the bar if they get rid of "cruz campo" ugh it's the worst beer I have tasted.

However the apartments are very clean & well fitted I don't want TV I go away to get out of that. The fans suit me I kept them on all the time & keep the thermal curtains closed during the day. The safe costs 12e + 10e returnable deposit for 1 week.

All in all it's great value. Pity there are no 2 bed appartments as I want to take my sister & friend next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
This hotel is fab!!!

I stayed here for my birthday and if I ever went back to Playa Del Ingles, this is where I would stay again withut a doubt.

The hotel location couldn't be better, you are close to all amenities without being directly in the hustle of it all (hard to imagine but it works).

Food is good and right on your doorstep (literally) the staff are v. helpful - I would definately go back.

Note: When I booked I was adament that when I got there I would ask for a sea-view room (half of rooms are sea-view, half are road-side)but don't bother - I was allocated a roadside view and after seeing a room that was sea-view you are better off! You get to look out over the road, shops and bars it's much nicer -honest!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
Mr C Hopley
12 years 8 months ago
I was a little sceptical about this hotel having read some reviews but I have to say I was shocked when I arrived.

I found the staff to be incredibly nice, friendly and helpfull. The accomondation was nice too. The apartments were of a good size very clean and well appointed were very close to the beach . Everything was provided for a good self catering holiday.

There were plenty of places nearby to eat and not too far a walk if you were looking for some more liveley late night entertainment but not too close if your not. There was nightly entertainment in the hotel and although a little small the pool area was really nice too.

I would recomend this hotel to others. I would by no means suggest this hotel looks like a prison and thought the layout was very nice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.