59 independent reviews of Estartit, Spain
Estartit Location

5/5
Estartit is rated 5 out of 5 from 59 Reviews

Estartit Hotels

Estartit Reviews

5/5


Sara visited here on August 2005
Estarti is a lovely quiet resort but with things to do and see as well as lots of bars to visit in the evenings. Personally I thought it catered for every ones need and enjoyed my stay very much.

There are plenty of shops to wander around and if your into diving a wonderful nature reserve to explore.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


mr rayner visited here on August 2005
ok so you dont want to stay in the hotel all holiday neither did we, so we streached our legs alittle and got out and about.
the beach is only 2mins from the hotel and even in september it was a great place to spend the affternoon then maby take a stroll down the shoping street with lots of shops to make a hole in your wallet.
nite times why not try a meal in branigans opisite dinos the staff are great and the meals are to die for (cajun chicken)
you should also give tropics a visit excellent family bar ideal for even the 18-100s if thats you with karaoke,disco and the biggest screen in the town(trust me) ideal for the world ...
cup games next year.
well thats my review of a great place for all ok some people mite not like the place some will even make up silly little questionairs about towells on sun beds ect but i would say this make your own mind give it a try i bet you will be like me totally smitten with the place.thank you thompson for a great holiday

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


sanderson visited here on August 2005
we stay at castell montgri the resort was brill there is always something going on in the main area of the camp site. the only thing was when we went only the panorama pool area was open the rest was all shut which was a shame as the kids miss out on the other pools or 10 minute walk and you are in l\'estartit which is also a lovely place nice beach and shops and the nountains are a must for the views thanks ciderman for the route
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Paul visited here on July 2005
L\'Estartit appears to be a resort that enjoyed some rapid but particularly ill planned growth during the boom growth years of Spanish tourism. Unfortunatley today it looks a little folorn and lacking in essential maintenance. The impression appears to be a town that has fallen on hard times (including such things as a large prime hotel site completely derilict and overgrown and the recent closure of the office of the only large car rental firm and many closed bars and clubs).

Some of the better elements include:

The beach, which was suitable for kids, except there were a few too many cigarette butts for my liking and there can be some nasty sand stroms whipped up.

A couple of decent places to eat ...
among the usual tourist dross.

Some of the negatives:

Parking. If you hire a car you biggest problem will be trying to find somewhere to park.

Service. It takes a bit more than 2 weeks to adapt to the Spanish concept of cutomer service. It\'s great when you just feel like lounging around, a bit frustrating if you have a 3 year old jumping up and down on the table after waiting 15 minutes for a waiter to appear.

Limited selection of accomodation only, for example, street after street of similar block of apartments, but no decent hotels.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


anon visited here on July 2005
I am not sure if I would visit resort again, if I did it would be a long time in the future.

Resort was lovely although it was miles away from anywhere and quite small. Beach was lovely.

There were plenty of Bars and Resturants and all reasonably priced.

We went on a trip to Barcelona with the Reps, it was brilliant, we visited the Football stadium, a very big church, went shopping for a couple of hours and then finished the evening with a trip to magic fountains.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Marie visited here on July 2005
Beach was nice with a lovely view.

Harbour quite pretty too. Lots of cigarettes butts found in the sand though. A good selection of restaurants to choose from and some great food. Very little evening entertainment. Everything seems to shut down at midnight and the streets are fairly quiet after this.

Estartit seems to be somewhat run-down. Very few if any, nice residential streets or villas, just apartment blocks which all seem in need of repair.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Linda visited here on July 2005
This was our first holiday abroad as a family and couldn\'t have been more pleased with the resort of L\'Estartit as a family-orientated resort. There are plenty of sandy parks for the children to play in while you sip Sangria, the beach is beautifully clean, the sea clear and shallow and the streets are clean and wide. There isn\'t a lot for singles to do - but we were more than happy with the restaurants, water sports and beach. There\'s no seaweed or floating cans/crisp packets, which is nice! It seems to be a popular resort for the Spanish as well as French, Dutch, British, etc. There are loads of restaurants and if you look ...
around you can easily find the sort of food you like. L\'Estartit itself is charming and worth exploring. We\'d go back to the resort and would recommend it to others, but we\'ve got a lot of other resorts to visit first!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Long visited here on July 2005
The only people i wouldn\'t recommend this to would be young couples or groups.

It suited us fine as it was a family holiday for soem relaxtion but the resort doesn\'t have much in the way of nightlife (as much as we didnt go looking for any you do normally notice some places) and the bars tended to shut around 1ish.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


The Allen Gang visited here on July 2005
The resort is a lovely family friendly resort that has a number of places to visit and be entertained both during the day and night. we mainly stuck in a couple of bars, the forbidden planet bar within the miami apartment complex provides lovely food at reasonable prices, a sunday lunch was €6.5. every evening there are shows that the children can take part in and then later fun shows for the adults to enjoy. Another bar was Jimmies Celler bar that provided the fun with Bingo, fun quizs and karoke every night. ( 9 til 11 was 2 for 1)
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


tracy visited here on July 2005
L\'Estartit is the most beautiful resort anyone could wish for.

It has all the magic ingredients, fabulous beach, beautiful scenery, high class marina, consevation area, excellent shops, varied restaurants and a fun night life!

The beach, streets and promenade are spotlessly clean.

L\'Estartit is very popular with Spanish families, which says it all!!

Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

5/5


darren barley visited here on July 2005
What can I say its a beautiful little harbour town with mountains surrounding it which are breathtaking.

It is a very clean town where the locals are very friendly. The beach is perfect and very clean again. The water is very, very clean you can see the bottom of the sea.

Tthere are plenty of places to eat for all tastes all in all it is a very good place to go 10 out of 10 well done to all the locals for making my holiday great.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


lynne visited here on July 2005
Resort was ok but a bit boring not many bars if youve ever been to benidorm you\'ll know what I mean.

Not a lot to do and every trip was a 2 hour bus ride away.
We went to barcelona which was nice but we set off at 8 o clock in morning and got back at 9.15. at night.

Very long day! Resort was pretty clean but didnt see anyone out with hosepipes cleaning fronts down like you do in other resorts.

Plenty of shops at other end of strip but dont get train 2 euros 50cents for about a mile trip. Cost £8 for 4 of us for a five minute ride.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

2/5


Jo, Terry & Kids visited here on July 2005
There was too much dog dirt for my liking on the pavements and walkways.

Restaraunt prices are no cheaper than going our for dinner over hure, too many chips on the menu.

Too many cigarette ends in the sand. All in all rubbish resort.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


phil +kerry visited here on June 2005
L\'estartit is a quiet resort in itself,best suited to the younger familys, older couples, or families without teenage kids,as there isn\'t much aimed at teenagers.

The resort is one where, if you are willing to walk you can take-in superb views and multi-cultural cuisine, all within a short distance.

The beach is safe with lifeguards stationed along the long sandy stretches, which are very clean.

Well worth a vist for a relaxing funfilled break. We\'ve been on the last 2 consecutive years, and enjoyed them both.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Ballymac visited here on June 2005
The resort was the actual camping site and therefore alot of the previous information applies. We spent much of our time on the actual campsite although L\'Estartit is only 1km away. The campsite is well managed with guards ensuring that people can sleep at night while those who want to can disco until the early hours. There is a free cinema that shows films nightly and a good restaurant two snack bars and take aways. There is a good supermarket on site, souvenir shop, newsagent and tobbacinist, along side laundrette, shower blocks, toilet blocks. This combined with one of the largest swimming pools, and two other polls, on with slides which are open to midnight and fully manned by life ...
guards results in a very good site that any family with any age of children will enjoy.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


kevin visited here on June 2005
E`startit is quite a busy small town with lots of places to eat and drink, I would recommend Rembrandts which was only a short walk up from the apartment excellent value for money, very family friendly. If you want to cook for your self the supermarket is on your doorstep.
If you don’t mind spending over an hour on a coach then the Barcelona trip is well worth a visit lots to see and do there, (Gloria) the tour guide was excellent.
Football stadium and the fountains not to be missed.
Snorkelling trip is fantastic if you have never done it before, even for none swimmers and young children. Shop around for better deals.
The market outside the apartments is well worth ...
a visit and (don’t forget to haggle)
For a quiet day with the family, the beach is great and only a stone throw away. Had a brilliant family holiday.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


sarah corder visited here on April 2005
The reort is clean, I have been to the resort as a child and had a great holiday, I have been with a friend as an adult and had a wicked time, I have also been as part of a couple and the resort has something for all levles. the water sports diving etc are amazing.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


darren visited here on September 2004
As with most resorts in spain you can\'t fault the cleanliness. But please for your own sanity do not go in late September and all of october as it is shut.

I think their were more cats than people roaming the streets when we were there.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Marianne visited here on July 2004
Resort is beautiful. Short walk to the beach and golden sands. There is a bit of a sand storm that brews up occasionally about late afternoon. The man comes round and takes 4 euro for lounger and 4 euro for an umbrella. He refers to the English as \'cheeky buggars\' and tends to use that phrase quite a lot. However, myself being half German he found himself trying to hold a conversation with me in German, my husband Kenny in English and we all generally had quite a laugh! The entertainment in the hotel is a bit of a joke. Disco consisted of a few of the same songs. No ...
body was encouraged to get up and have a boogie as in many other resorts we have been to then the entertainment staff encourage parents to get up with the kids, but not at the Festemar. Brannigans across the road hold kareoke and a scottish lady sings a few songs. We went on a few excursions. 2 with the Reps and 3 with the Panorama tours which was close to the apartments on the way into town. Rep told us that the Medieval Night was an hour and a half bus trip, how wrong she was! We sat on the bus for nearly 3 hours. When you get there though it is a good night and wine flows like water (tastes revolting though!) but bearing in mind that at the end of the night there is a long, LONG bus journey back to the apartments!! On a Thursday there is a HUGE Market out the front of the Apartments that runs down the main street. Bargains galore! Loved it! We did the Barcelona Free Time trip with Panorama Excursions, well worth the money if you have been to Barcelona before then they drop you off at the Football Stadium and turn left out of the stadium and follow the road around right to a black building, there is an underground there and it will cost about 1 euro 40 cents for the metro into La Rambla, the centre of Barcelona. You need to stay on the underground for 10 stops and get off at Catalanya (something like that!) The bus then picks you up at what can be described as Barcelona\'s Trafalgar square at 6.30pm so you have a good, full day in the City and it is most enjoyable. We also went on the Excursion to MarineLand. The shows were lovely but the water park was not much to write home about, wish we would have gone to the Aqualand at Lloret de Mar but nevermind, we learn from our mistakes! Marineland would not let the children go on the rides with their t-shirts on, after much argument because one of them was quite sunburnt so all in all that was a bit of a wasted day out!
Went with Reps to Port Adventura. Me and hubby did not enjoy it much, but the children did. They went on Dragonkhan and all the other rides so perhaps me and hubby were must turning into grumpy old parents as I thought it was all too expensive to get there and a very long bus journey once again to get there (although the rep got that right this time and we were well aware how long the journey would take!) I made a pack up of sandwiches for us to eat as a bit of a picnic. I noticed a few of those on our bus had their bags taken off them with pack-ups in and had to leave them in the lockers, which I thought was a little unfair but they let us through with ours so it might have been how the person on the gate was feeling on the day I expect! We ate once at a Restaurant over the road from the entrance to the Games Room, that was nice enough. We went a couple of times to Jocs, the first time service was good and the food was good but on the second time we went which was the night before we came home, it was well below standard - food, service, the lot! So, it would be unfair to not recommend going there because as I have mentioned, the first time was okay and maybe we picked a bad night the second time but thereagain, good night or bad night, we should still expect decent food and service at all times I suppose. We went once for a chinese buffet which was across the road from the beach nearest the apartments. AFter getting the food however noticed the place was overrun by ants so would not recommend going there in a hurry! We ate most of the time at Rembrandt Restaurant which was opposite the main Supermarket that everyone seems to use. The food there was extremely good, service excellent and Sangria enough to make me want to return tomorrow! All in all Estartit is a beautiful place. No pestering, very friendly locals and holidaymakers. Plenty of french, germans, dutch and italians and a nice resort where we can all mingle in and enjoy a beautiful beach and some nice traditional spanish traditions!! Happy holidaying! Bye.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


steve visited here on July 2004
The locals were very friendly and spoke a reasonable amount of english therefore no need for any \"animated hand signals\" to get your message across.The beach was clean,not overcrowded,and the sea was clear and warm.We would have no hesitation in booking another stay at the Festermar in the very near future.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
3/5
Castell Montgri Camping  stars Castell Montgri Camping
Address: 17257 Torroella de Montgrí, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2010

Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Estartit

4/5
Festa Apartments  stars Festa Apartments
150m to L'Estartit Beach, bars, restaurants and cafés 100m away. The shops and the resort centre are 1km away. Area gets busy during high season and at weekends.

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Estartit

4/5
Flamingo Hotel  stars Flamingo Hotel
Address: Carrer de l'Església, 112, 17258 Torroella de Montgrí, Spain

Latest Review: Jul 2008

Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Estartit

5/5
Mar Dor Apartments  stars Mar Dor Apartments
The mar Door apartments are perfectly located close to the beach and resort centre, where all the bars and restaurants can be found. There is a pool and garden area and also a children’s play area, which makes it great for families.

Latest Review: Aug 2005

Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Estartit

3/5
Medes 2 Hotel  stars Medes 2 Hotel
Address: Carrer de Guillem de Montgrí, 17258 l'Estartit, Spain

Latest Review: Aug 2006

Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Estartit
Share