Image of Les Citronniers Hotel

Les Citronniers Hotel

16 of 37 hotels in Hammamet

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
2 stars

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 2 months ago
Travelled alone with my 14 yr old daughter on a B+B basis. Breakfast continetal style was pretty basic, (very watered down juice!!), but you could have as much as you wanted and did us fine. There is an a la carte menu in the hotel with further options if you wanted.

The restaurant we could not fault and tended to eat there most nights. Staff were superb and seemed to genuinely want to please. We tried a wide variety of dishes and all were lovely. They bring a free starter (Tunisian salad with bread and butter) and often a free sweet of sorbet/ice cream. Menu varies from grilled chicken, pasta, cous cous etc. An average 3 course meal with drinks (soft drink for daughter, beer etc for me) averaged about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Dave & Pat
10 years 2 months ago
Just returned from our 5th visit to this gem of a hotel. The breakfast is typical Tunisian, bread,croissants, cheese & jam but plentiful. The rooms are spotless, cleaned every day and general hotel areas always seem to have someone cleaning. The A La Carte restaurant is very good and the staff throughout the hotel and beach area are 5 star, cant do enough to help. If you have been to this hotel before the staff will remember you and greet you like long lost family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Chris Prince
11 years ago
The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike.

We stayed there during Ramadan the Muslim fasting period. Although people in other hotels found it an inconvenience we had no problems, except dinner in the evenings were moved back 1 hour.

The rooms were basic but spotless, the maids cleaned the rooms with enthusiasm everyday.

It is rumoured that the hotel is closing for renovation in the winter to give the rooms an update and with the addition of air con.

It is ideally situated, a short walk from the fantastic beach and a few bars and restaurants and some small shops. However anything else is a short very cheap taxi ride away.

The staff were the best I've encountered in all my time abroad, their English was superb and they were genuinely interested in you enjoying the holiday! I cannot speak highly enough of them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
12 years ago
We love this hotel. Have been a number of times and would not go anywhere else in Tunisia.

I emailed the hotel asking for a certain room and it was ready for us when we arrived.

The hotel is basic (it is a two star)but is very clean.

The staff are friendly and the food (with the exception of breakfast) is excellent. If you fancy something that's not on the menu just ask and if they have it they will cook it. Breakfast is fine but it's basic. Bread, croissants, toast, jam, juice, and cheese. You can order more ie eggs in any form, up to a full cooked but its extra.

The pool area is nice and the pool itself is clean - they regularly test the water.

Private Beach is a short walk away. It has a lovely snack bar and there are beds to hire (about 50p per day). Tip the guy who gets the beds on day one and you will get great service for the rest of your holiday.

There is more entertainment in "high season" but in May and September only two nights a week. However you can walk down the road to any number of hotels and for the price of a drink join whatever is going on there.

Panorama/MyTravel impressed us with their service.

All in all great value for money and an excellent hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Claire Nield
12 years 1 month ago
Hotel was very clean - room was cleaned every day with beds being changed and fresh towels.

The food was excellent, we were there for 2 weeks and only 3 times we went to another restaurant for meals, didn't have to.

The location was good as the night life was only 10 mins in a taxi and the beach was straight across the road.

The staff spoke good English and were very helpful(although if you don't like tomato ketchup on everything tell them so)

Entertainment could be a bit more exciting - bingo every night but there was an acrobat, belly dancer, snake charmer and strong man but they were only ever performing for around 10 mins. With the bar closing also at 1.00am you really had to go looking for the night life but as I said it is only 10 mins away.

We would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Alice
12 years 3 months ago
For me there were two sources of dissatisfaction with this hotel. These related to the food and noise at night.

Generally, the food was bland, unadventurous and repetitive. Breakfast was continental style based on bread and jam or processed cheese spread, but lacked protein or fruit. The evening meal was a choice of the 10-dinar menu of three courses. Usually there was soup or salad for starters, a choice of two mains, and ice cream, or fruit (an apple or a handful of strawberries) to finish. The salad may have been variously described as Tunisian, Tomato or Italian, but was essentially the same each night. The main tended to be bland. While the a la Carte restaurant would have local grilled fish, the menu offered a thin bread-crumbed fish fillet.

A few things could annoy. The examples of the dishes on offer were displayed for inspection before ordering, and invariably these were better than those that were presented at the table. An example of this was the three generous slices of roast beef that reduced to two smaller slices when served. Evening bread was rationed at three stale pieces, presumably left over from breakfast.

Compared to local restaurants, the food was generally poor and unappetising, and certainly did not begin to approach in any way the food I had experienced previously at 3 star hotels in Hammemet. Obviously the food at the 3 star would be expected to be better, but not three times better. The only advantage the hotel had was the relatively cheap alcohol. This however was a source of the other problem which was the noise in the evenings and small hours generated predominantly by off-duty staff and their friends relaxing around the poolside bar area.

Since many of the rooms overlooked the pool there was the rather odd situation of the patrons of the hotel being kept awake by the locals enjoying themselves, prompting the inevitable question about whether the hotel was organized to service the needs of the guests or the staff.

I would be reluctant to use the hotel again, unless the price deal was exceptionally good, and I would certainly not recommend the half board option. There are numerous local restaurants offering better and cheaper alternatives.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Margaret Hall
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel room was clean and well furnished with double bed and bathroom. A small sun terrace facing the pool was a pleasant spot for a rest after breakfast or to chill out in the evening.

Hotel staff were pleasant and friendly.

Continental breakfast is basic and self service.
Restuarant food is exellent and not expensive, if special menus are required for diabetic or vegetarian visitors it is no trouble, just ask and the staff will make adjustments for you.

Hotel location is a little way out of town but taxis are frequent and cheap. Beach bar is good in summer months, but closed in winter. The beach is a short walk away but very clean and safe for children.

I would visit again and have stayed here several times in the past 4 years.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Hotel was small but very clean with cleaners in everyday.

All staff were really friendly.

Swimming pool small and not suitable for young children.

Breakfast was basic bread and jam with tea/coffee although you can also have a cooked breakfast - omelettes really good.

The food in the La a Carte restaurant was excellent especially the pepper fillet steak.

The main bar area/lobby is also used by locals which is nice as you feel less intimidated when you are outside the hotel.

This maybe only a 2star hotel but I feel this may due to the fact there are no tv and tea making factilies in room. If there were it would make possibly a 4 star.

The private beach also has a snack bar and its own jet ski's 30 TD for 10mins.

I feel this hotel is more suited to couples as there isn't much to keep children entertained.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
This hotel was excellent the staff were excellent and would do anything to help.

Rooms were cleaned every day to the highest of standards.

The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and catered for all tastes there is not a thing I could fault with this hotel.

The location could have been better but that is only my opinion and as it was not peak season it may be different later in the year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Fnott
12 years 6 months ago
This is a small hotel.
The rooms are small and have no TV.

The location is good with a short walk to the beach.

There is little enterainment in the hotel
apart from a visit from a belly dancer.

The bar fills up with local Tunisian men who smoke like chimneys and fill all the seats. The staff are excellent and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.