Image of Bolero Hotel

Bolero Hotel

3 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

5 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
k.k. Zlatni Pyasaci, 9007, Bulgaria

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Susan Burt
11 years 3 months ago
Club Bolero was amazing! Clean, clean, clean! Delicious food, with a huge variety, freshly cooked and dishes replenished very quickly. Great central location within the resort & only a short drive to the city, Varna. Staff were polite, extremely friendly and a pleasure to have met.
The day to day activities were fun and you were not badgered into anything you did not want to do. The evenings catered early for the young and shows every night for all.
As an all inclusive hotel, the bar staff have alot of beveridges to serve but were always friendly and took time to speak to all the customers.
As a first to visit Bulgaria, my partner and I can't wait to return next year with the children.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Stuart
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel spotless staff always cleaning and proud to work in this hotel.Room large and well furnished mini bar topped up every 2 days (1 day with tip in fridge)Hotel 50m from beach and restaurants and bars Taxi driver assigned to hotel very helpful for local trips such as water park or trip to Varna for shopping would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Dana
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed in this hotel for only 5 days and we enjoyed it very much.
They are very nice people. The food was excellent and the animation team tried hard to make us happy.
For the price we payed, we had more than enaugh.
Outside hotel it's just like in Romania, but inside...it's a different world.
We will visit Riu Bolero again on 30.08.07 because we enjoyed it.
Hope they will not let us down this time!
Anyway...if you want to feel good and happy on a hollyday you will, if you don't...you will allways find something to complain about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: gusti tour

Recommended
Ian And Trina
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel its self was always clean staff were constantly cleaning. Staff were also very well presented and very polite. as this was our first all inclusive holiday all I can say is we will never go self catering again. The hotel is around 50 meters from the beach and 600 meters approx from the center.
The Entertainment could be better but having said that we did enjoy it on the long rainy days.

I would return to this hotel if you could pick it up and place it in sunny beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tompson

Recommended
David W Grieves
12 years 4 months ago
Second year running and possibly 2007.

My wife and I find it difficult to fault.

The evening entertainment could be better but we did find a slight improvement from our first visit.

I had jokingly mentioned to the manageress and the head chef that we only came back for the lamb only to find on the last night in the Argentinean restaurant we were presented with a full platter equivalent to a Sunday joint at home. Took a bit of getting through but we managed to put a hole in it.

We lost one suitcase at the airport but the hotel staff bent over backwards to get us essentials.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Lynne & Rob
12 years 4 months ago
Cannot fault this Hotel. Rooms are a great size & kept really clean - maids can't do enough for you. All the staff are friendly & very helpful.

Food was very varied & really nice, especially pizzas in the Argentinean Bar & Grill for snacks throughout the day. We have a very fussy 10 year old who found something he liked at every meal.

Entertainment was great for the kids.

We didn't really venture out of the hotel much - we had everything we needed on site.

Would definitely go again - location is lovely & pools are gorgeous, especially the indoor pool if you want to get away from the kids & do some serious swimming.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Worlds fussiest eater me, so im told, so don't take much notice of my low score, others seemed to think it was ok, pig swill to me. preferred eating out.

Hotel was spotless service was 1st class 2 great swimming pools, tennis court and indoor pool.

entertainment. Well went in there for 10 mins even thou the ale was free couldn't of stayed any longer. There were more people sitting outside than inside which was a bit of a give away. Hotel is fairly new so may be as time goes by the entertainment may get better.lol.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Fantastic hotel, so many staff, cleaning, clearing up constantly.

Rooms 1st class. Service in restaurants excellent and food great.

Only complaint would be that the only bar open during the day was the pool bar, which wasn't much use when it rained, and when it rained it really rained. This was our 2nd visit to golden sands and this hotel was far superior to where we stayed last year (Helios Spa). Just wish we'd gone for 2 weeks instead of 1.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Xanapeq
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel opened in 2005 so was in really great condition and all the setting was lovely.

ROOMS: the room was huge with twin beds, a sofa, a balcony with 2 chairs and table which overlooked the upper swimming pool. The bathroom was nice, but it did not have a bidet. The bath was a bit inconvenient in terms of access - from the picture you can see you have to go over a small wall!! Our room was in the 3rd building which meant going up lots of stairs to access it.

FOOD: There were 3 restaurants for dinner: dining room, Argentinean restaurant over the pool and the Asian restaurant. For the last 2 you need to book. The Argentinean is self-service which means they can accommodate a lot of people, but the Asian is a la carte, so you have to book really early. We only were able to go there once. It was well worth it: you should try the fruit sushi!! In the buffet lunch and dinner, the food was OK: there was always a dish of poultry, pork, beef, at dinner some sort of roast, 2/3 pastas, pizzas, etc. the dessert was great: lots of variety, cakes, mousses, and at least 5 ice-cream flavours. The fruit was limited though.

POOLS: there were 2 outside pools (upper and lower with jacuzzi) and an interior pool (with Jacuzzi) which was warmed in the first days we were there (it was mostly 1,5 - 1,7 mts deep). And a kids pools, which few kids used, since the lower pool had a huge entrance not deep and the kids concentrated there.
For a deposit the hotel provided fresh swimming pool towels (the yellow ones on the photos). For the beach you had to bring your own towel.
As you can see from our pool photos taken at 9h30, all the chairs were reserved, but the people nowhere to be seen. This was a practise common with every guest of the hotel (regardless of nationality!!!). When we got to the pool at 9h, we had to try and squeeze the last remaining chairs to find a spot to sunbathe!! This was really outrageous because most people did not bother to show up until 12! We can certainly testify that there were very few people at breakfast around 9h, so everyone was still in bed, after having reserved a sunbed. It seems that in another riu (we read this on this forum), the management decided to take all the towels from the chairs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
The food was not to a "normal" standard that we have experienced at Riu in the past. We thought the food let the hotel down, it was more rated for a 3 star found in Europe.

If you like dry carrot and cucumber and bizarre fish pizza and many foods not labelled then this hotel may suit you.

The staff where all Bulgarian and well educated and polite, however experiencing Riu in other destinations the Bolero lacked an International feel / atmosphere? Maybe this is down the pay the staff recieve which I was informed is very poor.

The entertainment team made the best out of what they could the props were very poor in quality and again not to a standard of other Riu hotels we have visited.

The mini club was run like a robot same songs and stuff every night 7.30pm it suited kids up to 4 years and over that I got the impression it was a bit "babyish!"

The resort smelt like a harbour I appreciate it is a seaside resort but when it rained and then the sun came out there was aromas like you would expect at Fleetwood fish market.
The sea was full of jelly fish that did not seem to bother anyone but the floating carrier bags empty pop bottles, crisp packets and ladies p/liners did make the sea uninviting to my family anyway!

Bulgaria is very cheap and it is a "designer blaggers" paradise and I would advise anyone wishing to visit goes now before they join the EU as it will price itself out. An example of this is the airport they have just changed the Lleva sign to a Euro sign so you can see things are going to more than double in price.

The airport has very basic facilities my personal advice to anyone is buy sandwiches, pop, water, beer etc in resort as the airport is a "ripoff" . 3 Euro for a can of bulgarian beer = approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tui Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum