Image of Anesis Hotel

Anesis Hotel

28 of 47 hotels in Ayia Napa

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Ayia Napa, Cyprus

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Patricia Crosswaite
9 years 8 months ago
Pros:
Fantastic rep for 1st choice - way to go Paige, she was lovely, helpfull chatty, polite and a credit to 1st choice holidays, I wanted to take her home with me what a sweetie.
Lovely reception area
Gorgeous pool area
The air con was great never known one that you can't hear at all - brilliant not to be kept awake by it all night
Cons:
Strange old couple that sat in the lounge every night, just watching - very un-nerving and even more strange the old man of the couple going round the grounds at night with a massive torch and the old lady of the couple going across the road an pulling advertisement posters off the fence (you know the type that advertises boat trips etc) very odd.
The rooms are very outdated, nothing matches and the furniture is falling to pieces,we had a one bedroomed apartment and our 19 year old had to come through our bedroom to get to the bathroom, even though he had a bathroom of his own which the hotel had screwed closed so you could not get into it.
We also had a problem with ants in our room, my husband became obsessed with spraying them with none other than my perfume to get rid of them, at least our room smelt nice.
The food on an evening was very much under par, with very odd concoctions, I have a family that will eat almost anything but even they surrendered to the call of the varied and vast restaraunts that are scattered about. The BBQ night was a joke, bowls of bones (spare ribs)meat you could not chew as it was so tough, nasty. Also (not that it affected me) but there was no childrens choice on the menu and when the mums and dads of kids coplained they were told that the kids would have to eat what the adults ate.
If you get offered a room that ends in 7/8/9/0 refuse, these are on the roadside and the noise from 11.00 at night is never ending, 1st you get the kids going to the square (from 11.00pm to 2.00am) then you get them coming back (from 2.00am to 8.00am) and in between you get road sweepers, dustbin vans, delivery men to the shop across the road oh and what joy one morning at 6.30am the gardener started to mow the lawn on his very large very loud motorised lawn mower, I could have strangled the man.
The pool area is absolutley fantastice apart from they do not allow you to use it until 10.00am in the morning,it's absolutley ridiculous I have never in all my years of travelling know a hotel not let you use the pool until 10.00am - I can see why the people with kids where complaining.
There was a side gate which during the day would have been lots easier to use to get to the supermarket, but I think the hotel liked to keep us in so it was never opened.
The hotel provides no evening entertainment what so ever so there was no atmosphere in the bar on an evening - memo to hotel Anesis, listen to the hotel Sancta Napa (next door) they know how to keep their guest's amused, entertainment every night ranging from Kareoke to live bands.
The gym was a joke, nothing worked.
The pictures on the website and in the holiday brochures are very misleading although the pool area is just how it is advertised, the rest of the photos have been airbrushed to withing an inch of their lives. the rooms are nothing like you see in the photos.
Having visited Cyprus for the last 11 or so years - has it put me off - no
Would I go back to the Anesis - No not ever

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: 1st Choice

9 years 9 months ago
Hotel is in perfect location in my opinion, 5 minutes walk from the beach, close to a reasonably priced supermarket, 5-10 mins from the main area of the resort by far enough not to be troubled by any noise or commotion.
Breakfast is help yourself buffet with eggs, bacon sausages, tomatoes, fried bread etc. plus cereals, fruit and toast. All OK but never quite tastes the same as at home.

Pool area was best part of hotel, no need to reserve sunbed, as there were always plenty, even when we missed breakfast one morning and didn't get to the pool till 11am.

Rooms were again Ok, kept clean and towels changed regularly, our room had a mini fridge in it and despite notices saying these would be charged at 3.50 Euros a day, we were not charged for one... so don't volunteer to pay!

Staff were all friendly enough and dealt with any queery efficiently enough.
Keep an eye out for the old couple who sit in reception each evening about 7pm, as mentioned in previous reports, the are NOT the owners but the parents ot the owners, just keeping an eye out for people behaving themselves, they are pleasent enough!

All in all i would say the Anesis is worth staying at and would return again.
I will post a few photo's in the photo gallery section.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Kat
10 years 6 months ago
Nice hotel, but the room we were given was very small and the balcony went back into an alcove ,so saw no sun at all.

Food was not the best but always managed to make the best of what was there.

No entertainment but ,hey we were in Ayia Napa, so had a great time!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
As the hotel was small there was not much choice food wise. There were generally 2 choices of meat dishes and 1 fish dish of an evening. They never stated what fish it was, but was just listed on the menu as 'fish'. There was also 2/3 salad platters with prawns or tuna etc. Dessert was the same every night. Two different types of cake and 2 types of Melon. That got a bit boring. The food that was on offer was lovely, but I do not think there was much choice for children. Breakfast was bacon, sausages, eggs, tomatoes, baked beans, toast, jams, croissants and cereal.

Hotel lovely and clean and our room was made up every day. Location was fab. A 2 minute walk from the beach and harbour and about 10 minutes if that, to the bars and clubs in the square. Definitely the best position to be if you want the sun but not the noise. The main pool was massive. Never had a pool so big in a small hotel. There was a kids pool too and large jacuzzi outside that would fit about 15 people easily. Staff were friendly expecially reception. They were very helpful. The only entertainment was each Friday and Tuesday which was a guy playing some music outside by the restaurant. I would not visit the hotel again as I do like more choice on food. The hotel overall was great, but the food was quite limited.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Sharon Thomas
10 years 9 months ago
Hotel was lovely. Really clean and in a great location. 5 mins from Grecian Bay beach, 2 mins from MacDonalds, KFC, Pizza Hut! :o) 5-10 mins from "The Square", all the night life, great bars, clubs, lots of friendly people and a great atmosphere.

Staff spoke excellent English and were helpful.

We hired a fridge and it was a godsend. Only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
We are just back from a two week stay, there were 15 of us aged from 24 to 70.

Location: The hotel is in an ideal location, far enough away from the pubs etc so it isn't noisy but a five min walk from everything.

Accomodation: We had booked a room with a large balcony and it was very nice. Some didn't book a room with a large balcony but there rooms were nice too......however, those with a room facing the street did say it was noisy in the morning when the delivery vans arrived.

We were half board:

Breakfast - there was eggs (rotated i.e. scrambled one morning, fried the next but there was always boiled), bacon although it was thick and fatty so only had it once, sausage but it wasn't nice, mushrooms, tomatos etc etc, various cereals, toast and breads, jams, marmalades, tea, coffee, juice. I had toast and egg every morning.

Dinner: It wasn't great but there was always something that you could eat.

If you wanted to eat out for dinner you should let reception know no later than 9:30 the previous evening and you can have lunch instead. Lunch is from the bar menu and is much better than the dinners.

Staff: All the staff were lovely and friendly from the cleaners to the waiters and the bar staff. Oh in saying that not everyone liked the night porter who obviously didn't like his evening tv viewing disrupted, even if you were just playing a quiet game of pool!!

Entertainment: There isn't any so not good for families wanting entertainment for kids.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definately go back to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Shortties Group
11 years 7 months ago
We have just got back from staying at the Anesis hotel which has been refurbished and is spottless. Our rooms were on the top floor nos 314/315 with pool and sea view they also had air conditioning which was free.

The pool was clean and there was plenty of sunbeds.

Breakfast in the morning was good - 5 choices of cereals - eggs/bacon/beans/tomatoes/toast/fruit - tea/coffee/fruit juice etc - Evening meal was fine but not great.

There was little entertainment in this hotel but we went out every night.

We all said we would come back to this hotel but only on a bed/breakfast basis.

The location was good only 10 mins walk to shops and harbour.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
Our party of 9 stayed at this hotel 02\07\06 - 16\07\06 in 2 1 bedroomed apartments.

This hotel, once part of the Aquasol chain has recently become an independent family run hotel. The hotels shell & pool has recently been refurbished.

Having sent a few emails to confirm our requests we wasn't very happy to open our patio windows to the noisy road that runs along the side of the complex. I returned to the reception, to be told to sort this out with the manager the following morning.

As we requested adjoining rooms with a pool view, we was told the best they could do was move us on the Wednesday (3 days later) to the fist floor rooms 101 & 108. However, only room 108 was pool view as 101 was situated on the front side of the hotel. We asked why it wasn't possible to meet our requests but was told that this hotel only has 5 apartments with a pool view as the rest of them are hotel rooms. Be warned!

The rooms are very spacious, basic but clean. Apartments had 2 bathrooms which were handy! & 2 large balconies.

The pool was immaculate! as it has just been refurbished the staff take pride in their duties & the pool area was spotless.

We had the usual problems people might experience (dodgy shower, toilet seat & a leaking fridge) which we complained about but no none came, not that I was gonna let this spoil our hols!

Entertainment was abit dire! we went out every night.

All in all I would give this hotel 7.5 out of 10.
I would not visit this hotel again because I prefer the buzz of going somewhere new all the time & the resort didn't exceed my family's needs, for 2 weeks anyway.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Kirsty
11 years 9 months ago
I was extremely suprised with this hotel because its just been refurbished and is absolutely spottless.

The pictures in the book do not do this hotel justice. location is perfect as the square is just 5 minute walk but you don't hear any noise at all.

Hotel staff could not be any more pleasant as they would go out of their way to help you.

There is no entertainment but when your in aiya napa why would you want to stay in your hotel. Would definitely stop here again but next time would go self catering because the food was not very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
I booked this holiday as a late deal to join the rest of my family who were staying in Ayia Napa. For the amount I paid I was quite happy.

The hotel itself is spotless. The rooms were perfect, lovely walking on carpet and not a tiled floor.

Staff were polite and helpful, and requests I made (pool view) were made. My brother whoever, who has already made a post had a different experience.

Food was nicer than I expected. After reading reviews from other sites was expecting the worst. Only downfall is no children's meals. My 4 year old daughter whom I was travelling, did not eat anything from the restaurant. Drinks are around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jmc

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum