Image of Olympic Lagoon Hotel

Olympic Lagoon Hotel

27 of 47 hotels in Ayia Napa

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
4 stars
Xylophagou Road, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
The lagoon pool with its own sandy beach, whirlpools and waterfalls is one of this reort's main features. There are amenities and activities for everyone, including a children's pool and playground. There is also a range of leisure facilities.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Awful poor food, massive disappointment, very underwhelming!
1 year 4 months ago
My honest opinion pros and cons of the Olympic lagoon resort all-inclusive hotel in Ayia apa

Hotel/gardens - beautiful and inviting, we had a pool view as well as sea view

Beds - really comfortable, good nights sleep

Staff - friendly (even the Russian waitress that managed to spill drink over our table twice in the same sitting)

Drinks - good selection, (though some watered down) and some spirits you had to pay for.

Entertainment - lounge singer we saw on Monday was very good.

Location - good, round the corner from beautiful landa beach and 3 miles to Ayia Napa which we walked to most days, 2 miles to Ayia Napa harbour.
Cons

Rooms - too small, especially when extra bed put in for my teenager and 3 of us in a room also not enough space for clothes, hardly any coat hangers think we had 10 between 3 of us and very very tiny set of drawers could hardly swing a cat in there! Constantly on top of one another (see pic)

Also only one single plug socket available to use - not enough

And when we arrived we literally had 3 single beds, when we asked for a double bed they were just pushed them together.

Pool - freezing cold, would have thought it would have been heated early season ?

Lazy river - doesn't move at all, literally at a stands still !!! So it's a very very very very lazy river.......

Food - very very disappointing,(except breakfast which was good but sadly never warm) after myself and hubby both had tummy upsets on day 2 we dined elsewhere, in fact we found a very good Hard Rock Cafe in Ayia Napa to eat at instead, or garden of Eden just down the road.

Dining experience - if you don't like birds best to avoid this place ,birds flying around whilst eating and landing on tables not very hygiene (other guests feeding the damn things doesn't help either)

Late arrivals dining - we arrived on a later flight at arrived at the hotel for 11pm and we were told there was food in the restaurant for us, I thought this was a lovely gesture but on arrival to the restaurant I realised it was not what it seemed, it really was just the leftovers ...... soggy, cold leftover food that it looked like it seen better days, this was my first impression of the hotel but would have been better if they hadn't of bothered.

Food - in general the restaurant is a canteen it's NOT 5 star quality if you like your food shop at Iceland then this is the place for you, food was buffet style never warm and been left hanging around, most was cold, vile and tasteless and did not match up with the hotel surroundings, after hubby and I both had tummy upsets on day 2 we ate out for the next 5 days ( except the last day when we tried the captains deck see below )the restaurant just caters for the masses and it's just the cheapest of cheap food on offer.

However we did eat at the captains deck on the last day (you are only allowed ONE visit here during your stay after that you have to pay) and this was a better experience as food was better and also warm and freshly made so hadn't been hanging around in the heat.

Value for money - we paid approx £3.5k for our all-inclusive 1 week holiday here (2 adults and one teenager) and to be honest I've stayed in some fab hotels in the past and this isn't one of them, we hardly ate at the hotel as food was so awful so it cost us yet more money to dine elsewhere.

Bathroom - in need of a refit, whilst everything did work it's tired and dated and looks like a 2 star, and when you let the water out in the bath in room 227 the plumbing sounded like very loud drilling.

Also a huge conveyor belt for weddings, all day every day with at least 4 weddings a day, the first wedding I saw I thought how lovely but by the end of the week I thought it was tacky after seeing endless brides it's not very exclusive.

Would I come back ...... hell NO this place was not for us, despite other reviews on here I just don't understand the hype, maybe they were good once and now think they don't have to try .........

On the last day, reception asked me if I enjoyed my stay, to which I replied NO and explained the issues with food, the chef came down to have a chat with me who apologised and said I should have brought it up earlier, but also agreed that he couldn't do anything about it either, just apologised for us not being able to eat at the all-inclusive hotel for 5 days, no offer of any money back, nothing so really what was the point of the chat .....

My advice save your money, book elsewhere.

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Hotel tip: Avoid avoid avoid

Liz Diggle
Great Clean Family Hotel
4 years 3 months ago
Great hotel, very efficient staff you never wait for anything.
Kids clubs are amazing, mini disco and entertainment every night. The entertainer's shows were much better than those brought in like the magicians etc. This place is so clean they are always cleaning around the loungers. There's always something going on for adults and kids but it's not in your face.

The lazy river is just so relaxing I could have spent a week just going around it. The only problem I had was with the kid's refreshments, my boys just wanted an ice lolly but they only provide ice cream in tubs no cones. They also have Slush machines filled with alcoholic drinks and the kids were desperate for a slush. The food in the restaurant was fine, always the staples for the kid's pizza, pasta, chips and nuggets. Plus a carvery choice every night and other dishes. There's a Japanese restaurant you have to book but we didn't get to visit it although our friends were really impressed with it. Plus a burger bar that does your burgers, hotdogs etc in baskets that nice for a change, they even have an old fashioned juke box free of charge.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave Holidays

Hotel tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for the bungalows.

Recommended
Anthony Thomas
A GREAT HOLIDAY
4 years 6 months ago
We booked the holiday through Sunsave for the second year running.The flights and transfers were brilliant , in fact we were early on both outbound and return flights.The hotel was fabulous with something for everyone.
The hotel is situated a kilometer from Nissi Beach.It boasts of a lazy river American Diner and an entertainments crew whom are wonderful.
We have been to the hotel on 4 occasions and certainly recommend it.
Have no fear of booking through Sunsave using Monarch Airlines on the internet,they did us proud
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunsave

Hotel tip: Try the Japanese restaurant and the American Diner and the lazy River.All rooms are very good

Recommended
A Thomas
All Inclusive
5 years 6 months ago
The hotel was terrific the staff were great the entertainment team were all very good and sociable.The hotel food was excellent and all the amenities were 5 star.
The down side was we booked to start our holiday on the 24th March but the Olympic Lagoon was not open so we were put in the Atlantica Aeneas hotel so three days of our holiday was not in the correct hotel. Also for the first three days in the Olympic lagoon pool bars and restaurants were not open so out of an 11 days holiday we had booked we only had 5 days with the hotel being fully open which is what we had wanted.The hotel did upgrade us and treated us fine but we were disappointed as it was a return visit for our 10th anniversary. However would recommend the hotel but dont go as early as we did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sharon Trott
8 years 1 month ago
Our experience with the Olympic Lagoon was fantastic, didn't want to come home and the kids loved every minute of it. I don't think the entertainment was that clever so we used to go to the pub along the road called the kings sword karaoke bar. It was class the people were really friendly.

Back to the Olympic Lagoon. Your room was a bit old fashioned- they need upgrading which I've been told is happening next year but were very clean. The maids were in every day the pools were amazing with lovely water falls and palm trees. The bar staff were very friendly, the meals were basic but nice and they always had a good variety of food on. The only thing we disagreed on was the all inclusive meals finished at 2pm during the day you were leaving so if you weren't getting picked up at till 10pm you had to pay for your drinks and food after 2 which cost us 170 euros that day. A disgrace I thought, we always go all inclusive and never have we had to pay for our food or drink on the day we are going home but would i come back? I definitely would.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David
9 years 3 months ago
Olympic lagoon Resort Hotel does have excellent swimming pools with waterfalls, palm trees and more than enough sunbeds with free beach towels provided and provides a good way to keep your tan topped up.

The hotel is described by Thomson as 4 star plus, it is not up to this standard, three star at max and seems to attract a wide range of customers from noisy locals to groups of football shirted shaven headed ' goldy lookin' chain wearing tattoo brigade, yes forget dressing for dinner unless shorts and loud T. shirts and tattoos are your bag. !

Booked b&b but upgraded to 4 evening meals in seven nights, don't bother, poor selection of food, breakfast passable standard, just.

Rooms are tired, location of hotel means getting taxi or the better value buses which do stop outside the hotel rear.

Drinks at pool bar way too expensive, two cokes and two icecreams were 13.5 euro's ! you decide.

Supermarket just outside rear entrance useful as hotel onl sells newpapers and blow up lilo's which filled the pool by the end of the week.

To sum up, great weather in Cyprus, hotel tired, great pools, mixed clientle, would not return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Anna
10 years 3 months ago
Myself, my Boyfriend and my nine year old daughter spent 1 week at this hotel.
We arrived early hours of the morning and it was 27 degrees. So we checked in and went straight to our room to sleep. We had a twin room and i would say there was just enough room for the 3 of us.

We woke up to fantastic weather really hot in the mid 30's + and it was like this all week.. Breakfast is served from 7.30 and overall i have to say there is a good variety of food. Usual cooked breakfast of bacon, scrambled & fried eggs sausage (small cocktail type) beans etc but also porridge fruit, toast, cakes and much more. Plenty of drinks to choose from. We went B&B so cant speak for the rest of the food but the pool bar does a good burger and chips!

We spent most mornings lounging around the pool. We preferred the pool with the waterfalls as it wasn't so deep and that was where most the families were so was better for my daughter as she could play with friends. It also had aqua aerobics, water polo and the bar near by.

There is a supermarket if you go out of the back entrance and right which sells everything.

The room was cleaned every day and fresh towells including pool towels. Clean bathroom with great shower and bath. The security safe is Numeric and you can put in your own number.

Ayia Napa is a good 45 minute walk away down one main road, you could walk it and there are lots of bars, restaurants and shops along the way but in the heat and with children a Taxi is better and they usually charge around 6- 8 Euros. There are plenty of places to eat here but make sure you try Romeos Inn they have great food and the staff are fantastic.Also try the Indian Palace they do massive portions (especially the chips ) at great prices and have the best Chicken Madras ever!

The beach across the road is lovely, but we preferred Nissi Beach. The water is shallow and you can walk out for miles so great for kids. It did get quite busy later though but still a lovely day out.

Go to the Water Park its 16 Euros for kids and 20 Euros for Adults. There are loads of slides for people of all ages and the pools are nice too. They also have a place where you can get Burger and chips etc.

All in all this is a great hotel and good value for money i only wish it had been nearer to Ayia Napa so we could walk there rather than take a taxi. Thats the only bad point in my opinion.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Childs & Edwards
11 years 1 month ago
Just arrived back from wonderful holiday at the Olympic Lagoon Resort. Resort itself is beautiful and in particular the 5 lovely swimming pools. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful in contrast to other comments made.

We were on B & B and the variety etc was very good and also very organised in the mornings. Also ate at a couple of the themed evenings and food was of a good quality. Entertainment Team worked very hard and were very friendly although we found some of the shows in the evening a bit boring and not suited to children.

We ate at the Garden of Eden along the road and would highly recommend this and also the Clarabel Restaurant in Ayia Napa who do the best steak ever.

Beach across the road from Hotel is lovely and very clean not like Nissi Beach which we ventured to once.

All in all we had a lovely holiday at this resort and would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sophie
11 years 1 month ago
Well, the location is rubbish, it is on a main road ages away from a nice beach and Ayia Napa, the main road was really noisy.

It was Quite clean but not really clean it sometimes did smell but it was OK.

The Food was OK there was a good variety and something for everyone.

Some of the staff couldn't even speak English and couldn't understand your drink orders.

The entertainment was good and You could take part in discos and watch dancing and you could do a hypnotist that was good and quite funny.

There wasn't much to do and the pools were quite dangerous as there was something that sucked your foot in at the bottom of the pool. Somebody got their foot stuck.
There was glass all over the floor and i stood on some and it cut my foot.(Twice!)

Overall I would not go back again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Rubbish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Brookes
11 years 2 months ago
Having read a few negative reports on this hotel, I felt it necessary to tell you that we had such a good time last July that we are going again for the same week next month.

Yes the breakfast is basic but isn't it always unless you want to pay 5* prices? I found the evening meal to be varied and of good quality, we ate out once and took advantage of the different themed nights at the hotel for 10CYP pounds each. We will remember one night in particular with the pianist, the food was fantastic.

Yes the location is not very good but I have to tell you I have been to Ayia Napa 8 times as a clubber and at the age of 40 and finally settled down (!!) you are relieved that the hotel is a short taxi ride away as the centre is very noisy - OK when you are in your 20s and 30s of course.

This hotel is excellent for children, though I have none, but there is plenty for them to do and the evening entertainment is good!

Some staff are very pleasant, like any other hotel.

I don't know why so many people have complained to be honest. I didn't see any ants and the rooms are clean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum