Image of Olympic Lagoon Hotel

Olympic Lagoon Hotel

27 of 47 hotels in Ayia Napa

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
4 stars
Xylophagou Road, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
The lagoon pool with its own sandy beach, whirlpools and waterfalls is one of this reort's main features. There are amenities and activities for everyone, including a children's pool and playground. There is also a range of leisure facilities.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wilkolo
12 years 4 months ago
First the Good Things.
The pools and gardens are outstanding. The entertainment is good (but not varied, same entertainers pop up too frequently). Reasonable location near an absolutely excellent beach although a bit of a way from resort centre.

However, although the hotel was decent I would not categorise it as 4*. Although it had some 4* trappings eg room service, free pool towels, in other areas it was let down.

The breakfast particularly is poor and service in the restaurant is extremely poor. Breakfast is 7am to 10am and when they say 10am they mean it. Food (which is adequate (dodgy bacon, cocktail sausages, tinned fruit, poor selection of cold meats) but not 4* quality)is snatched away from the buffet before your eyes at 10.01. Evening meal is also a buffet, service is again poor, plates are not cleared away.

Food is decent but there is not a good choice, I've stopped in many 3* hotels with much better food.
Just about enough sunbeds by the pool although on one or two days it was a struggle to find 2 together.

Sadly there was the usual reservation by towel at 5am, with some people not then making an appearance until the afternoon.

The bar drinks are appalling. I understand that prices might be steep in a hotel. However, I expect to at least get a proper measure of spirit. For example, I watched one bar person make a cocktail and I estimated there was about 1/3 of a measure of spirit in it altogether (for C
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Lynne
12 years 6 months ago
I booked 2 junior suites with pool views. When we got to our rooms I was amazed this hotel was rated as 4 star.

The rooms were small, had an odour of must, dusty and very dated with worn furniture. The bedding was so old, we had to remove the cover and blankets and sleep with just sheets. The bath had a large rusty crack by the plug hole and mould all around the tiles.

Outside the room was a cracked exposed pipe. My first experience of the pool was seeing 8 full bags of rubish left by the pool until the following day.

The food was more 2 star than 4 star. It was the same food cooked in a different way every night. It was diabolical.

The location of the hotel was along side a main dual carriage-way to the front and along side an A-road to the rear of the hotel, so not really the best of locations. The smell of fumes was quite strong by the pool.

I found the hotel staff in general to be rather rude. Never greated with a smile or never once heard a please or thank you.

The entertainment team was provided through a third party and it was good. They constantly tried to involve everyone for daytime activities. The night time entertainment was ok. My three year old loved dancing to the songs (when allowed).

I did not expect this hotel to be so dated. I was totally shocked by the dated facilities and by the pool bed reserving. You had to be up before 8am to get a decent sun-lounger by the pool.

After sleeping there for one night, I requested a move (and told the holiday company I would pay the difference) to a five star hotel up the road, but I was told the 5 star hotel was full and if I wanted to move, I may be best to look at all the hotels in the resort and then let the rep know which one I fancied and then she would check availability. I had already wasted 2 days of my 7 day break so I decided to grin and bear it for the next five days.

I would not stay in this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone, even if it was for free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

12 years 6 months ago
We have just come back from a lovely week stay at this hotel.

We arrived at 1.30 in the morning, the reception staff greeted us with a smile and where more than helpful, this than 5 minutes later we were in are room.

The room was of a good size with plenty of storage. The bathroom was clean and also had free shampoo etc. in there even a little sewing kit. The room was a sea view room also over looking the pool.

At breakfast there is a very good choice of food, from ceral, english breakfast which was always hot, lots of different breads, yogut, fruit, cold meats and cheese and donuts. The lunch at the pool side bar is very nice with a good menu and big portions. We only had dinner once out of seven nights there. The food was a bufet which was ok.
The pool and gardens are kept lovely and clean. Never had trouble getting a sun bed even when we got back to the hotel at 1.30 one afternoon.

The staff at the hotel we found to be all friendly and helpful.

The entertainment staff are fab.

We would go back to this hotel tomorrow, we had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Emma
12 years 6 months ago
We got married at the Olympic LAgoon and thanks to the Aphrodite wedding services in Cyprus they made our wedding fantastic.

The hotel was fab, pools great, great for children, bugalows were by far the best room for location and size, cleaned every day, lovely maids. Only thing not keen on was staff, rude, arrogant didn't care what we were there for etc etc, the lady in charge of human resources Elanor was lovely and very helpful other than that staff were useless, but hey we didn't see them that much so no probs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Jayne
12 years 6 months ago
We have be holidaying at this hotel for the last 10 years, visiting in May and September/October. For breakfast there is plenty of choice for all tastes. The evening meals are good, but we eat out each night as there are some nice restaurants.

The one complaint we do have is the price of drinks and snacks at the hotel. We feel, especially if you have children, this can be quite costly, but you usually find this at hotels.

We book direct with the hotel and have never had any problem with any of the rooms we are given. The hotel is clean and the maid service is very good. The pool area is usual tidy although on our recent visit the garden were slightly overgrown.

The gardening staff were starting to cut the grass etc towards the end of our stay. There are plenty of sun beds - with a supply of new matresses.

The hotel is located 5 mins from the Landa beach, and a 5 min taxi ride from the centre of Ayia Napa. We go to the centre most nights but is nice to be staying out of the busy/noisy centre. We have got to know alot of the 'regular' staff at the hotel and they are very friendly and helpful, we are always welcomed back by them.

The hotel employ some staff who are only there for a short time and some of them are not as friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Lisa
13 years 1 month ago
We went to this hotel for our honeymoon in October and found it to be full of over 60's. We are a young couple so thought it a bit odd the travel agent did not metion this when booking.

The hotel itself though is very nice the pools are the main attraction.

The staff seem to be friendly and rooms were always spotless.

The breakfast was nice enough and plenty of choice but for a 4* hotel i was a bit diappointed.

We never stayed in the hotel for entertainment but I know they are very expensive for the food and drinks. They do however have a good deal on for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Michelle
13 years 2 months ago
The Olympic Lagoon Resort is not a 4* Hotel.

Staff are friendly and cleanliness is top quality.

The rooms are kept clean and are a okish size, the motorway that our room looked out on is extremely noisy!!

The food is very poor for a 4*, we stayed here as H/B. The breakfasts were cold and the same every morning, we found a little place in napa which did a great breakfast (English Sausage not frankfurters!!)inc PG Tips tea for 2.50cyp

Evening meals were themed nights, basically the same food cooked in a different way, not good!

The hotel is a long way out from napa centre but ok for nissi beach.

Beware the taxis they say 5cyp whether your going from the hotel into napa but will say the same for going half way!

On a plus the pools are lovely and kept very clean and there's plenty of sun beds.

We wouldn't stay here or recommend this hotel to anyone rating should be dropped to 3* and the food needs vastly improving.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

13 years 2 months ago
We stayed here as we got married here the hotel is really lovely and the staff could not do enough to help from the maids and waiters up to the managment they all were really helpful and nice.

The hotel is spotless the only mess I could see was in our bungalow from the two kids but the maids would come in and clean the place ftop to bottom everyday, no need to take towels as these were supplied and if they got wet and you saw a maid they were more than happy to gavyou as many as you wanted.

The food is alright some days better than others for our reception we had a meze and this was lovely the food didn't stop turning up.

The one problem we had was the drink I dont want to sound like ahave a problem with drink but in the first 4 days we spent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
Stayed at this hotel last year and i must say that both the hotel and travel operator were very, very poor!!

Our bungalow was full of ants all holiday we told reception every day our air con didn't work nor did the fridge or safe for the 2 weeks we were there we tried for another room with no joy the rep never turned up we saw her twice all the 2 weeks we were there.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and gosh they know how to charge I am not at all tight but I know when people are taking me for a ride.

We stopped at the Pascalia in Penera the year before and it put this place too shame!

If you are going take plenty of cash and good shoes for the walking its cheaper to get a taxi to Ayia Napa for your food and drink because the entertainment in this place is rubbish and the staff never smile so take my advice and stay somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Roberts
13 years 4 months ago
Second time to this hotel on both occasions we have stayed b an b as the food is not good, breakfast is OK.

Stayed in main part of hotel and room was fine, junior suites are better but did have problems with ants on that occasion.

Swimming pools are brilliant with loads of sunbeds, entertainment not so good this year.

Cost of drinks are beyond belief and quality of drinks also poor and they even tried to give me a white rum as a substitute for Bacardi and the cost was still
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.