Image of Olympic Lagoon Hotel

Olympic Lagoon Hotel

27 of 47 hotels in Ayia Napa

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
4 stars
Xylophagou Road, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
The lagoon pool with its own sandy beach, whirlpools and waterfalls is one of this reort's main features. There are amenities and activities for everyone, including a children's pool and playground. There is also a range of leisure facilities.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Vicky
13 years 5 months ago
We have just got back from the Olympic Lagoon and the hotel itself was excellent. The room we booked was just a standard room with a pool view, it was pretty pokey with barely enough room to walk around the bed. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to a junior suite which is much larger and more suitable for a 2 week stay, I wouldn't book a standard room again.

The hotel was spotless with maids service every day, the staff were really friendly and polite.
Breakfast was amazing, there was so much choice, the food was lovely. The only let down were the themed buffets they have every night, I felt they were a bit dull and a bit on the expensive side but handy as the town centre is an hour and a halfs walk (!!) or 5-6 CYP in a taxi.

There is a nice restaurant just at the front of the hotel though.
The pools are amazing, always clean and never a fight for sun loungers. The beach is across the road and is nice but busy and you have to pay for sun lougers.

Entertainment was rubbish really, the singers were poor and it seemed to be mainly focussed on childrens entertainment or entertainment for the over 60's.

Overall I would go again but the town centre is miles away and staying on the resort site is a bit tedious after the first few days. If you've got kids and you don't want to go far from the hotel then it's great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Melissa
13 years 8 months ago
Great holiday !!!! kids loved it.

Food very good and lots of it.hotel spotless staff top class. shows ok !! Pool very cold (very) taxi in and out of town
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomas cook

Recommended
Kelly Wallis
14 years 2 months ago
We were greeted by a friendly receptionist when checking in and were swiftly taken to our room by the Porter in a golf buggy.

We chose to pay a supplement to get a bungalow room which was a really good size , had a partioning door for privacy and it's own little garden area with a patio set and a couple of sun loungers. This proved to be invaluable as we were able to enjoy the sun ( and take it in turns to go to the pool ,which was metres away) whilst our little girl had her afternoon nap.

The room and indeed all of the hotel areas ( restaurants, swimming pools , reception etc)were always really clean.

We only had breakfast and sometimes lunches in the hotel. I don't know if the breakfast set up has changed since some of the previous reviews on this site were posted, but we were able to have more than just the bakery / cereal type items e.g full english breakfast, fruit, yoghurt etc.Always the same every morning but nice anyway.

The lunches we had in the pool restaurant were very good. We also bought fresh rolls from the supermarket on occasion, which were very good except the chicken and mayo ones which seemed to be just mayo!

The location of the hotel wasn't bad but I would probably have liked to have been able to walk to more shops/ restaurants. The Landa beach across the road is nice with all the facilities that you could need. It's just a bit too much of a trot in the heat to get to the Nissi beach area and definitley too far to walk into Ayia Napa.

We got a taxi into town ( taxi rank by the supermarket) which cost CYP4 each way. Not too bad but always a worry when not all of the cars had seat belts.

Staff in the hotel were all extremely friendly and we did catch some of the evening entertainment which was pretty good. Our daughter loved the kids disco, however this didn't generally start until 9pm which was probably a bit too late for the littler ones.

All in all it was a lovey place for a holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
14 years 2 months ago
We stayed here bed and breakfast and couldn't complain about the choice available. Several breads and pastries to choose from continental meat and cheese. Fruit and natural yogurt, cereals, juices, tea, coffee, chocolate and of course the full English. Three types of egg if you wish boiled scrambled/omlette or fried, it was the same stuff daily but what else could you ask I don't have that variety at home!

The food served at the pool bar for lunch and dinner was very reasonable I thought when comparing to prices outside the hotel and it's good. I didn't have a bad meal there, although I didn't go for the buffets only worthwhile if you want to be up and down a few times to get you're moneys worth they're
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Becky & Steve Dugdale
14 years 2 months ago
We have been together 9 years and finally decided to tie the knot! Steve had been married before therefore decided to do something different and go back to a place that we both loved!

The Olympic Lagoon was the most fantastic place to get married! the room where they marry you is great with every little detail included!

Only thing I would say because it is such a popular resort to get married, many people got married on the same day and even up to an hour before the next! which isn't really a major issue until both couples / parties wanted to sit on the balcony and this was unable to be done.

We opted for a meal at a local greek restuarant "the Garden of Eden" which served a tradional Greek meal in the most perfect setting, the hotel would of been able to cater for us but we just decided on something a little more tradional.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Joanne
14 years 3 months ago
We arrived late in the evening and a porter took us to our room, we had a bungalow room which we found to be very spacious and clean. We also had our own private garden with sunbeds but unfortunatley will never got the sun there.

The swimming pools were fantastic for adults and children and haveing a young child we found it to be very safe.

We were staying bed and breakfast but found the food to be poor as if you didnt eat bread for breakfast there was not much else to have, but for me a holiday is not about the food.

The staff were very friendly and the entertainments was good in an evening, starting at different times during the evenings.

We went to a lovely resturant in ayia napa called the clarible which is near the square and burger king, the food was first class and they served evrything.

I would come back to this hotel again if only for the swimming pools
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Simone
14 years 3 months ago
The Olympic Lagoon is definetly a pretty hotel which was clean and the grounds are well maintained. The pool area was large but be aware when we were there people put towels on the sun beds as early as 8o/c.

We were B&B and the breakfast was varied but got so boring after two weeks. There was everything you could ask for i.e english cooked, croissants, fruit, yoghurts, cereal, cakes etc...

My children had a great time at the kids club which is air conditioned and enjoyed the kids disco.

The evening entertainment for adults was a bit naf. Not sure i could stay and watch everynight but now and then it was good fun. There is a restaurant right next to the hotel which serves really top class meals for reasonable prices but the poritons are massive...!

The staff at the hotel speak good english and were friendly and helpful We were disapointed with our room as ti was a bit shabby and needed redecorating. It was big enough but there were newer refurbishedd rooms which we wished we had been put in. The air con was great as the weather is so hot but it did smell a little. We did not see any bugs or creepy crawlies and it was mostly very clean.

Overall a great holiday but was expensive in the hotel and the nearby hotel shop was cheaper than the one in the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Simone
14 years 4 months ago
Upon arrival we were greeted at reception quickly and taken to our room which was a tad disappointing. Everything looked tired and the Tv and fridge were decades old. The room also smelt of urine because of the air con. It wasn't a horrible room and it was cleaned very well but it just liked like it could do with a re-furb. As it was four star I was expecting a bit more.

The hotel grounds were beautful and really well kept.

All the pool areas were really looked after and clean.

We had B&B which was fine after a while it got boring but I think that's the same anywhere you go. There was a variety of breakfasts from full English, to pastries to cheese, ham and yoghurts and fruit. The food we paid for around the pool was over priced but adequate but in the end we went a little up the road and had lunch there which was far more reasonable and filling.

The local people were so friendly especially with our children. One night my son lost his bouncy ball in a restaurant and the waiter went a bought him a new one, which was really appreciated. In that way the Cypriots are very good hosts and really try to mak everyone happy.

The location of the hotel was as the brochure said. It was further from Ayia Napa than I thought but there are nice restaurants nearby and a supermarket. We did go into Ayia Napa a few times, mostly in the day time to the beach which I loved but my partner hated all the cigarette butts everywhere. It was only a short cab ride back and a good twenty minutes walk there. It is near to the waterpark which was an expensive but excellent day out. Again it was a long walk but well worth it and the kids had one of their best holiday days there.

The staff were pleasant in the hotel, we were left to get on with our holiday but service was fine when it was needed.

The entertainment was a bit poor. Everyone tried really hard and the children were entertained but it was all what you've seen before, bingo, quizzes and shows etc...

We did say we would go back to the Olympic Lagoon after the holiday and we did have a great time but to be honest I would prob go somewhere else because it's nice to try different places.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Fiona
14 years 6 months ago
This hotel was brilliant, lots of sun loungers so you can stay in the sun all day long if you want. The pools are cold but massive.

The maids come and clean your room every day and are ever so freindly.
The hotel is about a 5min taxi ride into the centre of Ayia Napa and cost
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Julia Miller
14 years 6 months ago
Well we welcomed with a welcomes and we had an enjoyable stay we had lovely weather and enjoyed with the holiday. The entertainment was not as good but I was ok.

The children looked for good but the children had so much fun they did not need to go. My sister had a bunglow and she thought it was fantastic I had a room in the main hotel and I was very nice.

We had no rep at out hotel we had a helpline where we call to talk 2 a rep and ask the questions so we were not pleased with it so the stay was very good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.