Image of Club Atlantica Sungarden Beach Hotel

Club Atlantica Sungarden Beach Hotel

15 of 47 hotels in Ayia Napa

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
In a superb beachfront setting, with panoramic sea views, this modern hotel offers a range of sports and entertainment, a kid's club, wonderful cuisine and family friendly rooms, including kid's suites.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sheppard Family
8 years 10 months ago
Atlantica sun garden is a lovely hotel,nice staff who were very friendly and helpful,clean rooms which were cleaned everyday, food was good always something for everyone different theme nights every night, there are 2 outdoor pools which both have pool bars and 1 indoor pool also a hotel bar in the reception area, there was lots of sunbeds and parsols even at 11am not sure how this will be in the height of summer but for now it was great not having to rush down to get a sunbed, there was entertainment in the day which consisted of water polo, darts, competitions ect, the kids clubs where for 3-5 year olds and 6-12 year old which was on for 2 hours a day plus 4 evenings a week with them having saturdays off, the reps where great so nice and friendly they always came over for a chat and asked if we were having a good time or if we had any problems we can honestly say they were the best reps we have come across, the entertainment in the evening was good with a kids disco then a show, this is an international hotel so caters for everyone.

The hotel is about 20 min walk into the centre of ayia napa with some shops along the way, you could get a taxi which costs about 7-8 euros each way they are easy to get, we never went to any late night clubs so can't comment on them but ayia napa town is nice with plenty of shop and the staff in them were all friendy.

To sum up this is a great family holiday nice hotel, lovely staff and good food,great kids club and reps we as family would certainly come back to this hotel and best of all we had brilliant weather.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gardner
9 years 8 months ago
we stayed at this hotel 2yrs ago and it is still to a high standard,we returned because of the daytime activities for children and adults, and also the evening entertainment was very good.but this time what a total disapointment, unless you can speech fluent german and your smile has disapered then dont waste your money.their are no english activities during the day and the evening entertainment was dire!the only consolation was that i could come home after 2weeks those poor hotel staff have to put up with all them germans sucking lemons all year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: 1st choice

Claire ,mark And Luke
10 years 8 months ago
We travelled to this hotel for a family members wedding,we booked a kids suite which we were told would be in the gardens however on arriving we were put in the main hotel and could'nt be moved as there were no more kids suites available,not a good start!!On entering the room the curtains were hanging off and the stairs made a terrible creaking noise,which ment we could'nt go downstairs without waking Luke up!! So upon complaing to reception maintenance were sent immediatly to rectify the problems which they did,also Connie on reception gave us our safty deposit box free of charge for the two weeks for the inconvenience caused.
The hotel was kept very clean and tidy,in the restaurant as soon as you finish eating someone is clearing away your plate for you.The maids came round on a daily basis,they were also paticularly helpful when on the day of the wedding the strap on my dress broke, they were running around the hotel to find pins,needles etc nothing was too much bother for the staff.The food was nothing special it was very repetative every day,and the poolside snacks were very disapointing either pizza or sausage rolls.However the hotels a la carte restaurant was absolutly fantastic and could'nt be faulted!! although it was very hot and stuffy in there.The larger on the all inclusive was draught if you want bottles you will be charged.Also the poolside toilet doors don't lock which we didn'nt like and we ended up using friends toilets who had rooms in the gardens.
The entertainment was dreadful it was nearly all in German so unless you are fluent in German forget it!!!we didn't understand a word.The Pink and Shania Twain impersonators were a little better and at least watchable,and we did enjoy the childrens magic show.but be aware the entertainment is repeated weekly insted of fortnightly so we got to see it all twice,that was not good!!Also we had three children in our group between us, they were not inclined to join the kids clubs beceuse again the majority of it was in Germen,and all the posters advertising it were in German and the reps didn't make any effort to involve the English children.
Also if your not up early all the sunbeds are taken by the German's,we even got a letter through the door about this saying reserved towels when the pool wasn't open would be removed,fair enough!! and it did make life easier to get a sunbed.
The location of the hotel was about a five to ten minute taxi ride into Aiya Napa ideal for families and those looking for a relaxing quiet break.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse Dirrect

Colin And Jayne
10 years 10 months ago
FLIGHT: Arrived at Gatwick and everything on schedule. However, two people were late and that meant nearly an hour sitting on the plane waiting for them. The airline were in the middle of offloading their bags when they turned up at check in. The Captain said it would be quicker to wait for them to come through, than to continue the search for their bags. They got a loud boo when they finally arrived on board! Baggage reclaim was a challenge at Larnaca! Be prepared to wait around!!

TRANSFER: Very smooth. Rep friendly enough. We were the last stop, so we got a good nose around the resort while dropping everyone else off. I'd say, and I'm not being biased, our hotel looked the best when we first arrived.

ROOM: Checked in easily at reception and were shown to our room by a member of staff. The poor man carried my case, and I can only assume he is off work sick now with a hernia! He was very professional, showed us how to use the keycard and work the air con system. He was happy to answer any questions and spoke very good English.

The room was very modern: laminate flooring, huge wardrobe with lots of hangers, shower over the bath, TV with Sky News and BBC World, fridge, hairdryer, a double bed and another part of the room which can be closed off with double doors; containing two sofas and a table. We had room 304 which was on the 3rd floor and had a glorious view overlooking both the pool and the sea. We couldn't have asked for a better view!

HOTEL: First and foremost, I would like to say that contrary to previous reviews - the hotel is not at the top of a slope, it's at the top of a HILL! A steep and long one! We are both in our early 20's and fairly fit, but when it's 35 degrees outside, we found it a real struggle to get up the hill. I would hate to have to push a pram up it, and I can't imagine how the older folk got up it! We dreaded the walk back so much that we never went out the hotel during the day. On the few occasions we did, we got a taxi back (from the main strip of Ayia Napa this cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

RYCROFT
11 years 6 months ago
Standard 4* hotel but not one to go to for 2 adults who wanted peace and quiet as it was full of Germans with small children. A few more English couples arrived once the half term weekend started.

Rooms of good standard and kept clean. Views from the balcony were very good.

Food in restaurant of good standard other than one night when there appeared to be nothing other than curry on the menu. Waiting staff all very friendly and courteous.

Panorama Bar staff excellent and kept us well lubricated at lunch time and early evening. Thanks George?

Entertainment was the big let down. There was no English Entertainment Team on site and for those English visitors with small children it was very poor.

The English and American singers who entertained in the evening were excellent but in general the other entertainment was very poor and did not start until late.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: PORTLAND

Jayne
11 years 7 months ago
This hotel was one of the best I have stayed in so far.

The staff are friendly (particularly the bar staff) and made us feel at home. The food was brilliant especially as it's all inclusive, so much choice. There is also an a la carte restaurant where you can eat once per week - I recommend you do as the food is delicious!

The hotel is on the outskirts of Ayia Napa approx 20 minutes walk to the busy nightlife of the square. The views from the sea view rooms are breath taking - well worth the money.

The entertainment team are hilarious and are keen to get to know everyone staying at the hotel, they do take no for an answer if you don't want to get involved.

I will be booking again for next year without a doubt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse Direct

Recommended
Graham
11 years 9 months ago
Thought I'd get this done quickly as I personally have found the reviews to be extremely helpful when choosing hotels / resorts.So hope this helps.

Quick summary. A great hotel & facilities but boring entertainment.

Rooms:
Good sized room, key cards are used (also turn on the electric). The bedroom itself was fine
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
Returned from this hotel on 13th july. Have to say it excelled my expectations by a long way!!
Everything about it is good and didn't have a problem at all in my 7 day stay there.
As Graham said earlier it is advisable to find the pool to the left of the hotel, outside of the apartments as it is alot bigger,better and usually more pieceful than the other smaller main pool. Plus it has a swim-up bar which serves some very nice sausage rolls :D

The room I stayed in was fantastic,had a great view over the pool and beach with a nice extra seating area that i didnt expect to get,as well as a lovely balcony (room 325).

Entertainment sounded a bit dodgy sometimes,but i suppose all family hotels have to do some entertaining that isn't to everyones taste. This didn't bother me however as i didnt watch any of it,prefered to sit and chill in the lobby bar or head down town.

Food was brilliant everyday whether it be breakfast, lunch or tea.
You get an "a la carte" meal once in a weeks stay and I have to say that it was gorgeous!We were treated like royalty by the waiters (probably because we were the only people having the a la carte on the day of the world cup final lol)
The waiters are very quick at clearing your table and offering you drinks and cant forget the lovely cleaner we had everyday, did a wonderful job and also if you had a late night out on the town,she would leave you alone until you were fully recovered.

People at reception were very helpful when i lost my keycard,they gave me another within 30 seconds of asking!

All together this is a brilliant hotel and i have no complaints,althugh it is a fair walk down hill to get to the centre of Ayia Napa if you bargain the taxi prices they can work out relatively cheap.

Quite a few brits there aswell which was good as i heard before we went it would be full of germans.

After having a look at some of the other hotels in Ayia Napa i am really happy i paid the extra for such a nice,pieceful hotel as it made my holiday all the more better.

Overall a brilliant holiday made even better by the high standard of the hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Human Family
11 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Sun garden for 2 weeks all inclusive. First impressions are important and this hotel did not let us down. Very clean all through the hotel, the only place which was not as clean as it could be was the toilet area by the pool.

We were impressed with our room, we did not have a sea view but still had a balcony which was pleasant to sit and relax on. The room had air conditioning but this only worked when you inserted your key card, therefore it took a while to cool down again. We had a TV with Sky news etc, we also had a fridge which was handy to keep water cool (free from the bar). We asked for 2 rooms close to each other and were given rooms side by side. We were on the 5 floor and it was very quiet.

The food was very good with a large selection to please all tastes. A very good selection of beverages again something for everyone. You find a table first (inside or out) a waiter/waitress will then take your drink orders which arrived very promptly, while you get your food. The tables are cleared very quickly. Remember to go and look to see what the chef is cooking.

We only found out on our last day that as an all inclusive guest you are entitled to use the ala carte restaurant free once a week, too late for us!

For us the location was ideal, not too close to Ayia Napa (approx 15 min walk) but close enough if you wanted to stroll into the town, if you walk by road be aware it is uphill coming back, the easier option is to walk along the beach which is flat and maybe a fraction nearer.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and approachable also very attentive. The same lady cleaned our rooms daily to a high standard.

The entertainment the first week was sparse, some of it was entertaining but nowhere near long enough, the second week was better, this was because school holidays were about to start and the hotel was full, just a shame it was not the same the first week.

The German entertainment team were good and friendly but really geared up for the German holiday makers, however we joined in with some of the daytime activities and were made very welcome with the instructions and conversation in both German and English.

Again the second week a British entertainment team arrived making it more interesting.
We would definitely visit again and happy to recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
Brook Family report from 13th July to 27th July 2007

HOTEL

Fantastic!! Set on 5 floors in the main hotel and bungalow /chalet type in the gardens.
Everyone is so helpful and friendly you will be made to feel welcome from the time you set foot through the reception doors - (Check out the lighting in the middle!)
We arrived about 2:30am and we were offered sandwiches, fruit and drinks.
The reception is actually on the 4th floor with stairs or lifts going to the other floors.
The rooms are very nice and clean with a fridge and tv. Air conditioning that you can control yourself. Superb maid service, very friendly.
Check out the cocktails while you are there, they have such a large selection and we tried most of them and they were all very good. Especially as they were included in the all inclusive part!
The thing that was weirdest is that whenever you order anything at all, they ask for your room no. this is because they check that you are AI as they have other guests who are not AI and they pay as they go.

POOLS

2 pools in the back of the main hotel over looking a wonderful sea view. Sunbeds around the pools and down on the grass going down to the beach. We used these pools as they were nearer to our rooms (323 and 325 and 226). Water was warm and both pools have a pool bar, where you can get all drinks, water, coffee, fruit juice, ice cream, etc, You can also have snacks there, mainly pizza, sausage rolls, pasties and sandwiches. My one complaint is that they could do with more bins around the pool area and sunbeds.
Other pool is in the middle of the bungalows. This is slightly bigger and very nice. They have a swimup bar and music. Tended to play water polo at 3:00pm. which was fun to play or watch.
Sunbeds - what can I say, we didn't have a problem getting a sunbed although I would imagine in peak season it could be a bit harder.

FOOD

The restaurant is on the ground floor. Take your table and the waiters/waitresses will come and take your drinks order. Then you can go and get your meal. The choice is plentiful and very good and there was always something to suit everyone, even if the kids will only eat fishfingers and chips. Loads of meat dishes, vegetables, salads, everything you could want. The service is very good and as with all the staff, they are very cheerful and helpful.
Don't forget to book to go to the a la carte restaurant (through the main one). You won't be disappointed.

ENTERTAINMENT

The entertainment during the day was the usual, darts, volleyball, football, archery, etc., for both English and German and all the other nationalities. All the staff speak English. Before we got there, there was only a TUI animation crew, but just after we arrived, there was a British animation team set up. Day time and evening time kids club is run by Kerry and Celeste who the kids and adults all adored. The adult team are Nick, Sergio and Wayne. They encourage everyone to join in and have a good time, but are by no means pushy about it. The kids and adult team do the evening entertainment in the Meridan Bar (up on 4th floor) led by Naughty Nick Stringfellow and Sergio the Italian Stallion! As we were a party of 9 who enjoy joining in, we became known as the Newmarket Bunch and got to know them all quite well. As they had only just got there, they were still setting up a proper programme which we are sure will be good once established, although we certainly enjoyed our time with them.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in going back. We had such a good time that none of us felt ready to leave, even after 2 weeks.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum