Image of Grecian Bay Hotel

Grecian Bay Hotel

14 of 47 hotels in Ayia Napa

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Archiepiskopou Makariou III 45, Larnaca 5341, Cyprus
Sister hotel to the Grecian Bay, the Grecian Sands is situated on the golden beach of Ayia Napa.

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Richard
9 years 7 months ago
we went in sept 2008 and it was a nice weeks break, very hot! the hotel is decent with respectable facilities. the staff were friendly and the breakfast was ok. rooms good.
some parts of the hotel looked a little dated but still ok. the downside were the noisy maids talking too loud on a morning! good grief, they never stop. i'm being picky but it does matter when you are on holiday and you want some quiet.
the only other negative were the british themselves who were having a wedding and were loud and brash and meant we had to leave the bar. a shame.
it was quiet on a night, but we knew of this in september, the entertainment was a waste of time, go into town instead!
overall, i rate it a good 3 star, nothing more, and i would recommend. weather was hot and overall, very nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Paul And Michelle
10 years 8 months ago
We got married and stayed at the Grecian Sands Hotel in August 06 and have just returned from our second visit which was our first anniversary. On both visits we were extremely pleased with the hotel itself, facilities, food and the excellent service given by all the team.

August 06
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL Airways

Recommended
11 years ago
We got married at this hotel five years ago. We have been back on a couple of occasions since. We visited Cyprus again this April and discovered that the hotel has undrgone an extension, adding a number of additional bedrooms. We have found the staff to be excellent and the food very nice.

You must visit the best restuarant in Ayia Napa. Go out the hotel entrance and turn left towards town. Look for Marquis De Napa - go in and enjoy excellent food served by excellent tentative staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Harris
11 years 7 months ago
We went to the Grecian sands for our honeymoon. We didn't have the kids so we thought Aiya Napa would be a fun place to go. We read all the reviews on the hotel and we was both very excited as it sounded wonderful!

When we got there we were upgraded to a bigger room which I was pleased about as now seeing the other rooms would not of been worth the money.

We did pay approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Liz McCammon
11 years 7 months ago
We were married in this hotel in September and were really looking foirward to it after reading previous positive comments. The hotel has a choice of areas for the ceremony and we decided on the seaview deck which had fabulous views. This is where the fab factor ended. I think we should have realised things would not go to plan when we had to ask for our welcome gift of flowers, fruit and wine.

Our wedding day was shared with another couple, which is the norm at this hotel, and the hotel had them timed too close together that our service was completely spoiled. Our ceremony took palce at 5.30pm with the other wedding party sitting in the bar behind us, rightly celebrating, but unfortunately the noise was drowning out our service and completely spoiled our day. The video recording is also difficult to hear and is too much of a reminder of what went on and painful to watch.

We also had our reception in the hotel, and were allowed to mix the meal a little from their set menus. The service of the meal was pretty poor and they also ran out of fresh orange juice and champange in the bar later - this is suppose to be a 4 star hotel.

As for the rest of the holiday the hotel rooms and balcony furniture are in need of refurbishment and the sunbeds around the pool are way past their best. Broken, dirty and burst cushions and that's if you have got up early enough to put your towel down to reserve one in the first place. We are still not sure when people were down reserving beds the earliest we checked was 7am and all the prime positions were already gone.

On a positive note we did have a fantastic view, but did pay extra to guarantee this.

A few people cannot go without a big thanks and that was the hairdresser and the nail therapist both were fantastic. Also a special mention for the housemistress who helped me out with my dress and saved the day.

You never get back that special day or the memories it holds and if anyone does have their wedding planned for this hotel make sure you check out every detail before going ahead.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Lauren
11 years 7 months ago
we stayed in this hotel back in 2006 and enjoyed our stay that much we have booked to get married there in 2009.the cleanliness of the hotel is spot on and the maid service was brilliant.
As we went bed and breakfast we only did sample that food.everysingle food you could imagine was on offer at this hotel so you can please even the pickiest if people i.e me
wonderfull staff always willing to help out assist you should you have any questions ect.
we did not stop in the hotel to see the entertainment however on our last evening we saw a russian girl singing in the lounge/bar and not been rude but this was not for sensitive ears
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mr Hardie
11 years 9 months ago
We stayed in this hotel again this year having spent our honeymoon there in 2005. The position of this hotel is superb given its elevated position overlooking its own private beach, with the wooded steps down to the main beach.

You are looking down the length of Ayia Napa beach to the resort centre at the other end. Some of the rooms now require refurbishment. We were a little disappointed with the evening entertainment which is very easy listening.

Although July, we were often the only people in the bar. The bar prices may also have something to do with this. There are a lot of Russians now staying at this hotel. Many of the staff were new since our last stay and could be more friendly.

The manager 'Abraham' is a good guy but spends most of his time looking after wedding parties.
This is one of our favourite hotels, although it is expensive.

The location makes it special, and for a wedding the location is idyllic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Leanne & Derek Oliphant
11 years 10 months ago
We Got married at the Grecian Sand Hotel on the 9th June 2006 on the Sea View Deck which was just fantastic.

It was all we could have wished for.

On arrival we got wine and fruit and we also got a room upgrade which was great. We held our reception here as well which was just lovely, everyone enjoyed themselves.

The Staff at Grecian sands were so helpful and friendly. The maids were just lovely. The location was great. If you wanted to go in to the centre it was only a short taxi ride away.

The food was great we were bed and breakfast they had a great selection!

There was entertainment but because all our friends and family were in different hotels we moved around a lot at night so we did not see much of the entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Michelle & Christian
11 years 11 months ago
We stayed here and got married on the sea view deck.

When we arrived our room door wouldnt lock so it could just be pushed open from outside it took 3 days to get it fixed, the tv dint work and we looked at the plug which didnt have back on it had broken off and was just exposed wires after a week it still wasnt fixed and the wardrobes are sliding doors which the hangers are to big for so they dont slide across.

The pressing service is pointless the suitcame back worse then when it went.we eventually got moved to another room for week two but not good enough for the money we had paid the only good thing about the room was the bed it was huge!!! Dont go near the mini bar unless you have pre arranged a loan its so over priced
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chocie

Sarah
11 years 11 months ago
We chose this hotel after much thought and after reading reviews.

We were married at the sea view deck which was beautiful, it had been decorated with flowers and chairs were also decorated.

I found the hotel staff very nice and accommodating, the reception staff and bar staff were lovely always a smile and a friendly greeting.

The area that the hotel is situated in is fantastic in my opinion, overlooking a lovely blue bay and it is with all the other 4 and 5* hotels. It has its own private beach area where sun beds are free to use.

The pool is also great, it is a nice size and amongst pretty gardens and also near the cliffs that over look the sea. With an outside bar area and eating area, you can sign things to your room if you do not have money on you to pay for them at the time.

The main bar area is a lovely place to unwind with a drink, plenty of seating and the entertainment is more sophisticated and aimed at adults for a change, it consists of singers and background music, there is also a weekly management cocktail party.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was nice, we had a candle lit dinner for free as we were getting married at the hotel, the waiters are also nice. The breakfast was also good everything that you would expect to have bacon, eggs, sausage etc and also continental breakfast cereal, yoghurt, toast, orange, tea, coffee etc.
the hotel rooms are really nice big double bed and modern in style, with nice white bed linen (not at all like the usual sheet that gets thrown over the bed). You can have room service if you wish which some of my friends and family did and they said that it was nice, with a good selection, we had drinks from the mini bar we did not think that it was that expensive you are always going to pay more for this luxury, and it was topped up every day.

The bathroom was ok it was clean may be a little dated but it was nice enough, they provided trial size toiletries. My sister had a really good view of the sea from her balcony.

There is a good choice of location for my wedding as there is a chapel in the grounds, a wedding room which is also set up just in case the weather is not great and of course the sea view deck, the choice of location for my reception was good too (in a room overlooking sea) (which was at no cost to us) and a good choice of 5-6 menus for wedding reception food for my guests, they provided waiter service at my reception.

They also have a hairdresser at the hotel that is very good too and you have a trial before hand.

Olympic holidays wedding co-ordinator is lovely she is called Karen and I can not praise her enough for making our day one that we will treasure forever.
They use a fantastic photographer and my flowers and bridesmaids flowers were stunning.

I hold this hotel very dear to my heart and have some fantastic memories and photos of our holiday and wedding there.

We will be back sometime in the not too distant future.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum