Image of Serita Beach Hotel

Serita Beach Hotel

20 of 32 hotels in Hersonissos

3 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
Beach Road, Pano Chersonissos 70014, Greece

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
R STRINGFELLOW
10 years 9 months ago
Stayed at the Serita Beach hotel in Anissaras. On arrival the two twin rooms booked were not available so for the first night all four of us had to share a room. The following day we were allocated our new rooms at about 12 noon.

The rooms are quite adequate but a little basic. The rest of the hotel was very clean but the main bar always smelt of diesel.

Getting a drink after 6 pm was a bit of a joke because residents were not allowed to use the bar which was waiter service only. We found the only way to get a regular supply of drinks was to tip the waiter at the beginning of the night.

The resident entertainment team put on the worst shows imaginable. And on 2 occasions ripped the residents off by selling raffle tickets and bingo cards at 10 euros each.the top prize being a club t shirt and free cocktail.

So beware...food was very repetitive
consisting of spaghetti, cheap cuts of meat and there is absolutely no choice for children. The best meal was found to be at the poolside restaurant which served pizza and kebabs. However this is bookable a day in advance.

Also be aware when around the swimming pools as the tiles are very slippy and whilst we were there two people needed stitches the pools are very deep with no shallow end so watch the children very carefully or let them use the children only pool.

The location is on the sea front but the beach is very rocky and consists of shingle the sea is very dangerous due to under currents and hundreds of sea urchins which deliver a painful sting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIRECT HOLIDAYS

Recommended
Joanne
10 years 10 months ago
The pools are salt water & filthy with grime...The entertainment area/reception has only two ladies cubicle toilets,& after one night of a full hall these were disgusting & from then on I used my room.In the main restaurant the food was very poor, small selection and served cold...because they only bring out a little at a time you end up waiting for your main meat while your veg has become cold,lots of flies too.The pool restaurant was a better selection but this also was cold & they ran out of supplies very quickly. At the time of our stay the majority of guests were French so this is what the entertainment was also, couldn`t stand being in the hotel after two nights of French all night, by the second week the Germans had arrived also.

The nearest town for other entertainment is a short taxi ride costing around 8 euro.The beach outside of the hotel is tiny with a small jetty with sand & shingle completely not child friendly.

I would highly recommend that you not visit this hotel, I will not be returning ever!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: unknown

Helen Gilloway
10 years 10 months ago
The accomodation was excellent very clean and spacious. the hotel staff were very friendly and the cleaners were excellent. ther was a differnt choice of food every night and plenty for the children to choose from, the location was a bit out of the way but there was regular buses if you wished to travel into the surrounding towns. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. the entertainment was very good considering the amount of different people that were there they tried to accomodate everyone. The entertainment staff were fantastic with children always willing to talk to them even when they were off duty!!!! The beach wasn't that good but with everything at the hotel pools etc, if you wante a beach there was a free bus to take you to the nearest safe beach. The pools were salt water pools but always very clean, around the poolside the tiles were very slippy but the hotel did warn us of this and it is only to be expected with tiles so you just had to take care and no running around poolside.
We would definatley vist this hotel again it was the best holiday we have ever been on, and the children said the same if we could afford to go away agin this year we would definatley visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ulookubook.com

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
Having just returned from the Serita Beach I must say how disappointed my husband and I were.

It was booked as a 5 star but I would have only rated it as 3. Don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Steve Alder
11 years 5 months ago
This hotel is very poor. The only positives are the excellent bar waiters and the helpful chambermaid, otherwise forget it.

We were forced to spend the first two nights in an adjacent hotel due to overbooking, and boy did we wish we could have stayed there for the whole two weeks.

The air con overflow water ran into the television and/or across the balcony until eventually the maintenance dept. cured it by bringing an empty ice cream container.

We, too, saw many people in bandages and struggled to stay on our feet on the wet tiles by the pool.

The worst problem of all is thew noise from the club/disco which drowns normal conversation on the terrace. after the disco finishes, the drinkers then scream and shout under your rooms, as these are mostly all above.

What a nightmare!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar

11 years 6 months ago
Hi the family & I stayed at the Serita beach 1st two weeks of August,we were booked into a large family room (2adults & 2 boys 14 & 12).

I would hate to see a small room there was no room to swing a cat & it was in desperate need of modernising. Saying that, all you really need on holiday is somewhere to sleep & have shower so we put up with room for two weeks which the maid kept spotless & changed linen & towels daily.

There are two decent size saltwater swimming pools & 2 other pools in which the little slides go into & the bigger slide for big kids goes.

Food was ok not the best but deffo not the worst there was something there for everyone so no need to go hungry,staff very friendly especialy michaelas in the main bar & Costas down by the pool bar bot of them are funny & will have a laugh & joke with you.

Entertainment if you wanted it took place by the bigger & more crowded pool then inside in the evening which became very hot & same old hotel entertainment so we spent most of our evenings sat outside talking & drinking.

One word of warning please please take extra care when walking around the pool area as it is very dangerous tiles are so slippery & we see many accidents during our stay,but must say we met some great people & had a fantastic holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Hayley
11 years 6 months ago
We have just returned from two weeks at the Serita Beach, and were very disappointed. The hotel is rated in Uk brochures as a 4 star, but would just about scrape a 3.

Overall it is a clean hotel, but many areas are in need of refurbishment.

The pool area is absolutely lethal, we saw 4 serious accidents which required hospital treatment and stitches as well as numerous falls. These were both adults and children and they were all just walking along, not running. Some matting could address this problem.

Overall the staff are great, and all helpful especially Katarina and Yuargos in the snack bar, but the manager is rude and aggressive to all.

The food is diabolical, both my husband and I suffered from food poisoning and required the doctor within 48 hours of arrival. Apart from breakfast when you have to eat there the main restaurant is best avoided. Instead book to eat lunch and dinner at the snack bar, although like us you will have to live on Pizza or Pasta for two weeks, we ate out many days.

The hotel animation team try hard, but are not happy there, the hotel children's club consists of 4 hours a day drawing or painting, and very little else, and the evening entertainment is very poor.

The icing on the cake for us and all the other guests was that on 19/8 a notice appeared at reception telling us that on 20/8 the snack bar would be closed all day due to a christening. This also meant that the main pool area, kids pools, slide and playground would be out of bounds to guests from 4pm (usually the slide etc went off at 7pm). The Italians, Belgians and Dutch dutifully obliged but not us English. We spoke to the 'Happy' manager who basically told us to get lost. Then those who were with Thomas Cook called them, and they sent down a Senior Rep, who was appalled. So we refused to move, and swam in the pool until 7pm. This was not a low key Christening either, it was of lavish proportions, with elaborately laid tables around the pool, huge barbeque's cooking all types of meat and fish, and a live band to entertain. The whole of the area was flood lit, including the playground (lights were never put on in the evening for the guests, consequently more accidents around the pool, and our children had to play on the swings in the dark).

This huge event catering for 300 people didn't start until 9.30pm, and finished at 2am, buy which time another senior T. Cook rep was in the hotel to complain about the noise outside guests rooms.

Oh, and they have stopped the bus to the sister hotel, because they could not cope with the amount of guests going there to eat.

If you are thinking about booking this hotel don't do it, if you have booked it try and change it asap.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Triton Rooms

Larissa N Craig
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel is not a bad hotel but we would definatly not go back. The food was a disgrace!! No choice whatsoever very boring if you didnt like salad or spaghetti.

The bar staff were lovely but the entertainment staff were awful.

One night there was a christening and we werent allowed to use any thing so we had to go out and pay for our meal where the food was much nicer than the hotels. They were up till 2am and we were only aloud to go to the bar till 12am. Not happy with that at all!

The pool was a good pool but very slippery. I fell over twice and cut my leg just walking by the pool in my flip flops. Very dangerous. especially 4 children.

The location was nice apart from there was no watersports which we thought we would have and no beach. It said a nice sandy beach and all there was were a pier and a few rocks it was rubbish.

Definitly would not go back to the hotel although Crete and Hersonnissos were nice and would visit there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

11 years 7 months ago
On arrival was very impressed with the standard of the hotel and pool area. We stayed in the bungalows facing the sea front and learned that they are more spacious than the main hotel block and better located with own terraces. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard with fresh towels also on a daily basis.

On the first few days, the food seemed OK in the main restaurant, but then gradually deteriorated, to the point of being diabolical on some days and I have to say that we are not fussy eaters.

The most enjoyable meal being breakfast. The omelette's and fried eggs are worth queuing for but in the second week, the toaster was out of action and with a hotel of this size, you would think of no reason why it could have not have been replaced. You can book in the taverna the day before and we all started to eat in there for both lunch and evening meals, the pizza being very nice. Also if you ask the chef, he will cook you some vary nice cheese and garlic mushrooms or cannelloni.

We found out from two old ladies (and not the rep) that you can use the sister hotel Rinela Beach where you can also book in advance into their Chinese restaurant and you are still fully inclusive. A free bus leaves for this every morning at 11am and returns at approx 5.30.

The drinks were good measures and you are waited on at your table. We tipped Michaleas from the start and were very well looked after(the one who looks like Dale Winton!)
We were disappointed with the location of the hotel as it is on a SHINGLE BEACH WITH FULL ROCKS AND THE SEA IS NOT SUITABLE FOR SWIMMING IN.

There are also lots of sea urchins and a lot of people got the spikes in their bodies. Again you can either go for a very long walk until you find any sand or go to Rinela Beach which has a lovely beach and free water sports.

The entertainment was terrible, geared towards any nationality apart from British so we all made our own entertainment which included going out in the evening.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cooke

Jenny
12 years 4 months ago
Don't book this hotel at the end of the season ie mid Oct onwards - we were looking forward to our break but had the holiday spoilt by the fact that this hotel was being packed up and moth-balled quite literally around us.

Many facilities were no longer available and they ran out of various drinks and food - everyone was complaining to the Rep and we even phoned the Companys HQ in Britain but nothing was done about the situation. Lots of very annoyed holiday makers !!!
They transferrred us all off to another hotel on our last day and shut the door behind us....an absolute disgrace !

The beach ..hmmmm - trick photography for the brochure I think - must have used the widest angle lens available.
Also the standard of the snacks available ..popcorn -not very impressed.
All in all very disappointed - if you are thinking of booking late in the season - my advice DON'T !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum