Image of Amazones Villa Apartments

Amazones Villa Apartments

27 of 39 hotels in Stalis

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Irinis 359, Stalis 70007, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lorraine
7 years 7 months ago
The hotel appeared initially to be clean, however having heard a mosquito on the first night under the bed , investigations there revealed quite a lot of dust. WE also had a problem with ants and cockroaches . The location of the apartments is said to be 100m from the beach however it is a good 15 to 20 mins walk realistically to get to the beach, and the apartments overlook other apartments and few would have beach views, certainly mine had an unpleasant view of another apartment that was having work done on it. The apartments were noisy, you could hear most things from next door and upstairs. On arrival we were shown to our apartment and left there with our being shown around the facilities which I thought was unfriendly, and this sense of distance lasted all week.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Tricia
7 years 9 months ago
could not fault the hotel staff in any way at all. The barman Jamie and Pool barman Myshoo were absolute stars. The cleaners were very good and very friendly, and Dimitri and Natasha made you feel very welcome, their little boy George is a very sweet baby. There was no entertainment on site but it was better without it as everyone made their own when we got together and drank, danced and told jokes until the early hours. Beware of the Raki Man ( Jamie after midnight ). The pool water was very very cold, and aircon was expensive at 8 euro per night.There is a very good selection of books at reception and 2 pc's for the internet that will take 50 cents for 15 minutes. In very hot weather the walk to the resort centre can be a bit of a drag because even tho it is flat there is no shade, but there is a little supermarket, 2 bars and 2 restaurants just outside the apartments. The restaurant called Mistraeli's next to the car hire is run by Billy and his wife, a smashing couple that serve excellent food and like to have a laugh with their customers.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Mandi
8 years 6 months ago
spent one week at amazones villas and had a brillant time. on arrivial we were meet booked in quickly and taken to our room.(not pointed in the direction)

ROOM we stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment it was massive we walk into a long hall way first room on your left was a bedroom with dressing table 2 beds and a large wardrope plenty of room in there.
the second doorway on the left was the sitting room one large sofa and 2 chairs a coffee table which lead to our balcony
the room stright ahead was another large bedroom 2 beds and large wardrope tho my niece never used it she perferd the floor.
next room was the bathroom toilet shower and basin
the the next room was the kitchen large fridge,kettle,toster,microwave and 4 cooking rings.

STAFF very friendly jamie ran the bar at night mishu ran the pool bar both made you feel welcome and the hotel owner,his wife and little boy geogre made you feel like part of the family.

BARS pool bar was great and the food was lovely 3 euro for a full english. sun beds 1 euro each per day.
evening bar was reasonably priced and everyone started of on they own tables but by the end of the night u were one big table.

LOCATION brillant supermarket next door and about 5 - 10 min walk in stallis and the beach the staff will point you in the right direction.

take a good mossy replent if you go in july august because you will be bit.
on leaving all the staff around will come and wave you off i,ve never been anywhere on holiday where that has happened and i;ve been going abroad sence i was 18.

only one complant couldn,t keep our room on the amazone villas were still booked up.but there was a shower we could use.

would we go back YES
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
J.lillystone
9 years 9 months ago
On arrival we met owner/manager dimitri who was very friendly, we had corresponded by e mail and had asked for a high floor with a view of the sea which we got. The apartment looked as though it had recently been refurbished ie given a good coat of paint, plenty of storage space in the bedrooms, maid service was a bit hit and miss and you have to buy your own toilet rolls. Safety deposit boxes were 25 euros for 2 weeks. All the staff were very friendly. Bar has 2 happy hours between 5-6 and 10-11pm where the drinks were slightly reduced in price. The sun loungers cost 1 euro each per day, it became apparent on the 2nd day there that there was not enough sunbeds for these apartments. There were towels laid out on them before 8.30 with no-one on them so we struggled for sunbeds. We found out in the 2nd week that neighbouring apartments with no pool could use ours as long as they paid the 1 euro per sunbed. Food in the pool snackbar was reasonabley priced 3.25 euro,s for a full english with tea or coffee. You cannot take your own food/drink round by the pool which is salt water by the way. Pool has a happy hour 12-1300 amstel 2 euros a pint.
The apartments operate a bar tab and beware thet tried to charge us for sunbeds and drinks that we had already paid for.

One point about the apartments is that the have wooden louvre doors which are in need of repacing as they were quite difficult to close and starting to rot. Although we did have a sea view the room which we had No 201 was above the owner apartment and his dog Mia which constantley howled / barked during the 2 weeks that we were there even local apartment owners complained about it.

The apartments are about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the centre of stalis, there was building work along the majority of this road until you came to the start of the bars, it is very dimly lit on a night and there were 2 bag snatches along this road in the first week supposedly by albanians riding scooters so beware.








Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

10 years 7 months ago
We got back two weeks ago from Amazone Villas and the apartments, location and staff were all excellent. We were lucky to have apartment 107 (2 bed apartment) which was the only one along with upstairs 207 that had sea view through the apartment blocks in front. I highly recommend these apartments. Location near enough but far enough away from the centre of Stalis. Large apartments, very clean, air conditioning payable at 7 euro per night - this was a must when we were there - 30 degrees at night!!! Safety deposit boxes are in reception - cost 20 euro for 10 days. Sun beds 1 euro a day but worth it has you didn't have to fight for sunbeds at 7 am in the morning and there is plenty of parasols for everyone. Staff excellent - Lee the barman is just fantastic - say hi to him from Sharon in Huddersfield. Jo the Receptionist can't do enough for you. Marianne on snack bar by pool cooks up a mean breakfast. The owner Dimitri and his dog Mia - don't miss his quiz night Enjoy your holiday at the Amazone Villas and lovely Stalis.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson build you own holiday

Recommended
Fiona Robinson
12 years 4 months ago
The accomodation was clean and tidy but nothing else. Wardropes handpainted yellow with blue surround and the shelf within was plain chipboard. Beds very hard and pillows had seen better days, so a good night sleep was not had by all. We found the apartment very noisey as you could hear everything within your apartment and other peoples. The shower sometimes had hot water but didn't work very well as it leaked more than it sprayed. Good points you could walk out in to the resort within 5 mins.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

12 years 6 months ago
This is probably a typical Greek holiday apartment. The swimming pool is small and would be just about adequate for the residents but is open to non residents making it cramped at times.

Sunbeds have to be paid for 1 Euro each. There is a constant smell of fried food from the bar around the pool.

Accommodation was very basic and on the whole clean. Dimitri does his best to welcome you and befriend you but I felt that he had an ulterior motive - to get your cash!Having said this it was a very friendly place - everybody spoke to you.

Entertainment was by way of pool competitions, quizes, singing bingo etc etc which was fun if you like that sort of thing - you couldn't just sit there but had to join in!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Tan
12 years 7 months ago
We chose these apts purely from the great comments on another site. It was our most expensive Greek hol yet as the only travel co you can book them through is Portland. However the flight times through Portland were very good as normally Crete flight times are very early morning and when you have to be out of the apts by 10am (as all greek apts) the long wait for a 2am coach pickup can be very tiring!

Our first impression of Amazones Villas was the nice layout of the pool area and bar area down the slope.
The apts were better than the usual greek apts! They were very very clean, spacious and the brand spanking new bathroom had just been fully refurbished to an excellent standard.

The kitchen (not that we used it) had all you would need for self catering i.e Kettle, toaster, microwave, hobs, big fridge freezer and a good supply of kitchenware.
The wardrobes in the bedroom were basic (no draws) but these are to be refurbished this winter in all the apts.(also the pool area is to be expanded)
The beds were comfortable. The bedroom even had a hairdryer!!

The loo rolls were replaced when ran out and the sheets and towels were changed twice a week. The room was cleaned excellently 6 days a week except Sundays and the beds were made etc. We were very impressed with the friendly, efficient cleaning staff.

The only very slight downside (if you can even call it that!!) was the view, the apts were behind another apt which blocked the lovely sea view.
One thing you must be aware of is you will need mosi protection from the first nite!! We got bitten over 30 times in the first nite as we forgot to put the mosi plugin
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum