Image of Bella Vista Apartments

Bella Vista Apartments

17 of 39 hotels in Stalis

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Dimokratias 60, StalĂ­s 70007, Greece

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
N&N
8 years 2 months ago
The hotel is in the back end of nowhere. Firstly it is half way up a mountain which is a nightmare to get up especially during the day when it is hot.

Once you climb the mountain you will then be faced with in our case 102 steps to your apartment.

When we arrived first into our room the toilet did not flush, obviously we went and told the owners, but they made us feel like we were bothering them and they seem not like us complaining about this. No entertainment at night and when we left to go down the town maria (owner) would make us feel uncomfortable leaving.

Would not recommend unless you are a keen mountaineer who does not enjoy entertainment at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Ross
9 years 1 month ago
We are a couple who wanted to go somewhere lively but not too lively and got exactly what we wanted with this holiday. The moment we arrived we noted how friendly the staff were considering it was 3:30 in the morning. Yes we were at the highest point in the set of apartments and so had to climb alot of stairs but having requested a high room we didnt complain and to be honest the view made up for it! On the second day we made friends with the barman Dimitri who was very lively and prepared to chat and drink with you. The room we stayed in was very clean and extreamly spacious and we had a visit from the maid every day, we rented the safe which is not in plain sight but didnt rent the air con which wasnt really needed. The hotel is located up a hill but dont believe people when they say it is half an hour to stalis as we could make it into stalis at a leisurly stroll in 10 minutes. We only went to one night of entertainment which was the weekly bbq so cant really speculate on the entertainment but the food at the bbq was great and they brought in some greek dancers for everyone to try their hands at greek dancing. All in all a great place to stay with very friendly and cooperative staff and will be definatly going again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Gaby And Andre
9 years 4 months ago
That was a thoroughly good holiday. The Bella Vista is located quiet and idyllic outside Stalis on a mountain slope. The recently renovated apartments are bright and clean. From the front balcony you have a wonderful view over the sea and the town. Stalis is about 20 minutes to reach and offers with its numerous restaurants, bars and shops enough variety. The owners of Bella Vista, Kostas and Maria will take care of personally, and very warm to the welfare of their guests. Once a week will be held a BBQ at the beautiful pool bar, where you can eat even by Maria prepared Greek specialties. Conclusion: We are coming back!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
C
10 years ago
Their website gives a very false impression of what you will actually get. The shower was not a new enclosed shower as shown. We had a corner shower where you can barely stretch your arms out to wash your hair and getting in and out of this was no easy task when the toilet was situated right outside the shower.

Food at the hotel was very poor considering the hotel is located a good 20 minute down hill walk to the nearest restaurant. Food was cold, expensive and not much of a variety offered.

Again due to the location of the hotel we felt more entertainment should have been provided at the hotel. One barbeque night was offered but due to the quality of the food we did not attend. No other entertainment was offered and the pool bar was not very welcoming in the evenings. Music had to be kept very quiet as the owner would complain due to his grand children sleeping in the room next to the pool bar. Not very good due the fact he is running a business and should have arranged another location for his family to stay in when visiting. During the day music was played but again to a volume that was not audible from the pool side.

My recommendation is to find a hotel that looks after its guests needs more than their own, this is what we go on holiday for afterall.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Del'n' Ali
10 years ago
We stayed at the Bella Vista Apts last year and had a great time, however it was Maria who had her hand on the tiller last year and Kostas this year. The difference was unbeleivable. The prices seem to have gone up since last year The atmopshere at the poolside last year was created by the lad who worked behind the bar. Unfortunatly he's not there now and the lads who do work there now try their best but are held back.I still stand by my belief that the apartments are some of the best that I have come across in Greece. The good food that was made last year was also made by the bar man who left.
Unfortunatley we didn't enjoy the apartments as much as last year but we still loved Stalis and the people. I can only hope for their sakes that Maria is back in charge next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympia

Bill Williamson
10 years 1 month ago
As posted in other reviews the view is spectacular and the apartments are lovely, its a novelty having a bath in Greece. Apartments are just as on web site, could do with a toaster/microwave however.
Sadly the hill and the steps are very tiring especially when you have the top apartments
The pool area is lovely it would however be nice to have a pint around the pool. A bottle of lager is 2.5 Euros and draught lager is not sold. A pint in the town can be bought for 1.5 euros hence there is very little going on in the evening at the pool bar. Pool bar was closed before midnight on most nights of our stay .
If you have children it is 2,5 euros for an icecream with a very limited choice.
The meals cooked by Vasilius and Eddie are of decent quality maybe they should cook for the barbecue.

There were 13 people in our group and we booked for the BARBECUE what a dissapoinment . Kostas charged 14 euros per person (try Yannis in the town much better food and much cheaper). Sadly as previously posted there was no atmosphere and certainly no Greek dancing. There were around 30 people at the barbecue it started at 8oclock and was all over by 10 oclock.
Kostas stood at the end of the bar with his cigarette watching everyone as he normally did if he was not pacing back and forth between his room and reception.
At no time did Maria even talk to us.
Thankyou to Vasilius ? Eddie and the lovely cleaner who I don't think were to impressed with their boss.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
D Martin
10 years 1 month ago
We have just come back from Bella Vista last week so I thought I would give everyone a most recent review.

Like you all we search the web checking reviews like this and after checking before we went on holiday about what BV would be like we were excited as it sounded great.

Good points - Great View {if your fit} and the Pool is clean and plenty of sunbeds.

Bad - well for one thing there is no way these apartments are 3 star, infact to merit them a 2 star is being very generous.

The Pool looks a lot bigger on the photos than it was - its quite small but clean!

Are apartments we not cleaned well which was essential in are case as on the first day we arrived I noticed the toilet was not flushing and when I checked inside the system found no water turned on - when I did turn the system on I found out why the water was off! Toilet water drenched me and the basin started leaking over the floor.

You may ask how this effected the cleaning? well we did report this to the rep who reported it to the owners - who inturn came up had a look said 'no fix until Monday' needless to say they never fixed it just came up once or twice to fill the system so we could flush it.

As the cleaner didnt really clean and the toilet was leaking and sometimes because you could not flush it unless you filled the system up yourself with water from the shower - well the smell was not nice.

The actual apartment was fairly nice apart from the fact as are apartment was at the top of a hill it was a haven for Pigeons and their poo!

Also when we arrived we were left to struggle with are cases up 5 sets of stairs very very steep and it takes you a few days to get fit enough to climb them without fainting lol.

Entertainment - well basicly there is none unless you go to the barbie on Friday

They have a pool table that costs 2 euros a go

They do serve food and drinks of cause but they are more expensive that stalis town so we like most of the other holiday guests preferred to venture in stalis and beyond day and night - this does not go down well with the owners or bar staff who especially on your way out of the appartments to stalis town centre on a night give you dirty looks and try to make you feel like you owe it to them to buy a few drinks at the bar until you venture into town.

The problem is Bella Vista could do so much better but there is a dull depressed atmosphere at night and they have a bad attitude to you if you dont buy drinks from them only - all I will say is take a look at the hotel/appartments just below Bella Vista and notice the difference in entertaintment and general atmosphere - there there is multiple pool tables a large pool party music {nothing hardcore just fun} and I can say every night that place was buzzing while BV was dead.

I've stopped in Stalis before at 2 stars where they came round offering your free food and free raki and in return there appartments we full everynight till at least 12pm

Another thing I did not like on the first night we arrived was the aggressive nature of the owner trying to get us to rent the air conditioning! First thing I wanted was a safe key but then he mentioned the air con and I thought maybe a good idea as I thought he said 8 euros at first - but I was wrong he shouted 84 euro for week 'give money now money money'

I soon changed my mind and as we struggled with are cases up stairs he was still trying to sell us air con - needless to say you dont need it - its safe to leave your door open a bit through the day - just close everything at night and buy a mozzie plug it {costs about 5 euros}

It got to the end of the week {friday} on our holiday and we were due to fly back home on saturday morning - I always thought you have to leave your room by 12 on the day of departure right? well wrong we had to be out on the Friday meaning we had a nearly a full 48 hours without a room - the owner became aggressive speaking again when we at first objected until we had checked this was right with the rep {she said we had to leave the rooms now} so we did but things could have been dealt with alot better - all the owner would keep saying is the new room owner is here 'you move out now so she can move in'

Overall - the appartments themselve are not bad and views are great but the walk is tiring - I suggest get a car or even better even though the rep will discourage you all they can - get a quad bike! it cost us 100 euro {80 pounds} thats including insurance} for 5 days and we have included petrol which is about 6 euros for half a tank - just make sure you get Special full insurance ;+) we went everywhere on that bike and compared to 60-80 euros for car hire for 1 day well theres no comparison really.

Most reviews on here are great and maybe we were unlucky but there is no way this is a 3 keys / 3 star whatever accomodation and a lot could be done to improve BV


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

David And Sarah
10 years 1 month ago
Do not book these apartments unless you are physically fit and like walking a lot! These apartments are set in the mountains and it is a 30 minute walk into Stalis. To get to Bella Vista you have to walk up a very steep hill, which is very tiring especially in the heat. We then had 110 steps to climb to get to our room and we are both quite fit!

We have been to Stalis a few times and found the air conditioning to be the most expensive at 6 euros a night, although we did hear that Kosta was charging slightly different rates to everyone, so beware.

There is no atmosphere around the pool bar at night due to the fact that the prices of drinks are expensive to what you get in the town. A small bottle of soft drink was 2 euro when at the beach you get a larger bottle for 1 euro. For the 2 weeks we were there we never saw anyone at night having that final drink, which we have always experienced in other apartments.

During the day the pool is very empty, there are only 2 sunbeds that are not actually covered by an umbrella, which you cannot move or put down. So if you like sunbathing, then you need to get the two beds by the shower. Again, there is no atmosphere and at times there were only a few people around the pool.

We have never been anywhere where a pool has been so empty and there is no socialising going on both in the day or at night. Perhaphs Kosta should realise that he needs to reduce his prices, perhaps get a draught fitted and not intimidate his guests. He would ask why we didn't drink in his bar.

Our room was right at the top, which had a great view, but was a killer getting there! The cleanliness of this was very poor. We had to complain as the cleaner didn't empty our bins for 4 days. There was hair and dirt left from who knows how many previous guests. These rooms needed a good clean. There is one cleaner to cover the whole complex and it is obviously not fair and far to much for one person to do alone. In two weeks the room was only cleaned twice, but I can't say it was actually cleaned just the bedding and towels changed. To get into the shower you had to climb over the toilet as there is no room at all, and the shower cubcile is very small.

To sum up, don't believe the wonderful pictures you see on the website as not all the rooms are like this, in fact there are probably only one or two. Neither is there a wonderful happy atmosphere. It also says that the town is 800 meters away when in fact it is far more than this and does not tell you about the hill.

We have been to Stalis a number of times and would never go back to Bella Vista.





Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Angela Howson-Green
10 years 3 months ago
John and I have just returned from the Bella Vista in Stalis and it was the best out of the seven holidays we have taken together. Lovely clean and spacious rooms; panoramic views were fantastic; very well maintained and recently refurbished to a high standard; excellent if you are into walking and if not then hire as the beach is about 20 mins away. It was great exercise and a chance to enjoy the scenary and chat to the locals. Kostas and Maria were always around to greet us and were so friendly and warm and very helpful with anything we needed to know. Exceptionally polite and welcoming staff. The BBQ night is not to be missed as those guys know how to cook - and dance! Could have stayed another fortnight easily. Quite sad to have to come home! Thank you so much Kostas and Maria x
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Val-jackie
11 years ago
Just got back from Bella vista the best holiday we have ever had .hotel on a hill but worth the walk for the view alone - the staff and owners were more than welcoming and treated you like family. will be going back next year.( didnt want to come home )
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum