Image of Anastasia Hotel

Anastasia Hotel

8 of 39 hotels in Stalis

5 out of 5 from 48 reviews
4 stars
Eleutheriou Venizellou,, Stalis 70007, Greece

48 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    35
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert Anderson
Fantastic yet again!
2 years 5 months ago
Yet another fantastic visit to our favourite hotel in all of Crete. The sense of relaxing and chilling sets upon you immediately you set foot on the extensive and well maintained hotel grounds. You are greeted as a friend more than a guest by all the staff and management alike. We had a different room from our usual, which was very spacious, light and airy with good views over the rest of the hotel and out to the sea.
The food continues to be of a very high standard and as I explained before, if you are looking for typical British fare, such as pie and chips, fish and chips, sausage and chips, spam and chips, chips and chips, then this is not the hotel for you. The chef produces some of the best Cretan Greek cuisine I have ever tasted. Although there are some chips available if that’s you’re want. (Why go all the way to Crete and expect to eat as if you are in Blackpool?)
The maids are very good, and the room and general public areas are kept very clean under the watchful eye of Mixalis the owner. Crete itself is a beautiful island and is well worth exploring, this is easily done via the bus system, which is accessible by a bus stop 100 metres in either direction from the hotel. We enjoyed our days by the pools, (there are 3 to choose from) and our granddaughter discovered that she could swim and we were delighted to watch her confidence grow in the water, whilst we were there.
As ever the friendliness of the staff is reflected by that of the guests and we had some really good laughs with them. Rarely will you get a disruptive influence here.
Needless to say that the canny jock in me enjoys the free WiFi, air conditioning, and fridge. There is also no need to take towels to use by the pool as they can be hired for a modest sum, saving weight and space in your luggage. There is a set of scales for your use, prior to returning home, helping you to avoid being stung at the airport for heavy cases.
So now as we bask in recent memories, we are actively planning our next visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Hotel tip: All rooms are great

Recommended
Bob & Linda Anderson
By far the best hotel
6 years 6 months ago
This was our fourth visit to Hotel Anastasia and it was by far the best yet. Michael and the staff epiomise how a hotel should be run. To say that they are friendly would be typical British understatement.

The Hotel is always clean, the food is fantastic. The location is ideal as it is far enough away to feel secluded and close enough to reach all the resorts amenities.

The Hotels biggest asset is undoubtedly its staff. Plans are now under way for next years visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gintare
Fantastic holiday
6 years 10 months ago
This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I felt like at home. I got everything that I needed and had the most unforgettable vacation ever.
It was really good value although it is 3+ star hotel, I would give 4 at least.

The Hotel is situated in a very nice place with the hills behind and sea ahead. The staff were very friendly and always ready to help us.

The hotel is very clean and nice with gardens everywhere, the food was very tasty and variable. There were great shows every evening like Dancing Girls, Mistic Men, Karaoke, Greek Night and others.

The sleep quality was perfect as the rooms have good isolation from any noise.

I would definitely come back again. I recommend Anastasia Hotel for everyone who wants to have unforgettable holiday.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sally & Richard
Great friendly hotel
7 years 5 months ago
We arrived at the hotel late, after the restaurant had closed, but because we were staying half board, the hotel had kindly prepared a meal for us, to enjoy before showing us to our room. The evening receptionist showed us to our room, and carried our cases.
The hotel has two adult pools plus a children’s pool, with plenty of sun loungers available.
Food was good, and there was usually enough choice for everyone. Sunday there is a BBQ also.
All staff were really friendly and hardworking, especially Maria who worked in the evening.

The rooms were spacious. There are a number of buildings that make up the hotel, built at different times, so the layouts and sizes can vary. The maids were in every day, with towels and linen changed twice a week. The hotel throughout is kept very clean by team of cleaners and Alexis the handyman, with his red t-shirt!

Michael the owner is always on hand to help out staff. Will walk around and chat to everyone, very friendly but not over the top.

The hotel is 5-10mins to main resort of Stalis, via underpass, which saves you crossing the busy main road.
All in all, a lovely friendly hotel, and would recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bob And Linda
A hotel that just keeps getting better
7 years 6 months ago
Our 3rd visit to our friends at the Anastasia. A hotel that just keeps getting better. The room we had was just superb and when our daughter arrived the week after she was next door. The hotel in every part is kept spotlessly clean and the decor is always being freshened up by Alexis the gardener/handyman. Michael and his staff make you so very welcome, without being over the top. You can come to this hotel and just relax, everything is hassle free. Each room has a fridge, and air conditioning free of charge. You can hire a kettle for a small fee and they will give you cups and spoons to go with it. A short walk to the pool bar and you can buy 6 bottles of water to start you off.

The facilities are great for a small family hotel. There is also an iron available if you need to take the travel creases out of your clothes.
There are 4 pools, masses of sunbeds, and you can hire mats for them.

The hotel is close to a main road, but there is a service road, trees and barriers in between. Also, as has been mentioned, there is an underpass to get to the other side and down to the resort. You are about 10 - 15 mins walk into Stalis resort centre. Beware of those establishments advertising a Big Beer for 2 euro. The big beer is not all it seems, less than a half litre, sometimes watered down, or is made up of the slops that accumulate when pouring. Not all bars, but some.

Entertainment is low key and unobtrusive. Although the Mystic men, Dancing girls and Greek nights are a must see.

The food is of a high standard, plentiful, well cooked, and varied. You can quite easily have something different each night of a 2 week holiday.

Breakfast for me is always the best meal of the day, and there is a great choice. The bacon most certainly doesn't look like Ayrshire best, but is very tasty. Someone in a previous post said it looked like parma ham, but didn't say how it tasted. It tastes great. The drinks at the bar are competitive.

If you are considering this hotel, visit all the Holiday Truths type sites. I guarantee that at least 90% or more of those asked would rate this hotel as very good. There are more than a few guests that come back here repeatedly, and they don't do that for nothing.

Would I recommend this hotel....see you next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 7 months ago
This hotel is a pure gem. Every member of staff from gardener to handyman to owner are so nice and work so hard, yet always have a smile. Our 2 grand-daughters (2+3) loved Vana and Kayleigh.The hotel is spotless, you see the gardener/handyman watering the grass/flowers beyond 11pm.

The food was always hot and plenty of choice. Hotel is 5 minutes from the main strip, and you go through a little underpass which saves you crossing the main road, which was great with little ones. The only negative i can give is that the disco for children is only 3/4 times a week. I think it could be provided nightly for 20-30 minutes. We are already making plans to return next year and we cant wait. I now know why so many return,1 couple were on their 8th visit in the last 10 years
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Olwyn
7 years 7 months ago
The hotel is brilliant all the staff work very hard and always willing to please. The room was lovely and clean as is the rest of the hotel, the food was always hot and plenty of choices both at breakfast and evening meal.Entertainment was gud and Kayleigh worked hard with the quizes and Bingo as well as the kids club. There was 2 big pools and 2 childrens we tended to go to the one near the mini golf.There was still some people that felt that they had to reserve a sun bed with towels (how sad) Would recomend you give it a try.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Olwyn
Good food, nice hotel, would recommend
7 years 8 months ago
The hotel is brilliant all the staff work very hard and always willing to please. The room was lovely and clean as is the rest of the hotel. The food was always hot and plenty of choices both at breakfast and evening meal.

Entertainment was good and Kayleigh worked hard with the quizzes and bingo as well as the kids club. There were 2 big pools and 2 childrens pools. We tended to go to the one near the mini golf. There was still some people that felt that they had to reserve a sun bed with towels. Would recommend you give it a try.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 8 months ago
Had a excellent holiday at this hotel and would return tomorrow if the pennies let me. The staff never stop and always greet you and Michael well to be the manager he is not afraid to roll his sleeves up and get stuck in,and Emma fits in well to the wee family always very helpful.P.s Michael the BOSS says hello.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
7 years 8 months ago
hi micheal, had a fantastic 2 weeks at your hotel,food fantastic,our room (117) fantastic,great staff (you must be paying them well) food suitable for anyone with a gastric band (which i worried about before we arrived) lovely lovely staff. cant say much more other than the BOSS says hello.. We will be back. xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Hoildays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum