Image of Athena Studios & Apartments

Athena Studios & Apartments

34 of 39 hotels in Stalis

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Stalis, Crete, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pam &dave Welch
9 years 1 month ago
the family run apartments are lovly they welcomed us, and we had a great time, our friends stay at another hotel they came to see us and they were welcome too. joanne is lovely the holiday is wot you make of it, we had such a good time that we are all going back in august 2010, there is 15 of us going and we cant wait so if you are young and on the pull go to malia, with the rest of the party noise, this is our 16 year in crete a i have not meet 1 rude greek!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Daniel Davis
10 years 2 months ago
DO NOT VISIT THESE APARTMENTS!

These are easily the worst apartments I have ever visited. I went in a group of 8 18 year old lads, so granted we made a bit of noise, but we were totally unprepared for the reaction we got from the owner.

Throughout the holiday, not once did i we receive fresh towels, nor were our bins empty. The owners dog continually drank from the pool. When they wanted to pressure wash the pool area they did it at mid day and in moving the deck chairs, chucked valuable possesions off them onto the floor.

If i could give this resort a 0 i would. However i would definately reccomend the nearby Nikos apartments where we were put up for the last day. They couldn't have been nicer in comparison to the staff at Athenas.

I can't possibly stress enough, do not go to these apartments, you will hate it
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Leanne And Kel
11 years ago
We arrived at the location at half past eleven in the brochuce it said just "off the beaten track" and t was right we was in the middle off no where down a dark scary road which was quite intimadating as the greek men would sit outside playing cards and waitiung for young drunk men to beat up and rob.

On the way to the beach there is a dark tunnel you have to pass through and theres no avoiding it..... Also on the way back to your hotel there is a vicious dog that looks mad kinda like a pit bull that often escapes from the garden and barks at you....

The staff at the hotel are not freindly and will not let you stay up to have a drink wit mr ouzo and come down a shove you off to bed (for god sake we are on holiday) they are not welcoming and will try to rob you off your money like short change you be very aware off this especially you big drinkers.

The pool is freezing as no sun gets to it and if your young and on the pull dont bother unless your into your oldies.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Atkins
11 years 1 month ago
the hotel was okay but rooms not ready when we arrived and were told to sit and wait no greeting
we saw a young boy beaten up by the owner for just coming back 4 a drink with some young girls
the owners go into rooms when they like to look around and even burst in when your in bed
they keep a club behind the reception just in case you disagree with the owners
2 famillys were kicked out over an argument over the air conditiong and one of the men was attacked with the club and told he would die in greece in all not a familly friendly hotel as in the brocure and i wouldnt go near the place again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunset

H
11 years 1 month ago
Every negative review i agree with. With the response to one of the emails i was there when a young lad was beaten and verbally abused, it was horrendous and very frightening and the managers are very lucky we didn't press charges! Also he did come into our room when we were in bed, three young females, and the language that the family used on a daily basis was disgusting!

We did not get a change of fresh linen in the week we were there. They threatened to throw us out on our first night and we were definitely not being rowdy!

Two families were thrown out because they dared to complain about the lack of air-con! These hoteliers! Should not advertise for single group parties as you are not welcome! Do not go there....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Bloor Family
11 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the begining of October, the weather was great(apart from 1 day of warm cloud) and all came home tanned.

We stayed in apartment number 21 which is ground floor overlooking the pool, average cleanliness(but I am a clean freak) and what we expected for our first visit to Crete, kitchen is extremly basic with only 3 each of plates, bowls, cuttlery, cups & glasses. A double electric ring, good fridge with ice box and kettle, corkscrew and tin opener - no more! bottled water in apartment on arrival(6 lrg bottles for 3 euros) & available any time after.

We did not buy food at the apts but it looked good & value for money, we ate out for lunch and evening meal every day cheaply and well, no entertainment at apts which is why we loved it, fantastic & very friendly family run apts, security excellent although there are safes in rooms for small charge.

A very unsafe (by UK standards) road to cross to access beach/town, but the underpass at bottom of lane accessed by approx 20 steps at 1 end solves that.

Beach quite clean and safe crystal sea for kids, pool at apts is very cold as in the shade most of the day.

When we stayed at the apartments it was very quiet with few guests. Can imagine it may feel clustered in peak season,very quiet with no road noise.

Would reccomend as a value for money holiday off peak season for families with kids under 8 that are satisfied with a good beach or more mature couples seeking quiet relaxation.

Staff(Joanna & son Theo) very welcoming and most helpful & polite, very kind with our 6 & 1 year old sons. We loved our holiday and would return here again, thanks for a memorable holiday! Our sons also loved little 'Tula' the owners cute dog!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
McCann
11 years 11 months ago
Just returned from our third holiday at the Athena Apartments, and it just keeps getting better. Joanna, Dimitri and Theo are the most welcoming of hosts and cannot do enough for you.

The apartments are spotless, as are the pool area and bar.

Joanna is a fantastic cook and makes a Moussaka that Jamie Oliver would envy! BBQ night is not to be missed, with and endless supply of local dishes on offer, as well as Joanna and Dimitri's home made wine and raki.

The apartments are located just five minutes from the beach, and main town area, which makes it perfect as it is just far enough to make it a short walk into town, but far enough away to give a peaceful location.

The Athena is perfect for anyone, and the guests' ranged from retired couples, to young families and young singles, with everyone having a great holiday.

For a day out I would recommend a trip to Spinalonga Island.

One review has suggested that only repeat guests are looked after, but you only get repeat guests by treating everyone well on their first visit!

Can't wait to go back!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
A Bell
12 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the Athena at 4am on a Wednesday morning and left on the same day at approx 1.20pm.

When we entered our apartment it was like we had just walked into a cupboard! The room was rather small and were'ntt set out to be big enough for two people never mind three. There was only one way in and one way out. By the front door was a window which was the only source of sunlight what came into the apartment. The shower room had no windows in or any ventilation so the door would have to stay open or you would suffocate with the steam. There was a breakfast table which wasn't big enough to eat at. There were only two chairs inside when there was three of us. We had booked up for a maisonette but what we got was more of a downstairs studio. I felt as though I was on 'Little House On A Prairie'.

There were wooden stairs which led up to a shelf were two beds stood. There was a wooden railing which was supposed to prevent people falling over the top but that wobbled and would be a hazard. If there was a fire at the front door how would you get out as it was the only exit/entrance we had. Rooms 12, 13 and 14 are a fire hazard and people should be warned before booking.

The owner wasn't very pleasant as I had politely asked if we could have a room change but she abruptly said "No!". Her son, wasn't very friendly to us either and falsely accused us of complaining about spiders and ants in our room. He also said to us, "Don't bad mouth in front of my customers and if you don't like room then you go!".

We did not have to be told twice to leave and after we spoke to the rep we left the apartments and hunted for some other apartments nearer the centre of Stalis. We ended up in the Katerina Apartments in the centre of Stalis and even though the accommodation was basic it was 100% better than the Athena. The owner George and his family were really pleasant and we enjoyed our stay there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Mrs H T Grayson
16 years 2 months ago

We travelled June/July 2006 and not 2004 as may be in the report as there is something wrong with this web sites choice of dates. It will not give out last years date. Athena apartments Stalis. We arrived back home two nights ago after spending two weeks in the Athena apartments. My husband, myself and two children, one 11 and the youngest 22 months stayed on the ground floor adjacent to the pool and bar and pool table. The view was lovely and the weather divine! Crystal blue skies.

We were greeted by Joanna the lady who owned Athena and we saw her husband son and daughter as well. We were kindly showed our rooms. A clear warning if you have any young children please do not get the floors wet as they will do Torville and Dean impersonations!

This got us a bit agitated at the beginning wondering how our 22 month old would survive the whole two weeks without visiting casualty!!, so we made sure that a towel was always on the floor outside the shower room for when we walked in the bedroom. We had three singles in our room and a cute cot which the youngest could crawl out off so it was a case of catch her while you can!

The kitchen was very basic but we ate out every day anyway. Towels were changed twice weekly and bedding once a week so don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum