Image of Tropical Studio Apartments

Tropical Studio Apartments

3 of 16 hotels in Hanioti

5 out of 5 from 43 reviews
3 stars
Hanioti, 63085, Greece

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    30
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sophie And Lee Penistone
17 years ago
we have just returned from our honeymoon at the hotel tropical and it was absoloutly superb the staff instantly made us feel welcome and they provided excellent accomedation with plenty to do Vicki, sakis, anistasio, cameila, adi and george were all lovely and we met some lovely people who we are returning with next year i would advise anybody to go to this hotel as it is a friendly sociable place were everybody is welcome the rooms are spacious and well maintained the food is second to none and the prices are good too as i said we will most definatly be returning next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Steve & Carol
17 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from Hanioti having spent 2 very enjoyable weeks at the Tropical Studios. The rooms were spacious and clean and we had the added bonus of having a ground floor poolside apartment which meant we were on the quieter side of the building as far as the road was concerned.

From the moment we set our luggage down in reception waiting for our room allocation the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The studios are well located just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Hanioti and a 10 minute stroll to the beach. The studios were cleaned everyday, the pool was cleaned every night.

The staff at the Tropical, Sakis, Vicky, Vicky, Anastasias, George and everyone else worked hard to keep the guests entertained with live music on Saturday nights 60's 70's & 80's, a quiz night, kareoke in the upstairs bar where barman Anastasias does his best everynight to keep the guests entertained and they even laid on a Greek night, again with live music and dancing and an enjoyable evening was had by all.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrbox
17 years 1 month ago
We stayed at these apartments for two weeks on the basis of some reviews we had read elsewhere and the price.

The Tropical Hotel is in fact a block of 42 self catering apartments set just outside the main area. Very convenient for the beach and town centre, but adjacent to the very busy main road, so if your room is on this side, you WILL experience traffic noise.

We were lucky and had a ground floor room poolside which meant we could nip over the wall of the balcony as a short cut.

Our room was totally adequate for our needs, comfortably furnished, clean, nice shower cubicle (in Greece?),serviced every day but not enough utensils if you intend to cook. We didn't.

There is a TV, electric kettle and toaster. The two single beds pushed together we found very spacious and comfortable. If we were to return we would request this room.

The hotel is run by Sakis, his sister Vicky, and his fiance Vicky. Initially the welcome is warm and friendly and the crazy barman Anastasio welcomes everyone with gusto.

The problem we found was you tend to be pestered into supporting their karaoke nights, BBQ, quiz nights etc. Almost every day we were asked where we were going, what are you doing tonight, and where are you eating. Sakis' parents have the Tropicana restaurant in the square, and you are expected to eat there.

We did, twice, and it was OK but nothing brilliant. We felt under constant pressure to spend our time and money in the hotel bar, which must be among the dearest in town. If you went your own way, the mood changed towards you, and the smiles became a bit fixed.

All the management are quite young and they have yet to master the art of sincerity. Sakis and Anastasio are prone to having late night drinking sessions with the 'highrollers' until the very early hours, and a word of warning for single young women staying here, when the booze has kicked in, you may be the subject of some unwelcome advances and late night knocks on your door.

The fiance seems to be unaware of this particular activity.
Everything seems to be top dollar here, from the bar, the pool bar snacks and ice lollies at 2 euros. Even the exchange rate is the poorest in town.

We enjoyed the Greek BBQ night, at 15 euros a ticket plus drinks it was not cheap, but enjoyable. Wine is 15euros a bottle.

Would we stay here again? Yes we would, now we know what to expect as overall we enjoyed ourselves, and we met some really nice people.

We would want the same room because we would use our patio doors as our route, thus avoiding the reception and bar areas and all the questions and hassle.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompsons

Recommended
Sue/merv Hinkin
17 years 1 month ago
I have stated in a previous review that we would definitely go back to The Tropical,and this year we did. I was very dissapionted about the comments one of the "guests" has written. He probably has not even written under his own name. However, each to his own! I would like to state that we were among those sitting at the bar until closing time,and as Sakis and Vicky are engaged they do Share a room, at the hotel,and as such, Vicky will have known if her partner was knocking on other guests rooms. Sakis is kind and friendly to all his guests,and is very much in love with Vicky. I think the review has not been very fair to a young couple who are doing their best to make our holidays relaxing and fun.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Steve & Sue Murray
17 years 10 months ago
We visited the Tropical hotel for the second time this year, this time with a 14-strong party of family and friends to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

Once again the entire staff at the hotel made us all feel very special, and made extra efforts to ensure our 8-month old grandson was well looked after. Our very special thanks to our friends Sakis, Vicky, Vicky, and of course to our friend Maria who looked after us all in the bar (a great hostess)and who also helped sue prepare before and on the day as maid of honour.

Together they organised a very special renewal of our wedding vows at the town hall with a lovely buffet reception at the hotel afterwards and an evening meal at the Tropicana restaurant. A big thank you also to the lovely Mrs. Katsarou (Momma).

Once again we recommend the hotel and all the staff for their friendly hospitality, oh and when you visit, dont miss George, thanks George for being so friendly and great fun.

The hotel was clean and tidy and the cleaning staff are friendly, they did a great job bringing the hotel back to its best after the forest fire.

All in all, a great place to stay, and well worth another visit, we will be back !!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended
Sue & Merv Hinkin
18 years ago
We travelled to Hanioti from Bristol and arrived there just after a heavy thunderstorm. We had been to the Tropical before, but it was 10 years ago and so we were wondering if it would still have the same friendly atmosphere.

We were not at all disappionted. at soon as we said we had been there before and showed photos of our previous stay,we were greeted as friends.

Our room was located on the ground floor,but that was changed so we could stay on the same floor we had stayed before.

Sakis and his fiance Vicky have become good friends and we will be going back to see them again. Maria is a very good barmaid and her accent is something else. Greek with a touch of Mancunian!! But she has never been to England.
We had a wonderful time.

Thanks to all the staff.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Natalie And Danny
18 years ago
We came to the Tropical studios at the beginning of July 2006. It was our first time going away abroad together and we had the most amazing time. We had heard stories about Greek accommodation being really basic but it was fantastic!!! It had all been modernised and we were really impressed.

We discovered we were on the bottom floor facing the pool and we were wary of privacy when we first arrived but once we got to know everybody we just hopped over the wall to get to the pool!

The staff were excellent. Vicky and Sakis were always really friendly and Maria provided us with much entertainment and laughs at the bar! and we can't forget George! Always encouraging Danny to jump in the pool in the mornings!!

Fantastic week with fantastic people we would definitely come again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Steve & Sue Murray
18 years 2 months ago
We visited the Tropical Hotel again this year after enjoying our holiday there last year. We had the most terrific time, the weather was superb, and the hotel has been redecorated since last year and the staff there were even more friendly than before.

George the maintenance guy is good fun and keeps everyone entertained with his lovely sense of humour and big smile, and he keeps the pool very clean.

Sakis and his sister Vicky looked after us all week, and the other Vicky was always pleasant and friendly at the pool bar and in the hotel bar when she returned from the restaurant.

Our lovely friend Maria is great fun and keeps the hotel bar running til' late and always has a smile and a friendly greeting. We enjoyed the company and the entertainment at the hotel, and the food at the Tropical Restaurant was great as usual, and the staff there really made it a superb place to eat and always made us feel welcome.

Special thanks to Sakis and to Maria for helping us to organise accommodation and the renewal of our wedding vows on our 25th anniversary in Hanioti in September this year, we cant wait to see you all again soon.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Louise
18 years 10 months ago
We had a really nice time staying at the tropical studios. The rooms were clean but basic, the staff were lovely especially Maria and Sakis. The entertainment was loud bit expected as the brochure did state that this could be the case.

The staff made very effort to make you feel welcome and join in with the entertainment.

We would certainly stop here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Mr C J Wade
18 years 11 months ago
Upon entering the hotel I noticed that all the fire doors were held open by fire extinguishers and when we got into our room I looked and my wife, the disappointment was obvious.

It was not the fact the room was basic because that is all we wanted, however it was dirty and required some maintenance. The washroom had mould around the tiles. The stainless steel waste bin was rusty with dried urine and dust on the lid as was the toilet brush and holder. The washbasin was loose and the shower curtain was too small and had seen better days, the bedroom was dusty and one of the mattresses had a blood stain on it, but this was our honeymoon so with a tough upper lip we decided that we would brave it out as us Brits do.

Later when taking a shower the shower head fell striking my head, upon inspection I found that it was broken and had been wedged in with a piece of material, I was lucky not to have been blinded. We found a leak on the balcony from a tap located there, a 1 litre water bottle catching the drips which was overflowing which caused the tiled floor to become very slippy. However, the next day the hotel staff was kind enough to provide us with a 5 litre bottle which we only had to empty twice a day.

After a lovely day sightseeing we returned to our hotel room to settle down for the evening. It was 01:30 when we were woken by that famous Madonna No. 1 "Like a Virgin", Yes we also had karaoke to put up with this went on to 03:45. Most of the people who attended this function were not hotel guest but visitors from other hotels. The next day I spoke to reception they just passed a brochure and quoted word for word " Some apartments may be subject to noise from the bar", I pointed out we were in room 206 which was the room furthest away and pointed out the fact that all the fire doors was held open by fire extinguishers so the noise could be heard.
The response I got was very negative so I did not entertain that avenue again.

During our 14 night imprisonment there were six accessions when we were kept awake by noise these were 60's 70's 80's, Bingo, Quiz and the famous and popular Karaoke night. Plus one night when our neighbours were upset when they had their bag snatched. The hotel staff were not interested in the incident and told them to keep the noise down. This was the only time they bothered about noise or I suspect maybe they did not want the guest to be aware of the crime.

Speaking to other guest I found they were not happy. However to my knowledge only two of the guest complained of which only ours was official to the holiday rep.

When we were waiting to leave the comments book was passed around under close control of the reception staff, I could not understand why this was never passed to me, however I did notice that a number of guest did write positive comments although complaining about conditions earlier, being too British to complain and turning a blind eye, and so holiday guest suffering continues.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.