Image of Vicky Apartments

Vicky Apartments

9 of 16 hotels in Hanioti

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
2 stars
Hanioti, Χανιώτη, Hanioti 63085, Greece

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
McGill
We were not welcome
8 years 3 months ago
Room was spacious and clean, kitchen was basic, the shower was disgusting, the smell of rotten eggs every time you turned the shower on and the water did not drain away.

We were there during a heat wave, we had clean sheets once, when we requested fresh sheets and all hell broke loose, my daughter was verbally abused on her return to the hotel by one of the owners, my 6 year old grandson was distraught and ended up having to use his inhaler, another one of the owners was screaming and shouting at us, she accused us of making a mess at the table on the veranda, the little one had eaten some biscuits! They obviously do not like to clean any crumbs.

The pool is very small, the children’s pool is used constantly by adults therefore not allowing children in, not much space between sunbeds and edge of pool, there are a number of people who go every year, a little clique and it appeared our faces did not fit.

We did not eat at the hotel, we did not use any of the facilities, we chose to use the facilities at the Tropical hotel opposite, bigger pool and pool bar serving snacks, and spent a lot of time on the beach, so we were ignored by all the staff and the clique for the duration of our holiday.

No entertainment laid on at all, this was our 5th visit to Hanioti, 1st and last time at the Vicki apartments, we couldn't wait to get home and would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy, please be aware that unless you are prepared to spend all your hard earned euro's at this hotel you will not be made welcome.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Felicity
8 years 4 months ago
On arrival I had no idea what to expect having read previous reviews. I am very happy to say that as far as I was concerned they were all unfounded remarks. Our accomodation far exceeded our expectations. Rooms were spacious and clean, the kitchen facilities although basic were clean & sufficient having a 2 ring hob, kettle and toaster, plus a full size fridge with freezer compartment at the top, all of which were clean and in full working order. Pat, Mike, Leo and Audrey worked round the clock to make sure that our stay was comfortable. There was always someone at reception area to help no matter what time of day. Food was avaliable from the bar and it was always freshly prepared while you waited. It was delicious and extremely good value for money, as was the Mythos! As accomodation was self catering there was no daily entertainment programme, however, quizzes and bingo were held on a weekly basis which were fun. I would definately return here again for a holiday, it was our 3rd trip to Hanioti, but first time stay at the Vicky, we were definately not disappointed and will definately go back there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Nige & Lyn
9 years 1 month ago
The room , or basement cell was woefully unclean. The shower oozed slime when first operated and the kettle was so furred up it would not work. Our 'double' room had two pine single beds, which we were told to 'put together' for a double. We complained to deaf ears. We contected the 24 hour help line with the tour operator, who moved us. we could not believe that people acually return here! The room was dark and received no sun light at all. The windows were no more than 24" X 24" and did not open outwards. The elecic lights had to be used at all times of the day. The staff were unresponsive and dismissive if you dared to complain, as was the holiday rep! I would rather not ever have a holiday than to return to this shabby place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Cuddy
9 years 2 months ago
On arrival we were greted by the owner who took us straight to our room. This was good after a 2 hour coach journey we had no waiting around at check in. The room was a lot bigger than expected. We booked a studio but were in fact given a 1 bed room apartment. The rooms were basic but were spotless. The only down side was we were on a grond floor located directly under the bar.
We unfortunatly were staying at the same time as a family who obviously return year after year. It wasnt the staff who made us un-comfortable it was the guests. They would constantly stare at you from their balcony and rally round at 8am in the morning to ensure only they were around the pool with very few sunbeds. We had a small child in our party who was very eager everyday to use the pool. However the other guest made this impossible as 5 large ladies sat in the childrens pool all day and were not for moveing, not even to let a child in (The Childrens Pool!!!!!)! The main pool was far to deep for a young child and once a lilo was in there you were repeatedly bashed (by the adults). We did however find a pool in the accomodation 2 doors away and the staff there were more than happy for us to use this. Although this worked out well for us it was still frustrating that you pay all that money and cant use the facilities.
The bar could be very noisy at night. We would normally have joint in but the bar was full with the repeat guest so couldnt get a seat. One night we had to leave as the repeat guests started getting very roudy and actualy told one other guest that they were not welcome. Eastenders eat your heart out!!!

The resort was a short 10 mins walk along with the beach.
We couldnt find fault with the apartments and the staff were friendly. We would return but definatly not the same weeks!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Michael
9 years 2 months ago
The hotel was fantastic it was always clean, great food freshly prepared. The hotel staff are very very kind and helpful. After being to this hotel for 9 years i can't wait to go back, it is now like a second home.

I would strongly recommend the vicky to small famillies who like to relax. A great hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Rachel Ryder
10 years 3 months ago
I have just returned from 2 weeks staying at The Vicky Hotel. On arrival, the room smelt smoky and fusty and we had to buy air fresheners and rinse out our pillow cases immediately.

The bins were emptied daily and the room kept clean, however, the sheets and towels always had a fusty smell even when fresh.

As for the staff, I think they must have a personality transplant whilst we were there as we hardly had 2 words from them!! They wait for you to come home so it feels like your dad is waiting up for you and although we weren't particularly late home you could tell they were fed up waiting but we were on our holiday and don't keep to a timescale. We never got a goodbye when we left either. I certainly wouldn't visit this hotel again.

This didn't ruin our holiday though as we were able to rise above it and enjoy ourselves.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mrs Green
10 years 3 months ago
We travelled with some friends, we were a bit weary as we had read the reports (some good, some not so good) we contacted Thomson about the reports of mould in the bathroom, they assured us that they had not received any bad reports!!!!!!!!!!

Have to agree with other reports about the owners, if your face doesn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mr Hood
10 years 4 months ago
Had a great time, the owners are friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure that we had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday

The Vicky is a must for all of those who want a clean environment and a friendly atmosphere without the all night parties, a good choice for couples and families.

Will I visit Vicky Apartments again - most definitely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
M Sparke
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the VICKY for our honeymoon, the staff made us feel very welcome after a shaky start that was the fault of the tour operator. The staff were extremely friendly and the snack foods from the bar were all made as you ordered and were to a high standard.
The room was big, with ample space for our 17 month old son and his cot.
Our only criticism is that the kitchen area should be better equipped for cooking rather than just two small hot plates.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
J Ratcliffe
10 years 5 months ago
Having spent the last 20 summers on this type of holiday I have to say that our stay at the Vicky was one of the best experiences we have had anywhere. We loved the bar area with the sun terraces, great places for chatting to the other guests and downing a cold cold beer! Karaoke night was lovely, not too loud, quite a sing song really - but if you want discos etc there are plenty of bars nearby. The rooms are larger than most with a good sized balcony or downstairs patio area onto the garden with big patio doors and are cleaned daily. They are well equipped with a small cooker, plenty of cupboard space and a full sized fridge - very comfortable. I loved sitting listening to some exotic birds warbling away and watching the swallows swooping around the palm trees. The pool area was great fun and again very clean and the garden at the back was pretty and well kept. The four owners, Pat, Audrey, Mike and Leo were extremely hard working, friendly and helpful especially as my husband was confined to the hotel with an extremely bad back, they couldn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum