Image of Sunny View Hotel

Sunny View Hotel

26 of 30 hotels in Kardamena

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Kardamena, Iraklides 85300, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sue And Mick Beasley
9 years 5 months ago
I cannot fault this hotel The rooms are clean and tidy and are cleaned daily. The towels and bed linen are changed several times each week. The meals that are cooked by the owners wife are excellent, both English and Greek. The location is ideal because it is just far enough out of town for it to be nice and quiet. The beach is a short distance away. The staff at this hotel are always friendly and really go out of their way to help you in any way they can. There is a weekly BBQ with as much food as you can eat, together with free wine and a sing song. I will cwertainly visit again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL

Recommended
Suzie
9 years 5 months ago
I don't like to give negative comments, but feel it necessary to say that if you have children - do not bring them here. The 'childrens' pool and play area (play area consisting of three toys in a concrete / wasteland) was just off the side of the main busy road with no gates. It is a health hazard, extremely accident prone and I feel you would cry once you arrived because children's area is just there as a statement and is not functional and very dangerous. George and Katrina and Frances are very welcoming and friendly but only as long as they are trying to extract money from you. They are not geninue and have attitude problems and you are left with a bad taste in your mouth whilst speaking to them as they are so false. I would never ever return to this hotel. I found it basic (cell like), unclean, sheets and towels etc only changed if they like you (or are spending money behind the bar) and they have a lot to learn about hospitality. The genuine concerns for the visitors does not exist, they simply see you as a walking foreign currency !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Sarah Boulton
10 years 6 months ago
we were moved to this hotel from the kardamos after complaining about that one. it took 40 minutes to walk from the town past all the scruffy wasteland. george and his wife were very polite but the room was so basic like a bedsit! we have had many previous holidays and assumed this 1 would be quite similar! no kettle, no fridge, no hobs, no utensils not even a plate or cup! the continental breakfast at 4 euros consisted of a cheese roll and dilute! couldnt believe it. was 45 degrees so all you wanted was a cold drink, they charged 1euro50 for just water (50 cents in town). the drains were bad and every time you had a shower the bathroom flooded (smelt of sewage). He didn't have much choice in food though does do a nice bbq on a tuesday night for 12 euros. the swimming pool is nice was hardly any1 ever in there so felt like you was in your own villa. the towels and sheets were changed everyday ,needed to be as i had to mop bathroom floor with them everyday! george seemed to favour the people that spent more there!
air con is a must! so is a vehicle round there as nothing near you at all nice to drive through the mountains but we did the whole of kos island in 2 days on a 50cc scooter! a week here is definately long enough.
there is a nice bar in kardamena town called rok run by english that does excellent english breakfasts for 6 euros. there is a beach about 10 mins walk behind apartments but very stoney! Dont book your excursions through thomson either as they charge you double! book in town for less than half the price !
this holiday was what we made it but we wouldnt go back there and we wont be recommending it to our friends this is the place if you want a relaxing holiday by the pool and nothing else, we like activities to do and places to see not worth the price!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Leah
10 years 8 months ago
this Hotel is perfect great apmostphere . the staff couldn't do enough for us . the food was great even the bbq I do recommend this hotel to children and adults the rooms were clean . clean pool. can't fault the weather


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Claire
11 years 8 months ago
The staff were rude, the location was not great, the food was not to my liking, the plates were tiny needed three to fill you up. Breakfast was tea, juice and a roll, oh and if you dont go to their BBQ, you really will have a hard time not to mention looks to kill.

I do not recommend this hotel to any one looking to relax and enjoy themselves, believe me!!! I wish I had listened to others!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

12 years 4 months ago
We have been to Kardamena 15 times over the years.
This was our first stay at sunny view on our arrival the hotel was pleasant and clean, on entering our room which was basic we was very disappointed at the state of bed sheets and towels we would have considered them as dust sheets for decorating purposes the towels was dingy and stained whilst we was there these was only changed once a week which we thought was poor as thomsons had rated sunny view as a gold medal holiday.

We booked for two barbeques which we did enjoy, how ever at the start of our second week we were singled out by the owners son for not spending our money eating and drinking there, this caused a bad atmosphere for the rest of our stay and I must say this spoilt our holiday and as we were with friends it had a knock on effect to them.

We will not be staying there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Paul Davies
12 years 4 months ago
The bed sheets werent changed because we did not want to drink at their bar. Harassment constantly for us to stay at the hotel bar and tried to force 2 vegatarians to go to his barbecue.

Flies from the pig farm 120 yards away around the breakfast area. Never eat or drank in the bar as it was unhygenic.

We are both professional people and one person in the medical profession. Telephoned our bedroom while asleep to harass us both to go to the barbecue.

Then my partner was asked on the last day to 'do me a favour' as the reps from the thompson brochure were going to give them a bigger place in their brochure.. so 'put a good word in for us'. We were both furious. Dirty place and harassment. Building site next door.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

S WOOD
14 years 5 months ago
The hotel was almost superb with clean rooms.

Nice swimming pool, good bar, satellite TV, good food, an excellent barbeque once a week & in the main friendly staff.

I would still recommend this hotel to everyone but the only problem was the manager who told me off on my second day there for leaving the hotel to go to the beach. He said that he wanted me to stop at the hotel so that I could spent my money there, this created a bad atmosphere for the rest of the holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON'S

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum