Image of Sovereign Beach Hotel

Sovereign Beach Hotel

15 of 30 hotels in Kardamena

4 out of 5 from 40 reviews
Kardamena, Καρδάμαινα, 85302, Greece
The modern and spacious Sovereign Beach offers a high standard of accommodation in a peaceful and secluded area. The attentive staff, good range of facilities and close proximity to the beach make this hotel ideal for a relaxing family holiday.

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Maggs
11 years 2 months ago
Have stayed here many times before. But were very disapointed this time. Restuarant Manager had changed and this one was certainly not suitable for the job. Bar staff in general very good but again needed a good manager. Front Desk staff EXCELLENT as housekeeping. Probably will not return.

Yes it is an Italian place now, and we certainly felt it. Such a shame as it was a wondeful place and the location was great.

The beach used to be bigger but a local taverna now occupies some of the beach space, and coach parties turn up at least twice a week to "take over" the beach.
Sorry but the disapointment was there so no more Soveriegn Beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: N/a

Liz
12 years 1 month ago
Like many of the other people that have stayed here, we found it really annoying that you could only get two drinks at a time (including kids soft drinks) so there was constantly a queue at the bar. The staff were helpful. Food was ok (nothing spectacular!) but the smell in the ampitheatre was overpowering to say the least , but to be honest, after a few days you got used to it. Entertainment also was OK (nothing spectacular here either - sometimes a bit boring in fact) but after a few ouzos you could put up with it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
E Stephenson
12 years 2 months ago
Sovereign Beach Hotel in Kos is a very clean hotel and the staff are very helpful especially Nortis who is a credit to the company.

Entertainment team were very committed and there shows very clever, however I went to this hotel in 2005 and had the most amazing family holiday so my family booked to go back this year - what a change, it seems the hotel is now run by an Italian company (I just wish we had known this before booking). All the entertainment team were Italian and the night and day entertainment was in spoken Italian with the odd English word used once a few Brits had complained.

The food was good however they did cook fresh pasta every day,we would have preferred more Greek food, as the holiday felt like it was in Italy. I actually taught the children how to speak hello and thank you in Italian just so they could get by on a day to day basis.

Very disappointing and any Brits booking should be aware that its occupants and the language used is mainly Italian. Not what we expected for a Greek holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self booked

Recommended
Michelle
12 years 3 months ago
Situation of Hotel is not too bad. An easy 15-20 minutes walk into the town. Most of the staff are very friendly. The food is geared towards the Italians who seem to be the dominant nationality in the hotel. The food replinishment is totally inadequate and all hot meals are served luke warm. THe pool area is very clean and the layout of the grounds is pleasant. We found a very nice restaurant called Paradise where most of the all inclusive english seemd to eat both breakfast and dinner.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Dave
12 years 3 months ago
Just got back from Sovereign Beach hotel in Kos the hotel was very clean and tidy.

The hotel staff were verey friendly and helpful the entertainment is not for the English as most of nights entertament was in Italian.

The food was very nice but still favored the italians the entertament staff struggled to speak to the British holiday makers[well most of the the staff any way a couple of exceptions]even the childrens entertanment was in italian but the kids did try a join in .

Overall a very nice hotel in a lovly spot but unfortunatly not really for the British holiday maker
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: broadway

Recommended
Amanda
12 years 3 months ago
If your an Italian family with young children, you will love this hotel, but if your British forget it.
The all inclusive arm bands you recieve are a different colour from the Italians, which means, getting served last at the bar etc!
Generally the hotel would prefer it to be all Italian holidaymakers and 75% of the hotel is.

The food is basic, pizza, pasta, fish and a different meat..every lunch & every dinner.

I spoke to most British & everyone said the same.

The pool area is covered with ants..ants everywhere outside you could see them at night marching up the walls around the pool area!!

The rooms are ok, if you have two people, any more than 2 in a room and your on pull out camp beds. My 17yr old was not happy!! Saying that the staff, as with most foriegn hotels, do work hard.

Overall not happy with this hotel at all & no way is it a four star!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Dave
12 years 3 months ago
I'll be honest this place is no where near as good as last year. It was great 12 months ago but when I went back this year the food was greasy and cold and the same every night.

After a couple of nights we decided to go in to town to eat. You got the feeling if you was British you was not welcome. Ok if your Italian but thats about it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

N.davis
12 years 3 months ago
Very clean hotel.

Entertainment all in Italian.

Pasta every day no real choice of food anyone would of thought we were in Italy. We felt like second rate guests as the Italians were treated like royalty. Snacks were practically non existent you are ok if you like ice-cream all day and the odd dry roll.

This is not a holiday for British people it seems like you are not wanted but they are happy to take your money and treat you very badly. Never again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Roger White
13 years ago
Sovereign Beach Hotel Kardamena.Hotel was a 10/15 minute walk from the town along the beach road which was not busy with traffic at the time we stayed(Sept 05).There was a bus service from the hotel available at set times.All inclusive basis was satisfactory,but evening entertainment at the time was not very exciting!.
Food was good and plentiful but a little unimaginative.

Hotel grounds extended to the beach road which was immediately at the back of the beach.

We found the staff to be courteous,friendly and efficient.

The reason why we would not visit this hotel again was
because,having hired a car to look around the island,we found another resort which we preferred on the North Coast of the island at Mastichari where the beach was more suited to our tastes(we are not STRONG swimmers)and was more picturesque.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Star Leisure

Dave
13 years ago
The hotel was top class.

The staff were great and very helpful, but the two drinks at a time at the bar was a bit of a pain to be honest.

The food was great as well there was plenty to choose from so I did'nt get fed up of the same meal every day.

The balcony was very impressive as well. I'll be coming back next year without a doubt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum