Image of Amaryllis Aparthotel

Amaryllis Aparthotel

11 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars
Kalamaki Zante Greece
Traditionally Greek in style, these apartments, built to a high standard, are set in decorative grounds featuring a large open pool area. The fine sands of Kalamaki beach are a short walk away, with pedaloes and canoes available for hire.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    17
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lee
Clean with good facilities
7 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Amaryllis for 1 week self catering.

After reading some of the reviews I was a little concerned, especially by the fact we were so close to the airport. I have to say this is a fantastic hotel, it's clean and has good facilities.

The staff are some of the most friendly hotel staff we have ever met and could not do enough to help you.

The self catering was a little basic consisting of 2 rings and a kettle but the snacks around the pool were nice so we ate there.

Although you could hear the planes, there wasn't that many that bothered you. The location was great as it is situated at the far end of the resort, but was only a 5 minute walk to the bars and restuarants. The hotel had a nice pool area and was close to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Louise
8 years 2 months ago
This hotel was absolutely fantastic, i can safely say that it was the best holiday i have ever had.
When we got to the hotel we was greeted with a very friendly woman at the front desk, she spoke to us about our rooms and then gave us they key.
As soon as we stepped outside we had a full view of the pool and it was a very nice view. We were in block D which was quite near the pool so that was quite handy, It was quite a trek up to our room because we were on the top floor but we didn't mind, we just wanted to get inside.

Finally we reached our doors, me and my sister were in one room and my mum and dad was in the next. We opened the door and it was a surprise, it was so clean and tidy! The beds were made and the sheets folded at the bottom.

The rooms were very basic but very nice, there is a very loud sound of airplanes flying over head but it's more fascinating than annoying.
At night we made friends with the barman 'Panos' he was so friendly and gave us advice on restaurants. I could write lots but im not going to. Overall it was a fantastic holiday and i would definitely go back again, maybe October!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Smith
9 years 3 months ago
hated this place!!! i wont go into to much detail, but, reception staff were useless and unfriendly, room was dark and dingey,(crazy paving on floor!!), pool area crowded, not enough sunbeds and most of them are on ant infested grass, the whole place was constantly noisy, and the pool bar is no more than a snack kiosk that closes at 6 o'clock on the dot. the beer they sell is lowest quality at sky high prices. also, hotel is litterally at the end of the airport runway! we hated this place so much we moved accross the road to the Pelouzo Hotel (at our expense) after 3 nights.this is when our holiday began!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Teresa
10 years 1 month ago
Just back from our third time to Kalamaki (our first to these apartments). The apartments are a good size, they are clean and well maintained, although the paintwork, bedding and towels are very tired looking. We only ever expect to make our own breakfast while away so sadly we took a toaster with us, which we passed on at the end of our holiday. If you are intending to be full on self catering good luck!!!!. The Amarylis is in a good location for the beach and Restaurants, making for a relaxed holiday. The prices in the on site shop are ok, unfortunately the same can't be said of the snack bar, 2 euros 50 for a coffee and 1.80 for a soft drink (small pepsi, carton of ribena). There are signs up saying only drinks purchased from the snack bar can be drunk by the pool, my husband was asked to leave the pool area when he took a coffee from our apartment. Having stayed elsewhere in Kalamaki we know these prices are steep!!! While I accept that we are warned air con is payable locally, it was still a shock to get a bill for 150 euros in the first five minutes for the air con and safety deposit box. Book the aircon a week at a time, people we met were not turned off after the first week and were not billed at the end of their stay. We booked our trips with Pat along by the Oasis Bar, definitely much cheaper than those sold by the reps. We enjoyed eating at the Escape, Dias, Stanis and Michaelos, would we go back, yes but not for a couple of years
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Deb
10 years 2 months ago
This is a fantastic place to stay for families. We had not a single problem the whole week we stayed. No problems as descibed in one prev report. The pool is great, gardens are lovely, apartments are spacious and comfy. We didn't eat much from the pool bar, just the odd snack. The most exensive thing I saw was a can of Diet Coke, but at the time I really wanted a can of diet coke, so I paid the EUR2-10 asking price!! The mini market is reasonably priced, kids playgound is in good condition. All in all a perfect week in a lovely resort. we will definitely be back!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Peter
10 years 3 months ago
Unlike other reports I have read, our stay in the Amarylis was disaster. We had a two bedroom apartment on the ground floor. ( Room No. B4) The permanent smell in the apartment was dank like a derelict building. There were no obvious signs of damp or mould but the clothing we hung in the wardrobles become damp to touch and absorbed the smell. Even the excellent clean towels provided became damp to touch.

The worst thing was the matress in the double bedroom that had a smell of urine that wafted up if you turned over in bed. By the way, the matresses are very hard.

We killed three big black hard backed beatles on three different nights and millepedes climbed out of the drain in the shower. By the way, the shower attachment was broken and we understood from the rep on the coach when we arived that we were to expect that.

It was so bad we saw the First Choice rep and asked to be moved but this wasn't possible. We asked to go to a different resort and pay the difference but this couldn't be done either. Eventually I got onto the hotel's guest computer to find a flight back home. Found one with Monarch but couldn't finalise by printing off the E-ticket.
The First Choice rep now took a bit of interest and got us a flight returning to Bristol instead of Birmingham for
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

11 years 2 months ago
The apartments are kept wonderfully clean by the maids, our particular maid was very pleasant. Our room was cleaned six days a week bar Mondays, but they still empty your bins which is a good thing as toilet paper can not be flused done the loo (which is the same in most places in Greece I understand).

We did not eat in the hotel of an evening but had breakfast there most mornings and if we missed that had lunch. The menu choice was good and the food was basic but very nice, the staff and waitresses again were very nice.

The pool area was very clean and comfortable and very child friendly with inflatables and ball games allowed in the pool and also a small play area overlooked by the bar. There were no organised activities so if you like being left alone to get on with your own thing (we do) you'll love this hotel.

There were usually plenty of sunbeds with one parasol per two, but change over days got quite busy so you might want to escape to the beach on these days.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Ken
11 years 2 months ago
stayed at amarylis 07/07. rooms very clean .hotel food ok for snacks location not far from main strip but not noisey.some hotel staff ok. hotel not good for entertainment unless you like bingo but plenty going on around.been to hotel had fun but would probably try a more lively one.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Phil
11 years 2 months ago
First of all i would like to comment on First Choice! 4 weeks prior to our holiday to Zante i was checking on the Internet for delays and there was one 13.45 bearing in mind that the flight was supposed to be at 07.05 in the morning ( SUNDAY ) i phoned up East midlands Airport to find out why the delay was, i was told technical difficulties , Come round to our holiday 29/07/07 get to the airport at 05.00 in the morning to find out our flight to be delayed for 2 hours ( just my luck ) 2 hrs later it was delayed a further 2 hrs! i went to find out why the reason was technical difficulties! We was given
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Pippa
11 years 2 months ago
I first went to the Amaryllis when I was 15 years old with a friend and my parents, and had an absolutely brilliant holiday!!! I loved distance between the bars and the Amaryllis - just enough for a nice walk but not too close to hear noise! Me and my boyfriend returned in July - to be greeted by the same pleasantness of the hotel that I remembered.

The only problems I had with the hotel was the pool and the shower. I found that where the pool and baby pool was it caused some problems as people who were playing water polo and things in the main pool kept throwing the ball in the baby pool causing some tears, but this obviously cant be helped. Problem with the shower now call me a wuss, only how powerfull does a shower want to be!!! I felt sorry for people who had sunburn!

Other than that the Amaryllis is still as brilliant as I remember!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum