Image of Caretta Beach Hotel & Apartments

Caretta Beach Hotel & Apartments

8 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
4 stars
Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 29500, Greece

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
One of the best holidays we have had
7 years 2 months ago
Just arrived back from a fantastic holiday at the Carreta Beach Resort in Kalamaki.

I cannot praise this holiday enough, the waterpark is superb and excellent for the kids. There are enough sunbeds for everyone as there are around 7 pools in the complex.

The food is excellent and all the staff are friendly, especially the chef who takes time out to walk around and talk to you during dinner. The bar staff are also very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are cleaned daily and although not very big they are adequate for what we used them for.

The kids club was especially good, some days the kids went for 7 hours, which at times was a blessing as the sun reached a scorching 35C. It also helped when a teaching assistant my eldest had a couple of years ago at primary school worked there. That was a nice surprise for him.

We didn't see much of the entertainment as the kids wanted to play on the park at night, we could hear it and it was mainly singers. There was a bit of noise from the main bar at night but this stopped soon after 2330hrs.

The transfer time is only around 10 minutes from the airport. The hotel is located at the side of the runway, there is just one farmers field inbetween the waterpark and the runway but this doesn't cause any problems as there are no flights at night or early morning because of the turtles on the nearby beach. The kids loved watching the planes land and take off during the day.

All in this was one of the best holidays we have ever had and are seriously considering going back next year, especially as the price has come down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maxine Greaves
Never been made to feel so unwelcome!
7 years 10 months ago
Would never return to this hotel! The staff sit whispering about you and laughing behind your back the bar men were like ‘dogs on heat’ to anything female, any age, was a target then the next day they would all sit laughing about the guests.

Then there's and the girl on the till on nights was so rude and would hold your hand out for change and she would just shove it on the counter at you and walk off.

The rooms were filthy and the beds have severe case of bed mite and every morning would wake up with little tiny bits from the mattress so was glad to leave.
Within 2 days wanted to leave.

The entertainment is awful especially the blond women who forgot her words to lady gaga and started humming instead, what a joke! Then there's the male singer, he was rubbish sung out of his nose was so bad would never return if I was even paid to.

Made an official complaint to First Choice so others are warned about this place, trust me if you are considering going here please for your sakes don't really really bad here holiday from hell is putting it nicely!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
L Christensen
Very disappointed with the rooms
7 years 11 months ago
The hotel was kept very clean and tidy at all times. Food served around the bar area during the day was well presented but unfortunately took a very long time to arrive at your table.

The location of the hotel is ok. Thankfully the hotel run a free bus to the beach as it is a very long walk to Kalamaki Beach. The bar staff were always helpful and polite. Very occasionally taking a while to serve as it is quite difficult to see who needs serving as there are people who sit at the bar stools in the most prominent serving area which was a bit unfortunate.

The entertainment was the same night after night (someone singing!!). Greek night was very entertaining and the food was really good. The hotel is going all inclusive next year with its own water park, so this is not the type of thing my family enjoy so we won't be visiting this hotel again.

Unfortunately we were allocated a room that included an adjoining door to the next room (which was locked) which made for a very thin wall between us and our neighbours and we could hear everything going on between the two rooms.

We were disappointed with the rooms as we booked what was called a 1 bed apartment. This turned out to be one big room with a sliding door between us. We felt the brochure photographs did not show this in its true light.

Also, the kitchen had 1 socket to work the hotplate, microwave, kettle and toaster. Oops sorry 2 sockets if you include the one that is in the cupboard above your head!! In all we were disappointed with the hotel rooms, though the hotel itself is very well presented.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
7 years 11 months ago
Just returned from a weeks stay at the Caretta Beach and had an amazing time. The hotel is excellent, great location to both the airport and resort and has I think 7 pools in total which the kids loved. The main pool is very big with different sections for kids, volleyball and a main big pool. We didn't use this pool but there looked to be enough sunbeds etc to go round. We us the pool in J block which we were staying in which was quieter and the pool next to O'Rielly's which was great for the kids and for getting drinks and snacks.

The rooms are basic, not suitable really for cooking as its a portable cooker. But it does have a fridge which is very useful in the heat. You can purchase air con for the week and is needed. We thought they were perfect for our stay and couldn't have asked for anything else really.

The hotel itself is split into 4 areas/blocks. The main part is where the reception, supermarket,pool and large bar/dinning room is. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you, the food is good quality and on a par with the resort for prices if just slightly more. There are organised activities during the day and some entertainment on an evening. The kids club is very good and very well run.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sue Melloy
9 years ago
We have just returned from a week's stay at these apartments. We were on a self catering holiday with our family which included two grandchildren. The complex is kept exceptionally clean everywhere and the staff worked hard in that area. There is a good selection of food available from the bar near the main pool area. There is a very nice terrace to sit on overlooking the pool area. The children's pool is lovely and not too deep for little ones. All the pools were kept very clean during our stay. Plenty of sunbeds to be had and no mad rush to get towels out first thing in the morning. The studios (2-3 persons) were quite spacious and had three single beds in them. The bathroom had a full sized bath with a shower over. The complex had different entertainment every evening which went on until midnight. The Greek night was very good, not so the karaoke night. The complex is in a very good location, just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the resort. There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops stretching along the main road. Although the complex is not far from the airport, we were not disturbed by the planes, in fact it was quite nice to see the planes taking off and landing. Very quick transfer from the airport - less than ten minutes. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation, particularly to families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Kate
9 years 1 month ago
We have just returned from 2 weeks at Caretta Beach, and we wish we were still there now.
The complex was lovely, always clean and tidy. The pools and bars were continuously cleaned and we had maid service daily.
There is one main busy area, which consists of a horse shoe of apartments around 3 swimming pools, play area, shop, reception and bar. Then there are 2 separate quiet areas with 2 more pools, with a quiet bar, which is great for a change. They are also building another apartment block across the road with 2 more swimming pools and a bar which is not fully open yet (the building work did not affect us at all, it is just finishing paintwork etc I think).
The 6 person apartments were split on 2 levels. They were basic, but very clean with 2 balconies.
There was a small farm very nearby and you can hear cockerels and dogs through the night, which you do eventually get used to!
I think this is value for money however
I would imagine it would be very noisy in the peak season as it is a large complex.
We would definately return as it is a very welcoming environment.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Tracey
9 years 9 months ago
The hotel was spotless and the staff worked very hard constantly cleaning in very hot conditions. The rooms were spacious - having 2 balconies was a luxury to chill out and read for some "me" time. The food was lovely and all the staff around the bar area including the bar staff (Demetrius and George made happy hour fun!!)and the waiting on staff were really nice. The pool area was fantastic. I cannot fault the hotel at all. The hotel is near the airport but it didn't spoil the holiday, if anything it was a little fascinating to watch them land and take off (there wasn't too many and it didn't happen enough to disturb sleep). 10/10 all round.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kosmar

Recommended
Karen
10 years ago
The rooms were quite small, but cozy and had ample amenities. The rooms were cleaned daily as were the hotel grounds, however, the pools were not cleaned very well and thats why i rate a 3 .Hence 2 of our group caught the dredded tummy bug along with 11 other holiday makers the only common factor was the pool.
This did not spoil our holiday as the location was just perfect only 5 min walk to resort with a great choice for food and shopping.
I would recomend: Heavens kitchen and bon amechi.
The greek night is really good and we made some lovely friends here.
The staff are quite friendly, as long as you spend lots of money! air con is a must but only available in one room and only works whilst you are in the room it cost about 80 euros for 2 weeks.
The beach is a bit of a hike esp if its hot take a frozen water with you, but its worth your while. The turtle trip on the beach is great value and you are guarenteed to see a turtle.
This holiday is great for families my children are 10 and 13 and they both loved it, i would go back to this hotel outside peak season, beware in peak season it does attract a lot of groups of young people who party at lagana the new falaraki only 10 mins down road, so it can be a bit noisy till about 6.am but we were not fased by this. The hotel are not happy them selves at how many groups of young boys and girls tour opperators are sending and are trying to resolve this issue.
All in all a great holiday, great location, hotel basic but fine to rest your head, staff friendly enough. The staff in the nearby shops and pubs are just lovely and they truly made our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jules
10 years 1 month ago
caretta beach hotel fanastic, pools lovely 5 of them!!always spotless 2 kids pools excellant right next to kids play area. apartments can be small but have everything you need. food good can be slow,must go to free pizza nights family of 4 recieve 2 large pizzas free. defo recommend this complex if you have small kids not much for older ones
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panoroma

Recommended
Steve
10 years 8 months ago
The hotel was very clean but we suffered a lot of flies in the rooms. The cooking utilities were adequate. The location is very close to the airport but there wasn't much noise from there at all. There is a small shop at the hotel which sold the basics.
We were a fifteen minute walk from the beach which wasnt fantastic but, when the sun shines, was ok.
The staff were all polite & friendly but as it was near the end of season I think they were looking forward to a break.
We went Thursday to Thursday. We had two "barbeque nights" & one "Greek night". Because we had bad weather whilst over there (thunderstorms virtually non-stop from sunday night to tuesday with torrential rain), there was not enough entertainment at all & spent a lot of time bored in our room.
I would not visit this hotel again because there is not enough to keep a 10 year old interested when there is bad weather unless you like sitting in the bar all day pumping money into arcade machines!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum