Image of Exotica Hotel

Exotica Hotel

18 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
3 stars
Kalamaki 29100, Greece
This hotel is special because of its attractive setting with a lovely central terrace area around the pool and a variety of facilities for a great family holiday. While kids have fun and play games at the children's club, parents can enjoy a refreshments by the pool.

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kara
8 years 5 months ago
The hotel rooms were comfortable. We spent alot of time in the room as there was some pretty bad weather on a couple of our days. The rooms were very clean - the maids came everyday except on sunday (well they do come on a sunday but only to empty the bins). No complaints here with regards to cleanliness!

The hotel doesn't have a restraunt but that wasn't really an issue as there are so many places to eat on the main road. However, they do have a snack bar at the pool and the food there was really good (tasty and good portions!) - we ate there quite regularly. My boyfriend enjoyed the continental breakfast but I wasn't so keen hence the four stars. I thought the bread and cornflakes felt a bit stale, milk was warm etc.

The location was fantastic! Just 5 minutes walk from a beautiful beach. The water was lovely for swimming -not too cold! Also about a minutes walk from the main road where all the shops and places to eat where which was very handy. This is also where we got picked up from for he excursions. We walked twice to Laganas - once along the beach and another time along the main road. Only took 15-20 minutes or so (although it didn't even seem like that!)

Hotel staff were very friendly and polite - always saying good morning etc (and with smiles too). They always seemed to be doing something too - we saw the cleaners out all the time and maintenance guys doing stuff etc.

Entertainment wasn't really up to much to be honest. What was on was good but there wasn't very much. We were there for 2 weeks and on out first thursday there was a greek night and on the second thursday there was a signing duo. They also had a quiz every saturday at 3pm I think it was but we never went to it.

Overall we had a great holiday and really enjoyed staying at the exotica. We would definitely go back there to stay. The pool was great - bigger than most others in the resort (that we could see anyway).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
W Rutherford
8 years 7 months ago
The usual greek accomodation,basic but functional.The hotel was very clean and work was carried out to maintain the grounds etc.The maid service was every day with the exeption of sunday. The breakfasts were the usual fair of cereals and cheese or ham with juice and hot drinks. The pool side snack bar was reasonably priced and served snacks from salads to kebabs. The pool was the hub of all the activity's. A good sized pool with good access. Entertainment was on offer two nights a week and consisted of a greek night and vocal entertainment.A central location with access to lots of very good taverna's
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Gemma Belcher
9 years 4 months ago
Hotel location is great, ideal for high season, as close enought to resort to get there quickly, but far enough away not hear any noise.

I have read bad things about aircraft noise, this is not a major problem, to all those who moan, how else would you get there!!!!

Pool is clean, plenty of sunbeds, free mattresses for the sunbeds.

Kids clubs reps were really friendly, always think that about thomson reps, this is why we holiday with them year after year!

Hotel staff are pleasant enough, maintenence man was made to help on snack bar, he did not have a flaming clue!!!

Breakfast is basic, it fills a whole at the beginning of the day, if not, there is plenty of places around to fill your belly cheaply.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
JANE BYRNE
9 years 9 months ago
THIS HOTEL WAS GOOD
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
Mrs Scowcroft
10 years 7 months ago
Where should I start?

Well air conditioning leaked three times on my sons bed, nothing was done when I complained . Family from hell doing Greek dancing and moving furniture for a week at 1 in the morning till 5 am. Again nothing was done because it was a Greek family!

Breakfast you have to share with the ants, it was horrible.

Only good thing about this hotel was Kidszone. They were great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Wendy Richardson
10 years 7 months ago
The hotel is set around pleasant gardens and has pool bar and kids ply area. Rooms small for family but manageable. Needs desperately renovating, bit tatty but comfortable. Air conditioning worth the extra Euros but two of came home with bhronchitis which we think was caused by it. Breakfast was surprising good, greek style sausage or bacon on alternative mornings, scrambled egg, tomato and pepper mix, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, ham, toast which you had to make yourself, tea, coffee, orange or grapefruit juice, good variety. Ants everywhere in hotel but I think it was the same over the whole resort. Staff friendly, kids reps good, only gripe is that the hotel cancelled the greek night the week we were there and we didn't find out until 8pm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Janet Kevin
11 years 7 months ago
We have just returned from the hotel Exotica, we had a great time lots going on round the pool for the kids also for the big kids at heart.

The hotel is a very friendly place everyone mixing in this was one of are best holidays. A little out dated but maids keep the place very clean.

Only went to breakfast twice as we did not get up till after ten because of our late nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Becky
11 years 7 months ago
Just got back from one week at the Exotica. Would highly recommend paying the 36 euros (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Richard Cook
12 years 5 months ago
Rooms cleaned 6 out of 7 days.

Breakfast pleasantly surprising,expected continental,a few extras made all the difference,jam, baked beans, scrambled and boiled eggs, toast, cereals.

Hotel 10minutes stroll from beach and 2 minutes from town centre.

Staff were pleasant.

Cannot comment about entertainment as we went out every night however the children seemed to be well catered for as there were childrens clubs and they always seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Close to airport, only 5 minutes transfer. The flights stopped at night so we weren't disturbed .
It was quite entertaining watching them land and take off.

A great base for looking round Zante. If you hire a car you can probably do all the island in a couple of days.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Jones Family
12 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Exotica for 2 weeks and found the hotel brilliant. We stayed bed and breakfast where we found a fair selection for both children and adults.

Alex the groundman was very busy, constantly keeping the pool area and bar area clean. The food that you could purchase at the pool bar was pleasant and reasonably priced and you were served within five minutes.

The location we were in was brilliant, turn left out of the hotel ans walk up the street you will find a selection of bars, gift shops and restraunts to your delight.

Friendly hotel staff, maids cleaned your room right through.

Ryan the entertainer was absouloutly top class with entertainment to satisfy everybody. With mini discos for children and entertainment for adults after. the kidzone reps were brilliant, Rachel, Tom, Lorna, Lynne, Linda, Michaela.

I would definitely visit this hotel again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum