Image of Sirene Apartments

Sirene Apartments

23 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
2 stars
Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Situated on the outskirts of Kalamaki, it's a 20 minute walk to the centre where you will find plenty of caf├ęs, restaurants and shops. The white sand beach is 2km away.

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sue Upward
We will return
7 years 3 months ago
Have just returned from a FANTASTIC 2 weeks at the Sirene Apts.

We were pleasantly surprised after the dreadful reviews we had read. Greg and his family were wonderful.

The brochure said there was a snack bar on-site but that really didn't do it justice. The food was superb. It was on a par with Michaelos in my opinion.

Yes, it was a bit of a walk into the town but we knew that from the brochure. Anyone who goes to Greece knows that self catering accomodation is basic but clean. Our apt was cleaned every other day and our bed linen changed twice a week.

Any small problems we had were sorted out before we even had time to mention them to Greg.

We will return!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Nichola
Inadequate
8 years ago
Just returned from the Sirenne, been there for 2 weeks. The apartment was really inadequate for a family and you weren't able to make any food due to lack of utensils. The towels were changed every 3 days and sheets changed once in 2 weeks!

However, around the pool has a lovely atmosphere, the food served is lovely and reasonably priced.

The family are very friendly and have to say Arman can't do enough, I've never known a 17yr old work so hard! He really is a lovely lad and probably the best thing about this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
8 years 11 months ago
booked a 2 weeek stay..........room was tiny and very dirty...toilet bin only got emptied on request..no utensils for self catering...........cans had to be taken to bar to be opened as there was no can opener in room.....broken kettle........wife had to clean room properly......15 year old daughter had to sleep on a put up bed.that kept collapsing .so we removed the mattress....and she lay it on the floor and slept on it..all the sunbeds were taken as towels were left on them........family who worked there seemed ok but youngest son had trouble with maths....everything was dearer when he was serving....if attending greek night make sure your up first for food because some seem to have massive apetites.??????????.....been travelling abroad for 22 years this is by far and away the worst apts we have ever been to........
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas crook

Campbell
9 years 1 month ago
It upsets me to see the negative reviews about the sirene appartments. Yes, we too had to wait about half an hour to be shown to our rooms when we turned up and when we got there they were'nt the most modern rooms ive ever stayed in, but you really get fantastic value for money. We were there for 2 weeks and our room was cleaned at least ever second day in fact sometimes daily. The rooms themselves were basic, but bright, airy and spacious with a fantastic long balcony. The family that ran the place were very respectful, polite and willing to help at any time. The food served at the bar was equally as good as any restaurant food we were given during our stay. The pool wasn't huge, but great for escaping the heat, doing a few lengths and for the younger people, having a laugh. A taxi to the night life in laganas cost 7 euros, and considering that any taxi journey immediately starts at 6 euros to anywhere on the island we felt it was great value. Kalamaki town centre is easily reached in about 20 minutes, but I reccomend you take a bottle of water with you on the way. Over all the sirene appartments were unbelievable value for money, the other guests at the time felt so too. There was a great atmosphere, families with young children, young couples, old couples and groups of friends were all getting along which was solely down to the staff making it a thouroughly pleasant place to be.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Friends

Recommended
Sid Janet Megan
9 years 2 months ago
Basic but clean Greg and family could not do enough for the guests.The pool was cleaned every morning bar food prices i thought were very good as was the food. Do not miss the BBQ on saturday night at nine euros each halfprice for children great value for your money.The small on site supermarket will cater for most of your needs with quite a stock of english products.The towels were changed every other day the sheets were changed once i could not fault this has we only stayed for one week.If i had payed five star prices for this holiday i would not have been happy but i think we got value for money.Would we go again yes we would.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Manos

Recommended
Cath & Brian Taylor
9 years 10 months ago
My first concern was on arrival as there were three different parties arrived but our rooms were not ready! Now surely they should know when their guests are due? We were eventually taken to our room after a half hour wait. It was very spacious, but very basic but we did not pay a lot of money and I really was not expecting 5* accomodation. Did not like that we had to take the plug out from the fridge to use the small cooker to boil water for coffee, that took about 20 minutes ! Over the next few days all we kept hearing was complaints and people being moved to alternative accomodation. I personally did not think it was that bad, but after FOUR days of not having our sheets or towels changed I was a bit concerned! However I spoke to the Thomas Cook rep and he came back with two towels! Our sheets and towels were replaced the following day and that was us for the rest of our holiday! As we had two bedrooms I had used the sheets from the other beds, but really they should be changed more regular. It is not as if they were busy as most of the guests were moving out ! As for the location, I was aware when we booked the holiday that we were a 20 - 30 minute walk from the centre of Town, and had bought a torch for the journey home at night, however we started using taxis as the weather turned a bit wet! We ate a few times in the Hotel and could not complain on the food, and the prices were very reasonable, only 1 Euro for a glass of wine, and the Supermarket prices were reasonable too. Overall, apart from the room cleaning situation, I feel we got what we paid for. If you want 5* then you have to pay for it, however I would not go back and certainly would not recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Abbott
9 years 11 months ago
very basic but clean.run by a very pleasant family who
couldn't do enough for us.
food was very good,although we were self catering,and
the bar was a very good meeting place.
prices were very reasonable and the on site supermarket,ran by gregs'wife,was very good and
actually offered the best exchange rate that we seen
on the island.
greg,jimmy and their families were excellent hosts,and
lydio was adoreable.
hotel is about one mile outside the resort but taxis
are cheap.everyone we talked to thought the hotel was
great value for money,pool area was excellent and nobody suffered from rashes.
we had a brilliant holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Debbage
10 years ago
We had 5 2 bed apartments and they were very spacious, huge balconys and fantastic views of the pool and mountains. No problems with cockeral. Room cleaned every other day with clean towells and sheets. Food on site very good value and very tasty!
A little out of the resort but that was fine for us as did not want to be in busy centre.
Hotel staff were fantastic, good fun and would do anything for you.
Greek night for 9 euro's was fantastic value for money and great fun - food was lovely and lots of it.
I highly recommend this property, ok it is basic but that is what you expect in Greece, lovely and relaxing!!!!!!!Shop on site which was good value and sold most things.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: manos

Recommended
The Macs
10 years ago
I would not recommend the Sirene Apartments. We have just returned from a 2 week holiday there and were very disappointed with the standard. We have been to many Greek islands but this was the worse accom we have ever had. We would not class ourselves as fussy, and really see the accomodation as just a place to sleep, but the overall vibe was not good. We initially arrived just after lunchtime, expecting to get straight into our room and then into the pool (we had an hour flight delay on the way so thought everything would be ready), but when we got there we were greeted by the owner (not particulary welcoming, which is a shame - his older son, Armann, was very pleasant and helpful though) who said he could offer us a 3 bedroom apartment, but it needed cleaning...so we waited a hour and finally got in...Basic is an understatement! Self catering would have been a challenge - no kettle (if it's not in the brochure then you don't get one, said the rep), not enough cutlery or crockery for 6, hardly any hanging space in wardrobes as poles were missing & there were hardly any coat hangers, some of the drawers were broken too, really thin non existent pillows, our 4 year old daughter was on a rusty old falling apart camp bed, the pool looked in need of a really good clean throughout the 2 weeks and was taken over by older boisterous children, making it impossible to relax in or around the pool. There was a variety of music played around the pool, most of which was ok, but I didn't think blaring out gangster rap with very explicit lyrics was very appropriate for a family resort. The sun loungers all got claimed for the following day at about 4 o clock in the morning (probably by the people woken at that time by the dogs and cockerel!), so no chance of relaxing by the pool anyway! Luckily for us, we found some lovely pools in other hotels to use, namely the Rainbow (about a ten minute walk) and Antonis - further down on the road towards the beach. These had a lovely atmosphere and plenty of room. Kalamaki itself has lovely beaches and the sea is so warm and clear (and really safe for the children). There are also some lovely places to eat. Christos just along the road was so friendly and also Michaelos - very authentic and 'Greek' with really friendly waiters. It's a shame these sorts of places seemed few and far between. We originally visited Zante 11 years ago and it was a big shock going back to discover how commercialised and built up it had become. Maybe this is why all the locals seemed so fed up with us!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Manos

Lesley
10 years 1 month ago
After reading numerous negative reviews on these apartments we were more than a little nervous. On arrival at the accomodation our first impressions were good. Nice reception area with sofas and computer and games console access for the kids. Our room wasn't ready for around an hour after our arrival but it was lunchtime so we took advantage and sat at the bar and tried out the food and beer (which was great and cheap!).
We had a 2 bedroom apartment which, yes was very basic but it was clean with clean bedding and had one bedroom with a double bed and lots of wardrobe space and a second bedroom with two single beds. The kitchen area was basic with just a sink, fridge and a plug in two ring hob and a small table with 4 chairs. This wasn't a problem as we weren't planning on doing any cooking. We have stayed in lots of places that don't supply kettles so that was no problem either as we take our own.
The bathroom had a toilet, sink and a BATH (first time we've had that luxury on holiday!)with a hand held shower. (The drains aren't fantastic in Greece so when you pull the plug out of the bath a small amount of water does come up through the drain in the floor).
The balcony was great and went the length of both rooms and had two small tables and four chairs.
The pool area was cleaned every morning and I saw the pool being cleaned most mornings. We didn't really have any trouble getting a sunbed but I would expect in the high season that could be a problem. I certainly didn't see towels being left on them overnight!
In fact the only problem with our room was that it rained the first night we were there and there was a bit of a leak from the roof into the kids room. But they came and sorted it.
The staff at the Hotel were friendly and helpful. The bar will stay open as long as you want it to which didn't keep us awake even though our room was very close to it.
We weren't kept awake by the dogs or the cockerel either!
They have a BBQ and Greek dancing on a Saturday night which is great fun and only 10 euros per adult and half price for kids (although the kids get the same amount of food!)
There's also a small supermarket run by the hotel owners which is well stocked with everything you need and not overpriced.
The apartments are quite a distance from the centre of the resort and it takes 15-20 minutes to walk and around another 5-10 minutes to walk down to the beach.
It is a busy road and alot of the cars do speed along there but we walked it a few times and survived. You can get a taxi for 5 euros from the resort and the hotel staff are happy to arrange taxis for you too.
If you go out of the reception, turn right and walk around 100-220 yds down the road towards the centre there is a tiny place called Christoe's. The food is fantastic and not expensive (4 starters, 4 main meals and drinks for around 40 euros). It's run by a lovely Greek couple.
We would have no problems staying in this accomodation again, it was a cheap and cheerful holiday and we had a great time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum