Image of kalamaki beach hotel

kalamaki beach hotel

13 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

4 out of 5 from 6 reviews
2 stars
Zante, Kalamaki 29100, Greece

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 9 months ago
Stayed here for a week in may, booked last minute via expedia on net, flights with TC from Bristol.

Transfer 12euros by taxi.
The hotel has been given a makeover for the new season, previous blue outer paintwork now sandy coloured... the friendly receptionist was very proud telling us that new wardrobes had been fitted and that the outside bar had been refurbished.

Internally, there appear to be new bannisters to all the stairs.

Our room had a direct view over the gardens to the beach. Twin beds, wall mounted FST TV (which we never used)bathroom adequate (with shower curtain) spare pillows, bed linen in good order..fidge in (new) wardrobe can be rented (we didn't bother), safe deposit box for 2euros a day (we did bother), hair dryer free to use... unfortunately they dont have kettles to rent.

Didn't need to use the Aircon (again, rented by the day)

The hotel is directly under the flightpath of the airport if they're flying in from the south, or taking off that way, but this varies according to the prevailing winds etc. Wasn't bothered having planes overhead, quite exciting really!

Being low season we had maid service daily, they were friendly and did a good job.

Breakfast, continental, basic but again adequate, no complaints other than it finished a little early (0930).

Pool clean and surprisingly warm for the time of year.. Poolside bar/snack bar open till 1800 - no probs there.

Further on down the site is the hotel's beach bar and grill - great ice cold Mythos , burgers and salads - ate lunch there every day and breakfast (full English) on our last morning prior to early afternoon flight.

Directly in front of the hotel is their bar and telly area, pretty dead whilst we were there, but sure to liven up as the season gets going - again nrw railings and furniture in evidence.

Location : at the quieter (and IMHO) more up-market end of the town, an easy 10 min walk to the main strip

Would be very happy to stay there again.

Any Questions, PM me

Yammas! J.

All in all no problems with this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Expedia

Recommended
Tidmarsh
11 years 7 months ago
Hotel was rated as 4*, and probably is for Greece.

We stayed B&B, breakfast was pretty basic but OK.

Hotel was in good location easy reach of main bit but far enough to relax during the day. We had read reviews prior to going about how noisy the planes were...I can honestly say I hardly noticed them(they flew over 3-4 times a day and did not run at night!) Booked this last minute and went with girlfriend. Generally good value alround and all in all had a cracking week!

Hotel staff not in your face but were pleased to help at all times (I went in search of water at 4:30 one night...the porter gave me a bottle from a fridge).
Pool lovely, beach good and food (Greek salad, stuffed peppers rec.)in hotel's taverna on beach cheap and pretty good quality.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Mdean291
15 years 7 months ago
The only people that let this hotel down is JMC themselves!!!
We had a lovely time, beginning Oct 2001, hotel is situated on the beach front in the quiet area of Kalamaki, with Lagana 1.5 km away, and about 0.75km to Kalamaki center.
A must try is the Cave Bar in Kalamaki, and the Mermaid Restaurant in Kalamaki, menu, you ain't seen nothing like it.
Keep up the good work Zante you are friendly, polite and curtious to us brits, I definitely will be back!!!!!!

Travel operator: JMC

Mikebackhouse
15 years 8 months ago
(June 2002) Just returned from a weeks holiday. Found the room very basic but not out of tune with other budget hotels we have visited. The location to the beach was excellent.There was a taxi drivers strike the whole week we were there, which meant a perilous walk in the dark from Laganas to the hotel after a late night out.
The toilet leaked and the door handle fell off, this was repaired promptly.The pool was fine and suited us well (no children), plentiful supply of chairs and cushions.
Main gripe was the lack of ice available for use in the room, staff seemed very to give any out and when did minimal amounts were handed over.
Found that we visited the friendly bar in the Hotel Loundes opposite where the staff were extremely friendly and competant.They also dished up mean B52's and Omelettes......

Travel operator: JMC

Johnden
15 years 10 months ago
We stayed in this hotel July 2001: myself, partner, 18 month old son, grandparents, brother and sister-in-law and their 14 year old teenage daughter. Hotel room was basic, cot for baby was awful, small and rickety, but he did sleep in it. Had to pay extra for air conditioning, but it was worth it. We only had breakfast here and it was very good, buffet style. The pool was a nice size, although it was overun with locals quite often, which was very annoying as they were loud and obnoxious and obviously talking about all the girls and women! The children's pool was okay although had steep steps down into it and was constantly overtaken by a women lying on her lilo in their most days! The barmaid at the pool bar was very taken with our son, so often would keep an eye on him for us and give him ice cream and drinks, we'd often look up and she'd be cuddling him again. She was lovely, but she left later on in the summer. Also the receptionst spoke very good english and when our little boy got a bad throat she put us in touch with her own doctor and made an appointment with him there and then and got us a taxi to take us to him. She was very helpful, her name was Denise.


Travel operator: JMC

Foxie
16 years ago
Great location. The Taverna on the beach was nice and the food good. The rooms were very compact, and seem to think chucking in a few "camp-beds" make what was a small 2 bed room into 4 bed one !!! Family run hotel, exclusive to JMC, but the pool area was dominated by Greeks from the beach. We never felt very welcome which culminated in a "private" party one evening, where gun-shots were heard and the kids found the shells round the pool the next day !!!!!! The rep was rubbish and un-interested, as well as give poor advise on many issues !! don't book trips from them, locally organised ones were good and half the price. However, the location and weather made-up for all the negatives, how really great it could have been TAKE NOTE JMC

Travel operator: JMC

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum