Image of Cavo D'Oro Hotel & Apartments

Cavo D'Oro Hotel & Apartments

16 of 27 hotels in Kalamaki

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
3 stars
Kalamaki 29100, Greece
During the day you can lounge around the swimming pool, enjoying the sunshine and sipping drinks from the poolside bar. The hotel boasts an excellent restaurant and lively bar with an open-plan TV lounge so there's no need to wander too far.

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cheryl
8 years 10 months ago
I stayed at the Cavo Dora in August 2009, arrived in the middle of the night, and was taken by the night receptionist to our accommodation which was seemed miles with kids and baggage in tow, was pleasantly surprised in the morning to find that not that far from the pool and overlooked the back of the hotel onto a mountain. The pool was excellent and there was always plenty of sunbeds until our 2nd week when a party of about 15 arrived and got up at the crack of dawn placed there towels on the sunbeds and disapeared and came back late afternoon, so we went to the beach most of the time, which is a good 15 Mins Walk, The Thomas Cook rep was useless, and was more interested in the ladies, than sorting our any problems you had. Our appartment was not the best and more like a studio, than an appartment, the rooms were clean, not enough cupboard space, could do with Air con in both rooms, however there seemed to be a rodent problem when we were there, an mice were in peoples rooms who were on the ground floor, also when you woke in a morning there were droppings all over out balcony, so having to young kids, would not allow them out on the balcony. our maid was great and very helpful, guys in the pool bar were good too, and there was a good selection of food to eat. the roof garden is also excellent and the food superb, and could not do enough for you and made you feel very welcome. the one thing is to keep your room on for and extra 6 hours cost us 40 Euro, a tad pricey I thought.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Darren
8 years 10 months ago
arrived in middle of night so couldnt see much .when we got up next day we looked around and were pleastly surprised nice hotel nice pool area but apartment really not for four people as two twin beds pushed together and a sofa bed not my idea of an apartment for 4 .also there were mice everywhere downstairs and on the balconys it has to be the only place in greece i have ever stayed at and i have been traveling to greece for over twenty years that the hotel does not have cats hanging around as this would proberly have got rid of the mice or rats.there were droppings all over the balcony every morning .we did not use ours due to this problem.it is a pity as the place was fantastic at front of house it has everything you could want friendly staff a fantasdtic restaurant great with kids its called the roof garden i would go there again but never will i stay in the accommodation rodents are a big dangerous problem they carry leptosporosis which kills people let alone children so think twice when booking and ask if problem sorted . also if you stay in rooms on the right hand side looking from the front you will have to take a mask as they have a problem with the sewage it smells bad they said it was being sorted we will see.the rep was unless but most are he didnt want to be on the island but hey its your job .dont be put off by zante i have been before and will go again just avoid the cavo dora mice and all.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Lianne
9 years ago
we stayed at the cavo dora for 1week in june. when we arrived it didnt look like a holtel more like a bar, but once you went through the bar, you came to the gardens and pool area. the holtel staff were very friendly and carried my bag to the room on arrival. we were in studio 214 which overlooked the pool. maids came most days and changed towles ect. went bed and breakfast food was basic bread, chesse and ham. always space around the pool during the day. didnt stop at hotel on a night so cant comment on entertainment. it was in a great location 5mins walk to the beach and 5mins in the other direction was the main strip of bars and restrauants
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Dot And John
10 years ago
When we arrived I thought what have I booked myself into? I thought we were not going to like the hotel or Kalamaki. That changed after 2 days as it was so peaceful and a relaxing holiday.

Studio was too small but we know now to book 1 bedroom apartment. Staff at hotel were very pleasent and helpful especially the Canadian lady a very nice lady. More than I can say about rep who was not very helpful at all. Ellie in restaurant next to hotel was very pleasant, meals great. In fact eveyone one was lovely. No complaints about food. The only bad food I had was in an English bar.

Booking again for next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Julie Anne Loudon
10 years ago
stayed here over a year ago in a one bedroom apartment this was great,this time we had a studio i would never stay in a studio again too small.We only booked for one week after four days we had to ask for the towels to be changed the receptionist was not happy to change the towels. After five days we asked for the sheets to be changed, the receptionist Canadian lady told us that the sheets had been changed that day and the cleaning sheet had been signed by the cleaner to say so. Once again we informed her to come and look at the sheets in the end the holiday rep had to come and inspect the sheets.We eventually received new sheets and changed the beds ourself.We also had a problem with not having our room cleaned, for three days the bin in the bathroom was full to the top.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Rachael
10 years ago
Hotel very clean, maids came to room nearly every day...

Food satisfactory, hotel also has its own restaurant next door very handy!

Hotel in a fab location, very close to the beach, taxi rank and local bars and restaurants.

Hotel and staff absolutely fab, made the holiday the best ever! All very helpful.

Loved the area very much and would definantly return in the near future!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Maria
10 years 9 months ago
Cava dora was a friendly hotel, the staff were great and the food is of high standard and plenty of it.. Rooms were a bit small.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Katie
10 years 9 months ago
As I have read through many reports on this Hotel I too was dreading it!

On arrival we were checked in straight away my a Greek-Canadian lady - very helpful. Our room was 304 in block G5, we had 4 flights of stairs to carry our luggage up oh and a baby in a pushchair.

We had two rooms next to each other which was good.
The maids came 6 out of our 7 nights and changed the towels and linen every other day.

I absolutely loved the place, I am a believer in you get what you pay for and as I only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sott
10 years 10 months ago
studio apartment was too small. had to ask reception to take away the camp bed for my son as we had no room to move. book an apartment if possible. resort was nice but not much for children except beach and pool. the reason i would not visit again is that money was going missing from my safety deposit box which was in the reception of the hotel so we spent a day of our weeks holiday in the police station. would travel back to zante.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: manos

Scott
10 years 10 months ago
studio apartment was too small. had to ask reception to take away the camp bed for my son as we had no room to move. book an apartment if possible. resort was nice but not much for children except beach and pool. the reason i would not visit again is that money was going missing from my safety deposit box which was in the reception of the hotel so we spent a day of our weeks holiday in the police station. would travel back to zante.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: manos

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum