Image of Alexander The Great Hotel

Alexander The Great Hotel

21 of 36 hotels in Laganas

4 out of 5 from 33 reviews
3 stars
Laganas 29092, Greece

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ryan
Highly recommended
7 years 4 months ago
This hotel is highly recommended; its only 10 minutes from the strip and only 5 minutes from places you can go out and eat. Overall the hotel was very clean, there’s a mini-market inside where you can buy your papers etc, there’s also pool tables which are pretty cheap but don't use the toilets downstairs as they stink.

The food is decent at the bar but breakfast is basic and we only made it down once. The noise was pretty high as the bar is open till early hours of morning but you're better going out doing your own thing than sitting round the bar. Before we had went we had heard about the security guard wandering round with a bat but he seemed okay and we only bumped into him once with a bat and a stab proof vest and he just told everyone to get back to their rooms.

The only problem is the air conditioning is £45 a week, the fridge costs £15 a week but we managed to get it open and a safe costs £25 and you only get one room key so if you come home after your friends you need to get the manager to open the door for you.

Recommend pre drinking in bars like locals and relax as clubs are rip off for drinks. Captain morgans is the best place for food or Bon appetite, cave bar in Kalamaki is great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ryan
9 years 1 month ago
this hotel is perfect for a lads or girls holiday, perfect location, 5 mins from the strip an beach. the bar in the hotel plays good music until about 7 or 8am. the pool is good aswell u dont have 2 get up early 4 beds. there is always beds no matter what time u go down there. u can drink round the pool, u can do anythin u want really everybody laid back apart from the security guard. the food isnt the best but there is plenty of food close by. most of the staff sound. i would defo go back, were lookin it next year, the funniest time of my life. get there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mrs Barbara Anders
Total dump!
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Alexander hotel for 2 weeks & we agree with some of the other reviews, it’s the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We were bed/breakfast but couldn’t eat it as there were flies & wasps covering all food having their own feast, it was disgusting.

There were dogs in the hotel that were allowed to cock their legs up against anything & everything & poo everywhere.

Our friends shower curtain wasn’t long enough so there bathroom was flooded every time they used it. We ate at captain morgans, michaels & toad in the hole all were great eateries & very very clean.

We complained every day to rep ( young lad) who didn’t care &did nothing. I complained when we got home & after about 11 months & getting abta involved we got some money back so don’t anyone tell me we must have been in another hotel as all I can say is you can’t be very fussy about staying in a dump.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Melissa
10 years 3 months ago
This hotel was amazing in my eyes. It is in the perfect location (even for a person who loves noise and socialising 24/7) as it was close enough to walk to and from the strip and the beach but then far enough from the noise.

The bar staff in the hotel were amazing, you can always have a laugh with them, however, when you're returning in the early hours of the morning, be careful of the security guard as sometimes he tends to wander around with a baseball bat.

No complaints about noise levels as i wasn't expecting silence at night but the walls are quiet thin.

We went bed and breakfast but only had it on a few occasions as it was so basic. There were eggs, a toaster and bread, select fruits and then cake. It's pretty good for what we paid for anyway!!

I would definately reccommend and group of friends to go to this hotel, and i will definately be staying at the alexander if i return to zante (highly likely)

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Amy
10 years 11 months ago
I thought this hotel was in fantastic location, it wasnt the best presented but it was perfect fr what we paid.

It was basic but what do you expect or a two star??? staff were Fantastic loved them, made me want to go back to the hotel after tea time. we were self catering, but the staff gave us all a free buffet night because the wetaher had been so terrible.

All we had to pay for was drinks! It as fab! pool was huge. and the only complaint i had was the weather but that isnt the hotels fault. Loved it and im booking again for this year. don't doubt this htel one little bit, its just fab, basic and clean. Loved it. Definitely boking again!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunset

Recommended
Hayley
11 years 2 months ago
I have not actually visited the Alexander studios, my reason to which I will explain, however this is a WARNING to any one wishing to book a holiday to the Alexander apartments.

Last week (approximately 4 weeks before our holiday to the Alexander studios was due to begin) we received a letter informing us that we had been moved to a hotel in Kalamaki as the hotel had over booked!! Obviously you can understand we were not happy about this as it was a family resort and approx 30 minutes away from Laganas

Travel operator: Sunset

Stephanie
12 years 1 month ago
When arriving at Alexander Apartments we were very pleased with the standard of our room. On the whole it was very clean an spacious. However there was a problem with our lock on the door but there was a hotel handyman to quickly sort that out for us! Rooms were cleaned everyday, including bedsheets changed and fresh towels. Not bad!

There were 3 pools to choose from however we tended to stick to the main one which played decent music an was very large.We never had problems with sunloungers, there was always enough to go round an also with there being 6 of us we always managed to sit together.

The food an drinks prices were reasonable an a happy hour is available between 8pm an 9pm in which all drinks are cheaper. On a night there was a disco in the bar in which the music was very good an it was always good to have a drink before you went out and when you came in! The Bar Didnt shut till 7am.

The staff were very friendly an you always mentioned to have a laugh with the barmen, especially one who we nicknamed dave!

Hotel very close to the main strip an beach, however the beach isnt too nice! There is a free bus though to st.nicholas's beach everyday apart from sundays. (This beach is gorgeous!)

Nightclubs were fantastic, however best to drink elsewhere as they are very expensive! Would strongly recommend Zero's an rescue!

On the whole a fantastic holiday!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
Leanne Vajai
13 years 1 month ago
Before staying in this hotel last August, I was dreading the idea of going to Greece after alot of bad reports. However, it was one of the best holidays me n my mates have had!

The hotel IS basic but has air-conditioning throughout, a little shop indoors to buy papers, snacks, cameras, sun creams & aftersun and souvenirs e.t.c. It has games rooms.

The bar is open while 7am so there's always a drink available and music playing, (however they do turn the music down after 1, so it's not too loud!). There's a room to the back of the pub where you can leave all your luggage and sit comfortably on leather sofas whilst your waiting to depart home. There is a pool bar which does everything you can think of, there's a pool entertainer who plays games like 'water polo' and darts e.t.c with guests to encourage getting out of the sun in hottest times of the day.

This hotel is pretty basic but I never had complaints of it being un-clean at all!

Location is fantastic, as it's just around the corner to main strip and side street shops.

There's a laundrette on the way to the beach which is cheap and very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Tina Bell
13 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Alexander hotel for the first time this year and I guarantee it will not be the last. The entertainment was great and most of all the staff made our holiday, they were hilariously funny, extremely friendly and would do anything for you and made you feel right at home, so much that I didnt want to leave.

The staff who were the loveliest were Vangelis, Polis and Timi, they were never in a bad mood and always had you in stitches of laughter.

The food at the hotel was also delicious and they were serving from early in the morning until the evening and was always of a high standard.

The location was perfect, it was ten minutes away from the beach and about five minutes away from the restaurants bars and clubs and was just a bus ride away from Zante town.

I loved every minute in the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Munro
13 years 2 months ago
We went on our summer holidays on 24th July 2005 for what we thought would be a relaxing holiday in the sun we stayed at the ALEXANDER HOTEL on a bed and breakfast basis.

The hotel was a sheer and utter disgrace I wouldn't have let a dog live in there let alone eat in there.

The staff didn't care about the holiday makers all they were interested in was MONEY MONEY MONEY.

The swimming pools were disgusting the steps leading down into the pools were broken, covered in lime scale, slime, it was absolutely disgusting.

The reps were never available they were a useless waste of space. Sunset reps need adequate training before been given the jobs ion the first place.

The hotel wasn't even a 1 star and talk about filthy I wouldn't have given it a 1 star rating the food was disgusting.

The hotel staff were shocking and the evening entertainment was shocking the disco and barbecue were rubbish and the fakia show was not worth one pence of your money.

I would never ever visit this hotel ever again and would advise people especially couples and families to think before they booked up to stay at the ALEXANDER HOTEL
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum