Image of Oscar Hotel & Apartments

Oscar Hotel & Apartments

6 of 36 hotels in Laganas

5 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Laganas 29092, Greece
A favourite with Direct Holidays guests for many years, the Oscar Apartments offer high standards of comfort and are the ideal place for a family holiday in Zante. While our Dolphin & Crew clubs entertain the kids, you can relax on the expansive sun terrace.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Michelle And Chris
7 years 11 months ago
Beautiful hotel. Rooms are basic but hey this is Greece, But they are spotlessly clean. The walk to the strip took about 20 mins but we didnt care really it was a nice walk and with a baby in tow we were not bothered about going to the town anyway. The beach again was 20 mins away but the hotel puts a free bus on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Harveys
8 years 10 months ago
just back from the oscar again and we will never be back, direct holidays and airtours are selling this on to young and lively, we had no entertainment for our kids or us, everything is aimed at the young. Arnie and Demitri have left as well, which was a let down as they really made our holiday the last time. Please stay away if you are a family booking as you will be very let down.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
Elle
8 years 11 months ago
dont stay here , dont take your kids .this is not family like advertised . it was over run by at least 50 plus groups of lads and lasses swearing , smashing glasses around the pool , getting naked it was horrendous , we go no sleep at all it was so noisy all night and morning i will never go again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Dave
9 years 8 months ago
just come back from hotel oscar today(09/10/08)having stayed for two weeks,with my partner, two children aged 13 and 3,and two grandparents.had to write this review as what a superb base this is.the hotel is spotless,rooms cleaned 6 days a week,great pool area with childrens section,lilos and childrens inflateables and balls provided at no cost,lovely pool bar at very reasonable prices,open til around 9 at night,great bar open til around 2 in the morning once pool bar closes with pool table,playstation 3,xbox,table football and various other games,and great entertainment provided by arnie who is absolutely brilliant.he also does entertainment during day for both adults and chidren and is a smashing bloke.all the staff are really friendly and helpful and a credit to themselves.the location is about twenty minutes walk to the beach but the hotel provide a free bus 4 times daily to take you and pick you up if you dont fancy walking.six of us went on this holiday consisting of 3 generations and all of us had a brilliant holiday.if you are planning on going to laganas stay at this hotel,you will not be disappointed.will definately go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
Airport

Interesting! Thankfully ours was the only flight arriving at the time as the airport is very small and resembles an empty shed! Anyway, it was quick and painless.

Transfer

Literally only 10 mins to Laganas however we were the last stop and we were on the bus for an hour - nice coach with air con. Journey was interesting racing along single streets lined with cars and vans!

Accommodation

Reception at the Oscar was great, checked in no problem and shown to room.
The room was basic - no good for "self catering" if you are planning on cooking. There was one electric (plug in) ring, a few pots and pans however on the plus side there was a kettle and a toaster which were all we required as we ate out every night. Fridge with small freezer section was fine and all that is required.
Bathroom was fine, small bath/shower (typical greek island style half bath) toilet and wash basin with enough room to keep all cosmetics etc around about and nice large mirror with acceptable light for ladies wishing to apply makeup! Also a hairdryer next to mirror which although not very powerful is certainly useable.
Bedroom had 2 single beds, wardrobe, dressing table with mirror and 2 bedside cabinets. TV mounted on wall opposite beds and under the table and chairs (which we never used as there wasn't really enough room)
Balcony lovely with small table and chairs. We were overlooking the pool and facing the cocktail bar - room 305.

Pool & Bar

The pool is lovley, nice sunbeds surrounding it and nice little kids pool which is safe. Jaccuzzi (cold) which is on for apporx 2hrs a day and is lovely on tired feet, pool shallow half way then slopes to approx 8ft. Pool is cold til about 2pm but is lovely and refreshing and as long as you jump in there's no problem, beautiful to swim in and cool off.
Pool bar was great for drinks and snacks, loads of ice creams and nice breakfast/toasties and pizzas. Don't venture for the main meals, most are frozen and reheated but acceptable.
Coctail bar is ok, we never actually ventured in however the noise from Karaoke which for some reason started at midnight???? and finished at 2am was quite bad if you had balcony door open. I took ear plugs and it never bothered me but my boyfriend struggled to sleep before 2am every morning. Remember though that you are 2hrs ahead of UK so it's only midnight really. We didn't find the noise too much of a problem and certainly wouldn't let it put us off returning.

Location

Unfortunately the Oscar is quite a way from the beach and main stretch of bars/restaurants. Take sitable shoes to walk in, I wore flipflops the first night and had very sore feet and wouldn't risk it in high heels as there isn't a pavement all the way and as I said it is a long walk (25 mins to town centre and 35mins to beach). The hotel does run a free bus four times a day, the last one being 2.45 ish so no good for night time. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which is 1 euro 10 cents into town and taxis are 6 euros.
There are a couple of bars and restaurants near the hotel but they are limited. The best we found was the Paradise which is about 5-10mins walk and nice but also slighty more expensive than places in town.

General

The mosquitoes were terrible, I got eaten alive, also watch out for the ants!!! Take plenty of insect repellent and afterbite.
Overall I wouldn't go back to Laganas but don't let that put you off, I just prefer the Canary Islands. I hope I've given enough info, feel free to ask any questions!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays Travel

Andrea & Alan
10 years 9 months ago
The Oscar is one of the nicest hotel/apps I have stayed at. The rooms are very clean and the pool area is cleaned thoroughly every night and morning. My only complaint was that our pillows were too hard.
We were self catering and although we had all of the cooking utensils that are needed, there was only one ring on the cooker and no microwave. Anyway, I didn't go there to cook and we sampled some good and some bad restaurants during our stay. Bad places we found were the Kalmaki, which is the first place you come to as you walk down the road. Calamari was undercooked and the scampi was awful. Most places make your meals look nice by adding a bit of cucumber or some rice but all you get here is McDonalds type chips with everything. I also had a mouldy cheesecake on our last night which was a shame as the staff are really nice and friendly. Other people we spoke to at the hotel all enjoyed their meals there so perhaps we were just unlucky. Good places are the Koralli on the beach front, the food takes ages to arrive but it's worth the wait. The Horizon, also on the beach front do terrific kids meals and swordfish was very good. The Grill Bar on your way down the street looks a bit grubby but we couldn't be bothered to walk any further so we ate there one night and the food was excellent. Carbanara, pizza, tomato soup, mousakka were all very nice, so were the staff.
The location of the Oscar was just a little out of the way but we would have hated being any closer to the town centre as it is noisy and busy well into the small hours. Entertainment at Oscar was very good. Arnie talks to everyone and makes you feel welcome. The kids all had a fantastic time and the kids club gives you a bit of peace for an hour or so every other day. We met some fab people from Manchester (and forgot to get their email addresses!)A must is the two hour boat trip to see the turtles, you can book on the beachfront for about 15euros each but haggle and you can get the kids a bit cheaper. I have already recommended this place to my family and I would go again at the drop of a hat.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Tricia Low
10 years 10 months ago
Had a great holiday at the Oscar Apartments. They were a bit further out of the main area of Laganas than we would have liked and we had to get a taxi most evenings but mainly due to the heat. Staff were great. Dimitri, behind the bar at night,was brilliant with adults and kids and Arnie who did the entertainent was great. He made everyone feel welcome. Rooms were spotless and cleane 6 days. Would go back there in a minute.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
What a great little group of apartments the Oscar is, the rooms were kept spotless.

The staff were very helpful and the entertainment provided by Arnie was excellent, so good infact that I felt guilty throwing him in the pool on our last night! If we ever go back to Laganas we will certainly stay at the Oscar.

The only draw back is its location, 2.5km from the beach, but they do provide a courtesy bus 4 times a day,and if you walk it makes an excellent opportunity to try out the many bars on route! There are plenty of great bars and restaurants within easy walking distance, but one to avoid is the Paradise, with its discourtious staff and its expensive cold food.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Woody
10 years 11 months ago
The Oscar hotel is a fantastic place to stay.

I would reccomend it to anyone unless your from Widness.
The staff were terriffic, the entertainer Arny is the funniest man you will ever meet and Dimitri the barman is a great fella.

The only thing that let the Oscar down was some of the guests but dont hold that against the Oscar as they cant pick who stays there but im sure if they could the moaners from Widness that stay every year wouldn't be allowed.

The location is about 2.5 km which is a nice stroll if your legs are in good shape but if your legs arent in the best condition then theres the local bus or a taxi which costs 6 euro to anywere in Laganas.

The best thing about Laganas is the turtles while your there makesure you hire a pedalo or a boat and get out there to sea to try and spot them.

As for somewere to eat theres plenty of nice resterauntrs theres to many to name, but stay away from The Paradise which is not far from the Oscar, only go to Paradise if you like cold food and garlic bread on burger buns with chesse slices and the staff arent the friendliest to say the least.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Colin Woni
10 years 11 months ago
The Oscar is a wonderfull place to stay I would definitely recomend the place to most people, the hotel for normal people is great but im visually impared and found that the hotel didnt really cater for me.

Also a few guests were quite rude which didnt make me to happy they come out with sly coments like I had 'one eye in jail and the other on bail' and 'one eye in brighton and one eye in huyton' just to name a few other than them few the rest of the guests were great, but I suppose its not Oscar hotels fault that there were some rude guests.

Even Arny the entertainer was a great help, he invited me to join in his games like volleyball in the pool, dodge ball are just a few of the games he plays of a day and then of a night we would have a quiz or bingo and even some times eye spy for the kids I enjoyed them games with Arny.

The distance isnt great 2.5 km to the beach but its only a bus ride away. The beach is lovely I really ejoyed myself down there I even saw a turtle once.

There are lots of restaurants to go to but try to avoid the paradise it isnt the nicest place ive ever had to eat especially for the price of the food it was the most expensive of my holiday and it was certaianly the worst.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum