Image of Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel

Barcelo Tucancun Beach Hotel

9 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Kukulkan 24 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carl Bettis
You get what you pay for - overall good
5 years 3 months ago
A cheaper hotel in need of some internal decoration or update. Facilities were very good, pools great and quiet, rooms small but very clean and mini bar stocked every day. The food some complained was repetitive. I thought it was the best All inclusive I have had, good choices of meat, salad, bread and some Mexican. Overall very good experience for a lower cost hotel. Oh and the beer is corona so good, wine in bad!

The beach was lovely and you can walk for miles. The only thing is the sea is very rough, red flag most days, great for wave jumping but not for children.

The hotel is located just over the road from a shopping centre which is worth a look but there is a bigger one a mile down the road with lots of shops, bars, Starbucks, McDonalds etc.

Don’t pay to use hotel internet Starbucks or the shopping centre one is free. There is an info machine in the shopping centre where you get the Wi-Fi code.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
The food - the food was lovely. There were 4 different restaurants and at night in the lounge bar there was a little buffet. Every night there was different food based on different countries. The fruit was gorgeous and fresh. In the mornings if you asked for an omlette they would cook it right in front of you it was amazing to watch, they cooked it in 2 minutes.
The entertainment - in the daytime at pool 3 there was an animation team. They played different games for the ages 12 to 112 there was bingo, water polo, basketball, volleyball quizzes etc. At night there was a different show every night. There was also a kids club that I loved and I am 10.
The staff - the staff were very nice at every bar and the reception.
The location - we were across the road from a posh shopping mall which was closed 1 night so that Paris Hilton could do her shopping. There was another shopping mall that was a 10 - 15 minutes walk.
Cleanliness - the bed sheets were cleaned every day and the towels. You also get tubs of shower gel , conditioner and shampoo included.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
John Fergus
9 years 9 months ago
it doesn't matter what you pay for this holiday it will be worth every penny you paid,if you want you can eat and drink 24 hours a day food variety superb 4 different restaraunts all of good quality,rooms kept spotless,fridge contents 1st class even got a ice machine outside room,staff very friendly and nothing is a problem for.all in all from the moment we arrived to the time we left it was a great holiday and we coudn't fault anything,it says 3 star on reviews but would definately put it as a 4star plus,would definately recommend hotel and hope one day to be back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
MarkJ HT Mod
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Barcelo Tucancun Beach resort in Cancun, Mexico for seven nights during September 2007. Situated centrally in the hotel zone of Cancun, other attractions are nearby. Check in was speedy and we were shown to our room immediately after been given the All Inclusive bracelet and the room- and towel keys. The room was tastefully decorated with ample room for personal belongings. The bathroom did have a shower only. In the room, a safe (extra charge out with the All Inclusive package), minibar (included in the package), iron and ironing board and full entertainment system was provided. The balcony provided sun in the afternoon to dry any laundry on the drying rack provided. Within the hotel, two buffet restaurants and two a-la-carte restaurants were provided as a choice for the dining arrangements. In addition, snacks were provided on a regular basis. A total of 4 bars ensured drinking pleasure from 10AM until 2AM. A choice of three pools with more than sufficient sun loungers as well as the narrow beach provided a change of scenery when worshipping the sun. The staff were efficient and very friendly. The entertainment team works hard all day and night to provide entertainment for their clients. Pool- and other games during the day were complimented by a nightly show in the air-conditioned theatre. All communal areas were spotlessly clean. All the food was of very good quality, with the Mexican a-la-carte restaurant very well recommended. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for anybody wishing to visit Cancun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
This hotel was pure heaven after transferring from the Caribbean Princess. The staff at the Tucancun Hotel were so friendly and helpful, they really made the stay so enjoyable. The barman on the lower pool bar was very fast with serving people, he really gets to know everyone and has a good memory for what you drink. The food variety was fantastic, so much to eat, good quality and value for money. Four very lovely restaurants with a good choice of food. Lunchtimes were great, burgers freshly cooked for you while you wait! When we first arrived on the 29th August we were put in a ground floor room with not much of a view and the bathroom kept flooding with the shower, so management moved us straight away to a room in the north tower, 6th floor overlooking the sea! They were very helpful with move from one end of the hotel to the other, the Bell Boy moved our cases for us without us needing to ask. He was tipped very generously for his hard work with lifting our cases! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone wanting a relaxing luxury hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kerry And Colin
10 years 8 months ago
we loved staying at this hotel and as it was our 1st time in mexico it made it that extra bit special! the hotel was absolutely beautiful didnt really expect it to be lke that the food was lovely too with a wide selection to eat and you can get anythin here from wat you would get at home from pastas,lasagne,burgers,chips,pizza,potatoes,rice,
anything really. the staff wer so friendly too and also gave you a smile on the way bye.
i would definetly go back!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
The hotel consisted of 3 towers South, central and north.We stayed in the north tower which had a balcony with a beautiful view of the sea.

The hotel was imaccuatley cleaned and well maintained every night and early morning staff were out making sure all was present and correct.

The rooms had 2 double beds , shower with wc and also air conditioning and a Tv. The rooms were cleaned every day by very friendly hard working maids.

There were 3 restaurants Mexican ,Italian and a Main one, all the food was very good and you had plenty of choice from all, even if you are picky.

The hotel was on the beach it had 3 swimming pools 1 had a swim up bar there was also bars near to the other pools.There was also a towel service and a massage service.A snack Bar was also located near to one of the pools.

There were Entertainment staff who worked from early morning to late at night.

There was also a lobby bar indoors which had Tv so you didnt miss any footy and also there was a gym near the pools.The beach was absolutely fantastic and the sea so clear.

All the staff where Friendly and very hard working and would go out of their way to help you, they didnt do it just for a tip they were always smiling and nothing was to much trouble for them.

We had a fantastic holiday our best ever and cant wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Debbie & Richard
12 years 8 months ago
The hotel is right on the beach, which is absolutely beautiful. The best beach I've ever been on, with cool, soft white sand, and a warm, clear sea.

The swimming pools are fab, 3 of them, one with a swim up bar, one had sunloungers in the water which were great for cooling off on without having to actually swim!

The food was OK, a bit repetitive, especially for the vegetarian we went with. The Mexican restaurant was lovely though, steaks cooked to order.

The rooms were really well decorated, and a decent size. Air Con is a must in Mexico, it gets really humid. The entertainment team were really full on, but would happily take you with them on their nights off to the local nightclubs. They know the staff at the clubs and got us in VIP.

Whilst at the hotel we had photographs taken of us with a monkey, a snake, and there were parrots and a lizard being taken around too. You can then buy the photo's for about $5.

A great trip to go on is where you drive a speedboat out through the lagoon (watch out for crocs!) into the caribbean sea, and then snorkel with the Huge but amazing fish.

A great hotel, definately worth staying at.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum