Image of Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel

Barcelo Costa Cancun Hotel

21 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
4 stars
Boulevard Kukulcan km. 4.5, | Lote D7 5 Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sarah
9 years 2 months ago
I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks! I went with just me and my friend! the staff arelovely and are willing to help all the time! i really do recommend this hotel, however if you are a picky eater then dont go to the buffet all the time! but they have a very wide range of food! i think that my stay all around was amazing!! and i would deffinatly return! the beach was a little bit of a let down but you wont be in the hotel all the time anyway so it wont matter! there is so much to do!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
The room had a king size bed, LCD tv, minibar, coffee maker and clock radio. The room was really big, the bathroom was also a good size - it had a shower but no bath. There was a french balcony but for an additional charge you could have a room with a large balcony with a hammock. Room was always kept very clean by the maids and minibar restocked daily.

The grounds of the hotel were kept very clean, all the plants/grass etc was always kept neat and tidy. The pool was large with lots of loungers, again it was regularly cleaned.

The hotel is located towards the end of the hotel strip, on Playa Linda beach, rather than on the main strip of sand. We found the beach to be more than adequate in size, there were always loungers available no matter what time of day you went. The water was a bit calmer than the main strip as it's a bit like a cove, so more sheltered. There are pirate boats parked next to the hotel but we never saw any oil in the water nor did they bother us at all.

There are 4 restaurants, 1 buffet (breakfast, lunch & dinner, Mexican restaurant (dinner only), Spanish restaurant (Dinner only), International/Seafood restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner). There is also snacks available at the beach bar (burgers, club sandwich, nachos) There is no restriction on how many times you can eat in the a la cartes, you just have to book early in the morning at reception (reservations only required for dinner). There was always lots of choice in the buffet, with a good range of chicken, beef, pork and fish as well as plenty of veggies and salad. Like anywhere it gets a bit tiresome after 2 weeks, but we always found something we liked.

Staff were always friendly, even when you didn't tip. The first night we arrived the barman at the beachbar was making us mexican flag shots and sending them over, even though we never asked for them. Like anywhere as long as you're polite and have a bit of banter with them they will be nice back. Sometimes it does take a tip to get the premium drinks like Baileys, although I was mainly drinking cocktails so wasn't bothered if it was local spirits or premium brands going into them!

The only thing this hotel was lacking was entertainment at night, there was a show every night that was really poor, then 2 singers appeared in the lobby for a few hours. One was good and one was horrendous, but it was the same thing every night, would have been nicer to have a change.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
9 years 8 months ago
We are just back from our 4th visit to Barcelo Costa Cancun. Love the place!!!! Cant quite understand why people heap on the complaints! Where exacally can they holiday for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson/first Choice

Recommended
Travis
9 years 10 months ago
Ok the hotel is not a 4 star the room smelled of Fust and mould the bar staff are very rood if you don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chose

Crawford
10 years 1 month ago
We have stayed at this hotel three times.It is not for the hotel itself because that wants serious refurbishing.We go because all the staff are so friendly.The rooms want redecorating but the maids kept them very clean.The food in the restaurants was good plenty of choice we could not complain there is something for even the parkiest eater.The entertainment round the pool during the day was good but the night-time was poor plus the beach bar closed to early that was where the majority of people were .My opinion would be to close the bar upstairs earlier and leave the beach bar open till later.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
David
10 years 9 months ago
The room we were given was disgusting as were the 3 other rooms we were offered! This hotel is not the usual "Cancun" standered. We have had several holidays in Cancun and this hotel was the worst 4 star...EVER!

You will be lucky to get a table in the resturants as they are always fully booked. We found the beach to be small with a mixture of sand and cigarette ends. Not cleaned once!

You were lucky to get a bed at the pool...not enough beds. there was quite a few groups of roudy guests during our stay ,but the staff couldnt control them. The buffet was poor, we found it much easier to eat out.

The entertainment was absolute rubbish and this hotel is a 2 hour walk or 20min taxi ride from the night life...NOT the 200 yards as advertised in the first choice website.

They also advertise this hotel as being "refurbished" they are having a laugh! If you have booked this hotel with first choice then good luck!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

10 years 9 months ago
We visited this hotel in December 2007 and went for a relaxing couples holiday.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Everywhere was spotless and the staff were great. We really did have an amazing holiday.

We are quite fussy eaters but there was always plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant and there was always snacks available. Special Nachos at the beach bar are fantastic!

The staff on the beach bar were brilliant and always made you feel welcome. They also made brilliant cocktails!

The hotal is a bus ride away from the main bars etc but the buses are every few minutes and only costs a few pesos.

The entertainment is not brilliant in the evening but if your happy sat round a bar with a few beers then this is the place for you.

We would definatley visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Davy And Helen Jenkins
10 years 11 months ago
This holiday was booked last minute and we quite surprised by the quality we got. All service and public areas were spotless as was their own beach area and poolside. Staff excellent food a bit so so but then you expect that in foreign countries.

Location a wee bit out but buses run every couple of minutes and only cost coppers. Same price no matter how far you travel.not much in way of entertainment.

If you want a relaxing beach holiday then this is definitely the place to go.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Foster
11 years 1 month ago
excellent service all round, nothing to really complain about, food, staff, cleanliness all first class. would visit again. 2 families travelled august 2008
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Brown
11 years 2 months ago
3rd stay at this hotel, it was previously the Gran Costa Real, again the cleanliness of the hotel was good, food quality and service was excellent, but large change in clientele. It attracted groups of younger adults, and both day time and evening entertainment was limited and did not include all. We returned at the request of my 2 teenage children but there was little for them to do, this being a huge contrast and let down following our previous visits, also the beech clealiness if poor, littered with cigarette buts and bits of cement, previous visits were met with a spotless beach and the beach area offered little entertainement and the beach bar closed early - 11pm.
The lobby bar in the evening was 'hard work' 2 singers on every night and the music was projected at a very loud level so made for an unsociable environment.
Still we had a good holiday but aspects listed have resulted in our decision not to return to this hotel again, a good base for younger adults wanting to taste the nightlife in Cancun, this is a shame as the hotel offers good service ande excellent cuisine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum