Image of Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Aquamarina Beach Hotel

22 of 29 hotels in Cancun

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Pete & Mel
12 years 1 month ago
Overall we a very enjoyable holiday here. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, maid visited each day.

The grounds were very well kept, pool area was very clean, the beach is not too big but there were always plenty of loungers about on the beach and around the pool. Swimming in the sea it was better to use the hotel next-door beach as a bit bigger area.

The food was ok. It seamed to get better as the week went on, we had no tummy troubles at all during our stay, but be prepared the food was mostly luke warm, our rep said they had a microwave but as with most of the things she said there was not one.

The drinks were all local but more than adequate for keeping cool during the day,we tipped the bar staff at the end of the holiday and they were very grateful.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Nicola & Lee
13 years ago
I would visit this hotel again as we loved it. There are plenty of sunbeds and loads of entertainment in the day such as mini golf, basket ball and pool vallyball, great fun! The staff at tthis hotel are fantastic, lovely and hard working people.

The hotel is very clean couldnt fault the people who cleaned it every day.

The rooms are pretty basic, we had a good view overlooking the jacuzzi's and beach. The food, well, I thought it was awfull I found myself eating out every night I was ill after eating there. I wouldnt go all inclusive if I was to return to this hotel, the drinks were okay not much selection but fine.

The beach is right outside the hotel but its a bit dissapointing you can only lie on the part of the beach that is outside the hotel, this isnt a lot of beach. I got asked to leave when I was just a foot away on the next hotels beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My travel

Recommended
Julie & Robert
13 years 3 months ago
We had mixed feelings about the hotel after reading a few reports, after the first day we realised we were in agreement with a lot of what was said.

We found the staff very nice people, very helpful and cheery. Food we thought abysmal. Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Did not like the fact that you had to go to the themed evening meals,all tv programmes were changed to mexican!the a la carte was a much better option.

We were very disappointed with the beach,to walk into the sea you had to walk over what seemed to be small bits of concrete and the sand when you managed to get in the water was like sticky silt.the entertainment team did their best,not much variety though.

On the plus side, hotel was clean,room done every day with fresh sheets. It is away from the main centre though. buses are an experience! if you do go, book a massage or two, makes you forget where you are for an hour!

We felt the staff were doing their best in an elderly hotel, it needs modernising. at the moment it's not worth a 10 hour flight
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mytravel

Natasha
13 years 6 months ago
My partner and I travelled in October with very bad images in our minds about the hotel because we had read very bad reviews before hand. However when we reached the hotel it wasn't that bad at all.

They can improve the image of the hotel from the outside. The lobby was a bit small.

The bar staff were very nice and friendly.

The food wasn't that bad either, I personally recommend the soups they were lovely.

The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels and sheets replaced daily. The bedding smelt very mouldy and gave us a bad cough and at night there was a very loud sound (like a generator) which disturbed us a bit.

The beach wasn't bad although it had a lot of seaweed and very pebbly. Wouldn't recommend swimming in it! I recommend Jet Skiing that was excellent!

Entertainment was good and staff were very hard working at all times.

There was always something to eat so you won't starve!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Marcos
13 years 6 months ago
My partner and I had a great holiday.

The majority of the staff at the hotel were friendly and polite and had a good sense of humour.

The entertainment staff were full of energy and equally decent.

The food was ok, however if you wanted better food you had to pay for it, even on the all-inclusive deal.

The rooms were not ideal. Having stayed at some lovely hotels all over the world it was one of the most basic.

The mexican spirit and warmth more than made up for it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Andy
13 years 8 months ago
On arrival at the Hotel Aquamarina Beach, Cancun we did not particularly like the look of it from the outside. However once inside and we had got unpacked we were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel staff were all very friendly. The entertainment put on by the activities staff during the day was absoluetly fabulous, it included at no cost kayaking, snorkel tour, pool volleyball, pool soccer, beach soccer, bingo, table tennis competition, and water balloon mayem? On a night they danced, put on shows, did karoke in the theatre and took everyone down to the clubs like Congo Bongo's and Senor Frogs and got them VIP entry. The food in the hotel was excellent although it was very repetitive. The rooms were cleaned with clean sheets and towels changed everyday. The only downside to the hotel was at 10:00 when the entertainment ended, you were stuck in the hotel lobby bar which had very insufficent air conditioning. The air con in the rooms is very good, but loud enough to effect people who find it hard to get to sleep, unlike me. All in all I would go back to that hotel again. The hotel is approx a 10 minute bus ride away from the clubs and plaza's however it only costs about 80pence each for a return journey.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Tavel

Recommended
Annette
13 years 10 months ago
The hotel staff was very friendly and polite. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome, and comfortable. The hotel was very clean. The room, the bathrooms, the pool, everything was always clean. The food was kind of exotic and different at times, but they always had a wide variety to choose from, with something average/plain you could get if you were afraid to try a dish that looked/sounded too different than what you are used to. I decided to get brave and taste a few things that I had never had before, and was pleasantly surprised. They had these seafood salad stuffed tomatoes, that were carved into flower shapes that were very tasty. The people who prepared the food obviously took great pride in the presentation, and preparation of the meals. They were very creative in the designs/garnishes/themes etc.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Funjet

Recommended
Hughes
14 years ago
We had two weeks at this hotel and it was fantasic value for money. The hotel is rated 3* and they worked extremely hard to maintain the standard and on most things surpassed it's rating. The food and drinks were really good and a variety of choice every day was good. The Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you and well deserved their tips. The entertainment was very good when they did their theme nights and the rest of the time was OK, but it finished by 10-00.
Then the entertainment staff took the people who wanted to "Club it" off, this also looked well organised.
Their was quite a mix of nationalities there, Americans, (although they quite loud, were very friendly) Canadians and Mexicans were the same but always smiling and didn't hesitate to say hello.
The Mexican people were very polite and friendly all the time and in my opinion it is the nicest country we have visited to date.
In the Party Zone of the hotel strip the shopping was very good except for the flea markets who give us nothing but hassle, the other places such as: La Isla was excellent, very modern and picturesque and well worth a visit. There was always plenty to do in the area especially swimming with Dolphins, we went twice to Isla Mujeres on their ferry, it was expensive but worth every penny. If you don't want to swim you can go a passenger for only 10 Dollars, which I though very reasonable. The Royal swim costs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Lisa
15 years 8 months ago
Stayed at Aquamarina beach hotel for 2 weeks. The staff were all very friendly especially the entertainment staff. hotel was clean, liked the pool bar,good to get out of the heat.Didn't have to scrabble in the mornings for a sun lounger. The main let down for this hotel was the food, my partner found it edible I did not,battered cauliflower for breakfast isn't my idea of luxury.A la carte restuarant was ok but you have to book well in advance to ensure a place. Room was adequate, air conditioning is very noisy abit like a jet engine there was no way we could sleepwith it on.Entertainment at the hotel was quite poor we tended to go out most evenings. The hotel is situated out of town and you will need to catch a bus to the resort centre they are cheap but abit like 'Wacky Races'.We would not return to this hotel would rather stay closer to resort centre and main beach. The beach by the hotel was very poor, sea was full of weeds, not the typical beach picture that you imagine in Cancun, you have to go into the resort centre to get the fabulous beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum