Image of Caribbean Princess Resort Hotel

Caribbean Princess Resort Hotel

25 of 29 hotels in Cancun

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Calle Galeon D9-5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years ago
We arrived at this hotel on Monday 27th August and immediately did not like the look of the place. It looked nice in pictures but in reality it was awful. The reception area was clean, the staff very nice, but the standard of the rooms was horrible. The bed was right next to the steps down to the sofa area, very dangerous in the middle of the night if you went to the bathroom. The shower didn't work, no drawers or shelves in the rooms, sink not in bathroom but in bedroom! The food was a disgusting mushy mess, almost the same for evening meal as breakfast. By Wednesday 29th August we transferred to another hotel as this one was not worth what we paid for it. Six other people also left this hotel on the same day and transferred to the same one we did.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Jo And Dani
11 years 7 months ago
Arrived at Hotel and straight we were frog marched into the managers office. We were told that the Hotel had been over booked and we were forced into sharing one room on the first night for the four of us. According to them it was one of their "prestigious" suites. One of the beds folds down out of the wall, another bed was actually a sofa. The shower did not work and the radio had a european plug!!!!
The lock on the balcony door was flimsy and we could have easily been broken into. We did get two seperate rooms the following day. But this is when all the fun and games started.

For the first nine days of our holiday, whilst we were either sunbathing, eating breakfast/lunch/dinner, asleep in our rooms or enjoying a drink with other guests, we were constantly being harressed to switch rooms back to a suite.

After numerous arguments with Hotel management and meetings with our rep (who was extremely pleasant and helpful) we eventually changed Hotels at no extra charge to us.

We feel that the management were bullies, however the Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and fun.

Our rooms were cleaned everyday but clean towels were not provided everyday.

The food was simply awful. The options were poor. Breakfast was ok. Lunch and dinner was just lumps of meat and rice everday. The waiters however were lovely. We did in the resort to spending an arm and leg on eating in restaurants in downtown Cancun.

Location was good, fairly central and bus stop directly outside the Hotel. The only complaint about location is that it was Lagoon side and mosquito's were feasting on the guests.

What entertainment? There was none, unless you call an 80 year old man playing a keyboard entertainment.
Again the entertainment staff were very good, they provided upbeat entertainment during the day.

Anyone going to Cancun must go on the Captain Hook pirate ship nightout. Dinner was fabulous and entertainment was second to none. Absolutely hilarious!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

11 years 9 months ago
We stayed all inclusive at the Caribbean Princess and we feel that we got value for what we paid.

This is a small (84 rooms)3* hotel, so it's very friendly.

It's in the Hotel Zone but a lot nearer Downtown than a lot of the larger hotels. It's situated on Nichupte Lagoon, not on the beach, so if you're looking for sea views, don't book this hotel. The hotel does provide free transport to the beach at 10:30 returning at 3pm.

The food was OK, it's unreasonable to expect massive choice in such a small hotel. Everything was cooked well, and they replaced the dishes with fresh food, even if it all hadn't been eaten. The soups were lovely. The dining room was pleasant, although there was no restriction on smoking, which was a pity as there seemed to be a lot of smokers about. There's an a-la-carte restaurant, which is outdoors overlooking the lagoon, the only restriction on eating a-la-carte is whether there is a free table. Breakfast was 7am to 10:30 am.

Pool Bar served drinks from 10am until 6pm, and snacks from 12pm until 5pm. The Eclipse Lobby bar served drinks from 6pm until 1am, it sometimes got a bit smoky in there.
Lunch was 12:30 until 3pm, dinner from 7pm until 10pm.
So, if you're looking for 24 hour food and drink, this hotel is probably not for you.

The rooms were spacious with nice marble floors. The rooms seem to alternate between: large balconies, 2 double beds and large wardrobes with drawers and: small balconies, king-size bed and sofa and smaller wardrobes with no drawer space. Pot luck, I guess. The rooms were clean and kept clean. Pool/beach towels were provided in your rooms.

The Lobby Bar is quite small and can get crowded, especially when entertainment was on. Service was quite good and you could have any type of cocktail (national brands only are free). We felt that the entertainment was not that great, but it didn't really bother us as we don't feel the need to be entertained. Some nights they had Karaoke, bingo (Yuk), quizzes and Mayan or Mexican dancers.

The pool area looked a bit 'tired' in places, but nothing that made us want to complain about it.

I would say this hotel wouldn't suit a family with children as the daytime entertainment is limited. There were only a few children during our stay.

Some people complained about noise from people returning from the clubs but we certainly didn't get disturbed.
There didn't really seem to be groups of young people drinking excessively, making trouble and fighting although 2 lads were ejected from the hotel by Airtours.

The thing that really makes this hotel is the staff, they are lovely.

If you want 5* luxury on the beach in a large (and probably impersonal) hotel, the Caribbean Princess won't suit you.

We would definitely return to this hotel, especially if there was a good late deal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Jeffery
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel was very clean beds changed every day clean towels daily.

Not very good food for an all inclusive had to ask for most things like ice cream, toast, fried eggs.

Enterainment poor nothing for children at all only swimming pool.

Staff are very friendly and helpful we ask if we could change rooms and it was no problem
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Lindsay
12 years ago
Most of the staff were very friendly but a couple of the guys that served at the pool bar during the day needed a bit more customer service training.

There was a beach literally over the road and buses came so frequently that the location of the hotel was fine. We went out most evenings so didn't pay much attention to the entertainment that was on offer at the hotel.

The food did leave a bit to be desired but it was mostly OK but be careful of the chicken as it was often served extremely pink.

There is a fabulous steak house right outside the hotel which was $30 for eat as much as you like would I would 100% recommend.

The buses to the clubs put on by the hotel every night and the other guests at the hotel made the holiday and is the main reason why we're planning on staying here again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
13 years ago
A small & friendly hotel, very clean, with some of the friendliest & most helpful staff I have ever come across.
The food is quite varied, for AI, although I must admit the a la carte menu came into play more than once!
Good pool area, with a separate "quiet" pool (adults only) as well as a jacuzzi, water slide & kids pool all ocated next to the main pool. Not the best places if you want to be in the centre of the action, otherwise it's fine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstart/First Choice

Recommended
Andrea Kerr
13 years 1 month ago
The real positives of this hotel are definitely the staff, they were fantastic, the rooms were always cleaned well and everyone was really friendly and helpful.

The let down of the holiday was the food and the entertainment. Very poor and only really relevant to groups of girls and boys on what felt like a 18 - 30's club (including two fights). I think probably that this is due to the fact that it was an all inclusive hotel, which does tend to attract the urge to drink all day as it is free, we will not be going all inclusive again!!

There was only one child there for the first week of the holiday and luckily he was extremely well behaved bearing in mind there was nothing for him to do. The holiday rep that we had (First Choice) was nothing short of useless.

Sounds very negative, unfortunately we were expecting far more from the holiday, all I can say is that the staff were our only saviour.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Richie Turner
13 years 1 month ago
On arrival noticed the staff was really polite and very helpful.

The hotel was clean. The food was very poor and also the entertainment was very very poor. I say this because I booked this hoilday as a family hoilday and this was far from that,there was nothing for my son to do he was very bored.

Ideal for 18 to 30 who can put up with swearing and fighting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Abbie Stockley
13 years 2 months ago
Hotel was untidy and very basic. Food was terrible and ended up spending a fortune on eating out.

Nothing to do at hotel and staff dont smile or offer to help with anything.

I had a rubbish holiday here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Marie
13 years 6 months ago
This is a relatively small hotel, ideal for singles or couples, and great for getting to know the other holiday makers.

The cleanliness of the hotel is fantastic and deserves recognition for this.

It doesnt provide much entertainment for children, other than the pool and kayaking, and the fact that there wasnt many children staying at the hotel may be a contribution to the high standard of cleanliness.

The food was poor, but we didnt starve, and did enjoy a few of the evening meals throughout the fortnight. If you like eggs you will be suited at breakfast, they also provide boxed cereals such as frosties, cornflakes etc. Food is available almost all the time from 7am until 10pm.

Drinks are available from 10 am til 6pm at the poolside bar, and from 6pm til 1 am in the hotel lobby, which is relaxing, although not big enough for everyone to be seated, depending on how many people stay at the hotel in the evenings.

The evening entertainment is basic and run by 4 hotel entertainment staff. They have a pirates night, which they do themselves and is quite comical, and also have mexican dancers for another night, the rest of the entertainment is quite poor throughout the week, and repeated the next. The hotel respects holiday makers peace and quiet, and therefore evening entertainment ends by approximately 11pm, the lobby remaining available for drinks after this time.

The hotel is fantastic, and all the positives certainly out run the negatives (including the poor food).

Its a small hotel, relaxing, welcoming, friendly, peaceful, and again very very clean!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum