Image of Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort Hotel

Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort Hotel

10 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Federal 307 Km 340, Cancun 77500, Mexico

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jenny Starts
Stunning
1 year 5 months ago
This all inclusive resort has all that you need while having a brilliant stay in Cancun (if you have never stayed before, trust me this hotel is everything that you need without missing out)! Rooms were new and must of recently had a refurbishment so were very clean, comfortable and had all the necessities that you need when staying in a room for two weeks. So many options for pools, while we were there for two weeks we never had a problem finding a lounger to sit at and there was plenty of space. We had a large group of us - 20 in total and accommodations for the larger families was great in the suites. Restaurants were wonderful with plenty of amazing food. The selection of food was mind blowing and we would recommend all the restaurants in the Grand - especially Jade & the pizza place (if you like Pizza you will end up living here). We also enjoyed great meals at the Golf Course restaurants. The Spa was really nice and we would recommend trying it while at the hotel!

Service was always friendly and nothing was too much hassle for anyone there. The only negative was the construction going on at the Grand due to a lot of upgrading. There were lots of of workers, vehicles and noise early in the morning. We were staying in building 89 and they were working on the new water park so it was noisy with concrete trucks, etc Don't get me wrong once it is all finished it will be absolutely amazing but in the meantime try and stay away from this area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Hotel tip: Room Tip: The Grand is quieter with newer rooms. Sunrise has more action and activity.

Gary Broadhurst
9 years 11 months ago
Well, where would you start about this place?. This was our first all inclusive and was for our Silver Wedding. We were not sure where to go for our trip so we used sites like this and Trip Advisor. I have to say we made the right decision. This place is sensational, absolutely First Class. The staff cannot do enough for you, the food is five star and the hotel facilities are spotless and very well maintained. Food was superb where ever we ate, but Barracuda, Bambu and La Tattoria were favourites. We ate at all restaurants and have no complaints at all. We had wine with our meals, red for me and white for my wife. We did not have a bad wine at any restaurant and in some, several bottles were bought over for our appraisal. The hotel was very impressive, the lobbys amazing. There were 2 lobbys. Nizuc was the smaller of the 2, where we stayed. This was still breathtaking, all marble and nice and bright. Sunrise was bigger, bigger shop etc, but equally impressive. Shops in both lobbys were enough for all your all your gift shopping but the Sunrise shop was bigger with more choice. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hopefully we will be able to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years ago
The Moon Place Resort exceeded all our expectations.We have travelled to many different countries on all- inclusive basis but this hotel beats them all.
On arrival our cases were taken to our room and we were given a welcome drink as we checked in.
The room itself was really lovely with a kingsize bed and double jacuzzi[dont be tempted to use all the bubble bath in one go or you will end up with a foam party-we were not the only ones to have done this.]
The bathroom had a large walk-in shower.Plenty of storage space and an adequate balcony.There was a mini bar with optics and chilled beer and soft drinks.
The room was cleaned daily and the maids came back on an evening to see if you wanted your bed turning down and anymore clean towels.
We stayed in the sunrise section but there was also the nizuc-this was quieter,the golf and spa section and the moon grande which is still under completion and is going to be really upmarket once it is all completed.
The resort had 13 restaurents all serving really lovely food.We particularly enjoyed the italian at the golf course,the steakhouse at the pool area[sunrise side]-the t-bone steaks were gorgeous and the oriental at the sunrise side.
Other people have stated that they thought it was too far out of cancun but this was not a problem for us.The hotel puts on a bus daily and you are picked up at one of the sister hotels[can use the facilities in these as well]If the times of the buses did not fit in with your plans then it was only $22 to cancun.
The staff could not do enough for you even going as far as carrying your plate back to your table for you in the buffet restaurants.The barstaff in the sunrise side were really efficient and good fun and the waitresses could not be faulted.The hotel was not at full capacity but i still think this would not be a problem for them.
Have not rated the entertainment as we did not go to any of the shows[met some really nice people and used to meet up with them on an evening]
Visited the disco a couple of times after the lobby bar had closed and it was fine if you wanted a bit of a late night.
All in all we had a really great holiday and as a rule we go to different destinations each year,but this is one that we will definately be visiting again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lisa
10 years 2 months ago
just got back from the moon palace what can i say it was fab the best holiday ever, can on fault on 2 things it was a bit far away from cancun but a taxi would only cost 23 dollers, and the rep what can i say awful did'nt give us any information had 2 ask him was not helpful at all. The rooms were lovely own jazzusi massive bed maid service twice a day, really clean funny smell when u walked into the lobby don't know what that was, 13 resturants about 10 pools what more could u ask 4. Went 2 coco bongo's brilliant captain hooks lobster and steak dinner brill and swam with dolphins even better would defo go back again brilliant holiday the staff were great except the thompson rep
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Lisa
10 years 5 months ago
The Moon Palace is a stunning hotel, split into 2 lobbys, Sunrise and Nizuc. We stayed at Nizuc which is slightly smaller and we preferred it. You can catch a Lobby 2 lobby bus which run every 15 minutes and stop at each lobby and the golf course.
Reception is open 24 hours and is very good.
All 13 restaurants are lovely (Mexican, Italian, Japanese etc) and the meal at the golf course was particularly nice. Waiting staff are friendly and effecient. You can take food away if you need to or order room service. We also really enjoyed the swim up bars, the height of pure lazyness and luxury.
The rooms are impressive and tastefully decorated. Ours had 2 double beds and others had 1 kingsize bed. The bathroom is more of a wet room with a large walk in shower (no bath). The double jacuzzi in the bedroom is a real luxury. The only criticism is the size of the balcony which is very small, just room for 2 white plastic chairs. Room service is also extremely efficient and nothing is too much trouble.
My husband and dad played golf at the 27 hole golf course and said it was spectacular. They even saw a baby crocodile.
The pools are lovely and endless choice. The large one at Sunrise is huge and you can pretty much swim round in a full circle.
The FirstChoice rep was amazing, very helpful and full of tips and recommendations.
There is a shop at Nizuc selling lots of things. The jewellery shop is stunning but sells expensive pieces.
The beach at the hotel is amazing, pure white sand as you would expect and cleaned regularly to remove seaweed.
We travelled with our 8 year old daughter who had an amazing holiday. There aren't many children but they're definitely welcome.
You can visit the sister hotels via the free bus and use their facilities and restaurants. In our opinion though the Moon Palace is the best.
We would definitely visit the Moon Palace again and can't wait to save up and go again.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Adam Lievesley
11 years 1 month ago
We visited Mexico for the first time last Summer as we were fed up of the UK bad summer weather.

We only stayed for 7 days but wow, what a little gem we found in Cancun.

The rooms are spacious & well stocked, the resort complex is large and spread out with regular golf buggy shuttles throught the 3 hotels & golf course areas.

The Hotel staff were second to none, clearing your table at the buffet restaurant as soon as you left it to restock your plate with the top notch food, even refolding your napkin. They just couldn't do enough for you and seemed genuinely pleased that you were staying at their hotel.

Unlike normal 'All Inclusive' holidays, the drinks here were named brands, you have a vast choice of wines off a wine list in the numerous a la carte restaurants they have on the resort complex. They have food to suit all tastes and the furnishings are modern and new.

Topped off with a Jack Nicklaus design golf course, its a dream holiday.

We enjoyed it so much, we purchased a 'discount' package directly from the hotel saving money on the price of return visits and intend to return here for many a year to come.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sharon
11 years 4 months ago
Absolutely wonderful!!

We stayed at the Moon Palace for 10 days and we loved it. The staff were so lovely and friendly and we were treated like royalty half the time. When we arrived our cases were taken by one of the bell boys up to our room and we were given a guided tour on the way, once at our room we were shown the mini bar and optics and the jacuzzi and how to use the safe, I then walked into the bathroom and was overwhelmed by the size of the shower and all the marble - wow!

We have been all inclusive before but have never had so much food and drink to hand, the mini bar in the room is stocked everyday and it contains beer/lager, coke, sprite, bottles of water.

We visited most of the restauraunts and our favorite was most definitely the Mexican in the Nizuc side and Manuel (one of the waiters) was most definitely our favourite waiter. We didn't have any problems getting into restaurants and the most we had to wait was 1/2 hour and that was for the Italian at the golf course. All food was top quality and there was lots to choose from, although I would warn you to be a bit wary eating at the pool bar as the birds in resort are scavandures and will eat whatever is available to them, whilst we were sat there we saw one or two of the birds dipping their beaks into the cold salad area which was uncovered and a bit of a health hazard we felt, so probably best to stick to hot food at the pool bar and no salad/cold food. Also do not leave any food whatsoever outside unattended, an American couple near to us put their towels on the sun beds and then popped off to have a dip in the pool leaving a small muffin on one of their beds, which they would eat on their return, almost instantly five or six birds were eating it and when the couple came back there was only the cake wrapper left. The birds out there are a bit like cleaner rats and we've never seen birds like it! Even our Magpies and Crows are better here.

We stayed at the Nizuc side and walked over to the Sunrise side twice. There is a Lobby to Lobby bus that goes between the two but to be honest it was quite a nice walk and only took 10 minutes. We were glad we stayed at the Nizuc side as we felt that the Sunrise was very Americanised and too big and in your face. There is also the Grand Moon which is being built at the moment and contains the Carribean restaurant.

The entertainment could have been better, there was a guitarist in the main lobby bar (who we called Hank Marvin) and he was good but he only played until 10 - 10.30pm and from then till 1am there was no entertainment and you had to go into La Jungla for entertainment(which is extremely smokey and not nice if you're a non smoker).

We would most definitely go back to Moon Palace and we would love to stay at the Grand Moon once it's complete as it looks really posh! We would also like to try the other Palace Resorts too, if they're anything like Moon Palace then we are in for a great holiday!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Liz
11 years 11 months ago
Me, my parents and my sister stayed at the Moon Palace and we can honestly say it's the best holiday we've ever had.
From the minute we arrived the staff couldnt do enough for you, we felt like royalty!
The room was beautiful, I'm still mourning the shower! (you could fit a whole family in there)
The quality and variety of food was brilliant, our favourite resturants were the italian golf course and the steak house on the sunrise side.
we stayed on the Nizuk side which was more quiet and chilled out then the sunrise side.
All the staff were brilliant, from the entertainers to the waiters and maids.
My sister and I went on one of their nightclub trips which for $25 they drive you out at 10pm and bring you back at 3am, the price includes entry to the clubs and all drinks (although the barstaff there will treat you like a goddess if you tip them!)
The nightlife in cancun is amazing, you have to see it to believe it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Hels
12 years 2 months ago
We went to Moon Palace for our honeymoon and it was excellent. All the staff were great and so friendly.

All the rooms are being re-done new furniture etc. everything is so clean and any problems they are there straight away to sort them out.

Food was great a nice selection in all the different restaurants, if you eat over at the golf restaurants go early as you may have to wait about an hour or more.

Location was abit far away from the town for us but they do provide a bus service to the shopping malls for free, from there you get a local bus for $1 to the flee market and some pubs and clubs.

Entertainment was abit poor if you stay 2 weeks they repeat the 1st weeks on the 2nd week but there is a nightclub at the sunrise side which is great.We stayed at the Nizuc side which is quieter but if you like it busy then stay at the sunrise side.

The hotel is fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone, its truly amazing and we had no-one trouble us about the time share.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Zoe
12 years 6 months ago
We travelled to the Moon Palace resort to get married back in March 2006 - I did not know about this website until last year so never posted a review - however, having had the best holiday ever, felt I should do my duty and tell you all to get booking - this place is great.!!

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty, Our wedding was out of this world, everything we expected and more, Great photos, DVD , flowers, hair etc, A beautiful horse drawn carraige,We hired a private terrace following our ceremony, to chill out for a while as there were 15 people all in all, we were served canapes and drinks, Our wedding cake and flowers had been put there, and 3 waiters all seeing to our every need.....it was fantastic and I would reccommend this service as an extra for anyone who is tying the knot, all that for $20 per head....bargain.

We stayed here for the 1st week, then our family/friends travelled back to the UK and we went to the sister hotel Adventura Spa, an adults only resort, which again was out of this world, no beach mind, a man made lagoon area, but two pools, one on the North side and one on the South. All in all another fantastic palace resort, would defenilty reccomend getting married at the Moon Palace though, As we saw a wedding there and the bride has to climb down steps to the man made beach, to reach the wedding gazebo, not as nice I do not think personally.

The Adventura was great, we did swim with the dolphins on our second week and thoroughly enjoyed that experience, we also did the speedboats through the mangroves, again a great morning out.

So much to see and so much to do in Mexico, we did get a taxi into Cancun one evening and visited Carlos & Charlies, as a pre wedding get together, looked alot busy up that end of the peninsula.

Overall - I would highly reccomend this place to people of all ages - you wont be dissapointed.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum