Image of Riu Cancun Hotel

Riu Cancun Hotel

8 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Blvd Kukulcan Km 8.5, Manzana 50, Lote 5 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Debbie & Gary
Not a 5* hotel
7 years 7 months ago
This hotel is not a 5* but a 4*.

The rooms and the hotel in general are very tired. The food was out of this world as were the staff who rely on tips.

The entertainment was fab the first week but repeated the second week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Hunter
7 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from staying at this fantastic hotel. We think that this hotel should be classed as a 4 star hotel not a 5 star as the bedrooms need to be updated but otherwise the only other criticism is that all the pools are slightly deep.

I know that this hotel is not classed as a family hotel as it is classed as a platinum hotel which is normally more geared towards couples but with none of our group being strong swimmers we were a bit unsure in the pools as they were all at least 5ft deep.

The hotel itself is fantastic but the best things are the staff who are all really friendly, great waiters and restaurant staff. Fantastic food choices but the best thing was the entertainment staff who were great. Lovely staff who made shows that had you laughing along. When we were there we saw a fantastic show about the Lion King and also the family favourite Grease and the highlight show was called Crazy Marathon and this involved the 9 staff playing 52 different song artists one after the other in full costume and it was great.

I would definitely go back to this hotel again but think that it needs a bit of a refurbishment to bring it up to being a bit more modern in the bedrooms but otherwise fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
what a fantastic hotel.from the second you step into the amazing lobby,until the second you leave you are made to feel sooo relaxed and special.the hotel is spotless to the point of seeing cleaning staff scrub lampshades with a toothbrush,i couldnt believe it.the rooms are perfect,so much space,scrubbed every day,and with a view to die for.the pools are so clean,and the water is tested at regular intervals.the food is superb,catering for all tastes and always hot.how anyone can complain is beyond me,honestly.The beach is beautiful,and staff can be seen 6am each day raking the sand clean.snorkling is a must,the different types of fish seen less than 5 foot into the sea is brilliant,we even encountered a 2/3 foot barracuda 1 day this close to shore as we snorkelled.the staff do everything possible to make your stay as memorable as possible,and always with a smile.my wife and i loved it so much we are going back same time next year.anyone reading this thinking of going,you will not believe how good this hotel,along with its staff, is.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
8 years 8 months ago
just retured from a 2 week stay at the riu cancun and had a great time.The rooms were cleaned every day and staff in the hotel are on the go all day keeping it spotless.the food was excellent with loads to choose from,every one else found the drinks fine but i only drink rose wine and after 2 days could not drink the hotels so i went out and bought some wine of my choice but i must admit i am very fussy what i drink.The location of the hotel is good with several shopping centers and flee markets just over the rood.I would go to this hotel again ,if i could book it without using thomson as our flights both ways were made using a short haul plane and we had only 29" leg room and no tv and were very cramped
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
John
8 years 9 months ago
everything apart from entertainment top class best hootel iv'e ever been to if they just spent some money on decent entertainment it would be amazing ,saying that we would defineately come back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Tony Mee
8 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Riu Cancun last week in july first week in August for the second time in 3 years. Once again the hotel was kept in immaculate condition. The cleaning staff are on the go from 7 in the morning and they really keep the place spotless. The buffet restaurant has something for everyone and the speciality restaurants have become much easier to book and are top notch. The staff are attentive and pleasant at all times (whether you've tipped them or not!) 10 minutes walk from the Party Zone and sat on a fantastic white beach it has to have one of the best locations in Cancun. We'll probably be back there next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Walker
8 years 10 months ago
we stayed at the rui cancun and could not find any fault with it.The food was fantastic and i should know,as i am very choosy with what i eat.All the staff are very pleasant and polite.The cleaners all do a grand job.We noticed that you never see a member of staff doing nothing, they are on the go all the time.The hotel is ideally situated and you can go out on a night if you choose to.We also went to coco bongo`s a fabulous night,the acts were superb.We must mention the thompson rep she was brilliant sorry i cant remember your name,also sergio he was also brilliant.They were very helpful wether choosing a trip or if you had any complaints,not that we did.This hotel is well worth the 5star it`s got.Nerly fogot to mention the speed boats well worth going,i tried snorkelling for the first time and really enjoyed it Jorge the speed boat man was fantastic with us.We would like to thank all the staff for a wonderful holiday not forgetting the thompson/medhotel reps.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Natasha & Jon
9 years 7 months ago
We have just returned from our 2nd visit to the Riu Cancun. Again, the food was excellent, the rooms are cleaned everyday, plenty of activities to do throughout the day, the entertainment staff are great. The price of the holiday was good for what you get.

The only thing that let the holiday down slightly this time was the Americans. They are very disrespectful to the staff (they have no manners), they do not treat the hotel as a 5* hotel, they took over the poolbar so would advise to stay clear of this unless you like loud, noisy yobs.

Also, if travelling with Thomson, just make sure the reps have given you the correct information regarding your excursions. 3 times they told us the incorrect times to arrive, and once even told us to turn up at the wrong bar when going on the bar crawl.

Apart from this, was fantastic - if you want a cheap, all inc holiday in Cancun then go here. If you have a bit more money, then definately go to the Riu Palace.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Michelle Witton
9 years 8 months ago
Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant ! fab hotel great staff breath taking views plenty of food plenty of chioces of restaurants to eat in. Food available all day and night. Day entertainment very good loads of games going around for adults and children. The cocktails are great a big menu to choose from very clean around the pool area right on the beach cant fault it.The mini bar is topped up all the time with known brands. Lots of americans there but they were fab and friendly.I would visit this hotel again a very good hoilday you feel like you are in heaven the weather was fab bright and sunny very hot just LUSH !!!

There is a different show every night, where u can all take part in if you wish very funny. We had younger children and teenagers with us and they all loved the hoilday never was we bored once.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
Anna
9 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from the RIU Cancun, and I have to say it was absolutely brilliant. The weather out there when we went was amazing, and the hotel itself was superb.

The hotel was being cleaned from morning to night and there was never dirt or muck anywhere. Rooms were cleaned and beds changed daily by the maid, who did insist on knocking every morning at 08.30 just to see if we were in! The mini bar is a novelty but after a few days I couldn't bare to look at it!!!!! The foyer area, pool, bars and lobby was immaculate at all times, a credit to the brilliant and friendly staff of the Riu Cancun.

The food was great, we didn't try the Brazilian as the reviews have not been the best, but the Japanese is brilliant, and the staff really good. The Don Juan was by far the best to eat in, choices beyond belief, and the theme nights gave you chance to try stuff you may never have had before. The staff in there especially Emilio were helpful and very polite.

The location of the hotel is the best, right across the road from the shopping centre and a pharmacy should you need one.

Staff as I have said before were great, reception staff not so in your face and did struggle a tad with english, but did everything they could if there was a problem

The only downside to this hotel was the sunbed situation and the entertainment, which ended every night at 10.30! the guys in the entertainment staff were brilliant and rather gorgeous (victor) but I think at night it left a lot to be desired, they tried so hard but I have seen entertainment that is so much better!!!!! The sunbed thing was just awful. It says in your welcome pack that sunbeds cannot be held and staff would remove towels if this happened. We ended up getting up at 6 every morning to be able to get a bed, by this point 75% of them had already been taken. We had no problem being on the beach but the beds were really uncomfortable, and we prefered being by the pool. There were numerous confrontations from certain folk and it nearly ended is fisticuffs every time.

The swim up bar was a draw for us when choosing this hotel, but have to admit we never ventured in to it once, simply because we saw 4 fights with Americans and English, and decided we would rather not be covered in flying beer or bathe in the yellowy tinged water!!!

I would certainly visit this hotel again, no problem, the palace next door also looked fanstastic but a bit posher!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum