Image of Temptation Resort & Spa Hotel

Temptation Resort & Spa Hotel

11 of 29 hotels in Cancun

5 out of 5 from 23 reviews
4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan km 3.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paula & Daz
8 years 7 months ago
Temptation Spa new name, what a brilliant holiday. Some reviews let you think swingers bar , strippers and tackless oh how wrong can you be?? yes a couple of games adult fun but hey hotel big enough to be away from that.
Al la Carte meals which have no booking restrictions like many hotels you acn book 5 nights in advance and every day should you wish. I think only improvement what could be made would be to alter menu as food repetative when there for 2 weeks.
Bedroom cleaned, bed n towels changed daily, mini bar stocked daily( no extra cost).
Staff fantastic,Chino ace
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Angela Dearnley
9 years 3 months ago
This hotel is now Temptation Spa. It is a fun hotel and if you are fainthearted or stuck up dont go. The staff are fantastic, the food is okay but needs some improvement. You can book any restaurant as many times as you want now, so no restrictions on 3 times a week. The location in the hotel zone is good but rooms looking on to the road can be noisy and as it is a "party" hotel there is a little noise in the corridors sometimes. The raunchy image is fun but you wont be pestered or see anything unacceptable. Many people return year after year so that speaks for itself. Clientel are mainly Canadian or American, due to the location. Entertainment is mainly guest participation with weekend band and dj most nights. There is also a forum if you want to stay in touch.
Rooms are all renovated with fridges, hairdryers, iron, flat screen TV and big beds. Towels replaced everyday and if you want anything just ask the maid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mytravel

Recommended
Kris Heslop
10 years 7 months ago
The other reviews on this site are pretty much on the money with regards to the place, despite its raunchy image created by the tabloids we saw nothing that shocked or offended us and a lot that made us smile or in many cases double over laughing.

There are 3 pools, sexy where the raunchy entertainments are held, sports pool where the water polo and scuba trials are held and the quiet pool. The quiet pool was where we spent a majority of our time although rennovation work around that area made it anything but quiet at times. There are swim up pool bars in both the sexy and quiet pools but there was a definite reluctance from the staff to serve at them meaning you had to get out of the pool and go to the dry side of the bar which in my mind kind of defeats the objet of the swim up bar in the first place. Either way you look at it the bars were often busy and the abundance of cocktails available can make service a little slow BUT the staff are very pleasant and do in most cases make sure you ae served in order of appearing at the bar.

The food in the buffest was good although not Excellent but the a'la'carte restaurants were excellent although we never got the chance to eat in the sea-food restaurant. The Japanese restaurant is excellent and people tend to try to book that over the others. The niggle with the A'la carte operation is the need to book in on the day at 8am which means after a heavy night you end up either missing the booking time or enduring the hangover you wanted to avoid just to book up. For a 2 week stay you get 6 vouchers 2 for each of the a'la'carte's so you get 6 meals in the restaurants and the rest at the buffet or under your own steam outside the resort.

As I siad earlier there was rennovation going on and My Travel very kindly sent us a letter telling us about this which was postmarked the day we left so we never got the information. The rennovations were a little annoying due to noise and closure of through routes around the hotel but in the main were of little consequence. The rennovation is needed as the place does look a little tired in places such as the bathrooms in the guest rooms which have seen better days. All of the work is geared to re-launching the resort in December under the new name Temptations which will provide shiny new rooms and a nicer place to stay so that should be good.

Once final gripe was that there is a two tier system when it comes to the booze in the bar. repeat customers get a different coloured armband and this allows them access to 'branded' spirits as opposed to the non-descript stuff the rest of the plebs get. As a result on at least one occassion on ordering a dark-rum and coke my partner was told they had no dark rum and were unable to give her the dark bacardi they had on show as we had the wrong coloured band. This kind of annoyed us a little but at least they were polite about it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Jen And Joe
11 years 3 months ago
When looking for a vacation to celebrate my husband's 40th we looked to Ble Bay. We stayed at the sister resort 8 years ago for our homeymoon.

I read all the negative publicity regarding this resort and it is all unfounded. The "top optional" environment is done very tastefully. After the 1st day you don't even notice.

The staff is very friendly and tries to get everyone involved. Or if you prefer just lie by the pool or beach, there is no pressure involved. My husband, me and my friends had a wonderful time.

The food is excellent, and available around the clock. If you went out to the bars you could stop at the resort and get some munchies before bed. Everything is top notch.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: red carpet travel

Recommended
Lori & Simon
11 years 7 months ago
I'd read a few negative reviews on this hotel but I have to say they were all unfounded. This hotel is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in, it was spotless and the staff are always on hand cleaning, tidying and generally ensuring that all guests are having a good time.

The food in the hotel was spectacular but the fact of having to get up at 8am each morning to book into the A la Carte restaurants is a bit of a pain but the food makes it almost worth it. Leonardo in the buffet dining room is an absolute gem, he always made us feel welcome and his service was second to none.

The hotel is quite a distance from the centre of Cancun, however the local buses are every 2 minutes from a stop directly outside the hotel and costs 6.5 pesos (this is whether you are travelling 2 stops or 22), and we used them quite a bit to go down to the shopping malls (I'd recommend La Isla, it's fab).

The hotel staff are great, very friendly and always willing to help, it's how they make most of their money (working for tips) but it doesn't make it any more welcome. If you are generous with your tips they remember it, but don't feel obliged to tip if you don't feel their service is worth it, but to us 9/10 times it was.

We'd heard the stories about the entertainment in the hotel, mainly based around the fact that it is 'adult themed' but we say nothing that offended us, and the fact that you don't have to join in, or even watch, how can you complain. Yes, there are 2 porn channels on the TV in your room, but no-one is making you watch it. My main complaint about the entertainment is that the entertainment staff take people down into Cancun each night from 10pm (for which you have to pay a cover charge of anything from $20 - $45), and anyone staying at the hotel are left to fend for themselves with absolutely no entertainment, this should be rectified and more entertainment put on for those staying in the hotel, after all we'd paid for all inclusive so why would we want to pay more to drink elsewhere.

I would definitely visit this hotel again, and would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are very easily offended, then go elsewhere, but I stress again, you don't HAVE to watch or join in.

If I do travel to BBG again, I have to say it will not be with My Travel as the flight home was horrendous, but that's another story and not for this hotel review site.

Try Blue Bay Getaway, you won't regret it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
This hotel has received something of a bad press within the UK due to a few couples seeing it as an opportunity to make some money. If you find toplessness unacceptable, or adult themed entertainment, then do not go. However if you enjoy meeting other people, relaxing and having a really good time, then this could be the place.

Contrary to some reports, it is NOT full of swingers or wife-swappers, it is NOT full of individuals having sex in public and it is NOT aimed at, or even suitable for, groups of males or females looking for an 18-30's style holiday in Cancun.

It is aimed primarily at couples with an average age of 30 - 40, who want to spend a few or a lot of days relaxing and without being hassled.

We could not fault the room, resort, or staff who did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

WIf you are game for a laugh, then we would heartily recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mandy
11 years 7 months ago
This was our second visit to the BBG first being in March 2006 4mths after hurricane Wilma and we had such a great time then we returned so soon.

The hotel was now up and running to it full programme and wow great weather, excellant food wonderful staff.

Our room this trip was overlooking the sexy pool and it was very big the only problem for me was the big stone pillar in the room to which I kept walking during the night(not wearing my glasses) but thats my only fault about the room.

The walk in shower was as big if not bigger than my bathroom at home!

The Hotel is very clean and the garden are keep up to too I saw the same lawn area mowed 4 time in the 2wks we were there, even the gardener said hola too when guest passed him.

Food mmmmm our every need was catered for I arrived with a cold and I got hold of honey and lemon juice for the kitchen staff late one evening.

One word of warning buy slightly big swim wear for second wk and the food is so good one is sure to put on weight! and specially as most drinks are made from carnation milk mmmmmm.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: RCI

Recommended
Nicola
11 years 9 months ago
What a fantastic hotel.
Clean, Friendly, Entertaining, Plenty to eat and drink.

Lively pool was exactly that-lively. Just a luagh at the end of the day- we didnt get involved, just watched by the pool and laughed, if you didnt like it you could always spend your days relaxing by the quiet pool or playing waterpolo in the sports pool.

Food was A*. Usually the food gets a bit repetitive in all inclusives, but with the hotel having 3 alacartes and 3other places to eat, we did not get board.

Our first room was overlooking the main road, so we asked to be moved to a pool/sea view. this was not a problem and we got both for no extra cost! the staff were always happy to help with or without a tip!

The whole complex was huge and was immensly clean, you could even smell the cleanliness.
Plenty of security not that they were ever needed during our stay. We did try to sneak some firends who we'd met into our hotel one night for a drink. But the security were on the ball and kindly escoted them out. even though i went with my boyfirend i felt safe at night to walk around the complex if i had to nip back to the room for something.

age range there was 21- 55.
Swim with dolphins and the jungle tour in cancun are both a MUST!

Cant wait to go back!

Thanks for an excellent holiday to BBG and First Choice!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jenny
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel has got to be one of the cleanest hotels that I have ever stayed in. The Maid called every day and made the most amazing shapes out of our towels, from swans to elephants! You constantly see people sweeping the floor, mopping, tidying, gardening and doing general cleaning duties, whatever the time, be it 4pm or 4am. The Staff work really, really hard to keep the hotel in the prestine condition it is in and are paid very little, so please treat them with respect and also tip well if possible.

The food was amazing and not repetitive at all. We particularly enjoyed the Italin alacarte (sp?) although the chinese was lovely too, we did not eat in the seafood restaurant as I am not keen on seafood, though our friends ate there and had only good things to say. The Buffet restaurant also serves a huge variety of mouth watering food, particularly at breakfast, and the staff are constantly making sure you are ok, that you have a drink and that your table is cleared. The drinks are good, there is plenty of them and even better they are free and they go down waaaay to easily, so be careful it is lethal, as we found out too may times!

Despite popular opinion and as shown on the BBC's Watchdog, we were not asked to go "swinging" we got the impression it was avaialble if you wanted it (we definitely didn't!) but it was definitely not pushed in your face.

The location of the hotel is just outside of the main hotel drag, but it is less than 50p to get to the main area by bus, there is a bus stop just outside the hotel and they are fine to use. Cancun itself is also amazing.

The entertainment is very very funny, slightly raunchy, but anyone who is not a prude will enjoy it. Think 18-30 style entertainment. Me and my husband never took part in any of the games ourselves, and no pressure is put on you to do so, though we did have fun watching everyone else who took part! The Entertainment staff do a fantastic job, everyone who goes loves them, especially Chinos (the guy is a legend), Lalo, Omar and DJ Rafa. unfortunately "Tne Nice Shoes" bar was closed when we went due to hurricaine damage, this is meant to be an experience in itself and raunchier than the day entertainment, but still fun. So unfortunatley the night entertainment wasn't always well organised because of space restrictions of what activities could be done in certain bars, but nevertheless the staff still found something for us to do and usually it was hillarious.


The Hotel also runs a free nightly bus to different clubs/bars in the Zone, which you will have to do on at least 5 occassions, you are at the "Ibiza of the Carribean" after all. The hotel beach is beautiful, apparently one of the best in cancun since the hurricaine.

This hotel has the highest repeater rate in the whole of Cancun and we can see why, we will defintely be going there again next February.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Jonj & Jayne Coyle
12 years 8 months ago
My Husband and I visited the blue bay getaway on our honeymoon. After reading up in brochures we were a little aprehensive, however the adult nature of this hotel wasn't shocking at all, it was just for fun and we truely had a fantastic time.

The rooms were huge and immaculatly clean. Food was varied and well presented. The staff really made you feel welcome.

We have watched a bbc 1 consumer programme recently which has portrayed this hotel as sleazy,completly untrue. It was beautiful and we cant wait to go back some day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: air tours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum