Image of Guanabara Park Hotel

Guanabara Park Hotel

37 of 60 hotels in Puerto Rico

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
2 stars
Barranco Agua La Perra, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mel And Guy
8 years 11 months ago
the hotel has amazing views of the harbour. yes it is situated on mountain but so are all the rest of them.it kept me and my boyfriend very fit.the maids cleaned our room every day and the rooms are very quaint although it would be nice to have adouble bed and not two singles. paul the entertainer goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and is very funny and loves his job.the hotel itself was alwys clean and tidy and so was the pool area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Caroline Gifford
9 years 7 months ago
me and my husband stayed at guanbara park for 2 nights then moved out to better accommodation.The hotel looks dated and in need of a lot of TLC.I appreciate the hotel is only a two key but the rooms looked old and in need of decorating(very drab).The entertainment consisted of a entertainer 3 times a week who could not sing very well and looked very dated as well.The atmosphere was non existent.It is placed right at the top of a hill so a big hike is needed! Gran canaria is a lovely island and we are visiting again next year in the second accommodation we stayed in.If you visit go for a better grade hotel avoid guanbara.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

9 years 11 months ago
Just come back from a good week's break at the Guanabara Park.

Our views;

Location: At the top of a big hill, long walk back up but taxis are pretty cheap (about 3 Euros - at the exchange rate we got, this is just over a couple of quid.

Great views from our balcony and bedroom window though, over the harbour. The appartments are around the corner from the main part of the resort, the commercial centre and beach. Probably a 20 min downhill walk to this part of the resort.

The main problem we had with the appts, was that we were 3 floors downstairs from the reception area - but if we wanted to leave the complex, we had to climb back up the stairs, only to go back down the road! So going back on ourselves - would have loved another exit out of the complex which would have saved a lot of walking and stair climbing! To get onto the road to town below our balcony took a 5+ min walk and 70 stairs!

Only had food once from the bar, during the day and was horrible. A tiny dry burger and the a few greasy and undercooked chips - had a large puddle of grease on the bottom of the plate! Though I did hear the food (pizzas) in the evening when the main cook was there was pretty good.

Drinks (beer and soft drinks) very expensive at the bar, which I guess is typical. Double the price of some bars.

The on site supermarket is very small, open short areas and very expensive. Three times the price of the same things as in the Spar near the beach (which I would recommend, much bigger and very cheap - worth going to on the way back to the beach).

Pool looked good, loads of sunloungers which are free and free table tennis.

Did think it was a bit overpriced for 14 Euros each week for the TV - we didnt pay for it, but our neighbout did after being told there were lots of English channels - turns out there were just 3, Sky News, Eurosport and one another, she was not happy!

Maids were good, cleaned regulary, friendly - did a good job.


In summary, nice place with a great view but just a bit out of town. Not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. Cheapish accomodation, not sure if I would holiday in PR again but if I did then would prob spend a little more and be closer to the bottom of the hill.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

10 years 1 month ago
firstly the guanabara park is not situated in a great location, it is in a quieter location, at the top of a,hill outside the main puerto rico area, its about 15 minutes walk away and will set you back 3-4 euro in a cab, saying that the views from the rooms are amazing. specify a room with a balcony not a terrace as you wont be able to leave your window open at night and you can here everyone walking past.
the apartments were tidy and were cleaned regularly, there was even an english girl on reception which helped with any problems that came up.
paul santangelo is the larger than life elvis impersonator who runs the entertainment, he wasnt our cup of tea, but he does work hard and tries to involve everyone. there where reptile and birds of prey shows on whilst we were there, but i seen all the birds being carried in smallish dog and cat carriers and it turned my stomach. the next day i was told there was an owl that couldnt fly cos it was that "fat", sadly there were plenty of brits, picking up photos the next day.
you only get what you pay for and the guanabara park is not an expensive place to stay, i personally would rather pay the extra and stay in the main area next time. dont let me put you off going as you will have a good time as puerto rico is a great place to holiday
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Jim &Jane
10 years 1 month ago
After having a disaster of a start to our holiday, ie tickets never turned up, when we arrived in Las Palmas our hotel no longer existed.
We were put in the Guanabara apartments and I must admit my wife and I were pleasantly surprised after we calmed down and slept on our misfortune.
The apartments were very clean and the views were fantastic.
The staff went out of their way to help us, this was my wifes 50th birthday surprise holiday.
The receptionist managed to source a birthday cake for me at very short notice and the bar staff supplied a bottle of champagne free of charge, so things couldn't have went nicer and I would like to thank all the staff for making my wifes birthday, one she will never forget.
The food we did eat from the bar/resteraunt was ample for something light during the day before we went out in the evening.
The chefs and bar staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother for them.
They made our stay very enjoyable.
The accommodation is situated on the side of a very steep hill and the stairs were quite a challenge but well worth the slog when you got to the top and seen the views over the Harbour and surrounding area.
The accommodation was also well situated, far enough away from the main centre, where I've heard the noise goes on through to the early hours of the morning.
The pool was clean and sun loungers plentyful.
We met in with another three couples whilst there and we have all booked ourselves a fortnight back at the Guanabara next November.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Adrian And Dawn
10 years 2 months ago
My patner Dawn and me along with 7 of our friends have just returned back from a week at the Guanabara apartments in Gran Canaria.

The location of the apartments were at the top end of the hill which didn't cause a problem as we simply walked down on a night and caught a taxi back. A taxi costs about 2 to 3 euros.
The veiws from our room were breath taking so being up the hill was fine by us.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and our room was cleaned almost daily and we have no complaints at all.
One negative the pool area was grubby and although cleaned regular really needs a revamp

If you are staying here you may want to hire a fan because the room as no air conditioning. We hired a fan for 1 euro per day but Dawn claimed it and so I struggled to sleep in the heat
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Penny
10 years 5 months ago
We decided to go to this hotel based on advice that it was a nice walk up the hill (mountain) and the view of the sea was amazing. The advice was right on both counts - the walk is quite difficult in very hot weather and you will get burnt even in high factor sun protection as the sun gets hotter the higher up you get. Taxis are extremely cheap and you can avoid the walk for a couple of euro. The staff are nice but the maid service is only a 'empty bins and wash dishes' as far as we could tell. The floors are filthy and the bed sheets weren't changed all week, I suspect the towels weren't either. Cockroaches do appear in the room but that's just the island, if you stay on the top floor it's less likely - we saw one in our room all week. We did eat in the pool bar area twice and the pizza I had was superb but my boyf wasn't quite as impressed with his burger as it was a little underdone. The second time was part of a barbecue promotion night and the food was excellent and I got a half price deal as I am veggie and had a huge plate of salad, canarian potatoes and chips. The beer is reasonably priced but do watch your change after a few drinks as we noticed that mistakes seemed to increasingly occur if the bar staff thought you were drunk. I hope it was a genuine mistake as they are a nice bunch of guys. It's a much better evening to stay in the hotel pool bar and drink than go into town and get hassled and ripped off. Paul Santangelo is a comedy genius. Yes it is cheesy material but very funny and great fun if you join in. A terrific way to meet the people you are staying with and we were lucky that the crowd staying the same week as us were fantastic fun and up for a good laugh. Paul's 'international knock-back quiz' is hilarious and his Elvis tribute is very funny. I personally don't like Elvis but this was good fun. We also saw a Reptile Show and a Birds of Prey show that were both entertaining and gave us the chance of some nice holiday pics to take home for only 10 euro. We had a lot of fun at this hotel but it could do with better standards of cleanliness in the apartments, the public areas were reasonably good and the pool did look very clean but I didn't swim in it so I can't say for sure. The pigeons enjoyed drinking the water though so it can't be all bad!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Elaine
10 years 6 months ago
Just returned from Guanabara Park. The view from the room was lovely, so i thought this was a good start. However our maid on our floor only seemed to take out the rubbish. No clean towels or sheets all week!!!!!! Never tried the hotel food but enjoyed the restaurants in town, they were really nice. M & Ms beer was only 1.90 a pint, exellent value.
Paul the entertainer tried to amuse us but at 10.00pm the police arrived and told him to be quiet, they arrived again at 11.45 and closed the bar down!!!! Did not expect this to happen as i thought it was supposed to be a holiday, so only go if you like early nights!!!!!
This ruined it for me so spent most of time in the town.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsety

Paul
10 years 6 months ago
Just got back from Guanabara Park and will give you the latest up date on this complex. Yes the views are to die for, rooms cleaned regularly, position of the park is a steep climb, we always walked down at night and got a taxi back. Beer is not nice, food good.

Paul the entertainer is for butlins only, same act every week no variety.

Pool is good but to small if all the 102 rooms were full.
TVv hand set is 28 euro 2 week, hire a fan for 1 euro a day.

Lots of Spanish invade at the weekend so its very busy, there is no where to walk round there, so unless you head in to centre there is little to do, and if you think this position is bad there is others higher up so before you book anywhere in Puerto Rico get a map of the hotels.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Millar
10 years 10 months ago
As others have said the hotel is on the far side of the resort at the top of a hill. We found it good exercise to burn off the Chinese buffets. But if you feel lazy, the taxis cost less than 3 euro to run you to the main shopping centre.

Did not try the food at the hotel, people we spoke too said it was OK and reasonably priced. Drink prices at hotel were the same as most pubs in Puerto Rico so that was a plus for me.

Hotel room cleaned most days to a good standard, and towels changed regularly, maids even washed your dishes if you forgot to do it before they came. Pool and surrounding area was very clean, and no problem getting a sunbed, though you have to pay a euro for a mattress for the sunbed for the day.

Entertainment at night was limited, although Russ did seem to keep everyone happy, but we went elsewhere every night. Would we go back to this hotel again, Yes.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: